Revlon ColorStay Makeup with SoftFlex SPF 15 Normal/Dry Skin

3.8

492 reviews

67% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 2.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: titanium dioxide 4.4%, zinc oxide 2.0% Ingredients: water, cyclomethicone, trimethylsiloxysilicate, butylene glycol, dimethicone, cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 dimethicone, polyglyceryl-4 isostearate, HDI/trimethylol hexyllactone crosspolymer, nylon-12, phenyl trimethicone, magnesium sulfate, isododecane, boron nitride, methicone, laureth-7, mallow extract, lily bulb extract, lactobacillus/eriodictyon californicum ferment extract, cymbidium grandiflorum flower extract, silk, tocopherol acetate, retinyl palmitate, ethylene brassylate, tribehenin, bisabolol, silica, alumina, isohexadecane, polydimethylsiloxane/polymethylsilsesquioxane copolymer, polysorbate 20, polysorbate 80, ammonium polyacryloyldimethyl taurate, sorbitan sesquioleate, tetrasodium EDTA, phenoxyethanol, methylparaben, ethylparaben, propylparaben. May contain: iron oxides, mica, titanium dioxide, bismuth oxychloride, zinc oxide.


on 7/11/2010 3:49:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I actually use the Combination/Oily Skin makeup, but they wouldn't let me select that. This is my favorite foundation right now... I apply it with a damp makeup sponge so that it doesn't go on too thick, and it keeps me from getting too greasy looking when it's hot out. It doesn't offer a lot of coverage when I apply it with the damp sponge, but I would rather cover up spots with concealer than have really thick foundation. It's a little difficult to find the right color, but when you do I think you'll be happy with it.



on 7/9/2010 5:38:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Well, I just bought this product and started using it.
So far so good, no breakouts and it hides everything very well.
Overall, it's good but I'm looking for another foundation although I would buy this again


on 7/9/2010 3:44:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I saw such great reviews for this foundation that I basically ran out of my house to get it! I used it once, thought I was in love, so I spent 10 bucks on another bottle. Well sadly I used this a few more times and it was a bust. I hate it now. People say its not cakey, but it is! I thought it wasn't either til I put my face right up to the mirror and noticed it... All over my face! Plus its soooo thick. And you have to use alot of it. I like using my Sonia Kashuk sponge to apply foundation.. But I could barely get it on half of my face before it was all absorbed on my hand, so I used twice as much! I tried applying it alot of different ways so I could like it again.. but that just did not happen.


on 7/7/2010 2:48:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Other, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This foundation rubbed off onto my clothes a lot. I have a horrible habit of burying my face in my hands, especially when I'm frustrated or bored. Up until this foundation, I've never once had a problem with doing so. It wasn't until I applied CS Softflex that I noticed patchy, beige blobs on my sleeves.


Once I even spilled half a bottle of CS Softflex foundation onto my shirt, and I've never been able to wash the stains out. Leaving with rowdy cats and dogs I've spilled plenty of make-up in my lifetime, but never has a stain been so hard to remove before. I've tried baking soda, soap and water, baby shampoo, even washing it in the washing machine.....NOTHING. The stain won't budge. That shirt cost more than the foundation to begin with.


Because of messy application, I so desperately wished that Revlon made CS Softflex bottles with pumps. It'd be a lot less messier, and I wouldn't waste so much product or over-apply.


I've found that if you spray a little bit of water or setting spray onto your make-up brush that it helps to apply for a smoother, and more natural application. It can also create a dewy, glowy look.


Also with Revlon CS Softflex, it whitens your face in photos. Being a hobbyist photographer on a strict budget, at times I must use myself as my own model. Back when I used this, my face was over-exposed in photos and there was normally a white flash on my T-zone. I think the over-exposure and white flash was caused by the SPF 15.


As for staying power, without a primer this foundation only lasted me four hours before it started looking like oily. Even with powder applied, my foundation always looked cakey and oily.


Would I ever purchase again?


HELL NO.


on 7/7/2010 12:28:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I liked the idea of sun protection in my foundation but since this uses mineral sunblock, it left me whitish looking. The color range isn't broad enough and there's none that's like my skin tone so couple that with the sunscreen ingredient that makes me look pale, this foundation just wasn't for me at all.


on 7/4/2010 8:50:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

i went on a skin phase you know we allways want something cheaper and still has the same effect with the more professional brands mac nars..etc. so let me take you on my journey.. starting from last year.. as i do remember my skin regime was.. foundation (MAC) face wash (clean and clear 3n1 advantage) with a toner.. ok so i switched up my foundation to color stay.. and starting using (PHILISOPHY) PURITY MADE SIMPLE AND STARTED TAKING FISH OIL AND USING DDF GYCOLIC 5% FACE WASH (the greatest)// .... BUT EVERY TIME I PUT REVLON COLORSTAY SOFTFLEX MY SKIN WOULD GET HUGE CYSTIC PIMPLES, EVEN WHEN MY MENSTURAL IS ONE NEVER THAT BIG.. AND DID I EVEN MENTION I GET BLACKHEADS NOW.. I NEVER DID LAST YEAR.. SO I WILL CONTINUE MY JORNEY. BUT I REALLY THINK ITS THE COLORSTAY.. BECAUSE I ALLWAYS FROM TIME TO TIME USE DIFFERENT CLEANSER,AS LONG IT HAS SLYC ACID IM GOOD.. SO I WILL NOT USE THE REVLON COLORSTAY FOR 2 WKS AND SEE WHAT HAPPENS.. ILL UPDATE AROUND 7/12.. WISH ME LUCK..
CHOW


on 6/29/2010 4:07:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

As many a makeup junkie will tell you, they're always in search for THE ONE FOUNDATION. This may not be the "one" for me, but it's awfully close. First, the color is dead on. I tried in the drugstore (CVS) to match my skintone by putting the bottle up to my neck, I was impressed I matched it perfectly. I took Fresh Beige - I'm a NC30, Med Beige in BE, Punjab in Nars Glow, MUFE HD in 123. I would say the coverage and texture is close to the Nars. And I love my Nars but I'd say this color is not as yellow. Perfect for me. I've worn it everyday this week in this horrendous NYC heat and humidity and it performs just as the name says. Highly recommend. Best drugstore makeup brand I've tried. No pump but neither does Nars.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/28/2010 7:40:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I use to use the ColorStay formula for combination/oily skin, but I recently switched to this formula. I know its for normal/dry skin, but it really does work good with oily skin. Its SOOO much better than the other formula. It looks more natural, and its easier to blend. And its still oil-free. I felt like the other formula was just more cakey looking and too matte since it was for oily skin. This one still gives flawless coverage and really does last about all day. I love it! :)


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Back in the day, when I was 17, I used the New Complexion version and had not one breakout or problem for years!. This is the upgraded version of that, as far as I'm concerned-and it ROCKS!. What I like (compared with Chanel Pro Lumiere) is that it's transfer-resistant, and wears much better, without an annoying fragrance, too. Much as I like Chanel, I like this ColorStay equally as much. I wore it on my wedding day, and it photographed very well (no white cast, streaks or blotches). I have this in 110 Ivory, even though I can also comfortably wear Buff in Summer. It is my everyday staple, and keeps my temperamental skin in great condition, in all environments. I've seen some complaints about the packaging (heaviness and not having a pump). This would be an easy fix for Revlon. That said, I usually just scrape out the dregs of the bottle with a clean q-tip. I don't regard this as being heavy packaging, either. 1 fl oz and 30mls seems to be the current industry standard for liquid foundations. In the '80s, it was 50mls. Get over it!. It's a great formulation, and I simply keep a small, plastic container with some decant for travel/tote purposes. The one issue that I balked a little at was the price (US$13.39), before tax in C.A. That's overly spendy for a drugstore foundation, imo. Yes, it dries quite fast, and you have to blend quickly, but for something that keeps put like this-again, no big boo-hoo. Overall, still a great, classic buy.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 5/28/2010 10:40:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have just switched from the oily skin formula to this one..They are both great but definitely a little different. I have oily sensitive skin, but I find the dry skin formula is not so thick, easier to apply, looks way more natural, and actually have better oil control. Feels lighter on the skin, and doesn´t get blotchy throughout the day. It has a tiny little bit of shimmer , but you have to really look for it to see. It doesn´t really show after applied. The Oily skin formula has full , matte coverage, but sometimes it looks too heavy and obvious. This formula, no matter how I apply, looks much better. I would also like to say that this is the only brand I find a true match to my skin color. I´m about a NC25-30 and use Sand Beige. I set it with MUFE HD powder and stay matte and comfortable all day.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top