Revlon ColorStay Makeup with SoftFlex SPF 15 Normal/Dry Skin

3.8

495 reviews

67% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 2.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: titanium dioxide 4.4%, zinc oxide 2.0% Ingredients: water, cyclomethicone, trimethylsiloxysilicate, butylene glycol, dimethicone, cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 dimethicone, polyglyceryl-4 isostearate, HDI/trimethylol hexyllactone crosspolymer, nylon-12, phenyl trimethicone, magnesium sulfate, isododecane, boron nitride, methicone, laureth-7, mallow extract, lily bulb extract, lactobacillus/eriodictyon californicum ferment extract, cymbidium grandiflorum flower extract, silk, tocopherol acetate, retinyl palmitate, ethylene brassylate, tribehenin, bisabolol, silica, alumina, isohexadecane, polydimethylsiloxane/polymethylsilsesquioxane copolymer, polysorbate 20, polysorbate 80, ammonium polyacryloyldimethyl taurate, sorbitan sesquioleate, tetrasodium EDTA, phenoxyethanol, methylparaben, ethylparaben, propylparaben. May contain: iron oxides, mica, titanium dioxide, bismuth oxychloride, zinc oxide.


on 7/18/2010 11:04:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

Other reviewers are not lying when they said you have to blend this quickly! It's like a race against time. I only use a small amount on my tzone. It's non drying and doesn't accentuate pores. Wish it had a pump, but for a cheap foundation it ain't too bad.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 7/16/2010 7:20:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

✍ WHY?
I bought this foundation 2 weeks ago and I think it's amazing! I bought it because of the reviews I read about this am-az-ing foundation, so I thought I could give it a shot. And i'm very happy I did! I bought it in my local department store (called 'Galleria Inno',probably only in Europe) because it was the only store I knew which selled Revlon products in my neighbourhood.
Personal : I Bought Colorstay with softflex foundation for normal to dry skin in color Nude, which fits veeeeeeery good!

☞ TIPS .
- After I bought it I applied the foundation with my fingertips. I wasn't very happy about it; until I used my foundation brush with this foundation. It really had a wonderful result, and even without a primer it lasts all day long !

☝ my LIKES about this product :
- I have a really sensitive skin, so usually I get red spots or pimples of cheap foundations. (e.g. my skin was very irritated after I used Nivea beauté's longlasting foundation,which was only 11euros ) Anyway, 'Revlon colorstay with softflex' leaves my skin healthy , and I know it may sound weird or anything, but my skin looks even better than when I didn't use it.
- It's name fits the product definately ! It doés stay long
- It's texture is not too thin, it's a little thick, which I personally like, but luckily not too thick.
- full coverage !

☟ my DISLIKES about this product :
-Even though I'm like IN LOVE with this foundation, there's one thing I don't like about it ; the bottle. It doesn't come of with a pump , but anyway,It's easy when you use a foundation brush and a primer and definately lasts a whole lot longer when you use those 2 "helpers" !
- The packaging looks very poor and unattractive.

✏ CONCLUSION :
I'mma stick with this one ! I spended A LOT of money searching for a good foundation , cheap ones, expensive ones, I used them all, but this one can't beat any of them ! It's WONDERFUL and I would definately buy it again !

Anke (Belgium) ♧

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 7/15/2010 2:50:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I'm quite hesitant to label this as one of my HG foundations, but it is a fairly good alternative to higher end brands. The coverage is excellent, and you really don't need much to cover unevenness, scars, and blemishes, while giving a natural finish. I have combination skin-- very dry in certain areas, but my t-zone can very oily by the end of the day. I decided to get the normal/dry version instead of the combo/oily because I was afraid the latter would accentuate the dry areas of my face. I may try it someday to see if there's any difference, but the normal/dry foundation turned out to be good enough for me. I also found that the staying power is very good-- it lasted almost the whole day without looking like it's melting off my face. The downside is that it's harder to get off at night... I use makeup wipes to get most of it off first, and then I use pond's cold cream. I also use toner to wipe any excess dirt/makeup that may have been left behind. I don't wear foundation every day, but I needed something for going out on weekends and special occasions. I had a $3 off manufacturer's coupon, so the price was around $8... definitely very affordable. The only reason why I may not buy it again is because I loathe the packaging... I wish it came in a pump bottle. I always end up pouring a bit too much out. But overall, it's a good value.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/11/2010 3:49:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I actually use the Combination/Oily Skin makeup, but they wouldn't let me select that. This is my favorite foundation right now... I apply it with a damp makeup sponge so that it doesn't go on too thick, and it keeps me from getting too greasy looking when it's hot out. It doesn't offer a lot of coverage when I apply it with the damp sponge, but I would rather cover up spots with concealer than have really thick foundation. It's a little difficult to find the right color, but when you do I think you'll be happy with it.


on 7/9/2010 5:38:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Well, I just bought this product and started using it.
So far so good, no breakouts and it hides everything very well.
Overall, it's good but I'm looking for another foundation although I would buy this again


on 7/9/2010 3:44:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I saw such great reviews for this foundation that I basically ran out of my house to get it! I used it once, thought I was in love, so I spent 10 bucks on another bottle. Well sadly I used this a few more times and it was a bust. I hate it now. People say its not cakey, but it is! I thought it wasn't either til I put my face right up to the mirror and noticed it... All over my face! Plus its soooo thick. And you have to use alot of it. I like using my Sonia Kashuk sponge to apply foundation.. But I could barely get it on half of my face before it was all absorbed on my hand, so I used twice as much! I tried applying it alot of different ways so I could like it again.. but that just did not happen.


on 7/7/2010 2:48:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Other, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This foundation rubbed off onto my clothes a lot. I have a horrible habit of burying my face in my hands, especially when I'm frustrated or bored. Up until this foundation, I've never once had a problem with doing so. It wasn't until I applied CS Softflex that I noticed patchy, beige blobs on my sleeves.


Once I even spilled half a bottle of CS Softflex foundation onto my shirt, and I've never been able to wash the stains out. Leaving with rowdy cats and dogs I've spilled plenty of make-up in my lifetime, but never has a stain been so hard to remove before. I've tried baking soda, soap and water, baby shampoo, even washing it in the washing machine.....NOTHING. The stain won't budge. That shirt cost more than the foundation to begin with.


Because of messy application, I so desperately wished that Revlon made CS Softflex bottles with pumps. It'd be a lot less messier, and I wouldn't waste so much product or over-apply.


I've found that if you spray a little bit of water or setting spray onto your make-up brush that it helps to apply for a smoother, and more natural application. It can also create a dewy, glowy look.


Also with Revlon CS Softflex, it whitens your face in photos. Being a hobbyist photographer on a strict budget, at times I must use myself as my own model. Back when I used this, my face was over-exposed in photos and there was normally a white flash on my T-zone. I think the over-exposure and white flash was caused by the SPF 15.


As for staying power, without a primer this foundation only lasted me four hours before it started looking like oily. Even with powder applied, my foundation always looked cakey and oily.


Would I ever purchase again?


HELL NO.


on 7/7/2010 12:28:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I liked the idea of sun protection in my foundation but since this uses mineral sunblock, it left me whitish looking. The color range isn't broad enough and there's none that's like my skin tone so couple that with the sunscreen ingredient that makes me look pale, this foundation just wasn't for me at all.


on 7/4/2010 8:50:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

i went on a skin phase you know we allways want something cheaper and still has the same effect with the more professional brands mac nars..etc. so let me take you on my journey.. starting from last year.. as i do remember my skin regime was.. foundation (MAC) face wash (clean and clear 3n1 advantage) with a toner.. ok so i switched up my foundation to color stay.. and starting using (PHILISOPHY) PURITY MADE SIMPLE AND STARTED TAKING FISH OIL AND USING DDF GYCOLIC 5% FACE WASH (the greatest)// .... BUT EVERY TIME I PUT REVLON COLORSTAY SOFTFLEX MY SKIN WOULD GET HUGE CYSTIC PIMPLES, EVEN WHEN MY MENSTURAL IS ONE NEVER THAT BIG.. AND DID I EVEN MENTION I GET BLACKHEADS NOW.. I NEVER DID LAST YEAR.. SO I WILL CONTINUE MY JORNEY. BUT I REALLY THINK ITS THE COLORSTAY.. BECAUSE I ALLWAYS FROM TIME TO TIME USE DIFFERENT CLEANSER,AS LONG IT HAS SLYC ACID IM GOOD.. SO I WILL NOT USE THE REVLON COLORSTAY FOR 2 WKS AND SEE WHAT HAPPENS.. ILL UPDATE AROUND 7/12.. WISH ME LUCK..
CHOW


on 6/29/2010 4:07:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

As many a makeup junkie will tell you, they're always in search for THE ONE FOUNDATION. This may not be the "one" for me, but it's awfully close. First, the color is dead on. I tried in the drugstore (CVS) to match my skintone by putting the bottle up to my neck, I was impressed I matched it perfectly. I took Fresh Beige - I'm a NC30, Med Beige in BE, Punjab in Nars Glow, MUFE HD in 123. I would say the coverage and texture is close to the Nars. And I love my Nars but I'd say this color is not as yellow. Perfect for me. I've worn it everyday this week in this horrendous NYC heat and humidity and it performs just as the name says. Highly recommend. Best drugstore makeup brand I've tried. No pump but neither does Nars.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top