Revlon • ColorStay Makeup with SoftFlex SPF 15 Normal/Dry Skin • Liquid

rated 3.8(478 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kaxel on 4/29/2010 10:14:00 PM more reviews by kaxel

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

After seeing so many reviews on this product, it's clear people either love it or hate it. I decided to give it a try, but first read all the relevant reviews and even watched some YouTube vids on how to apply. Also made sure to get the right formula for my dry skin (normal to dry).

While so many people said that it dries really fast, is heavy and cakey to work with, I had the opposite problem. It went on easily, and I was stunned at how perfectly the Buff shade matches my skin.

But when I looked at my face in natural light, far from being too thick or masklike, it was so sheer it looked like I was barely wearing makeup.

I tried several different application methods, including brush; setting with powder; and using primer. I also experimented with one thick layer vs. several sheer layers. Nothing seemed to make any difference.

The Buff shade is a pretty perfect match for Bobbi Brown foundation in Sand and for Clinique Workout Makeup in Cloud (which I normally wear in summer, but was trying to switch from because it doesn't give enough coverage.) I even tested putting Workout Makeup on half of my face and Colorstay on the other half. The color and (lack of) coverage were identical, the only difference being the Colorstay made my skin look dull, lifeless and flat; Workout makeup has more glow.

I contemplated getting some liquid highlighter stuff to mix with it, but frankly I don't want to work that hard (especially given the pain-in-the-butt bottle). If I wanted to look this "natural" I'll stick with Workout Makeup - it's worth the extra $10 for glowiness and better packaging. Boo!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 plnkpolarbear on 4/23/2010 1:56:00 PM more reviews by plnkpolarbear

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I have been using the oily skin version (went through 80% of the bottle) before deciding to try out the normal version as I was using acne medication that was drying out my skin. Initially, I noticed that the dry skin version made me skin less shiny in the day ( I guess because it's more moisturizing, my skin doesnt have to produce as much oil?) but eventually I also started noticing that the staying power and coverage on the dry/normal formula is just not as good. 3 hours after doing my makeup I already feel like I need touchups because the coverage is looking blotchy or fading. I guess this would be a good product for girls who have good skin and dont need much in terms of coverage, but for me, I will be switching back to the oily skin formula or looking into the estee lauder double wear foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sammay21 on 4/22/2010 3:15:00 PM more reviews by sammay21

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I'm a NC43 and thought that I have found my HG until I tried Colorstay. OMG - I cannot find words to express how much I LOVE LOVE this foundation. The finish is flawless and I love that I could find a match to my skintone! I'm not sure where all the other MUA reviewers are buying theirs but I got mine from our Wally World for only $9.95 - great savings compared to the $26+ from MAC. When they say "colorstay" they mean it LOL.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 angelica04 on 4/19/2010 4:48:00 PM more reviews by angelica04

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

After hearing about great reviews about this foundation, i decided to try it and buy it. I got it at Shoppers Drug Mart for $17 (which was on sale, but i still found it expensive since i'm only 16) i was so excited to try it but it disappointed me a lot =(. The reviews say that this has amazing coverage, but not enough coverage for me because i have a lot of acne scarring and red spots. After putting 3 layers of it on my face (the 1st layer didn't cover anything) there were still some acne scars showing, so i just left it at that. i put mac powder to set the foundation and i looked super cakey. it was the worst. and i looked orange for the whole day. i probably needed a thicker foundation. this one is waay thinner than maybelline's superstay foundation. i think i'll just go back to maybelline's superstay, which provided me a lot of coverage without even using concealer.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xliu4 on 4/18/2010 2:58:00 AM more reviews by xliu4

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is a decent foundation @ the price. It's full coverage so it looks heavy on the face but I really like to apply this with a damp sponge and it gives a more natural look. it's very long lasting too. Great drugstore product, it'll be a staple for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 whitebook on 4/6/2010 7:15:00 PM more reviews by whitebook

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

1. It's easy to apply (compared to the oily/combo version)! (FYI, I've tried to apply it with Sephora #50, and it looks awesome. However, I don't use it often since it irritates my skin. )
2. When you find the right color (color = your neckcolor), it won't look cakey at all! I am very closed to NC30, Buff in normal/dry version is a perfect fit! I can smile without cracking any thing!
3. It stays the same for all day! It stays fresh on the skin and it won't turn orange like some other brands!
4. It works great with Ponds Cold Cream (MU remover). I can take everything off with PCC and some toilet paper in a few stroke! My skin doesn't break out after a month of use!
However, I would minus 1 lippie for the coverage, the coverage is just medium, I tried to build it up but it wasn't very successful.
For the ones who debates between PhotoReady or ColorStay:
I think CS definitely gives more control. With CS, you can have a matte or dewy look upon your choice. You can add pearl pigment to specific area while PR can only give you a dewy look.
Relvon has came a long way. I am sure they know what they are doing. I think CS has the right price when you compare its functionality to others. It always goes on sale at Walgreen (40% off). I got mine for less than 8 dollars. Walmart always sells it for less than 11 dollars. Everyone wish this comes with a pump, but I heard plastic (w/ BPA) is bad, that's why they left out the pump. Anyways, pouring onto the back of my hand is not a hassle for me. I will continue purchasing this product.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cepauloar on 4/5/2010 10:27:00 PM more reviews by cepauloar

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I don't like this product that much. For me, it's way too heavy and I think my skin doesn't need such a thick coverage. I prefer thinner foundations that make my skin look radiant. This gives me an overdone look and looks a bit cakey. I have found better shades (that fit my skin tone in a better way) in other brands. Maybe I should have gotten the one that's for oily skin (even though my skin isn't oily) but why would I bother when I have found other drugstore foundations that work quite well... I don't like this, don't recommend this and wouldn't purchase again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dmcgeo1 on 4/1/2010 11:55:00 PM more reviews by dmcgeo1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This foundation has wonderful lasting power. It took several purchases for me to discover the correct shade, but with BOGOS it still wasn't overly expensive. I don't particularly have trouble blending but I do find it can look cakey. I apply with a wet sponge or apply with a foundation brush and then spay with a product like Fix+, I dislike the packaging but bought several airless pumps for really cheap. I haven't broken out with this makeup but do find that I need to thoroughly wash my face at night. Overall, I am looking foward to using this in the summer as I live in a humid climate and this has amazing staying power. I'm also happy with rotating this with a more expensive foundation to save money.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 BeautyAddict12 on 4/1/2010 10:59:00 PM more reviews by BeautyAddict12

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly   Eyes: Brown    

This is actually one of the better drugstore foundations I've tried when it comes to coverage and the overall look it gives my skin. It completely covers red areas but if you suffer with acne ans scars(like me) you do need a seperate concealer to cover those. However after doing research I found this product is linked with many terrible things! The ingredients titanium dioxide,silica and quartz are found in this product and it is linked with cancer! After reading this at cosmeticsdatabase.com I threw this out!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jif2c on 3/22/2010 12:41:00 AM more reviews by jif2c

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I am having so much trouble finding a foundation that is a HG item for me. I really do love the lasting effects of this foundation but there are a few things I would change like the smell. You can really feel it on your skin which I have grown used to it so it doesnt bother me. I normally mix this with other foundations such as Nars sheer glow or Revlon Photo Ready and I get the look I like the best. I would recommend this foundation to anyone. I have very oily skin in the summer and very dry skin in the winter and it has help up to both!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Liquid products