Alpha Hydrox 10% AHA Gel

4.0

217 reviews

77% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Glycolic Acid, Ammonium Hydroxide, Sodium Lactate, Green Tea Extract, Sea Kelp Extract, Panthenol, Propylene Glycol, Diazolidinyl Urea, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, PVM/MA Decadiene Crosspolymer


on 4/7/2003 5:22:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I am using it for 3 weeks , one month and I love it. My skin is very soft , I had no breakouts from it and slowly I am seeing more and more improvement in general.
I only wish it would be more moisturizing but I guess it is better not to breakout. UPDATE *** If I would have an HG , then probably this would be it. It made a very big difference in my skin and even after 1.5 months my skin keeps getting better and better. I did not experience any breakouts or irritation from this product and most of my blackheads and clogged pored are gone. I started using BHA 1% from PC but I got cysts from it so only after this bad experiment I started to use AHA’s and although these are best for the skin surface, in time it makes a big difference in the clogged pores and blackheads.
I will keep using it for some time and I hope it will not stop working until my skin will be totally problem free. :)




on 4/5/2003 9:12:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I bought the 10% Enhanced Cream a couple weeks ago, and I love it! I have dry/sometimes combo sensitive skin and this hasn't irritated my skin at all, and hasn't made me breakout! And I haven't had any major pimples since I've been using this (knock on wood). My skin has never been so smooth. It's also fading blemish marks.

Edited 5/7/03: Well, this stuff still hasn't irritated my skin or caused breakouts, but I think it's drying out my skin, and isn't so smooth anymore. Also, it hasn't done anything for my blemish marks since the first 2 weeks. I will not repurchase. I had higher hopes than this product delivers.


on 3/15/2003 7:12:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This one is amazing. It helps to even out my combo skin, and prevent breakout.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I came across this product a few months ago when I was searching for an oil-free, fragrance-free AHA with no funky additions...just wanted an effective AHA, please and thank you. And holy cow, it really works. I use it after cleansing at night, all over my face (with the exception of my eyelids) 5 times per week, and I follow up with a moisturizer. It sinks into my pores weightlessly...and speaking of my pores, they are now virtually invisible. :) It has left my skin smooth, clear, and glowing. I don't have acne, and I don't have many fine lines, but my skin is very sensitive, so I use only a small amount of this gel with each application. I can see how it would be irritating if too much was used. I love the fact that it's in a tube, and that it's so cheap - I pay around $8 CDN. I will keep on using this product until the (holy) cows come home. :)


on 3/2/2003 6:27:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Another great product by Alpha Hydrox. This AHA along with their Foaming Face Wash have made a huge difference in my skin. I am 38 years of age with combo, acne prone skin and my skin has improved drastically since using these two products. This AHA does a good job of exfoliating without any unnecessary ingredients like oils and fragrance. Love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/26/2003 9:56:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Wow, my facialist told me to use AHA, and the one she sold me was $42 (Skinceuticals intense line defense), and it made my skin really oily. I swapped for this and boy am I glad I did!! it works GReAT for oil slick faces like mine, no irritation. At $10, a HUGE bargain.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/29/2002 6:40:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a very good quality AHA product for oily skin. I use it about three times a week and I follow it up with a gentle non-comedogenic moisturizer. Be careful not to use too much though b/c your skin may get irritated. This makes my skin feel smooth and even.


on 12/21/2002 7:06:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

it worked really well in smoothing out my complexion. i would mos def buy it again


on 12/20/2002 12:30:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I bought the Anti-Wrinkle Exfoilator, and this cream works like a charm! All of the little bumps were gone, and my skin looked poreless! I was very pleased, and it has even improved the evenness of my complexion! I bought this at the 99 cent store, and after seeing how great this product is I will at least be buying four more bottles! You only need a small amount of the cream so it lasts a long time, but the odor is very strong. It doesn't sit on your skin or leave a bad smell, so I give this a 5!!


on 11/14/2002 2:04:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

After having a breakout with PC 8% AHA, I decided to give this a try based on the rave reviews from other MUAers. I must say, I am not in the least disappointed! This product has made my skin look poreless, has greatly evened out my skin-tone, faded my red marks, smoothed out my lines, and gave me a glow! What more could you ask for? Oh! And it also helps to keep my skin clear so much that I find I no longer require the use of a BHA! I've been using this for a couple of weeks and am so satisfied with the results. Alpha Hydrox is the best drugstore AHA out there, and my skin proves it! **UPDATE 5/03** Using this again and still amazed at the performance of this miracle gel. A must have for acne-prones with pore size concerns. *Update 10/03: since being diagnosed with rosacea, my skin can no longer tolerate this. Still think it's an affordable, effective choice for non-sensitives.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Treatments (Face)


Retin A
525 Reviews
Lemon Juice
396 Reviews
Nerium AD
66 Reviews
Back to Top