Neutrogena Anti-Residue Shampoo

4.3

466 reviews

84% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Sodium Chloride, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Glycerin, PEG-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Citric Acid, DMDM Hydantoin, Fragrance (2011 formula)


on 10/29/2008 3:58:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have very fine hair that is used to coastal rainwater. When I moved much further inland for school, my hair stopped behaving. The air here is so much colder and drier, and the water is very hard to boot. So ended up weighing down my hair with tons of heavy conditioner so it wouldn't turn to straw, and then I worried that the hard water wasn't rinsing it out properly. I was absolutely fed up with my shampoos, because none of them could make my hair feel clean anymore. When I found myself washing my hair twice a day just to have it be close to being manageable, I decided enough was enough and set out to find a hardcore clarifying shampoo to de-gunk my poor hair.


When I found this Neutrogena shampoo, I loved the packaging. The bottle looked like it meant business - no frilly fruity stuff here. When I opened it and took a whiff, I put it back on the shelf. No way I'm putting that in my hair, I thought. But then I thought again, no other clarifying shampoos at the store seemed as serious about cutting the gunk out. I ended up purchasing this bottle even though it was twice as expensive as the Pantene clarifying shampoo. I did not regret it.


The first time I used it, I actually felt the difference in my wet hair. SQUEAKY clean. Sure, my hair was a little dry feeling, but then I put in my regular conditioner and it was perfect. I want to make it very clear that this is not meant to replace your regular shampoo - it's there to strip away all the crap that is preventing your shampoo and conditioner from doing their jobs. It actually makes your regular products *more effective.* So of course you're still supposed to condition your hair after using this. And obviously you don't need to use this every day! Once again, it's NOT MEANT TO REPLACE YOUR REGULAR SHAMPOO.


At first I used it once a week, and now I only need to use it every week and a half or two weeks. My hair no longer feels dry or heavy and dirty from product buildup. It feels soft and healthy, and stays clean longer in between washes. This product has saved my hair and my wallet - if I hadn't found this shampoo, who knows how much I would have spent in vain searching for products to save my poor hair, when the root of the problem was simply bad buildup. There's nothing that I'm afraid to put in my hair anymore - mousse, hairspray, whatever... I know this shampoo can handle it.


I also grew to love the scent too. It reminds me of an Aveda product that they always put in my hair when I go to the salon, a very rich, lush, spicy woodsy scent that is definitely not cute or girly, but not masculine either. This is good stuff and it definitely deserves the high rating that it has.

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.



on 10/24/2008 7:41:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I've purchased this twice, the first time several years back, and the second time a few months back. I absolutely disliked it the first I bought it but decided to give it another shot recently as I thought they might have changed the formula since its been so long. They haven't. It still makes my hair very dry after I use it. It tangles my hair up pretty badly too. I really would try another brand but came back to this anyway since its so highly recommended by famous stylists and costs much lesser compared to other brands of deep cleansing shampoo. I didn't quite like the packaging too.


on 10/8/2008 9:45:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I do not understand how this product has received such great reviews. The smell alone is enough to make me not want to buy it again. It reminds me of insect killer or something. Worst, this stuff destroys your hair! I know what your thinking its a clarifying shampoo - yes I know. I use Suave's clarifying shampoo once a week or more and it does NOT leave my hair like this. Please do not pay the extra money for this product, it is super drying. Ive achieved better results for much cheaper. If you want something better than a drugstore brand, try Redken's Hair Cleansing Cream - much better than this


on 9/11/2008 11:37:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

this is one great clarifying shampoo..
when i use this, i can feel my hair becoming cleaner.
it does leave hair a lil squeaky but that's common with clarifying shampoos.
do use a conditioner or a leave on at least.
great when i'm worried about product build up.


on 8/28/2008 10:45:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is the first and only clarifying shampoo I've used, but I love it. I've recently switched to washing my very fine hair every other day, and using more product on day 2 to rev up the style. The additional product was weighing my hair down even on the days I did shampoo. My hair felt back to normal after I used this - clean, fine, gunk-free.

I didn't smell anything... not sure what people are talking about re: a masculine smell.

The bottle looks cool, but is an awkward shape/size for actually holding. I thought it was somewhat pricey for only 5-6oz, but I'll use it once a week. Admittedly, I generally use drugstore shampoo (the SAMY line at ULTA is around $6-7 a 12oz bottle), so my price benchmark is low.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This stuff gets your hair CLEAN. Conditioner is a must, otherwise my hair is very tangled. I use this 1-2 times per week, and my hair always looks great afterward.

HOWEVER, it stinks. Ok, it doesn't stink if you like masculine smelling hair. Others say it doesn't last, but I smell it. It isn't bad enough to prevent me from using it though.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I find that no matter how many shampoos I buy, no matter the price, scent, or quantity, I always always always go back to this stuff. Because nothing cleans my hair like this shampoo.

I have very fine, wavy-ish hair. I colour it a lot too. After a professional colour I used to be too paranoid this shampoo would strip it all out so I periodically have been searching for a gentler shampoo. But I find gentler shampoos weigh my fine hair down with so much junk, styling is near impossible. I like a ton of volume, too, so that was especially difficult to achieve.

My hair is naturally brown and I dye it a bit darker, and I have to say that even though the colour may fade a little tiny bit faster with this shampoo than with others (although I haven't really noticed it doing so), this shampoo is worth it. It makes my hair SO clean and bouncy and full. I feel like I don't have fine hair when I use this shampoo.

The ONLY reason I am not giving it 5 lipsticks? The smell. It's very old smelling, overly clean, almost masculine. And even worse, you can smell it over your conditioner, no matter how strong the conditioner small is. Luckily after I put hairspray in my hair the smell leaves.

Still, try this product. It is wonderful. Just be sure to condition after!


on 8/18/2008 7:45:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I normally use Redken products which generally live up to their advertising. I have Redkens clarifying shampoo Hair Cleansing Cream which cleans like a you know what. That may or may not be a bad thing but it tends to dry my hair a bit. I can use it when I'm greasy but not during dry months. I like Neutrogenas shampoo because its a little less drying but still does the trick at a much nicer price. I'm not crazy about the smell but it doesn't make me sick so I can live with that. I LOVE the Triple Moisture line, the smell is just DIVINE!! I will continue to buy this product but I wish they'd put it in a round bottle, this square shape is a bit awkward.


on 8/14/2008 10:38:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This smells awful and leaves my hair all tangled, dry and squeaky, but it does its job of removing residue(my biggest problem is silicone). After blow drying and untangling my hair, hair turns out to be baby soft and clean. My only qualms is losing hair after using it. If I don't lather enough I lose quite a bit of hair.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Olive, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I've liked this since I first used it over 10 years ago... it really cleans the gunk from your hair. Your hair ends up fluffy and light and amazing, and soaks up a good conditioning treatment really well.

I love the simple, slightly boyish scent, and the fact that this stuff seems to be the same formula I had back in the days... no nasty surprises~ THANKS NEUTROGENA!




Back to Top