Lancome • Hypnose Drama • Mascara

rated 3.2(452 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.47%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* divadenah on 12/4/2011 12:12:00 PM more reviews by divadenah

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This product is Yes/No for me. Some days it is awesome and then some days it just like 'whatever'. The some days they are long, curled and volumed. then the whatever days, they are a little long and not curled. I dont have time for that...So I would not buy this again.. I prefer Mac Haute n' Naughty Lash over this. After Im done with this, I will be gettin the Haute n' Naughty Lash and its 18.00 compare to this HN being 26.00

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DriouxAnnaSky on 11/30/2011 7:24:00 AM more reviews by DriouxAnnaSky

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

hello sexy, dramatic, full n long lashes! i'm not gifted in the lash department, so the effect was downright shocking! great brush, too! this is especially great over the lancome cils booster. very impressed. this was my first lancome mascara, and led to me buying the doll lash mascara and the definicils, which were also great. a little clumpy, but not in a bad way- just in a very very volumizing way. if it really bothers you then the doll lash does the same thing without the clumps.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* diamondtiara on 11/29/2011 8:29:00 PM more reviews by diamondtiara

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I went into Sephora requesting Hypnose Drama ($25) to take home and try, after wanting to purchase it for months! It wasn't until I came home and began applying my makeup for the evening that I realized I'd wound up with a tube of the waterproof version instead. Thus, this review will be on that formula only. I've been trying to find a mascara that does more than my current favorite, Bare Escentuals Flawless Definition Volumizing ($18). I like the BE formula a lot, but lately I've been wanting to see if there's anything that will give me lusher, fuller looking lashes and better curl. I stuck with Hypnose Drama WP in an attempt to do just that. I wore this for three days before returning it to Sephora.


PROS:


-- Curls my outer lashes beautifully.
-- Holds the curl all day.
- Super black formula.
-- Made my long lashes look even longer and more full than the BE one I mentioned.


CONS:


-- Taking off waterproof mascara is a lesson in patience. This one is no exception. Even with my most careful efforts to remover this with Clinique Take The Day Off remover (which has a good oily consistency and is perfect for breaking down tough eye makeup) and some cotton balls and q-tips, I still lost about 4 lashes in the process.
-- It also took me ages to remove all of this formula off of my eyes. I'm a grad student and sometimes fall into bed completely drained; taking an extra 10 minutes to take off my mascara just doesn't appeal to me!
-- My lashes felt hard and crunchy, which drove me nuts. I wear contacts, so I'm even more aware of my eyes, but really, they even LOOKED stiff. I'm looking for drama, but I want feathery lashes as well. (Maybe I'm asking for too much!)
-- While this gave me a bit more drama than my trust BE mascara, it wasn't so much to justify the $7 difference in price tags.


Overall, I would not purchase the WP version of this mascara again. I returned it today in exchange for Diorshow Black Out, and will be writing a review on that mascara in several days. I may, however, try the regular version of Hypnose Drama someday, because I did like the way it held a curl and amplified my lashes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lucielalaland on 11/28/2011 12:02:00 AM more reviews by lucielalaland

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is a rare find in a mascara. For me, it didn't clump or flake off. I have oily lids and most mascaras give me racoon eyes. This one didn't. It also holds a cure well. Only drawback is the high price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MissNRI on 11/20/2011 11:21:00 AM more reviews by MissNRI

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I received this mascara in a GWP and I like it although the formula is a bit too wet for my taste. I think the best thing about this mascara is the curved brush, which really does help to lift/curl and thicken lashes well. It does give a good amount of volume but it takes a long time to wait for the first coat to dry before putting on additional coats because of the wet formula. It is not the most buildable mascara in the world. Its staying power is good, despite the wet formula it isn't runny and doesn't flake, although it can feel a bit sticky when dry. It can really go either way with this mascara...with patience and waiting for it to dry properly it can give very thick stunning lashes, but if you try and apply too much at once you will get clumpy, stuck together lashes and smears. While I like the brush, the formula is average and it seems like I could easily find something better at the DS. I wouldn't pay full price for this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Suzyace on 11/15/2011 7:35:00 AM more reviews by Suzyace

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is my favourite mascara of all time. Everytime I wear it, my boyfriend tells me I look pretty! Always end up going back to it. Quite tricky to take off, so you need a good remover but overall- love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 mi2092 on 11/14/2011 11:38:00 PM more reviews by mi2092

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara flakes and clumps on me. I'm Asian and I think the wand is too big to work with. Because of this I always make a mess while using it. I prefer Lancome Mascaras with a straight wand. Like Definicils or Hypnose. I like the formula of those two better. They don't flake. And they don't have fragrance like this one does, which could be quite annoying.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Amandalee412 on 11/10/2011 12:35:00 AM more reviews by Amandalee412

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I la la love this mascara!! It is my new favorite!! It fans out my lashes adding length and volume! Try it! You will not be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MrsTefee on 11/9/2011 11:23:00 PM more reviews by MrsTefee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This mascara is amazing! It doesnt smear or flake or even clump. Although I do like to wipe the wand off a little bit before I apply it to minimize any clumping risks which I think helps alot! The consistency of the mascara is thick but wet and takes a minute to dry. It makes my lashes verrry long which I prefer over thickness! This mascara has a slight perfume in it that of woodsy roses, very natural smell not the fake kind. <3

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 adikted2makeup on 10/27/2011 7:22:00 PM more reviews by adikted2makeup

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I got this mascara as a sample when I purchased foundation from Lancome. I have tried other Lancome mascaras, but they are okay. But this is great and has become my new favorite. After I tried this mascara I stopped using Maybelline Colossal Mascara ( in the yellow tube).

The trick with this mascara is that you have to learn how to correctly use it. If you use the wand upside down (because it has a slight curve) than you will get clumpy lashes, which is what happened to me. But after some trial and error it is amazing. I have limited and short lashes, but when I use this it makes my lashes look amazing. I think once I finish using my sample I will definitely go out and buy one :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Lancome products

More Mascara products