Neutrogena Anti-Residue Shampoo

4.3

463 reviews

84% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Sodium Chloride, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Glycerin, PEG-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Citric Acid, DMDM Hydantoin, Fragrance (2011 formula)


on 9/11/2008 11:37:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

this is one great clarifying shampoo..
when i use this, i can feel my hair becoming cleaner.
it does leave hair a lil squeaky but that's common with clarifying shampoos.
do use a conditioner or a leave on at least.
great when i'm worried about product build up.



on 8/28/2008 10:45:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is the first and only clarifying shampoo I've used, but I love it. I've recently switched to washing my very fine hair every other day, and using more product on day 2 to rev up the style. The additional product was weighing my hair down even on the days I did shampoo. My hair felt back to normal after I used this - clean, fine, gunk-free.

I didn't smell anything... not sure what people are talking about re: a masculine smell.

The bottle looks cool, but is an awkward shape/size for actually holding. I thought it was somewhat pricey for only 5-6oz, but I'll use it once a week. Admittedly, I generally use drugstore shampoo (the SAMY line at ULTA is around $6-7 a 12oz bottle), so my price benchmark is low.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This stuff gets your hair CLEAN. Conditioner is a must, otherwise my hair is very tangled. I use this 1-2 times per week, and my hair always looks great afterward.

HOWEVER, it stinks. Ok, it doesn't stink if you like masculine smelling hair. Others say it doesn't last, but I smell it. It isn't bad enough to prevent me from using it though.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I find that no matter how many shampoos I buy, no matter the price, scent, or quantity, I always always always go back to this stuff. Because nothing cleans my hair like this shampoo.

I have very fine, wavy-ish hair. I colour it a lot too. After a professional colour I used to be too paranoid this shampoo would strip it all out so I periodically have been searching for a gentler shampoo. But I find gentler shampoos weigh my fine hair down with so much junk, styling is near impossible. I like a ton of volume, too, so that was especially difficult to achieve.

My hair is naturally brown and I dye it a bit darker, and I have to say that even though the colour may fade a little tiny bit faster with this shampoo than with others (although I haven't really noticed it doing so), this shampoo is worth it. It makes my hair SO clean and bouncy and full. I feel like I don't have fine hair when I use this shampoo.

The ONLY reason I am not giving it 5 lipsticks? The smell. It's very old smelling, overly clean, almost masculine. And even worse, you can smell it over your conditioner, no matter how strong the conditioner small is. Luckily after I put hairspray in my hair the smell leaves.

Still, try this product. It is wonderful. Just be sure to condition after!


on 8/18/2008 7:45:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I normally use Redken products which generally live up to their advertising. I have Redkens clarifying shampoo Hair Cleansing Cream which cleans like a you know what. That may or may not be a bad thing but it tends to dry my hair a bit. I can use it when I'm greasy but not during dry months. I like Neutrogenas shampoo because its a little less drying but still does the trick at a much nicer price. I'm not crazy about the smell but it doesn't make me sick so I can live with that. I LOVE the Triple Moisture line, the smell is just DIVINE!! I will continue to buy this product but I wish they'd put it in a round bottle, this square shape is a bit awkward.


on 8/14/2008 10:38:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This smells awful and leaves my hair all tangled, dry and squeaky, but it does its job of removing residue(my biggest problem is silicone). After blow drying and untangling my hair, hair turns out to be baby soft and clean. My only qualms is losing hair after using it. If I don't lather enough I lose quite a bit of hair.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Olive, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I've liked this since I first used it over 10 years ago... it really cleans the gunk from your hair. Your hair ends up fluffy and light and amazing, and soaks up a good conditioning treatment really well.

I love the simple, slightly boyish scent, and the fact that this stuff seems to be the same formula I had back in the days... no nasty surprises~ THANKS NEUTROGENA!


on 7/23/2008 3:57:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This has been around for YEARS, and there's a reason. It just works. So many brands out there claim to remove residues, but after you use this product, you realize they are all a scam! I've recently learned that using silicone products have really made my hair feel terrible so I'm starting with a clean slate and nothing has removed the buildup of silicones like this shampoo. Plus, it's easy to find and so much more affordable than salon brands. It's definitely on the harsh side, so I'd really deep condition your hair after using it , but I like to think of it as exfoliation for my hair. Just like your skin, which absorbs your moisturizer so much better after you've exfoliated your skin, I find my hair acts the same way after using buildup causing products, like silicones, which block the ability for your hair to absorb moisturizing products. I feel like I have a new head of hair now without having to cut it off and start over. However, use sparingly. You definitely wouldn't want to use this every day or even every other day.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/11/2008 10:20:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Great cleansing shampoo. For people who are having trouble with this shampoo, you only use it once a week! If you're using it every day of COURSE your hair will feel brittle. Also if you only use shampoo and not conditioner, I recommend using one after this or your hair will feel temporarily like straw. Not because of damage, but because it's dry. This product does exactly what it says it will. It removes gross buildup of products that accumulates in your hair. It does it very well. I don't have any problems with the smell at all. It smells like your boyfriend at his best smelling when he steps out of the shower. It smells very clean. It's not offensive at all. This DOES get your hair squeaky clean, and for those of you expecting it not to, well you're expecting something else. The point of this shampoo is to strip your hair a bit. I really like it though and it's now a weekly thing with my hair, I usually do this when I do my weekly hair mask.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/7/2008 3:02:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Just like the bottle states, anti-residue! I'm comparing this against previous shampoos I've used in the past, Pantene, Bed Head, Lush Products. So far I'm really happy with this product and the shampoo comes in a big bottle, conditioner doesn't which doesn't make sense.


Popular Shampoos


Shampoo
397 Reviews
Shimmer Lights
327 Reviews
Shampoo
179 Reviews
Baby Shampoo
328 Reviews
Back to Top