Max Factor • False Lash Effect • Mascara

rated 4.1(437 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.74%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 GreenDayLOVE on 10/22/2010 11:01:00 AM more reviews by GreenDayLOVE

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I was sooooooooo excited to buy this mascara. Again, Max Factor is quite expensive for a drugstore brand. But, back to the mascara. It looked awesome, the packaging; but the mascara didnt really do anything for my lashes. After several coats, my lashes looked a little bit darker, but that was it. No gorgeus volume or stunning length like they promise on TV comercials. Dont buy it, go with Maybelline's The Falsies, or hell, buy fake lashes!
Wouldnt buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sophaloph on 10/15/2010 1:14:00 AM more reviews by sophaloph

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Dark   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

love this mascara, thickens and love how jet black the colour is! doesnt clump at all, highly recommend!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bubblysteph on 10/5/2010 7:58:00 AM more reviews by bubblysteph

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I received my tube from swap and I'm glad that I didn't pay full price to buy this. Max Factor is sold in the drugstore but the price is no average drugstore price unforuntately. I had high hopes for this as I'm amazed by another mascara also made by them.

Fyi, my lashes aren't too short or sparse to begin with. Quite soft and not that difficult to curl with a lash curler.

Back to the mascara, the formula is kind of wet and clumpy. The brush doesn't seem to be able to brush the mascara on evenly - it's fat and huge with short spikes. Note that I always blot away the excess before I use it. I ended up with shiny black clumps on my poor lashes. It also weighs down my lashes and killed the curl. My curled lashes look like flattened as if I didn't curl... Well, on the bright side, it's still not yet completely pointing downwards. Not much volume observed but it does give some length after combing.

Another complain is on the packaging. The tube itself is chubby too and it's not easy to hold to the wand - eh, just doesn't fit my hand.

I believe I can find cheaper alternatives like for half the price and does 2x of this for me. Definitely not going to repurchase and I don't even want to try the waterproof version as I'm so scared of the black mess on lashes. I believe for something similar, I have better luck with fiberwig.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mapn on 9/20/2010 5:20:00 AM more reviews by mapn

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

If you're looking for a mascara that lengthens and thickens without clumping, leaves a lovely soft fringe to the lashes, and stays put all day without flaking, then look no further! I had negative experiences with the waterproof version, but this normal version feels like a totally different mascara. I admit, the extra large brush takes a little effort to master. But once you do, the results are exquisite. Definite 5/5 lippies. Max Factor sure makes the best drugstore mascaras.


Ingredients: Aqua, Acrylates Copolymer, Glyceryl Stearate, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Propylene Glycol, Stearic Acid, Cera Carnauba, Triethanolamine, Polyvinyl Alcohol, Synthetic Wax, Lecithin, Propylene Carbonate, Polyethylene, Oleic Acid, Alcohol Denat., Benzyl Alcohol, Panthenol, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Ethylparaben, Sodium Laureth-12 Sulfate, Propylparaben, Disodium EDTA, Tetrasodium EDTA, Xanthan Gum, Simethicone, Potassium Sorbate, Tocopheryl Acetate, EDTA, [+/- CI 77007, CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499]

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lalalapolkadots on 9/19/2010 5:28:00 PM more reviews by lalalapolkadots

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is, by far, the best mascara i've used. I'm on my 4th tube so i guess that speaks volumes. The mascara wand is quite chunky and the bristles are synthetic (a rubber material). I find this mascara fantastic for volumising, lengthening and separating lashes! It does a brilliant job at all three tasks. I don't find it to flake off or smudge during the day and i don't use the waterproof version. At around 10, the price is slightly more than what i'd excpect from a drugstore mascara but i do find it lasts for approximately 4-5 months and i do use it everyday. There hasn't been any instances where it's dried out within the first couple of months. This has only happened in the fourth or fifth month when it's been on the verge of running out.
HOWEVER, i feel it's important to stress the fact that this company DOES test on animals (i only heard about it a couple days ago). I find it very odd that in this day and age, companies STILL test on animals when so many other companies, especially companies which offer inespensive products, DO NOT. I feel it's rather shameful on max factor's part and due to this, i'll be looking for another mascara when this one runs out. I do not want to support a comany which advocates such inhumane practices.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 GenesisAggelos on 9/10/2010 7:30:00 PM more reviews by GenesisAggelos

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I love this mascara :) Ive tried way too many mascaras in my life and Ive finally found one which is a keeper ;)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 beingfollowed on 9/7/2010 9:36:00 AM more reviews by beingfollowed

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Normally I buy mascaras that have both a primer and mascara as I've had the best results with these, eg. L'Oreal Double Extension (longest staying power, most volume, no under eye residue at the end of the day). I saw the great reviews here and thought I'd try this out for a change.

I really like this mascara! It lasts at least 10 hours (if not more), it doesn't leave residue under my eyes, it doesn't clump my lashes and it makes my lashes look super long. The separation of lashes is amazing and unlike anything I've experienced with other DS mascaras. The brush is a bit strange (thick wand, short bristles) but it works really well. It doesn't dry instantly so I can layer on more coats if I want a more noticeable effect. The best thing is my lashes are looking great all day while feeling soft and natural.

I also have the waterproof version which I don't think increases the longevity of wear or improves the curl hold. It's just more of a pain to get off.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 summerlady on 9/2/2010 5:52:00 PM more reviews by summerlady

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I've tried many many many many mascara's from different brands because I love to try new stuff. Now overall, Im a fan of Max Factor mascara's. I just love em. They give the right look for any occasion. Natural day time make up or night time party make up. Doesnt matter, I think they give you the perfect effect. So it's not gonna be a suprise that I also looove this mascara. I first bought a waterproof one (which I absolutely hate). Bought this one few months later, used it couple of times. Im so satisfied with it! I just love it =) Defenitely gonna buy again =)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Swoop on 9/2/2010 12:53:00 PM more reviews by Swoop

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I couldnt resist buying this mascara (bought the waterproof version) because Im always looking for a mascara that gives me full looking lashes. My favorite one was the volum express from maybelline and I compared both.
This one has a very thick brush, and if you arent carefull with it, it can give you clumpy lashes, so keep that in mind. If you use the brush correctly it really does give very nice volume.
It gave me more volume then the maybelline one, formula is nice too, it holds a curl very well and doesnt stray. Great product, but it has two downsides for me. First the price, its pretty expensive here. second is that its a brand from procter&gamble, they still test on animals, which is why I dont like to buy from MF.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Emese1 on 8/27/2010 3:02:00 PM more reviews by Emese1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I said I would buy it again, but not sure. I'm on my second tube. I loved the first one (black/brown), ordered that one online. However, this second one that I bought in a drugstore (black) is very flaky. It's really annoying. I'm so disappointed. Maybe it's an old one, I don't know. I've just added a drop of water to see if it'll make a difference.
Otherwise this mascara gives me the thickes lashes of all that i've tried. Normally I use my trusted Maybelline Volume Express Turbo Boost. I like that, but it's not as volumizing as FLE. (At least it doesn't flake.)
My first tube lasted for ages. It's nor cheap, more like a department store brand price. But I thought it was worth it. I even wondered if it was the difference between the colors. Maybe I'll buy brown/black next time.
EDIT: Best mascara I've ever used! It does help if once in a while you add a drop of water. It last ages and ages and gives the thickest lashes! Love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Max Factor products

More Mascara products