NARS Dolce Vita

4.1

442 reviews

71% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 3/21/2008 4:12:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

i soooo love it!!!!!!



on 3/13/2008 1:52:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

I'm on my third tube of Dolce Vita lipstick and will continue to keep one in my makeup bag until the awful, awful day when it is discontinued. I have naturally high-coloured lips and despaired about ever wearing pink on my lips until I went out and bought my first tube. This is my HG MLBB lipstick -- its sheer formulation means that it is practically idiotproof, which allows me to put it on without looking at the mirror.

The description of Dolce Vita as a "dusty rose" on the Sephora website is pretty spot on, in my opinion. As for its universality, I would really advise anyone to be circumspect about such claims. I'm Asian and so is my sister, but Dolce Vita looks good on me and terrible on her; she looks like a vision in yellow while I look like dried puke. Dolce Vita is most likely to work better on those with cool undertones, and even then it isn't the most dramatic shade. The lipstick imparts a soft, rosy gleam to the lips, but it is a lipstick after all and not a gloss, so be sure to moisturize your lips beforehand. I wear glosses for the most part so lipsticks take some adjusting to as they feel more drying, but this can be resolved by applying lip balm (Eve Lom Kiss Mix!) or a balm gloss (CO Bigelow Mentha lip shine!) on top.

For the women who have been disappointed by Dolce Vita, I recommend that you look out for Lipstick Queen's Pink Sinner. It's a highly-pigmented and creamy pink, which oddly seems to work better on those with warm undertones (the autumn and spring-toned women). I gave it to abovementioned sister, who's now found a pink she can wear!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.


on 3/11/2008 11:36:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I really didn't like this at first, it was too dark with undertones that are slightly too purple, but it's grown on me so that I'll wear it occasionally. This shade really doesn't work for everyone (lipsticks are so difficult!), but it can be a decent starting for a newbie. I didn't even love the texture, unfortunately. I've bought other lip products from Nars, but unfortunately he doesn't seem to be able to achieve the same versatility and universality as the Orgasm blush. This isn't awful, but it isn't great, so it isn't worth the money. I'll keep looking.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This NARS Dolce Vita just goes to show that America's perfect picks are not always my idea of an ideal product. This lipstick on me=bo-rrrrrring. My expectations of a lipstick include; to not have an offensive odor or taste, to hydrate lips-or at the very least not to dehydrate them, to enhance how my lips look and to have a creamy texture. This lipstick failed in every area for me. It smells strongly chemical, like rubber or plastic, and tastes similar. It barely gives any color at all to my medium pigmented lips and is very sheer like a cheap tinted lip balm. It is a mauve with berry tones, which is a very generic color that can be duplicated by much cheaper and better products. Sadly, this is the most expensive lipstick I've purchased, so I was even more disappointed. My lips are somewhat pigmented, so I felt like this didn't show up enough on me to make it worth putting on, and I didn't enjoy the waxy texture of it. This also irritated my lips and they peeled after using this product.

I do see how this color would flatter most people being that it is a berry tone, but I thought it would be a more creamy mauve from looking at the on-line description (I ordered it from Sephora). However, I did give this away to someone w/ olive skin and black hair, and it showed up more on her, and the berry tone complimented her skin tone more than mine (I'm fair w/ some warm yellow tones). When all is said and done, I would not waste my money on this plain Jane again, and will most likely steer clear of the sheer formulas in this line.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/28/2008 8:04:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this after reading about it on "Best of Sephora 2007". I've never really been a fan of lipstick, but this one looked alright and well.. it was the best of sephora so how could i go wrong? Boy was I wrong! Applying it was a hassle; it was kind of hard a little like a softer crayon. The color washed me out (i'm an NC20) and I found that it dried out my lips! I'm a little afraid to try other NARS lipsticks now; I ended up returning it the next day.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i love this. the best lipstick ever. always looks good. dressed up or down. i have never used a lipstick with its really smooth texture. yet not greasy or shiny. not really matte either though. doesn't scream "look at my lips" but still noticeable. and i've never found this exact color anywhere else. very natural looking.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/14/2008 10:47:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I bought into the hype that this lippie looks great on everyone. Well, I must be the exception. All it did was wash me out.


on 1/11/2008 7:58:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I love NARS lipsticks because of their texture and color but this one was too close to my natural lip color.


on 1/7/2008 9:30:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I read all the reviews of this lipstick and immediately rushed to Sephora to buy it. On the display it looked rather dark, and because of my NC15-20 complexion, I have trouble wearing darker pinks. When I wore it for the first time however, it was a lot more sheer than I realised. It does still have pigment, and a little shine, but doesn't go on as dark as it is in the tube. Unfortunately this is still too dark for me! I prefer a paler, cooler shade of pink, rather than this which appears a little too warm for me. The packaging is ok, but it shows up scratches very easily. The texture of the lipstick is awful. Immediately after applying I could feel my lips drying out. My lips are extremely dry anyway and this really aggravated the dryness. Like other reviewers have mentioned, this also doesn't apply easily. I felt that I had to really press hard onto my lips to get any color to show. And the smell! True, it's not as bad as the L'Oreal lipstick fragrance, but it smells of waxy plastic. With something that costs $23, I would expect more of a luxurious product. This fell way short of my expectations.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 1/2/2008 7:31:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Aww man i wanted to love this..this shade is horrible on me.It was not at all sheer, felt more matte actually. Well saved me a couple of $$$$ actually :D


Recommended for Medium Skin



Top Rated NARS Products

image

Coconut Grove

29 reviews
image

Jungle Red

61 reviews
image

Exhibit A

361 reviews
Back to Top