Revlon • ColorStay Makeup with SoftFlex SPF 15 Normal/Dry Skin • Liquid

rated 3.8(460 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 pamelanolen on 3/3/2010 6:40:00 PM more reviews by pamelanolen

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

I love this foundation for everyday. I have been looking for a drug store foundation that would match my complexion and hold up all day. I am a MAC and MUFE girl all the way, but this foundation is absolutely comparable to both of those lines. I am african american and it is not always easy to match our skin tone, so when I purchased the ColorStay in Caramel I was really apprehensive. It has been a month now and I can't stop using it! I love and have told all of my friends about it!! Way to go Revlon!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 LZK on 2/23/2010 5:27:00 PM more reviews by LZK

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've just recently switched from the combo/oily formula to the dry and the first thing i noticed was that the combo oily/formula is absolutely matte while the normal/dry does have a bit of very subtle shimmer (not glitter). Also there is a subtle difference in the color shades.

I can't tell yet is this formula is actually more moisturizing but I have found a great way to apply lightly that works for me (I get compliments on my skin looking geat. Peaople often think I'm not even wearing make up. ):

I moisturize well, use a primer (smashbox works for me), and then I apply it by lightly dabbling my 187 in a bit of the foundation. I don't even cover all the bristle tips and i think this is the key to a light application. I also find that I do a lot of swirling and less stippling.

OVERALL: If you mostly care about your makeup STAYING ON and not rubbing off on your clothes, bf/gf/ whatever lol...or just simply fading...then this is the best makeup in this price range. Also if you don't mind taking the time to learn the right application for your individual skin/face/desired look since it is a little harder to work with.

NOTE: I'm an NC20 and I mix the Sand Beige and Buff colors in a MAC sample pot to get the right shade-easy to travel with too :)

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 redgerbera on 2/20/2010 7:38:00 PM more reviews by redgerbera

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

Even though I've yet to find my HG foundation, this one comes somewhat close. I have very dry skin, and finding a foundation that doesn't exacerbate the problem is difficult. However, this product kept me from drying out further (even though it didn't exactly hydrate).

I do have a couple of issues, though. First, this dries very quickly, so you have to work fast. Second, the lightest color (01) still isn't quite light enough for me (she of extreme paleness).

Overall, a good every day foundation.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 msbarbeebaby on 2/18/2010 9:43:00 PM more reviews by msbarbeebaby

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I was impressed to see how good my face looked with it. I LOVE LOVE LOVE how this is the ONLY foundation that i have EVER tried that actually fits my skintone 100% there is no foundation out there that would match my skin, you could always see the difference between my neck and face because they were two different colors. With this foundation, i have NO problem at all!! My color is buff, and its just right! It's a little hard to blend, but in the end its worth it. The foundation wears nicely throughout the day and really stays on forever...i would buy it again!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 izzyb on 2/18/2010 1:04:00 PM more reviews by izzyb

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This foundation gives great coverage without appearing cake like and actually does what it says. It stays in place! Good coverage throughout the day and does not cause me to breakout. I have a lot of acne scars and I think this is a must try for those who are looking for more coverage. I use the 150 Buff and it is a great match. Did try the color up from that, but it was too dark, but I just used it in the summer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 sg on 2/16/2010 11:28:00 PM more reviews by sg

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I used to be a devoted colorstay user back in the day. I used it solo with no primer or concealer and always received compliments on my "skin". It was my HG for years! Over time i strayed and tried new things but was never as happy. So I recently revisited my fave old foundation. Oh the horror.....
Despite, or rather in spite of it being reformulated to accomodate dry skin it now makes me a snake. Within an hour of application it dried out both my cheeks and caused a flaky mess. I tried it with and without primer and always generously moisturized before hand. (and yes i do exfoliate regularly)
I don't know what they did to my old fave but i shall never purchase it again.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 xstephanieex33 on 2/14/2010 2:09:00 PM more reviews by xstephanieex33

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I too bought this wanting to love it, but unfortunetly I don't. This dries my skin out sooo bad even though I bought the formula for normal/dry skin. When I put it on it doesn't seem to really cover all that great and my skin almost instantly looks dry and flakey. I'll keep trying different methods of applying this but I think it's just going to end up in my drawer of loser products :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 thebriggs on 2/12/2010 10:27:00 AM more reviews by thebriggs

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this foundation wanting to love it, but I had such a hard time with it! It wasn't about the color of the product or the consistency. I had a really hard time blending the product in and once I did, it did the "let's settle into my fine lines" dance. Truly, not after an hour I had caked up foundation in my smile lines, under my eyes and around my nose. Setting with powder or not didn't make a difference, I was just constantly looking in the mirror and rubbing the caked bits of my face (which also rubbed off the foundation) so I looked blotchy and you could tell where the foundation had come off. I tried to super blend it in one day, using 3 other products to help, but nothing worked. I like revlon products, just not this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lovelovelovets12 on 2/9/2010 2:14:00 PM more reviews by lovelovelovets12

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Okay, so on YouTube, i totally bashed this foundation, which i really don't blame myself for. For my and my skin, i have to work SUPER DUPER hard to get this foundation to work for me..
My shade i think is like a little bit too light, but my powder gives my normal color back again:)
When i do this:
-with a washcloth and really hot water, scrub my face
-while the hot water is still on my face (i don't wipe it off) i put on a calming acne serum
-then, my moisturizer, Eucerin Smoothing Essentials, AND ALOT OF IT!
-spritz my face with cool water, then rub it in
-spritz again and fan my face then put on Rimmel Fix and Perfect Primer, smooth it all on my face with the water mixijng in the primer
-wait for all of that to sink in
-spritz again with cool water, and fan my face
-THEN i put the foundation on.

don't ask why, but thats the only way that it works for me.

okay, so after all of that, my face is nice, even, glowing, and GORGEOUS!
except for my acne scars that i cover with Make Up For Ever Full Cover Creme Concealer (which is AMAZING :D )
then set it with Maybelline Mineral Power Powder in Light

voila! :D

bee-ay-utee-full
:)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Akidrad on 2/8/2010 1:20:00 AM more reviews by Akidrad

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I could not wait to write this review - I was that amazed the first time I tried this product! I have dry skin and finding a liquid foundation that (1) matches my fair skin and (2) doesn't look greasy or spotty or orange/yellow is pretty difficult. I picked this up today in the lightest Ivory shade and I LOVE it. It makes me look flawless, with a subtle glow, and natural at the same time. I also love that it's lightly moisturizing but dries quickly so I don't feel the need to powder it down right away. And it has SPF 15 - how wonderful! I'll take sunscreen where I can get it.

If I ever have any problems with this foundation I'll update the review, but for now the only Con I see is that the bottle doesn't have a pump. But it's ok, I'll manage.

Overall I am SO pleased with this product and I'm thankful for all of your MUA members for sharing your reviews -- I've been making such better makeup purchases since finding this site!

P.S. I applied this foundation with the Sonia Kushak flat blusher brush which also got wonderful reviews and I love it--gave a perfect finish, so give it a try!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Liquid products