Neutrogena • Anti-Residue Shampoo • Shampoo

rated 4.2(446 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jeantanpk on 4/10/2008 3:11:00 AM more reviews by jeantanpk

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This is the worst shampoo i have ever used. It dried out my hair and i could not comb thru at all.. eventually i have to wash it with a light extra virgin olive oil before it is restored back to "normal".. i felt... i could do better with detergent. I am so disgusted with all of Neutrogena's products, facial foams, creams, toners... (oh except rainbath)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 geeLICIOUS on 4/7/2008 3:56:00 PM more reviews by geeLICIOUS

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm all for a shampoo that rinses out product build up but not at the expense of a fiery scalp and a horrid scent. True, you only need a little bit but it is hell trying to spread this throughout your hair. It doesn't lather, which makes it difficult to know if all of your hair is getting treated. Oh, and the scent...sucks. A light herbal scent is fine but this borders on masculine and even if you use a rich-hydrating conditioner (which is a must if you use this), the scent is mega-strong. I was embarassed that everyone was going to say it stank...which it does. As far as doing its job, it made my hair feel like straw. If you have virgin hair, I think this would be fine in terms that it wouldn't strip off any dyes. I used this twice and the results were always the same. Scent still sucks but it's now used to wash my brushes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jann8 on 4/3/2008 10:29:00 AM more reviews by jann8

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I use this every other day. I have fine, oily hair and it keeps my hair in great condition. It doesn't dry it out and adds tons of body unlike Aveda or Philosophy. The fragrance is more masculine than I like; it doesn't linger in the hair. I like my hair to smell clean not like green apples or those ungodly awful Aveda scents.If you have fine hair and it's in good condition, try this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jazaminax on 3/9/2008 11:50:00 PM more reviews by Jazaminax

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Just to give you an idea, my hair is thick, course mediterranean hair and it tends to be on the drier side (especially the ends) so I wash it every 4-5 days. I'd say I use this stuff every fourth or fifth time I wash my hair, and it works great in restoring my regular shampoo/conditioner's power :)

This does exactly what it says it will and removes any build-up from product in your hair. It definitely leaves that squeeky clean feeling once you rinse it out, so I always make sure to do a deep conditioning after using it. It really does feel like the conditioner takes better and my hair is softer, shinier, and just healthier all around when I do this.

I don't really understand why a good number of people seem as bothered as they are about the smell, it's just like a clean, fresh, non-fufu type of scent. Doesn't bother me much at all.

I'd definitely recommend this. It isn't the absolute cheapest product, and the bottle isn't incredibly large, but considering you really shouldn't use it but once a week (if you wash your hair every day) or so, and you don't need much, it lasts and is well worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 tonyavicci on 3/8/2008 11:24:00 PM more reviews by tonyavicci

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I have to give this product a 1 because I absolutely would never ever buy this again. While it does what it's supposed to and removes build-up, I cannot get past the mediciney smell. The horrible scent lingers in my hair for several days after use, even through other washings, styling products, and spraying my hair with perfume. I just can't get rid of the smell. My son dumped the entire bottle out, which actually made me pretty happy, because then I didn't have to feel bad about throwing the it away.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 deenie1499 on 3/7/2008 12:47:00 PM more reviews by deenie1499

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Ok so the smell is something to be desired. But if you want a de-gunking shampoo this cannot be beat. Its been a staple in my house for years and now I even have my boyfriend (who has a notoriously oily scalp) hooked.

I only use it when I feel my hair needs it, which can be as much as once a week or as little as once a month. Its a good pick me up if you feel your hair is lacking and weighed down.

I also often use it in combination with my normal shampoo so the smell isnt so potent because you really smell this on your hair after you use it - for a while!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jelaine on 3/6/2008 1:40:00 PM more reviews by jelaine

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Ok, so this IS a bit drying, but then don't use it every day for crying out loud! It's a great product to use when you feel like your shampoo and conditioner might not be rinsing out enough after about two weeks or so. I use it maybe once every two weeks, just from the ears down to remove heavy conditioner (Matrix Biolage Hydrating Balm) and it works great. I would not suggest using it on your scalp too much as it will dry it out and you might get tiny 'dusty' flakes. Plus, the smell is great. Neutral, a little masculine, a little early 90s.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 barkercakes on 3/1/2008 10:51:00 PM more reviews by barkercakes

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have had this product pretty much my whole life, my mom used it so i did too! I still use it once a week to get rid of the build up in my hair. After my hair is more voluminous shiny, it never leaves it stripped or dry. The only thing i dont like about this product is the smell. It very medicinal not my thing, but it works!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 hatsumi on 2/23/2008 1:27:00 AM more reviews by hatsumi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Smells like a "clean" public bathroom! I just had to get that out there. I don't really know if this did much to my hair... My hair is slightly less oily.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 black55 on 2/12/2008 9:46:00 PM more reviews by black55

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

After reading all of the good reviews on this product I decided to give it a try. I think this shampoo lives up to all of the hype. It makes my really oily hair feel clean and light, and it doesn't get greasy looking as fast. I still have to wash my hair everyday, but it does help.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Shampoo products