Neutrogena Anti-Residue Shampoo

4.3

470 reviews

84% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Sodium Chloride, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Glycerin, PEG-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Citric Acid, DMDM Hydantoin, Fragrance (2011 formula)


on 12/15/2008 12:07:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I LOVE this shampoo!!! HG for me! I use it once a week without fail. I have always had decent hair but after pregnancy it had gotten really frizzy, rough and dry. I thought it was the hormones from the pregnancy and eventually my hair would go back to the way it was......well after almost a year and a half it was still pretty bad. I kept trying new shampoos, conditioners and different hairstylists. Nothing. Then I came across a review of this shampoo on mu and thought of trying it. The change was amazing! A lot of my problems stemmed from a ton of product buildup. The rest from a bad haircut. I know we should use something to remove product buildup but I dont use a lot of prducts, I don't even style my hair. Just wash and go. Now that I am using this my hair is back to what it used to be. (I've also found a good hairstylist) It can be drying so I would not use it more than once a week but this will be one of my staples for a long time.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 12/2/2008 8:10:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

After trying every anti-residue product on the market, I have to say this is the best. The only down fall: it's pretty harsh (may be it's use of chemicals and sulfates). But, if you're looking to really strip the hair of whatever it seems to be clinging too, keep one of these bottles handy for a once a week deep clean. I wouldn't use it too much because i'm sure it affects hair color. It is a fraction of the cost of other high priced hair care lines and works better than any of them. It is slightly drying and irritating if you use it too much, so don't go overboard.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/27/2008 2:38:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I personally don't use this product, BUT.. I had to put in this review since my dad uses ONLY this. I think he's been using it for years and years, it's the only shampoo he'll buy. I've tried it out a few times and of course it's not going to give you earth shattering results or anything, that's just not what it's made for. I would definitely use this as a clarifying shampoo, it leaves your hair squeaky clean. Perhaps it is a clarifyer? Anyway, all I know that it's simple, safe, and it works. A real bargain I imagine!!!


on 11/19/2008 10:29:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

good product cause it strips off residue. the only thing i dislike is the smell and that it flatened out my hair


on 10/29/2008 3:58:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I have very fine hair that is used to coastal rainwater. When I moved much further inland for school, my hair stopped behaving. The air here is so much colder and drier, and the water is very hard to boot. So ended up weighing down my hair with tons of heavy conditioner so it wouldn't turn to straw, and then I worried that the hard water wasn't rinsing it out properly. I was absolutely fed up with my shampoos, because none of them could make my hair feel clean anymore. When I found myself washing my hair twice a day just to have it be close to being manageable, I decided enough was enough and set out to find a hardcore clarifying shampoo to de-gunk my poor hair.


When I found this Neutrogena shampoo, I loved the packaging. The bottle looked like it meant business - no frilly fruity stuff here. When I opened it and took a whiff, I put it back on the shelf. No way I'm putting that in my hair, I thought. But then I thought again, no other clarifying shampoos at the store seemed as serious about cutting the gunk out. I ended up purchasing this bottle even though it was twice as expensive as the Pantene clarifying shampoo. I did not regret it.


The first time I used it, I actually felt the difference in my wet hair. SQUEAKY clean. Sure, my hair was a little dry feeling, but then I put in my regular conditioner and it was perfect. I want to make it very clear that this is not meant to replace your regular shampoo - it's there to strip away all the crap that is preventing your shampoo and conditioner from doing their jobs. It actually makes your regular products *more effective.* So of course you're still supposed to condition your hair after using this. And obviously you don't need to use this every day! Once again, it's NOT MEANT TO REPLACE YOUR REGULAR SHAMPOO.


At first I used it once a week, and now I only need to use it every week and a half or two weeks. My hair no longer feels dry or heavy and dirty from product buildup. It feels soft and healthy, and stays clean longer in between washes. This product has saved my hair and my wallet - if I hadn't found this shampoo, who knows how much I would have spent in vain searching for products to save my poor hair, when the root of the problem was simply bad buildup. There's nothing that I'm afraid to put in my hair anymore - mousse, hairspray, whatever... I know this shampoo can handle it.


I also grew to love the scent too. It reminds me of an Aveda product that they always put in my hair when I go to the salon, a very rich, lush, spicy woodsy scent that is definitely not cute or girly, but not masculine either. This is good stuff and it definitely deserves the high rating that it has.

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.


on 10/24/2008 7:41:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I've purchased this twice, the first time several years back, and the second time a few months back. I absolutely disliked it the first I bought it but decided to give it another shot recently as I thought they might have changed the formula since its been so long. They haven't. It still makes my hair very dry after I use it. It tangles my hair up pretty badly too. I really would try another brand but came back to this anyway since its so highly recommended by famous stylists and costs much lesser compared to other brands of deep cleansing shampoo. I didn't quite like the packaging too.


on 10/8/2008 9:45:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I do not understand how this product has received such great reviews. The smell alone is enough to make me not want to buy it again. It reminds me of insect killer or something. Worst, this stuff destroys your hair! I know what your thinking its a clarifying shampoo - yes I know. I use Suave's clarifying shampoo once a week or more and it does NOT leave my hair like this. Please do not pay the extra money for this product, it is super drying. Ive achieved better results for much cheaper. If you want something better than a drugstore brand, try Redken's Hair Cleansing Cream - much better than this


on 9/11/2008 11:37:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

this is one great clarifying shampoo..
when i use this, i can feel my hair becoming cleaner.
it does leave hair a lil squeaky but that's common with clarifying shampoos.
do use a conditioner or a leave on at least.
great when i'm worried about product build up.


on 8/28/2008 10:45:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is the first and only clarifying shampoo I've used, but I love it. I've recently switched to washing my very fine hair every other day, and using more product on day 2 to rev up the style. The additional product was weighing my hair down even on the days I did shampoo. My hair felt back to normal after I used this - clean, fine, gunk-free.

I didn't smell anything... not sure what people are talking about re: a masculine smell.

The bottle looks cool, but is an awkward shape/size for actually holding. I thought it was somewhat pricey for only 5-6oz, but I'll use it once a week. Admittedly, I generally use drugstore shampoo (the SAMY line at ULTA is around $6-7 a 12oz bottle), so my price benchmark is low.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This stuff gets your hair CLEAN. Conditioner is a must, otherwise my hair is very tangled. I use this 1-2 times per week, and my hair always looks great afterward.

HOWEVER, it stinks. Ok, it doesn't stink if you like masculine smelling hair. Others say it doesn't last, but I smell it. It isn't bad enough to prevent me from using it though.


Back to Top