Max Factor False Lash Effect

4.1

451 reviews

74% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua, Acrylates Copolymer, Glyceryl Stearate, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Propylene Glycol, Stearic Acid, Cera Carnauba, Triethanolamine, Polyvinyl Alcohol, Synthetic Wax, Lecithin, Propylene Carbonate, Polyethylene, Oleic Acid, Alcohol Denat., Benzyl Alcohol, Panthenol, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Ethylparaben, Sodium Laureth-12 Sulfate, Propylparaben, Disodium EDTA, Tetrasodium EDTA, Xanthan Gum, Simethicone, Potassium Sorbate, Tocopheryl Acetate, EDTA, [ /- CI 77007, CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499]


on 12/5/2010 10:59:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

What a great mascara!

I love Max Factor mascaras, and prior to this purchase I swore by their 2000 Calorie. MF was on sale, and I wanted something different, so I opted for this based on the good reviews.

I must say I don't think the 74% rating on MUA does this product justice because it is by far the best mascara I have used to date.

I'm normally a fan of the conventional wire brush as I have never met a rubber/silicon mascara brush I liked... until now. I find that the silicon brushes normally don't distribute product evenly. This brush really separates every individual lash and is easy to use - no clumps!

Some reviewers have suggested that this mascara is wet, but I don't feel that this is the case at all. I think the formula is just right that so that it evenly coats every lash. My pet peeve is when mascaras make lashes stick together and look as if I had 5 big fat lashes; I much prefer a mascara that emphasises each individual lash - and this one does.

My experience with the product is that it is closest to the picture with green eyes (one on top of the other). I will post my own pic soon, comparing it to the 2000 Calorie.

The downside is that the packaging is not up to scratch. By that I mean they are not individually sealed - it is up to the stores to sticky tape all the mascaras so that they are not tested my randoms who walk through the store. Obviously not all stores do this, so if you were buying one, you're best off going to a store that does this.

I like a mascara that coats every lash (not sticks them together to make one big lash), doesn't flake, and holds a curl. I think this one does the first two very well, and the last, reasonably well.

(will report back once I have tested it some more - I just had to post this as I am so excited by this product!)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 11/28/2010 1:18:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I was genuinely disappointed when P&G discontinued Max Factor in the US. Not only because this was my HG mascara, but because the company is a true American story. I'm hoping that this is only MF's expat stage and he will make a comeback after sometime in overseas development.
Anyway, yes, this mascara is fabulous. I've recommended it to many friends and they all feel the same way. I have tried both the waterproof and original, and the original provides the best finish. This mascara leans towards the dry side, but renders big, fat, glamorous lashes that looks like they're high on collagen injections. No smudging, just volume. The only thing I would change about it is a tad bit more lengthening, and curl holding action, but this is as close to perfection as it gets for me. The pigmentation is super rich and dark, allowing me to often times skip eyeliner.
Even though I've been trying other mascaras, I don't think I will come across one that will rival this one. I will most likely be ordering a couple online.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/28/2010 12:46:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I got given this mascara in black by my mum and i absolutely loved it, it did everything i wanted in a mascara, volume, length, curl and fabulous staying power but easy to wash off. I remember the first time i put it on before going to school i had girls come up to me and ask what i was wearing and tell me how pretty it looked. I used it until it ran out on me earlier this year and after trying some other mascaras i returned to this one, this time i have the brown/black version and i have noticed some things with this mascara after trying several others. Firstly its crap just after buying it, after opening it this mascara only darkend my lashes, after about three weeks does it start to work like it used to (it gets better gradually), secondly the brush is annoying when youre applying mascara to your bottom lashes and the lashes on the inner and outer corners of your eye. But overall its still a brilliant mascara and still would buy it again.


on 11/23/2010 2:19:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is the best mascara i've came across so far. It's the first mascara i'll be re-buying, ever.
If you're looking for a long-lasting (yes, the non-waterproof forumla lasts for hours without smudging or flaking and it's not hard to remove), curling, volumizing mascara, give this one a try. You won't regret it!
Even though i will keep trying out new mascaras, this has become my HG mascara. It's just perfect.


on 11/22/2010 12:43:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is my favourite mascara of all times and I have re-purchased this many times. I used to try new mascara's all the time, including high end, but since I've discovered Max Factor mascara's I've never bought any other brand.
Info about me: long, full, naturally curled lashes. So I don't need much other than to blacken them and maybe add some volume. Still I'm a mascara perfectionist and I will not tolerate ANY clumping, flaking or spider lashes.
Pro's:
- amazing seperation of lashes
- no clumps
- no flakes
- stays where you put it
- lasts all day
Con's:
- the packaging is so thick it's not very travel friendly

It does not give you the same effect as false lashes, but I do not expect it to. Honestly, no mascara can do that. But whereas I used to apply multiple coats with other mascaras, I only need one coat of this and I'm good to go. Here's some pics of me wearing this:

0
Full Size Image


1
Full Size Image

The wand is rather big and it is a silicone kind of brush. I personally love those way better than the old fashioned mascara wands because they seperate like no other, but I know some people really don't like these kinds of wands. This mascara is very comparable to the Masterpiece Max, which has a smaller wand, in case you don't like big wands. I prefer the False Lash Effect.
It is not cheap. It's somewhere in between a drugstore and a high end mascara. But its definitely worth it for me. I gladly repurchase every three months (I can't use any mascara for longer than 3 months or my eyes will start to itch). When I see it on sale I always stock up. Yes, for me this is HG status. Will repurchase until the end of time.
Update; for people in the US, it's the same as CoverGirl Lash Blast in the orange tube. The packaging and brush are exactly the same (cept for the color). I've been using the MF for years so I know it very well and when I used the CG I couldn't find a difference. I applied CG to one eye and MF to the other once and I saw no difference. I only feel that the CG dries out quicker than the MF one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/20/2010 8:25:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

the best mascara i've ever purchased! it holds curls perfectly! (i have very straight eyelashes) i tried mac mascaras and some drugstore ones but i always go back to this! i just bought my 3rd tube last week!

to make this review short, this product is perfect for those who have really straight lashes (like i do) and you want your mascara to hold your curled lashes all day! :)


on 11/20/2010 7:10:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I'm normally a fan of high end mascara. I got very sensitive eyes and normally would go for lancome mascara. I tried some like loreal, maybelline and rimmel but not impressed. I got this after reading great reviews and i'm glad i did. It adds volume and length to my eyelashes as if i have falsies. My eyelashes are soft and black plus it holds my curls very well. I apply this and started to cook in the kitchen. No smudge, no flake at all. i'm super impressed with this mascara. It works better than my loreal dual ended mascara that smudges as if i cried in just couple of hours. It my new staple and will try other mascara from max factor.


on 11/15/2010 10:57:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I bought this product after getting good reviews from friends - I wanted a cheaper everyday alternative to the Diorshow. I was quite surprised how thick the wand is - wasn't too sure what to make of it (and still don't)!
I tried several coats of the mascara, and although it doesn't clump and is great for separating my lashes, it doesn't give any length to them at all!! Was pretty disappointed as on the adverts it really appears to make your eyelashes look full and long (how many lash inserts did they have to give the model lol), but I found that if I used this mascara on top of the Diorshow or Bobbi Brown Extreme Party mascara, it does actually make them appear thicker, and it really is great for separating the lashes!
Overall, I wasn't blown away by this product, I would buy again on the account that it really is a great lash separator, but it didn't really do what I was expecting it to do, so I give this product a 3/5!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/13/2010 12:17:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

First of all I hate mascara! I have pretty good lashes as is for a person with my features, I don't use it often, but when I do, I'm very picky. But when my cousin gave me this and I used it for a party and this would by far be the best mascara I have used (not that I have used many) It has an awesome brush, it's big but it never gets in the way for me. The bristles seem to be made from a rubber like material and the bristles are also spaced out well. It literally makes my eye-lashes look false (but I have fairly good raw materials for that anyway). It looks natural and doesn't clump or give a spidery effect. On a scale of 1-10 (1 being the wet-est, 10 being the dry-est) I would give it a 7.
It also has an odd smell-sort of like clay.
I wouldn't repurchase this mascara, since I don't use it a lot (I prefer minis), it's pretty expensive for what it is and mostly because it is tested on animals-which is not what I'm about-not now, not ever!
but seriously


Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I bought this mascara because of all the great reviews. i really liked it.. i was quite dissappionted about the packaging, it doesnt come sealed or in any type of packaging at all, and as i work in the makeup industry i know how many people just walk in and use those mascaras then put them back...:(.. so that was a big concern. however the mascara itself is really good. it seperated the lashes well, doesnt clump. and is easily removed. which i really like as i have very sensitive eyes. i will repurchase if i can buy it from somewhere where the product is sealed.




Top Rated Max Factor Products

image

Masterpiece Max

238 reviews
Back to Top