Ecotools • retractable kabuki • Makeup Brushes

rated 4.6(434 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.90%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 wendirr on 8/22/2010 1:05:00 PM more reviews by wendirr

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is one of the softest brushes I've ever used. I can't believe it's synthetic! I use it to apply PRESSED mineral makeup and I get a lighter coverage with this brush than with other kabukis I've tried. I love that the brush is retractable.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kbm2009 on 8/22/2010 1:04:00 AM more reviews by kbm2009

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

I love this brush. Its cute, cheap, and soft. Where can you go wrong? Its easy to take on the go [hence retractable kabuki] :] Will buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tokidoki123 on 8/18/2010 1:34:00 AM more reviews by tokidoki123

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

This was the first brush that I ever purchased and it has remained my favorite still! I love it so much i bought backups.This brush was small, portable, inexpenisive if you look out for coupons and sales, and its soft. As expected from a synthetic brushes, its soft and doesn't cause any irritations like some brushes (ex: my bareminerals kabuki). I like the fact that I can somehow control how dense I want the brush by how much I move the ferule. Its a pain to wash and to wait for it to dry, but it's because of how compact the synthetic hairs are so I can look past that. The only thing I would change with this brush is the packaging. The silver color is sleek and it reminds me of a bullet, but it rubs off and it gets scratched very easily. The base also came out once, but it was an easy fix. All in all if you are a beginner and are looking for inexpensive brushes, I really recomend ecotools brushes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bubblysteph on 8/14/2010 2:36:00 AM more reviews by bubblysteph

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

Super dense bristles that will take AGES to dry after washing, lol. The bristles are super soft and not scratchy at all. Great quality, esp for the price! Too bad this brand isn't easily availabe over here.

I bought this mainly for touch-up as this is quite compact and since it has a cap thing, I can actually pre-load some loose powder into the brush. When I need to so some touch-up, I wouldn't need to bring my tub of loose powder with me. Since I already get a powder fdt in a compact which comes with a more than decnet brush, this brush is currently retired at home that I use to apply the powder fdt on.

I love this brush so much but why, still 4 lippies? I have the brush for at most 1 year only and grrr, the whole thing disassembled. The brush along with the inner handle actually detached from the case as the glue at the back no longer stick to the outer casing - looks like hardened plastics to me. I need to go through lots of troubles to glue it back and get using.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 mooseformayor on 8/13/2010 9:24:00 PM more reviews by mooseformayor

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I initially owned just one for about two years without using it. Then I had no choice but to go to it after the mineral foundation I switched to earlier this year evidently wasn't working all that well with the Ecotools "powder brush." So when I first started using this retractable kabuki brush, I was beyond delighted, so much so that I went to Target and picked up two more as backups for when my first one is drying off after being washed.

In all, I've used two of these kabukis for about two months now. Just today, while I was touching up my foundation in the ladies' room at work, the entire brush, as several reviewers have already vouched, fell apart on me completely unexpectedly. I was so taken aback that I just stared at it for a minute or so. I wasn't sure what to do with the loose, undone parts, so I stood there pondering my next move.

Finally, when I got home, I decided to hop over to CVS to pick up some industrial strength glue. I ended up getting Elmer's version of Krazy Glue. When I set to gluing the parts together, everything got so messy and out of control that I had to ultimately toss the brush (the glue I bought has a really foul and potentially harmful smell and is a verified skin and eye irritant, but I could think of nothing that would successfully glue the brush back together other than this item I found at CVS). Rather than risk harming my skin when some of the glue got onto the bristles, I just discarded the whole brush, vowing never again to buy another one of this kind from Ecotools. I love their other brushes; they worked very well with the old mineral powder I used to use, but the kabuki is indeed flimsy, weak, and unreliable. I honestly hadn't used this particular brush all that long and washed it only once a week every two weeks. I was always extremely gentle with my brush, so its undoing is rather upsetting. Oh well, I will just move on to another brand/type of brush now. (The brush head/bristles are simply superb, being generously dense and soft, but the "handle" is just mind-bogglingly cheap and inferior.) Do not recommend.

7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TONFOOLERY on 8/8/2010 2:33:00 PM more reviews by TONFOOLERY

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this with an 5 off 10 Ulta coupon which made this an even better deal. I love this brush. It is the only brush I keep in my purse for pressed powder. I've never had the cap fall off but I do have a few scuff marks. Its no big deal because I really do just throw things in willy nilly and this probably wont happen to others if you have a makeup bag.

I've had maybe one or two hairs fall out since I bought it more than 6 months ago. Because it is so dense (a little denser than ELF's Studio Powder Brush), it takes 1.5 days to dry. I usually use an antibacterial soap and tea tree oil or olive oil and it looks brand new.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 vivere on 8/7/2010 9:07:00 PM more reviews by vivere

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely love this travel brush. I bought it to apply bronzer on-the-go but find myself reaching for it all of the time at home over my regular non-travel brushes. The brush is extremely dense, picking up a lot of product easily, and very soft. I find that it blends quite well. I like the minimalistic look of the packaging, and the cap always stays on for me without slipping off (a pet peeve), even when the brush is thrown into a jumbled cosmetic bag. No complaints at all. One of the best value cosmetic-related items I've purchased -- got so much for a dirt cheap price and use it weekly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gabbygibsongirl on 8/4/2010 4:11:00 PM more reviews by gabbygibsongirl

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Fanatastic high quality brush use this everyday with my MSFN I look so FLAWLESS. It NEVER sheds when I wash it and drys soo fast. I love it I will be getting another one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sillychicken on 8/4/2010 3:22:00 PM more reviews by sillychicken

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

This is better than my Chanel travel kabuki. It gives a well-blended finish to powders. I use it to apply Guerlain Meteorites and it picks up the perfect amount. I also use it to apply other powders and it gives me a flawless finish. The brush is soft and small enough to carry in my purse for touchups. I haven't noticed any hair shedding and with my Chanel kabuki I always did. It's cheap but better quality than any other brushes I've used.

UPDATE 1.20.11
The last time I washed this it came unglued so I still have the brush but it isn't stuck to the outside case part that lets you slide it up and down. It still works great but looks too ugly to use in public so I only use it at home or in the ladies room and I'll be ordering a replacement.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Eboneeezer on 7/31/2010 3:26:00 PM more reviews by Eboneeezer

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Dark, Neutral   Hair: Black, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this brush it is so freakin' AWESOME! I bought two. One for bronzing and one for when I ocasionally ear blush. Just as good as the Tarte kabuki I have.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Ecotools products

More Makeup Brushes products