NARS • Lipstick in Dolce Vita • Lipstick

rated 4.1(437 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 farmerdaughter on 1/16/2008 6:34:00 AM more reviews by farmerdaughter

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

i love this. the best lipstick ever. always looks good. dressed up or down. i have never used a lipstick with its really smooth texture. yet not greasy or shiny. not really matte either though. doesn't scream "look at my lips" but still noticeable. and i've never found this exact color anywhere else. very natural looking.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jann8 on 1/14/2008 10:47:00 PM more reviews by jann8

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I bought into the hype that this lippie looks great on everyone. Well, I must be the exception. All it did was wash me out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Nichener on 1/11/2008 7:58:00 PM more reviews by Nichener

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I love NARS lipsticks because of their texture and color but this one was too close to my natural lip color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alison_k on 1/7/2008 9:30:00 AM more reviews by alison_k

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I read all the reviews of this lipstick and immediately rushed to Sephora to buy it. On the display it looked rather dark, and because of my NC15-20 complexion, I have trouble wearing darker pinks. When I wore it for the first time however, it was a lot more sheer than I realised. It does still have pigment, and a little shine, but doesn't go on as dark as it is in the tube. Unfortunately this is still too dark for me! I prefer a paler, cooler shade of pink, rather than this which appears a little too warm for me. The packaging is ok, but it shows up scratches very easily. The texture of the lipstick is awful. Immediately after applying I could feel my lips drying out. My lips are extremely dry anyway and this really aggravated the dryness. Like other reviewers have mentioned, this also doesn't apply easily. I felt that I had to really press hard onto my lips to get any color to show. And the smell! True, it's not as bad as the L'Oreal lipstick fragrance, but it smells of waxy plastic. With something that costs $23, I would expect more of a luxurious product. This fell way short of my expectations.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dv_27 on 1/2/2008 7:31:00 PM more reviews by dv_27

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Aww man i wanted to love this..this shade is horrible on me.It was not at all sheer, felt more matte actually. Well saved me a couple of $$$$ actually :D

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 elizabethand on 1/2/2008 3:26:00 PM more reviews by elizabethand

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

Dolce Vita is a very pretty color, it's MLBB. However, after purchasing it I found that Cover Girl Trushine Lipstick in BlushBerry is EXACTLY the same shade, but with more shine. So I will be returning my $23 tube of NARS and using my $ 5.99 CG.

Also, I was a little underwhelmed with the NARS staying power. The CG is a little better at a fourth of the price.

To me, this is a no brainer!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 parkbench28 on 12/31/2007 11:34:00 PM more reviews by parkbench28

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

My HG day lipstick. You just throw it on and go- no need to worry about it. A "my lips but better" rose color that is long-lasting and I expect it would look good on most people.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* warfreakbaby on 12/29/2007 12:01:00 PM more reviews by warfreakbaby

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

why oh why?! i only discovered this l/s now! dolce vita is the best l/s IMO!!! i tried it once in the store and unfortunately, i found out it is the only l/s not included in their 30% off sale! so, i looked for other shades until i found gipsy (which is another perfect l/s IMO). when im about to pay my gipsy l/s at the cashier, i went back again to nars counter to try again the dolce vita. very gorgeous color!!! i fell in love with it... i followed my heart and bought the two lippies.. they are my very first nars l/s and i love how they give color and moisture to my lips. they are long lasting too. im very disappointed with the lip gloss i purchased for the past few months because they are soooo sticky and not long lasting.. i thought l/s will only make my lips dry but i was sooo wrong!!! i love nars. they never disappoint me. I LOVE NARS!!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ln_marie_d on 12/22/2007 7:43:00 PM more reviews by ln_marie_d

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I really like Dolce Vita as a basic everyday MLBB sheer lipstick but some days I get frustrated with just how sheer this is, I absolutely love the color and sometimes wish that was just a touch more pigmented. That being said I would still re purchase because it is a great no brainer basic that I can put on and know it will look good........... click continue to see pictures - Dolce Vita is the top one

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 inkea on 12/22/2007 9:25:00 AM more reviews by inkea

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I wanted to like this lipstick, I really really did. It looks fabulous on my mother, like she just bit her lips for extra color, but on me, it turns a garish hue of rotted tangerine. I don't like to look like rotting fruit.

I gave it a three, because aside from the color I get from it, it's nicely sheer, no smell, applies easily and evenly, and feels good on lips.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Lipstick products