NARS Dolce Vita

4.1

440 reviews

71% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 3/11/2008 11:36:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I really didn't like this at first, it was too dark with undertones that are slightly too purple, but it's grown on me so that I'll wear it occasionally. This shade really doesn't work for everyone (lipsticks are so difficult!), but it can be a decent starting for a newbie. I didn't even love the texture, unfortunately. I've bought other lip products from Nars, but unfortunately he doesn't seem to be able to achieve the same versatility and universality as the Orgasm blush. This isn't awful, but it isn't great, so it isn't worth the money. I'll keep looking.



Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This NARS Dolce Vita just goes to show that America's perfect picks are not always my idea of an ideal product. This lipstick on me=bo-rrrrrring. My expectations of a lipstick include; to not have an offensive odor or taste, to hydrate lips-or at the very least not to dehydrate them, to enhance how my lips look and to have a creamy texture. This lipstick failed in every area for me. It smells strongly chemical, like rubber or plastic, and tastes similar. It barely gives any color at all to my medium pigmented lips and is very sheer like a cheap tinted lip balm. It is a mauve with berry tones, which is a very generic color that can be duplicated by much cheaper and better products. Sadly, this is the most expensive lipstick I've purchased, so I was even more disappointed. My lips are somewhat pigmented, so I felt like this didn't show up enough on me to make it worth putting on, and I didn't enjoy the waxy texture of it. This also irritated my lips and they peeled after using this product.

I do see how this color would flatter most people being that it is a berry tone, but I thought it would be a more creamy mauve from looking at the on-line description (I ordered it from Sephora). However, I did give this away to someone w/ olive skin and black hair, and it showed up more on her, and the berry tone complimented her skin tone more than mine (I'm fair w/ some warm yellow tones). When all is said and done, I would not waste my money on this plain Jane again, and will most likely steer clear of the sheer formulas in this line.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/28/2008 8:04:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this after reading about it on "Best of Sephora 2007". I've never really been a fan of lipstick, but this one looked alright and well.. it was the best of sephora so how could i go wrong? Boy was I wrong! Applying it was a hassle; it was kind of hard a little like a softer crayon. The color washed me out (i'm an NC20) and I found that it dried out my lips! I'm a little afraid to try other NARS lipsticks now; I ended up returning it the next day.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i love this. the best lipstick ever. always looks good. dressed up or down. i have never used a lipstick with its really smooth texture. yet not greasy or shiny. not really matte either though. doesn't scream "look at my lips" but still noticeable. and i've never found this exact color anywhere else. very natural looking.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/14/2008 10:47:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I bought into the hype that this lippie looks great on everyone. Well, I must be the exception. All it did was wash me out.


on 1/11/2008 7:58:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I love NARS lipsticks because of their texture and color but this one was too close to my natural lip color.


on 1/7/2008 9:30:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I read all the reviews of this lipstick and immediately rushed to Sephora to buy it. On the display it looked rather dark, and because of my NC15-20 complexion, I have trouble wearing darker pinks. When I wore it for the first time however, it was a lot more sheer than I realised. It does still have pigment, and a little shine, but doesn't go on as dark as it is in the tube. Unfortunately this is still too dark for me! I prefer a paler, cooler shade of pink, rather than this which appears a little too warm for me. The packaging is ok, but it shows up scratches very easily. The texture of the lipstick is awful. Immediately after applying I could feel my lips drying out. My lips are extremely dry anyway and this really aggravated the dryness. Like other reviewers have mentioned, this also doesn't apply easily. I felt that I had to really press hard onto my lips to get any color to show. And the smell! True, it's not as bad as the L'Oreal lipstick fragrance, but it smells of waxy plastic. With something that costs $23, I would expect more of a luxurious product. This fell way short of my expectations.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 1/2/2008 7:31:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Aww man i wanted to love this..this shade is horrible on me.It was not at all sheer, felt more matte actually. Well saved me a couple of $$$$ actually :D


Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Green

Dolce Vita is a very pretty color, it's MLBB. However, after purchasing it I found that Cover Girl Trushine Lipstick in BlushBerry is EXACTLY the same shade, but with more shine. So I will be returning my $23 tube of NARS and using my $ 5.99 CG.

Also, I was a little underwhelmed with the NARS staying power. The CG is a little better at a fourth of the price.

To me, this is a no brainer!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.


on 12/31/2007 11:34:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Brown

My HG day lipstick. You just throw it on and go- no need to worry about it. A "my lips but better" rose color that is long-lasting and I expect it would look good on most people.


Popular Lipsticks


Velvet Teddy
191 Reviews
Provocalips
73 Reviews

Recommended for Medium Skin



Top Rated NARS Products

image

Coconut Grove

29 reviews
image

Bali

35 reviews
Back to Top