Revlon • ColorStay Makeup with SoftFlex SPF 15 Normal/Dry Skin • Liquid

rated 3.9(486 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 vhirsh on 6/29/2010 4:07:00 PM more reviews by vhirsh

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

As many a makeup junkie will tell you, they're always in search for THE ONE FOUNDATION. This may not be the "one" for me, but it's awfully close. First, the color is dead on. I tried in the drugstore (CVS) to match my skintone by putting the bottle up to my neck, I was impressed I matched it perfectly. I took Fresh Beige - I'm a NC30, Med Beige in BE, Punjab in Nars Glow, MUFE HD in 123. I would say the coverage and texture is close to the Nars. And I love my Nars but I'd say this color is not as yellow. Perfect for me. I've worn it everyday this week in this horrendous NYC heat and humidity and it performs just as the name says. Highly recommend. Best drugstore makeup brand I've tried. No pump but neither does Nars.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Heatherxlane on 6/28/2010 7:40:00 PM more reviews by Heatherxlane

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I use to use the ColorStay formula for combination/oily skin, but I recently switched to this formula. I know its for normal/dry skin, but it really does work good with oily skin. Its SOOO much better than the other formula. It looks more natural, and its easier to blend. And its still oil-free. I felt like the other formula was just more cakey looking and too matte since it was for oily skin. This one still gives flawless coverage and really does last about all day. I love it! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PrettyInPlaidChic on 6/18/2010 1:31:00 PM more reviews by PrettyInPlaidChic

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Back in the day, when I was 17, I used the New Complexion version and had not one breakout or problem for years!. This is the upgraded version of that, as far as I'm concerned-and it ROCKS!. What I like (compared with Chanel Pro Lumiere) is that it's transfer-resistant, and wears much better, without an annoying fragrance, too. Much as I like Chanel, I like this ColorStay equally as much. I wore it on my wedding day, and it photographed very well (no white cast, streaks or blotches). I have this in 110 Ivory, even though I can also comfortably wear Buff in Summer. It is my everyday staple, and keeps my temperamental skin in great condition, in all environments. I've seen some complaints about the packaging (heaviness and not having a pump). This would be an easy fix for Revlon. That said, I usually just scrape out the dregs of the bottle with a clean q-tip. I don't regard this as being heavy packaging, either. 1 fl oz and 30mls seems to be the current industry standard for liquid foundations. In the '80s, it was 50mls. Get over it!. It's a great formulation, and I simply keep a small, plastic container with some decant for travel/tote purposes. The one issue that I balked a little at was the price (US$13.39), before tax in C.A. That's overly spendy for a drugstore foundation, imo. Yes, it dries quite fast, and you have to blend quickly, but for something that keeps put like this-again, no big boo-hoo. Overall, still a great, classic buy.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Marisglady on 5/28/2010 10:40:00 AM more reviews by Marisglady

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I have just switched from the oily skin formula to this one..They are both great but definitely a little different. I have oily sensitive skin, but I find the dry skin formula is not so thick, easier to apply, looks way more natural, and actually have better oil control. Feels lighter on the skin, and doesn´t get blotchy throughout the day. It has a tiny little bit of shimmer , but you have to really look for it to see. It doesn´t really show after applied. The Oily skin formula has full , matte coverage, but sometimes it looks too heavy and obvious. This formula, no matter how I apply, looks much better. I would also like to say that this is the only brand I find a true match to my skin color. I´m about a NC25-30 and use Sand Beige. I set it with MUFE HD powder and stay matte and comfortable all day.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 shelly_82 on 5/22/2010 12:40:00 AM more reviews by shelly_82

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great foundation is you have sensiive acne prone skin like mine, with bad scarring. 'This is the only liquid foundation that I've found that doesn't cause break-outs and is actually quite good for my skin. At the end of the day when I take it off (oil cleansers work best-fav's include Dermalogica pre-cleanse [so fabulous] and MAC cleanse-off oil [cheaper but more drying]) my skin looks calm and no worse off for wearing foundation.

There are a couple of small cons through- 1.I can't find an exact colour match so have to blend Ivory and Bisque. 2.It's time consuming to apply- but this is the same for all liquid foundations. Overall, it's good value for money compared to department store make-up but in Australia it's one of the most expensive drug store brands- about $35-$38, but Priceline often has buy 2 get 1 free deals and you can get it cheaper at Cos-Cut cosmetics and Gloss.

I haven't been using this of late as I've found that Max Factor Miracle Touch is much quicker to apply, provides excellent coverage and has a great colour match (blushing beige).

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 stilllovely on 5/15/2010 4:23:00 AM more reviews by stilllovely

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I chose the normal/dry skin formulation over the normal/oily as I am purchasing it as my winter foundation. My skin gets dry in winter and I want the formula to be more moisturising. My expectations were met! The liquid foundation is a lot thicker (less runny) than I remember the normal/oily to be. It stays put and does not get greasy. It is easy to apply from the bottle with just your fingers (or a sponge). The 150 Buff shade matches my skin perfectly. I'm usually a girl who has to go for the very lightest shade but Revlon make a shade for people even paler than me! The scent is pleasant, clean and fresh, and not overwhelming. I highly recommend this foundation, especially since I got mine from a discount place. Bargains are out there!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nikolala on 5/11/2010 7:31:00 PM more reviews by nikolala

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I love how translucent this is, it blends in so well with my skin. at first i was worried i was in between shades and had gone too dark but as i get more sun on my face it is blending perfectly. i don't like that it dries so fast that if i dont blend it quick enough i have blotches, i started pouring it onto the top of my hand as a pallette but then it wouldnt come off, which is annoying but a plus considering my foundation usually fades off during the day. I wish it came in a pump format because i find this pouring it out is wastefull. it's long lasting and looks so natural, and i really like that it covers the blotches and redness but leaves my freckles noticable so i look fresh faced and natural.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 patpatpatpat on 5/7/2010 11:09:00 AM more reviews by patpatpatpat

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Not sure why it took me so long to try this, since I'm always buying new foundations! I guess for the longest time I had thought the Age Defying foundation was great and there was no point looking at other Revlon foundations. Anyway, back to Colorstay. It's great! I use Medium Beige and it is absolutely the closest match to my skin I have ever found! Applying it any and all ways I still get good natural coverage that is long lasting. It is probably the only foundation I own that requires serious cleaning at the end of the day! I find it works best without primer. That may just be my own skin though... And it sets best with Mineral Veil. I'm about NC35 and Medium Beige is a tad darker than Sand Beige, which is what I use for Age Defying. Unfortunately Medium Beige don't seem to be available here in the UK... :(

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 hjohnson21 on 5/4/2010 9:15:00 PM more reviews by hjohnson21

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this yesterday at wal*mart for 10 bucks after reading the fantastic reviews on the site, and I'm wondering if I got a bad batch? While the color (I got ivory) is almost a perfect match, I find that it seems more like a veil than a foundation. I had to use a considerable amount of concealer and even after setting it its really worn off my face. I'll be returning it if doesn't work any better tomorrow.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kaxel on 4/29/2010 10:14:00 PM more reviews by kaxel

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

After seeing so many reviews on this product, it's clear people either love it or hate it. I decided to give it a try, but first read all the relevant reviews and even watched some YouTube vids on how to apply. Also made sure to get the right formula for my dry skin (normal to dry).

While so many people said that it dries really fast, is heavy and cakey to work with, I had the opposite problem. It went on easily, and I was stunned at how perfectly the Buff shade matches my skin.

But when I looked at my face in natural light, far from being too thick or masklike, it was so sheer it looked like I was barely wearing makeup.

I tried several different application methods, including brush; setting with powder; and using primer. I also experimented with one thick layer vs. several sheer layers. Nothing seemed to make any difference.

The Buff shade is a pretty perfect match for Bobbi Brown foundation in Sand and for Clinique Workout Makeup in Cloud (which I normally wear in summer, but was trying to switch from because it doesn't give enough coverage.) I even tested putting Workout Makeup on half of my face and Colorstay on the other half. The color and (lack of) coverage were identical, the only difference being the Colorstay made my skin look dull, lifeless and flat; Workout makeup has more glow.

I contemplated getting some liquid highlighter stuff to mix with it, but frankly I don't want to work that hard (especially given the pain-in-the-butt bottle). If I wanted to look this "natural" I'll stick with Workout Makeup - it's worth the extra $10 for glowiness and better packaging. Boo!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Liquid products