Alpha Hydrox • 10% AHA Gel • Treatments

rated 4.0(213 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 dawng on 3/2/2003 6:27:00 PM more reviews by dawng

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Another great product by Alpha Hydrox. This AHA along with their Foaming Face Wash have made a huge difference in my skin. I am 38 years of age with combo, acne prone skin and my skin has improved drastically since using these two products. This AHA does a good job of exfoliating without any unnecessary ingredients like oils and fragrance. Love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ewcgg on 2/26/2003 9:56:00 AM more reviews by ewcgg

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Wow, my facialist told me to use AHA, and the one she sold me was $42 (Skinceuticals intense line defense), and it made my skin really oily. I swapped for this and boy am I glad I did!! it works GReAT for oil slick faces like mine, no irritation. At $10, a HUGE bargain.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mel29 on 12/29/2002 6:40:00 PM more reviews by Mel29

Age: Unknown   Skin: Oily   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is a very good quality AHA product for oily skin. I use it about three times a week and I follow it up with a gentle non-comedogenic moisturizer. Be careful not to use too much though b/c your skin may get irritated. This makes my skin feel smooth and even.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Curlyhair on 12/21/2002 7:06:00 PM more reviews by Curlyhair

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

it worked really well in smoothing out my complexion. i would mos def buy it again

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sexyadri4life on 12/20/2002 12:30:00 PM more reviews by sexyadri4life

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I bought the Anti-Wrinkle Exfoilator, and this cream works like a charm! All of the little bumps were gone, and my skin looked poreless! I was very pleased, and it has even improved the evenness of my complexion! I bought this at the 99 cent store, and after seeing how great this product is I will at least be buying four more bottles! You only need a small amount of the cream so it lasts a long time, but the odor is very strong. It doesn't sit on your skin or leave a bad smell, so I give this a 5!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 noelle2328 on 11/14/2002 2:04:00 PM more reviews by noelle2328

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

After having a breakout with PC 8% AHA, I decided to give this a try based on the rave reviews from other MUAers. I must say, I am not in the least disappointed! This product has made my skin look poreless, has greatly evened out my skin-tone, faded my red marks, smoothed out my lines, and gave me a glow! What more could you ask for? Oh! And it also helps to keep my skin clear so much that I find I no longer require the use of a BHA! I've been using this for a couple of weeks and am so satisfied with the results. Alpha Hydrox is the best drugstore AHA out there, and my skin proves it! **UPDATE 5/03** Using this again and still amazed at the performance of this miracle gel. A must have for acne-prones with pore size concerns. *Update 10/03: since being diagnosed with rosacea, my skin can no longer tolerate this. Still think it's an affordable, effective choice for non-sensitives.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Naiad on 9/30/2002 10:47:00 AM more reviews by Naiad

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I originally purchased this to use on my shins to fade old shaving scars. I liked it so much that from time to time I have also used it on my face and neck. I don't really like AHA solutions on my face (preferring BHAs for my specific skin concerns,) however, the product itself is high quality and a great price rolled into one hell of a cheap and unfortunately ugly package.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sanrosee on 9/16/2002 2:07:00 PM more reviews by sanrosee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is a beauty deal. Few AHA products give the details about the percentage and what type of acids are used. Alpha Hydrox is upfront with the information. I've used this for several months now, and it improved the clearness and smoothness of my skin. For people with sensitive skin though, I suggest they do a patch test first.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jenspin on 8/22/2002 2:57:00 PM more reviews by jenspin

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

I tried a sample of PC AHA solution, and loved it, then read all the reviews here claiming that this one was far better, so I gave it a try. I was somewhat disappointed and will be going back to the Paula's Choice. First, I don't like how this product settles on my face - it leaves my skin rather sticky and tacky and takes a long time to dry. Second, it's definitely more of a gel, somewhat thicker than the serum feel of the PC, and I think I just prefer a more fluid application. I'd say the end result is more or less the same as the PC, but as far as skin-feel and application is concerned, I prefer the PC. The Alpha Hydrox price isn't significantly better than the PC; I can only find the Alpha Hydrox Oil Free Gel in one local (and expensive) drugstore, so availability isn't a grand advantage, either. That said, I still can't believe the amazing results of AHA solutions, and wish I'd tried one sooner!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MegE on 8/5/2002 4:01:00 PM more reviews by MegE

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I think this is an excellent AHA gel. Since my skin is acne-prone, BHA's are a more effective choice because they penetrate the pore, which AHA's can't do. Although, my skin was a bit smoother when I was using this, it just doesn't help much with breakouts (which AHAs aren't made to do anyway). Although, if you have old red marks from past breakouts, I found this to be helpful. If you need an AHA, this is a good one to try that's very affordable.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Alpha Hydrox products

More Treatments products