Revlon ColorStay Makeup with SoftFlex SPF 15 Normal/Dry Skin

3.9

488 reviews

67% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 2.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: titanium dioxide 4.4%, zinc oxide 2.0% Ingredients: water, cyclomethicone, trimethylsiloxysilicate, butylene glycol, dimethicone, cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 dimethicone, polyglyceryl-4 isostearate, HDI/trimethylol hexyllactone crosspolymer, nylon-12, phenyl trimethicone, magnesium sulfate, isododecane, boron nitride, methicone, laureth-7, mallow extract, lily bulb extract, lactobacillus/eriodictyon californicum ferment extract, cymbidium grandiflorum flower extract, silk, tocopherol acetate, retinyl palmitate, ethylene brassylate, tribehenin, bisabolol, silica, alumina, isohexadecane, polydimethylsiloxane/polymethylsilsesquioxane copolymer, polysorbate 20, polysorbate 80, ammonium polyacryloyldimethyl taurate, sorbitan sesquioleate, tetrasodium EDTA, phenoxyethanol, methylparaben, ethylparaben, propylparaben. May contain: iron oxides, mica, titanium dioxide, bismuth oxychloride, zinc oxide.


on 7/7/2010 12:28:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I liked the idea of sun protection in my foundation but since this uses mineral sunblock, it left me whitish looking. The color range isn't broad enough and there's none that's like my skin tone so couple that with the sunscreen ingredient that makes me look pale, this foundation just wasn't for me at all.



on 7/4/2010 8:50:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

i went on a skin phase you know we allways want something cheaper and still has the same effect with the more professional brands mac nars..etc. so let me take you on my journey.. starting from last year.. as i do remember my skin regime was.. foundation (MAC) face wash (clean and clear 3n1 advantage) with a toner.. ok so i switched up my foundation to color stay.. and starting using (PHILISOPHY) PURITY MADE SIMPLE AND STARTED TAKING FISH OIL AND USING DDF GYCOLIC 5% FACE WASH (the greatest)// .... BUT EVERY TIME I PUT REVLON COLORSTAY SOFTFLEX MY SKIN WOULD GET HUGE CYSTIC PIMPLES, EVEN WHEN MY MENSTURAL IS ONE NEVER THAT BIG.. AND DID I EVEN MENTION I GET BLACKHEADS NOW.. I NEVER DID LAST YEAR.. SO I WILL CONTINUE MY JORNEY. BUT I REALLY THINK ITS THE COLORSTAY.. BECAUSE I ALLWAYS FROM TIME TO TIME USE DIFFERENT CLEANSER,AS LONG IT HAS SLYC ACID IM GOOD.. SO I WILL NOT USE THE REVLON COLORSTAY FOR 2 WKS AND SEE WHAT HAPPENS.. ILL UPDATE AROUND 7/12.. WISH ME LUCK..
CHOW


on 6/29/2010 4:07:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

As many a makeup junkie will tell you, they're always in search for THE ONE FOUNDATION. This may not be the "one" for me, but it's awfully close. First, the color is dead on. I tried in the drugstore (CVS) to match my skintone by putting the bottle up to my neck, I was impressed I matched it perfectly. I took Fresh Beige - I'm a NC30, Med Beige in BE, Punjab in Nars Glow, MUFE HD in 123. I would say the coverage and texture is close to the Nars. And I love my Nars but I'd say this color is not as yellow. Perfect for me. I've worn it everyday this week in this horrendous NYC heat and humidity and it performs just as the name says. Highly recommend. Best drugstore makeup brand I've tried. No pump but neither does Nars.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/28/2010 7:40:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I use to use the ColorStay formula for combination/oily skin, but I recently switched to this formula. I know its for normal/dry skin, but it really does work good with oily skin. Its SOOO much better than the other formula. It looks more natural, and its easier to blend. And its still oil-free. I felt like the other formula was just more cakey looking and too matte since it was for oily skin. This one still gives flawless coverage and really does last about all day. I love it! :)


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Back in the day, when I was 17, I used the New Complexion version and had not one breakout or problem for years!. This is the upgraded version of that, as far as I'm concerned-and it ROCKS!. What I like (compared with Chanel Pro Lumiere) is that it's transfer-resistant, and wears much better, without an annoying fragrance, too. Much as I like Chanel, I like this ColorStay equally as much. I wore it on my wedding day, and it photographed very well (no white cast, streaks or blotches). I have this in 110 Ivory, even though I can also comfortably wear Buff in Summer. It is my everyday staple, and keeps my temperamental skin in great condition, in all environments. I've seen some complaints about the packaging (heaviness and not having a pump). This would be an easy fix for Revlon. That said, I usually just scrape out the dregs of the bottle with a clean q-tip. I don't regard this as being heavy packaging, either. 1 fl oz and 30mls seems to be the current industry standard for liquid foundations. In the '80s, it was 50mls. Get over it!. It's a great formulation, and I simply keep a small, plastic container with some decant for travel/tote purposes. The one issue that I balked a little at was the price (US$13.39), before tax in C.A. That's overly spendy for a drugstore foundation, imo. Yes, it dries quite fast, and you have to blend quickly, but for something that keeps put like this-again, no big boo-hoo. Overall, still a great, classic buy.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 5/28/2010 10:40:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have just switched from the oily skin formula to this one..They are both great but definitely a little different. I have oily sensitive skin, but I find the dry skin formula is not so thick, easier to apply, looks way more natural, and actually have better oil control. Feels lighter on the skin, and doesn´t get blotchy throughout the day. It has a tiny little bit of shimmer , but you have to really look for it to see. It doesn´t really show after applied. The Oily skin formula has full , matte coverage, but sometimes it looks too heavy and obvious. This formula, no matter how I apply, looks much better. I would also like to say that this is the only brand I find a true match to my skin color. I´m about a NC25-30 and use Sand Beige. I set it with MUFE HD powder and stay matte and comfortable all day.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 5/22/2010 12:40:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is a great foundation is you have sensiive acne prone skin like mine, with bad scarring. 'This is the only liquid foundation that I've found that doesn't cause break-outs and is actually quite good for my skin. At the end of the day when I take it off (oil cleansers work best-fav's include Dermalogica pre-cleanse [so fabulous] and MAC cleanse-off oil [cheaper but more drying]) my skin looks calm and no worse off for wearing foundation.

There are a couple of small cons through- 1.I can't find an exact colour match so have to blend Ivory and Bisque. 2.It's time consuming to apply- but this is the same for all liquid foundations. Overall, it's good value for money compared to department store make-up but in Australia it's one of the most expensive drug store brands- about $35-$38, but Priceline often has buy 2 get 1 free deals and you can get it cheaper at Cos-Cut cosmetics and Gloss.

I haven't been using this of late as I've found that Max Factor Miracle Touch is much quicker to apply, provides excellent coverage and has a great colour match (blushing beige).

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 5/15/2010 4:23:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I chose the normal/dry skin formulation over the normal/oily as I am purchasing it as my winter foundation. My skin gets dry in winter and I want the formula to be more moisturising. My expectations were met! The liquid foundation is a lot thicker (less runny) than I remember the normal/oily to be. It stays put and does not get greasy. It is easy to apply from the bottle with just your fingers (or a sponge). The 150 Buff shade matches my skin perfectly. I'm usually a girl who has to go for the very lightest shade but Revlon make a shade for people even paler than me! The scent is pleasant, clean and fresh, and not overwhelming. I highly recommend this foundation, especially since I got mine from a discount place. Bargains are out there!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/11/2010 7:31:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love how translucent this is, it blends in so well with my skin. at first i was worried i was in between shades and had gone too dark but as i get more sun on my face it is blending perfectly. i don't like that it dries so fast that if i dont blend it quick enough i have blotches, i started pouring it onto the top of my hand as a pallette but then it wouldnt come off, which is annoying but a plus considering my foundation usually fades off during the day. I wish it came in a pump format because i find this pouring it out is wastefull. it's long lasting and looks so natural, and i really like that it covers the blotches and redness but leaves my freckles noticable so i look fresh faced and natural.


on 5/7/2010 11:09:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Not sure why it took me so long to try this, since I'm always buying new foundations! I guess for the longest time I had thought the Age Defying foundation was great and there was no point looking at other Revlon foundations. Anyway, back to Colorstay. It's great! I use Medium Beige and it is absolutely the closest match to my skin I have ever found! Applying it any and all ways I still get good natural coverage that is long lasting. It is probably the only foundation I own that requires serious cleaning at the end of the day! I find it works best without primer. That may just be my own skin though... And it sets best with Mineral Veil. I'm about NC35 and Medium Beige is a tad darker than Sand Beige, which is what I use for Age Defying. Unfortunately Medium Beige don't seem to be available here in the UK... :(

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top