Max Factor False Lash Effect

4.1

455 reviews

74% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua, Acrylates Copolymer, Glyceryl Stearate, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Propylene Glycol, Stearic Acid, Cera Carnauba, Triethanolamine, Polyvinyl Alcohol, Synthetic Wax, Lecithin, Propylene Carbonate, Polyethylene, Oleic Acid, Alcohol Denat., Benzyl Alcohol, Panthenol, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Ethylparaben, Sodium Laureth-12 Sulfate, Propylparaben, Disodium EDTA, Tetrasodium EDTA, Xanthan Gum, Simethicone, Potassium Sorbate, Tocopheryl Acetate, EDTA, [ /- CI 77007, CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499]


on 12/10/2010 5:41:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Olive, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Gorgeous mascara. I have long thick eyelashes and have been using this for about 2 or 3 years, its the best mascara I have ever used. I apply about 3-4 coats of it, but then again I love dramatic eyelashes. I always have friends/strangers asking me whether my eyelashes are false.



Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I have not tried any new mascaras for over a year since I discovered Covergirl Lashblast. However, after hearing a great review about this from a youtube makeup guru, I decided to give it a try. I was surprised that the brush was EXACTLY the same as Covergirl's Lashblast, even the packaging and the smell of the formula were the same. However, it did not hold my curl well (I never have problems with that), was too watery and made my lashes clump together and look spidery. Will definitely NOT repurchase, as Lashblast is cheaper, provides superior results and doesn't test on animals like Max Factor (which I didn't find out about until after purchasing the mascara).


on 12/6/2010 12:33:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This was one of my very first mascaras, and I love it.
I own over 20, yet this is my go-to mascara for a day to day basis.
It lengthens, holds curls, and volumizes. It doesn't clump or get flaky, and rarely smudges. But it is a bit hard to get off (I own the waterproof version - so minus one lippy).


on 12/6/2010 12:29:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Great mascara! Volumizes, separates and lengthens a bit. This does EXACTLY what it says "natural, full lashes". When the mascara is used alone, it is good, however does not hold a curl (I'm using the non-waterproof version). Barely any clumping with this product, I love it!

This is a great, everyday mascara on top of my Shiseido Nourishing Mascara Base which helps to hold the curl, the two products together result in gorgeous, full, natural lashes!


on 12/5/2010 10:59:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

What a great mascara!

I love Max Factor mascaras, and prior to this purchase I swore by their 2000 Calorie. MF was on sale, and I wanted something different, so I opted for this based on the good reviews.

I must say I don't think the 74% rating on MUA does this product justice because it is by far the best mascara I have used to date.

I'm normally a fan of the conventional wire brush as I have never met a rubber/silicon mascara brush I liked... until now. I find that the silicon brushes normally don't distribute product evenly. This brush really separates every individual lash and is easy to use - no clumps!

Some reviewers have suggested that this mascara is wet, but I don't feel that this is the case at all. I think the formula is just right that so that it evenly coats every lash. My pet peeve is when mascaras make lashes stick together and look as if I had 5 big fat lashes; I much prefer a mascara that emphasises each individual lash - and this one does.

My experience with the product is that it is closest to the picture with green eyes (one on top of the other). I will post my own pic soon, comparing it to the 2000 Calorie.

The downside is that the packaging is not up to scratch. By that I mean they are not individually sealed - it is up to the stores to sticky tape all the mascaras so that they are not tested my randoms who walk through the store. Obviously not all stores do this, so if you were buying one, you're best off going to a store that does this.

I like a mascara that coats every lash (not sticks them together to make one big lash), doesn't flake, and holds a curl. I think this one does the first two very well, and the last, reasonably well.

(will report back once I have tested it some more - I just had to post this as I am so excited by this product!)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/28/2010 1:18:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I was genuinely disappointed when P&G discontinued Max Factor in the US. Not only because this was my HG mascara, but because the company is a true American story. I'm hoping that this is only MF's expat stage and he will make a comeback after sometime in overseas development.
Anyway, yes, this mascara is fabulous. I've recommended it to many friends and they all feel the same way. I have tried both the waterproof and original, and the original provides the best finish. This mascara leans towards the dry side, but renders big, fat, glamorous lashes that looks like they're high on collagen injections. No smudging, just volume. The only thing I would change about it is a tad bit more lengthening, and curl holding action, but this is as close to perfection as it gets for me. The pigmentation is super rich and dark, allowing me to often times skip eyeliner.
Even though I've been trying other mascaras, I don't think I will come across one that will rival this one. I will most likely be ordering a couple online.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/28/2010 12:46:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I got given this mascara in black by my mum and i absolutely loved it, it did everything i wanted in a mascara, volume, length, curl and fabulous staying power but easy to wash off. I remember the first time i put it on before going to school i had girls come up to me and ask what i was wearing and tell me how pretty it looked. I used it until it ran out on me earlier this year and after trying some other mascaras i returned to this one, this time i have the brown/black version and i have noticed some things with this mascara after trying several others. Firstly its crap just after buying it, after opening it this mascara only darkend my lashes, after about three weeks does it start to work like it used to (it gets better gradually), secondly the brush is annoying when youre applying mascara to your bottom lashes and the lashes on the inner and outer corners of your eye. But overall its still a brilliant mascara and still would buy it again.


on 11/23/2010 2:19:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is the best mascara i've came across so far. It's the first mascara i'll be re-buying, ever.
If you're looking for a long-lasting (yes, the non-waterproof forumla lasts for hours without smudging or flaking and it's not hard to remove), curling, volumizing mascara, give this one a try. You won't regret it!
Even though i will keep trying out new mascaras, this has become my HG mascara. It's just perfect.


on 11/22/2010 12:43:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is my favourite mascara of all times and I have re-purchased this many times. I used to try new mascara's all the time, including high end, but since I've discovered Max Factor mascara's I've never bought any other brand.
Info about me: long, full, naturally curled lashes. So I don't need much other than to blacken them and maybe add some volume. Still I'm a mascara perfectionist and I will not tolerate ANY clumping, flaking or spider lashes.
Pro's:
- amazing seperation of lashes
- no clumps
- no flakes
- stays where you put it
- lasts all day
Con's:
- the packaging is so thick it's not very travel friendly

It does not give you the same effect as false lashes, but I do not expect it to. Honestly, no mascara can do that. But whereas I used to apply multiple coats with other mascaras, I only need one coat of this and I'm good to go. Here's some pics of me wearing this:

0
Full Size Image


1
Full Size Image

The wand is rather big and it is a silicone kind of brush. I personally love those way better than the old fashioned mascara wands because they seperate like no other, but I know some people really don't like these kinds of wands. This mascara is very comparable to the Masterpiece Max, which has a smaller wand, in case you don't like big wands. I prefer the False Lash Effect.
It is not cheap. It's somewhere in between a drugstore and a high end mascara. But its definitely worth it for me. I gladly repurchase every three months (I can't use any mascara for longer than 3 months or my eyes will start to itch). When I see it on sale I always stock up. Yes, for me this is HG status. Will repurchase until the end of time.
Update; for people in the US, it's the same as CoverGirl Lash Blast in the orange tube. The packaging and brush are exactly the same (cept for the color). I've been using the MF for years so I know it very well and when I used the CG I couldn't find a difference. I applied CG to one eye and MF to the other once and I saw no difference. I only feel that the CG dries out quicker than the MF one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/20/2010 8:25:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

the best mascara i've ever purchased! it holds curls perfectly! (i have very straight eyelashes) i tried mac mascaras and some drugstore ones but i always go back to this! i just bought my 3rd tube last week!

to make this review short, this product is perfect for those who have really straight lashes (like i do) and you want your mascara to hold your curled lashes all day! :)




Top Rated Max Factor Products

image

Masterpiece Max

239 reviews
Back to Top