Max Factor False Lash Effect

4.1

442 reviews

74% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua, Acrylates Copolymer, Glyceryl Stearate, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Propylene Glycol, Stearic Acid, Cera Carnauba, Triethanolamine, Polyvinyl Alcohol, Synthetic Wax, Lecithin, Propylene Carbonate, Polyethylene, Oleic Acid, Alcohol Denat., Benzyl Alcohol, Panthenol, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Ethylparaben, Sodium Laureth-12 Sulfate, Propylparaben, Disodium EDTA, Tetrasodium EDTA, Xanthan Gum, Simethicone, Potassium Sorbate, Tocopheryl Acetate, EDTA, [ /- CI 77007, CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499]


Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I bought this mascara because of all the great reviews. i really liked it.. i was quite dissappionted about the packaging, it doesnt come sealed or in any type of packaging at all, and as i work in the makeup industry i know how many people just walk in and use those mascaras then put them back...:(.. so that was a big concern. however the mascara itself is really good. it seperated the lashes well, doesnt clump. and is easily removed. which i really like as i have very sensitive eyes. i will repurchase if i can buy it from somewhere where the product is sealed.



on 11/7/2010 12:07:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I really like this mascara, it generally doesn't clump and does volumise and lengthen my lashes a lot. If I use one swipe my lashes look long, full and natural and if I use a second or third swipe they look more dramatic but still natural. I have the waterproof version of this and I find that unfortunately it doesn't stay on all day, I'd say it starts rubbing off after 5 or so hours of wear, apart from that it's a really good mascara.


on 10/31/2010 3:31:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This gets two lippies solely because of its lengthening properties; other than that, it truly didn't rock my world. The wand is not very handy - too thick and generally incovenient. This feels like wet, black mud sticking to your lashes. It clumps terribly and binds up a bunch of lashes at a time, so in the end you end up with like 4 super thick eyelash strands on your eye. It doesn't separate them one bit, it's just a heavy liquid (that stays liquid forever apparently) which almost pours onto your lashes and basically drowns them in color. But length, it does provide. Not my priority however, so there's not one good reason why I should repurchase this. Quite pricy for a drugstore brand as well - not worth the cash and the general hype, in my opinion.


on 10/30/2010 2:46:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

All the Masterpiece and False Lash Effect series could be perfect for me, but somehow I have an allergie for all Max Factor mascaras: lashes begin to fall out and eyes begin to pinch by the evening.
But I still use the brush from this mascara to define sticked lashes if needed.


on 10/23/2010 11:32:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I was quite happy with this mascara. I found it gave me very obvious lashes with minimal clumping however I was very disappointed when my wand broke! I would definitely repurchase though as this was a wonderful mascara and the only reason it broke was because I was being silly and trying to figure out what colour the bristles were and was a little too heavy handed (They're light purple, by the way). However, it was a very good mascara. My lashes are thin and a pretty okish length, I think and this mascara made them look longer and a little thicker. It's also very dark! This is the truest black of all my mascaras. Whilst it is a little pricey you get double the amount of product than what I've found most drug store brands give.
Overall a very good mascara.


on 10/22/2010 11:01:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I was sooooooooo excited to buy this mascara. Again, Max Factor is quite expensive for a drugstore brand. But, back to the mascara. It looked awesome, the packaging; but the mascara didnt really do anything for my lashes. After several coats, my lashes looked a little bit darker, but that was it. No gorgeus volume or stunning length like they promise on TV comercials. Dont buy it, go with Maybelline's The Falsies, or hell, buy fake lashes!
Wouldnt buy again.


on 10/15/2010 1:14:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

love this mascara, thickens and love how jet black the colour is! doesnt clump at all, highly recommend!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/5/2010 7:58:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

I received my tube from swap and I'm glad that I didn't pay full price to buy this. Max Factor is sold in the drugstore but the price is no average drugstore price unforuntately. I had high hopes for this as I'm amazed by another mascara also made by them.

Fyi, my lashes aren't too short or sparse to begin with. Quite soft and not that difficult to curl with a lash curler.

Back to the mascara, the formula is kind of wet and clumpy. The brush doesn't seem to be able to brush the mascara on evenly - it's fat and huge with short spikes. Note that I always blot away the excess before I use it. I ended up with shiny black clumps on my poor lashes. It also weighs down my lashes and killed the curl. My curled lashes look like flattened as if I didn't curl... Well, on the bright side, it's still not yet completely pointing downwards. Not much volume observed but it does give some length after combing.

Another complain is on the packaging. The tube itself is chubby too and it's not easy to hold to the wand - eh, just doesn't fit my hand.

I believe I can find cheaper alternatives like for half the price and does 2x of this for me. Definitely not going to repurchase and I don't even want to try the waterproof version as I'm so scared of the black mess on lashes. I believe for something similar, I have better luck with fiberwig.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 9/20/2010 5:20:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Green

If you're looking for a mascara that lengthens and thickens without clumping, leaves a lovely soft fringe to the lashes, and stays put all day without flaking, then look no further! I had negative experiences with the waterproof version, but this normal version feels like a totally different mascara. I admit, the extra large brush takes a little effort to master. But once you do, the results are exquisite. Definite 5/5 lippies. Max Factor sure makes the best drugstore mascaras.


Ingredients: Aqua, Acrylates Copolymer, Glyceryl Stearate, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Propylene Glycol, Stearic Acid, Cera Carnauba, Triethanolamine, Polyvinyl Alcohol, Synthetic Wax, Lecithin, Propylene Carbonate, Polyethylene, Oleic Acid, Alcohol Denat., Benzyl Alcohol, Panthenol, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Ethylparaben, Sodium Laureth-12 Sulfate, Propylparaben, Disodium EDTA, Tetrasodium EDTA, Xanthan Gum, Simethicone, Potassium Sorbate, Tocopheryl Acetate, EDTA, [+/- CI 77007, CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499]

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is, by far, the best mascara i've used. I'm on my 4th tube so i guess that speaks volumes. The mascara wand is quite chunky and the bristles are synthetic (a rubber material). I find this mascara fantastic for volumising, lengthening and separating lashes! It does a brilliant job at all three tasks. I don't find it to flake off or smudge during the day and i don't use the waterproof version. At around 10, the price is slightly more than what i'd excpect from a drugstore mascara but i do find it lasts for approximately 4-5 months and i do use it everyday. There hasn't been any instances where it's dried out within the first couple of months. This has only happened in the fourth or fifth month when it's been on the verge of running out.
HOWEVER, i feel it's important to stress the fact that this company DOES test on animals (i only heard about it a couple days ago). I find it very odd that in this day and age, companies STILL test on animals when so many other companies, especially companies which offer inespensive products, DO NOT. I feel it's rather shameful on max factor's part and due to this, i'll be looking for another mascara when this one runs out. I do not want to support a comany which advocates such inhumane practices.


Top Rated Max Factor Products

image

Masterpiece Max

236 reviews
Back to Top