Mario Badescu • Enzyme Cleansing Gel • Cleansers

rated 3.9(447 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 kimmae17 on 3/20/2009 11:43:00 AM more reviews by kimmae17

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I love this cleanser. I am new to Mario Badescu and I am so impressed so far! Its not irritating to my sensitive skin, and my skin has been glowing since i started using it ( i also started using the seaweed lotion and seaweed night creme) but altogether those three products have been great!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 VegasGlossJunkie on 3/15/2009 7:13:00 AM more reviews by VegasGlossJunkie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I LOVE the way this stuff smells, it's very relaxing, an awesome way to end your day when you get ready for bed. It's also a pretty, pearly green color. Oh, and it works, it might help if I mention that :P I can really feel the enzymes tingling and breaking up oil and grime, and it also leaves my skin really soft, I've found that not many cleansers can do both. It can irritate your skin if it's dry, especially in winter, or if you've had a recently had a sunburn, peel, microdermabrasion etc. If you're sensitive for any reason I'd suggest using something different.


A word of CAUTION: I bought the big 16 oz. bottle a while ago (it lasts FOREVER!) and I've lugged it around with me when I travel. It must have gone thru too many extreme temperature changes, or maybe it's just old, I'm not sure, but it's developed grainy bits and it seems harsher, so I think the AHAs might have gone bad. I still use it, but can't let it sit on my face like I used to, and it doesn't seem to be as effective. So, unless you wash your face 3 times a day or share with someone, I'd recommend buying the smaller size and not leaving it where the temperature is liable to go up and down dramatically.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xomissaudrey on 2/19/2009 6:44:00 PM more reviews by xomissaudrey

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

AH!
i love this SO much.
i was using the acne facial cleanser, but it was a little drying, and i like this so much better!
great at removing makeup, nondrying, not harsh, smooth and easy and fuuun and nice and cleans my skin and i LOVE it.
it's just perfect.
and so cheap for how long it lasts!
4+ months!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* UrbanHibiscus on 2/3/2009 2:05:00 AM more reviews by UrbanHibiscus

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Good basic cleanser. Didn't make me break out and rinsed off all makeup residue. However, in the winter months it made my combo skin feel a bit drier and if you have sensitive skin, be aware of the fruit acids in this cleanser. I use other cleansers now that are better for my skin type but look into this if you are in the market.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 skelly123 on 2/2/2009 12:46:00 PM more reviews by skelly123

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

The best/only face cleanser I will ever use. I have rosacea and combination skin (yay me!). This is the only cleanser that doesn't make my rosacea flare up, but still removes oil and dirt from my skin. It leaves it feeling fresh and clean, but not dry. I love this and will use it forever.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Annalina on 2/1/2009 5:04:00 PM more reviews by Annalina

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

A lovely light, refreshing cleanser. I normally use this in the morning, on days where I haven't applied make up, or for an extra clean I use it after a makeup cleanser. It does sometimes sting my eyes, but it does a very good job at keeping my skin clean and clear. Another HG product!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 nickwilson on 1/27/2009 1:16:00 AM more reviews by nickwilson

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is another miracle product from Mario Badescu. I used to suffer from very bad spots, but then I came across this, and, because of the reviews that celebs gave it, I decided to buy it. Packaging: This is packaged in quite a boring bottle, clear, it looks yellow because of the contents. The bottle is very small, and has a white screw on cap. It holds the brand and product name on a sticker on the front, and the instructions and other information on the back. How To Apply: The first mistake I made with this is that I shook the bottle. Do not do this as it will disturb the contents. Dip a cotton bud into the pink sediment and apply to the errupted areas. After you have done this make sure that you put the lid on very tightly otherwise it will dry up. Results

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hags101 on 1/27/2009 1:10:00 AM more reviews by hags101

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

I love this cleanser! It is the best cleanser I have ever used. It is hard to change from the usual foaming face wash to something more natural like MB products because they do not foam (except the glycolic facewash). Their cleansers are really thick though and that is how they clean so well (except the acne cleanser -didn't clean well). Some reviewers have complained that the cleansers sting their eyes.... it is because they are thick and you need to splash your face five times (instead of the two with a foaming cleanser). Yes, this cleanser hurts like HE-double-hockey-sticks if you get it into your eyes, but I don't know of any facial washes that would feel like water in the eyes.

Back to how this cleanser works..... MB cleansers take a while for your skin to benefit and change from their use. I think that it took about four months for my skin to clear from this facial wash....BUT MY ACNE DID CLEAR USING THIS AND MY HORRIBLE ACNE SCARS & PIGMENTATION FADED using this cleanser (after 4 months). The cleanser is made from glycerin (humectant) + grapefruit (exfoilating) + papaya (very exfoilating). When I use this I leave it on for about 2 minutes so my skin can exfoliate more before I rinse. Oh, and don't try to make this stuff yourself because papaya in its natural state smells like vomit....and it is hard to wash your face with something vile smelling.

The only problem I had while using this was my ongoing dark pores. This exfoilating cleanser helped to clear them quite a bit, but I was still left with my genetic congested skin. Maybe this would have cleared even more, but I switched to the OCM before I could find out. The OCM messed up my skin so...... bad (read my review). I am back to the Enzyme cleansing gel and it is improving my skin.... but like I said before it takes awhile to see a big difference in your skin.

The Enzyme smells good, is rich, nutrient, and costs $12 for 8oz.

I would also recommend using a toner from MB because they bring the pH level of your skin back to normal which means less dry or oily. This cleanser is also good for my extremely sensitive, very oily, and acnegenic skin.

For an extra luxuriously treat, mix in about a tablespoon of brown sugar to this in your hand before applying it to your face. The brown sugar will polish your skin beautifully. It will also melt into your cleanser before you can over exfoliate. Love it, Love it, Love it!


These cleansers from MB are super concentrated. You could add 1/2 teaspoon of cleanser to 1oz of water to make these the same concentration as other cleansers. This is why they clean so well!

UPDATE: (3 yrs after I started using this cleanser) I only use this cleanser (which I still love) to mix with jojoba wax beads (small) to make a scrub similar to Arcona's $78 dollar gommage! I really do love how this cleanser brightens the skin and after continued use and rids pimples from forming..... but still problems with my genetic clogged pores..... until I started making my own cleansing oil with emulsifier for balanced skin (no more oil slicks 1/2 hour after washing.... actually only get slight sheen now after the entire day from using the cleansing oil!)

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 LadyBrownBeezy on 1/22/2009 1:21:00 PM more reviews by LadyBrownBeezy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

What can I begin to say about Mario Badescu products?!---after using their generous sized samples...which lasted me a week and a half (cleansing gel and toner) with more to spare (masks, drying cream, eye cream, strawberry scrub, moisturizer)--I proceeded immediately to purchase the whole lot AND MORE online...needless to say...I AM IN LOVE with Mario Badescu products!!!

I have oily/combination skin...the enzyme cleansing gel was one of the recommended products for me upon speaking to a skincare specialist at their salon/spa over the phone. I have had really bad experiences with "gel" cleaners in the past...mostly because it never really removed my make-up and I never liked cleansers that didn't "foam"...However, I found that with the enzyme cleansing gel, though doesn't foam, cleans and removes my make-up efficiently. It is very light and goes on the skin very smooth. It has a fresh clean scent, but not overpowering. What I really like most about it is the fact that I could actually feel the entire gel come off my face when I rinse it off. Unlike other cleansers that I've used, I felt there was always a thin film left behind. Also, A LITTLE GOES A LONG WAY!!!!! I typically use about a dime-sized amount...and it's enough to cover my ENTIRE face while cleaning off my make-up!

For the work this gel does...the price is worth it...and I'm sure the 8 oz bottle I bought will last for atleast 4-6months...I go through a retail chain brand in about 2-3 months...I really like the packaging also...when you squeeze the product out, it doesn't squirt out...so I am really able to control the amount of product I use. I would really recommend this product to others...and yes we all have different skin types---however, it may have worked wonders for me almost immediately---remember to stick to it! I think you will find that you too will love it!...I'm a customer for life!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 shirlyxgurl on 1/15/2009 9:56:00 PM more reviews by shirlyxgurl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

It smells nice and it's gentle, but it did not wash away make up like it claims. I usually love MB products, but this wasn't for me. When I try to wash off my make up, it still left some residue behind on my towel and I had to use more toner afterwards to get rid of any left over residue. So, this is a no go for me, it's back to my old make up remover cleanser.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Mario Badescu products

More Cleansers products