Neutrogena • Anti-Residue Shampoo • Shampoo

rated 4.2(437 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 black55 on 2/12/2008 9:46:00 PM more reviews by black55

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

After reading all of the good reviews on this product I decided to give it a try. I think this shampoo lives up to all of the hype. It makes my really oily hair feel clean and light, and it doesn't get greasy looking as fast. I still have to wash my hair everyday, but it does help.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 missstarlight on 1/24/2008 5:22:00 PM more reviews by missstarlight

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have fine highlighted (red/blonde) hair & accumulate oil and product easily. Also, I have almost no water pressure in my apartment and rarely get the good rinse that I should after a hair wash. I like this product simply because it, even without hardly any water pressure, rinses all the "gunk" out. And I only use it about once every week or two.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Rainbowapple on 1/14/2008 11:32:00 PM more reviews by Rainbowapple

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Light, fresh herbal scent. A little goes a long way. Leaves my normal, fine frizzy hair soft and squeaky clean. Rinses well (even in the tub). Prefer this over Johnson's Baby Shampooo, since my hair is colored.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jiney17 on 1/9/2008 12:27:00 PM more reviews by jiney17

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Has a slightly herbal scent that I like very much. It reminds me a little bit of the Neutrogena yellow facial bar soap. Lathers nicely and deep cleans my hair without making it feel stripped or flyaway. I think I prefer the scent of the Paul Mitchle #2 shampoo better, but I think this is a slightly better price point (just slightly--the bottle is kinda small) and it's easier to get, so I'd repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 glasstrash on 1/4/2008 9:15:00 PM more reviews by glasstrash

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I love this stuff. I use it twice a week, and it gets out all the nasty product build up. I wouldn't recommend using twice a week to anyone without oily, teenage hair like me, though. I love how this makes my hair feel: soft and really bouncy. I'd reccomend to anyone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 J9lee on 1/3/2008 1:57:00 AM more reviews by J9lee

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is a clean, classic anti-residue shampoo that I use once a week to prevent product build-up. I tried this shampoo based on the recommendation of this website and it certainly lived up to the rave reviews!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rory13 on 1/2/2008 2:44:00 PM more reviews by rory13

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I recently tried a silicone based straightening shampoo/conditioner that weighed my hair down so much it felt like I was wearing a greasy wig. Thankfully I keep a bottle of this shampoo on hand for such problems. I used it once and my hair is back to normal again. I can't say enough about this stuff, it's the best clarifying shampoo out there.

The scent reminds me of the old Clairol Herbal Essences from the 80's. I also love the drugstore price. My cabinet is never without this shampoo!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TakenByHim on 1/1/2008 10:08:00 PM more reviews by TakenByHim

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This does a good job of removing all build up and residue in my hair but it does too good of a job. It removes all of my natural hair oils, leaving my hair drier than it normally is and unfortunately, it also strips hair dye. Due to the drying nature, I suggest you follow with a deep conditioner after every use. I definitely don't recommend it for those with colored hair..it is much too concentrated. I am not sensitive to smell but IMO, this has a horrible alcohol smell to it. I am now looking into trying a more gentle clarifying shampoo.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 mizplacedcitygirl on 12/23/2007 12:22:00 PM more reviews by mizplacedcitygirl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Okay...so I think i'm probably the only person who is going to say this about this shampoo but, for me, this did not clarify AT ALL. During the week I typically use very moisturizing shampoos that leave my hair soft and light...strange, i know, but it works. Well, after using this my hair feels like I took Extra Virgin Olive Oil and dumped it on my head. I really wanted to like this too!!! O well, now I have something with which I can wash my makeup brushes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lovesittxx on 12/10/2007 3:34:00 PM more reviews by lovesittxx

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Wow! This is a seriously excellent clarifying shampoo. I haven't tried any other clarifying shampoos, so I can't compare it with any others, but I don't think I need to! This is the one I am sticking with!

The formula is very concentrated, so you only need the tiniest bit to seriously clean and de-gunk your hair. It cleans ALL of the buildup from products, etc, and leaves your hair squeaky clean. Obviously, since it strips your hair of all buildup, it also strips it of moisture, but it suprisingly was not that bad for me, even though my hair is already parched. I just put on some deep conditioner for 5 minutes, and my hair was silky and clean!

As far as the scent goes, I can deal with it. It's very strong and herbal, or at least that is what I detect. But it's not so bad, seeing how good it works!

I also found this makes an excellent makeup brush cleanser. I was shocked at how well it worked for my brushes. I haven't seen them this clean since I bought them! Every little bit of makeup was removed- even dried, caked up gel liner. And again, I only needed a little bit! I put a dab on my hand, then rubbed the makeup brush on my hand, and rinsed. Ta-da- squeaky clean brushes!

This is honestly a miracle shampoo for me. And not only that, but I also found two uses for it! I will repurchase this again and again!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Shampoo products