Alima • Satin Matte Mineral Foundation • Powder

rated 4.0(423 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 bitterchoc0787 on 8/22/2008 4:52:00 PM more reviews by bitterchoc0787

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

Great product! Goes on smooth and never cakes. My skin looks nearly flawless with this foundation. I use it with Everyday Minerals's flat-top brush and it really makes a difference compared with my previous brushes. Using this foundation, people think that I'm not wearing make-up and I have naturally such nice skin. I do have pretty good skin thanks to MUA, found pretty good suggestions from this site, the honey mask being one of them. This foundation makes my skin look better than just good. I'm fair with pink undertones, Warm 2 (Cardamom) worked great for me. Use it with Jane's blushing petal blush. Perfect!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* snake_hips on 8/7/2008 9:11:00 PM more reviews by snake_hips

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This is my HG foundation. I've been using it for about a year. I absolutely love that you can order samples to find the perfect shade - and they really do seem to have a shade for everyone. I love the matte, yet not TOO matte finish, the ease of application (I use the BE kabuki to apply it), the incredible coverage (and it looks so natural), the way it lasts throughout the day (I do have to powder my nose a few times in the summer, but that's to be expected with combo skin). I use their concealer as well, and the finishing powder on top. Just lovely. The new packaging is pretty, too. And hey, they're from Portland - yay!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Peaches27 on 7/30/2008 12:23:00 PM more reviews by Peaches27

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Well, I just got my samples a few days ago, and so far I like it. I'm ordering more because the color wasn't exactly what I wanted but after I asked for advise from the makeup artist I now know what I need. It's a little more matte then what I'm used though.
Good, even coverage and stays put. Too soon to tell about breakouts but I'm keeping my fingers crossed.
EDIT- Well, I just can't do it...it's too matte for me. I really wanted to like this but after using it for a few days I just couldn't handle the duleness. Bummer...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HapaDynazty on 7/12/2008 12:35:00 AM more reviews by HapaDynazty

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love how this looks when I first put it on..smooth and even, natural. Too bad after my workday it can't hold up in my tzone and im left with no foundation especially on my nose. Stays great on my cheeks.. Probably will work better with those who's tzone isn't as oily as mine.

UPDATE: 11/10/08 So, I tried this again in colder weather (Nov) and this is actually holding up great since there is no heat or humidity. So, I guess this can be my winter foundation. I'm glad! :o) UPDATE AGAIN!! 12/20/08 The colors in this line are a little strange. The shades go from lightest 0 to 1, 2, 3 darker going up, I forget what's the highest most dark number. I wear warm 2 & swapped for olive 1 but olive one is a shade or two darker even though it is in the "1" group. I can actually wear both, it is slightly darker than the warm 2 with a more olive undertone but works. I *might* like olive more but it might be a tad dark for winter time.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ccj36 on 6/21/2008 4:09:00 PM more reviews by ccj36

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I am so glad I found this line! I have used Bare Minerals (too shiny but great coverage) and Mary Kay Mineral Makeup (not shiny but NO coverage). I have pretty good skin, but I am prone to breakouts. What I was looking for was a mineral makeup that didn't feel heavy, evened out my skintone, and lasts all day. Alima does all of that....even in Texas, in the summer! I like how you can just sweep it on your skin like a loose powder rather than having to buff it in. The website is very helpful as well; they offer different application techniques depending on your skin type and the kind of coverage you want. I suggest buying samples before buying the full-size containers of foundation, b/c they run a little light. I use Neutral 2, and it's a perfect match, and I'm pretty fair. You don't have to use much at all to get nice coverage, so a full-size container will last awhile.

Make sure you peruse the website; Alima is a great company with great products.

EDIT: (3/7/10) I recently switched to an oil-free cleanser and started having minor breakouts. After I looked on the Alima website, I saw that they recommend using an oil-based makeup remover to make sure you remove all the foundation. I started using an oil-based cold cream to remove the foundation before using my oil-free cleanser, and the problem has been solved. Thought I'd mention that since many people remark that they have breakouts after using Alima mmu after a few days.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ViciRose on 6/20/2008 8:04:00 PM more reviews by ViciRose

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I ordered several samples to get my color. Turns out I'm Olive 1. It is pretty great actually to find something that matches my tone without being to dark. I'm not sure I have found a better match. I actually think I could go a smidgen darker... maybe I will blend in a bit of the Olive 1.5 and see how that works. I'm not sure I like the finish as well as I do BE or even MaryKay mineral. I know a lot of people dont like the BE dewy look but I do like it. It seems fresh and healthy. Although, I can't find a decent color match with BE. Mary Kay is okay, I don't think it is all that good for my skin, sometimes clogs pores. Hum... there is no such thing as perfect I guess.


UPDATE: this stuff sucks. It turns into a oil slick by the end of the day, and honestly I have never used another product that does that. Whats worse, is that the oil sits right on top of my skin, the makeup seems to float on top.. so it look like.... I don't know... melting skin? not sexi

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 robynethridge on 6/13/2008 10:40:00 AM more reviews by robynethridge

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I ordered some foundation samples from Alima, and I do like the foundation. However, I like everday minerals better. Alima is heavier going on, covers better, but at the same time is doesn't blend in with my skin and look as natural. I don't want to look like I am wearing make-up and I just can't achieve this look as well with alima. When my skin is acting up, I normally reach for one of the alima samples to get more coverage, but the majority of the time I use everyday minerals.

I was able to find a color I liked with alima easily; took me a little longer with EM. I just don't think the foundation blends in as well. Sorry alima!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lovepinkkx17 on 6/12/2008 5:35:00 PM more reviews by lovepinkkx17

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

i tried a sample of this in N-0 ... awesome foundation.
works great with my oily skin... i went to the bathroom half as many times as i usually do because blotting was not as urgent:)
some foundations i have used in the past, their application at first is flawless.. but then it quickly fades as the day goes by. Alima foundation doesn't do that. It lasts for a good 6-8 hours! ah i love alima<33

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kellybella on 5/25/2008 12:09:00 PM more reviews by kellybella

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

This foundation wears like iron! I've had problems with foundations melting off or pooling in my pores by the end of the day. Not Alima! This provides medium coverage with one application (I apply it wet with a damp kabuki). I found my match in my first round of samples, which was great!

I highly recommend this for gals with oily skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 miss_pretty on 5/23/2008 6:25:00 PM more reviews by miss_pretty

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I do want to say that the Ivory foundations are almost white. I'm very pale and they made me look at bit washed out. So, buy a color that is darker than you think you need or buy several samples before committing.

The product is really really nice. I bought several samples of their primer, concealer, color correcting powders and foundations before going to Palm Springs for Coachella. I have a tendency to get very oily in my T-Zone and am acne prone. I wanted to have a nice face for the event, without sweating off all my makeup.

When applied the make up looks very natural, just like your skin. I spent hours at the festival, often dancing in tents over 100 F and my make up didn't fail me. I like some Alima products better than others, but I'd say that their foundation is a really solid and good mineral makeup.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Alima products

More Powder products