Revlon • ColorStay Makeup [Reformulated Early 2013] • Liquid

rated 3.8(4436 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 5 of 5 rowe0158 on 4/5/2011 5:26:00 AM more reviews by rowe0158

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Blue    

I love this foundation!! I have been using it for over a year now and will keep using it. The coverage is good whether I want a heavier or lighter coverage.. I even mix it with my moisturiser to get a 'tinted foundation' consistency :) It stays on all day, it does fade but only the slightest.. and when I want a heavier coverage it doesnt look cakey!
The packaging is a little annoying as when it gets down to the end bits it seems that a lot is left but you cant get it out of the bottle.. Its a little pricey but what good foundation isnt these days? and i get discount at the local chemist or I try to find it on special :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rayray09 on 4/4/2011 9:40:00 PM more reviews by rayray09

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Really great! The coverage is excellent and stays very well. I read once that it can stay all day without a touch up...but that is not true! I work as a camp counselor so I am constantly running after kids and getting warm, so I have noticed that it does begin to wear around my nose and cheeks. I have a problem with facial redness, but this foundation does a really good job at covering it. Definitely not for the weak-skinned: I forgot to take it off like 2 nights in a row and began to break. For being 12 dollars, its a really good deal!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 PrincessMargaret on 4/4/2011 7:43:00 PM more reviews by PrincessMargaret

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have used this foundation on and off since it was introduced. I have finally found the right colors-- one for tan and one for untanned. I do wear sunscreen, but I tan when I walk outside no matter what. Just my skin type. Yes, it smells like paint. Yes, the bottle is less than user friiendly. But it still works the best for me as an overall foundation.

I even prefer it as a concealer under my Laura Mercier Mineral Powder. I've tried a lot of concealers and the heavy texture just collects in my "fine"lines. Colorstay, on the other hand, can be blended almost imperceptibly.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 mrsgina on 4/4/2011 7:13:00 PM more reviews by mrsgina

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I was a Clinique Superfit wearer for years and was lost when I had to find a new foundation. I first tried EL Double Wear light, then EL DW, then Revlon Colorstay. I liked Colorstay at first til it broke me out. I also noticed that it didn't wear well as the day went on. I recently switched to something else and finally my face is clearing up! I used the one for normal/dry skin with softflex. Will not buy ever again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MACBeautyRush on 4/4/2011 6:19:00 PM more reviews by MACBeautyRush

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This foundation had great coverage and comes in a very large selection of colors and skin types.
I accidentally got a shade a little too dark for me, so I have to mix it with my MAC Slect SPF 15 Foundation to lighten it up, but I was still very pleased with the results and I highly recommend it.
It was also only $11, and compared to a lot of foundations with this quality, that is very cheap- so if you are looking for a good foundation for cheap, this is for you!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cozzmos on 4/4/2011 5:28:00 PM more reviews by cozzmos

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I love this foundation! I have it in combinatio/oily and it gives a very mattifying effect which is nice because I don't have to apply powder over it, the only downside is the fact that it does not have a pump and it smells like paint. Otherwise, this is a GREAT foundation with medium-full coverage

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 HoneyB24 on 4/4/2011 7:33:00 AM more reviews by HoneyB24

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I hated this foundation when I first tried it. It smells like paint, it can be hard to blend and it broke me out. I used it a couple of times and then decided it was not for me. Then about a month later I gave it another try and I LOVED it!!
I just needed to find the best way to apply it ( I use a sponge now) and make sure my skin is well moisturised before application. It doesn't break me out now either, think my skin needed to get use to it.
I cannot live without this foundation now, it's a great colour and stays on my oily bits ALL day. LOVE IT!! : )

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Katelynnmac on 4/3/2011 11:04:00 PM more reviews by Katelynnmac

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Revlon colorstay is probably the best drugstore foundation I have ever tried.. It's literally my holy grail. Although it's color selection is very mild, you can mix two of your closest colors and probably get a decent match! It has GREAT coverage, but as others have said it dries and does have a strange smell. I used it for about eight months and thought I'd switch to maybelline fit me(HORRIBLE CHOICE, WORST FOUNDATION OR ACNE PRONE SKIN) and I just had to go back and buy some colorstay. It's about 17 dollars in Canada which is a bit expensive for drugstore but it's worth it! I had horrible acne and it helped so so so much. I totally would recommend purchasing this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Aishteru85 on 4/3/2011 3:23:00 AM more reviews by Aishteru85

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this for almost a year. And It is by far the best foundation I have ever tried. I've tried other durgstores ones like rimmel, l'oreal, maybelline, kate and etc and the high ends like shisheido, dior and double wear estee lauder
Pros:
It lasts all day, I mean all day...up to 12 hours and more.
It controls oil like a super sponge
It has FULL coverage.
A little goes a long way.
For the quality it gives, i find the price to be pretty reasonable.
It doesnt break me out
Cons:
The smell is horrible, utterly disgusting. it smells like paint.
the consistency is rather thick.
and where i live, they dont carry a color that matches my skin tone, and i use early tan, which is a tad too dark for me...
the packaging is horrible
and you need a heavy duty make up remover to remove this
=I have moderate acne scars, crazy oily face and i live in a tropical weather, and this made me sweat like a pig, so this is by far the best foundation to tackle oiliness, provides amazing coverage for acne scars and can withstand gallons of sweat without totally disappearing..

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 shana1306 on 4/2/2011 8:18:00 AM more reviews by shana1306

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Overall, I think this is a pretty damn good foundation. For me, it has no downsides.
Coverage is adjustable, you can make it lighter by applying it combined with moisturiser/tinted moisturiser (I use it with a tinted moisturiser most days just to lighten up the coverage) or make it fuller by using as is. When I use it in combination with tinted moisturiser/as is it doesnt mask my freckles too much and make my face look 'weird' as can happen to people with freckles who use too fuller coverage foundation :)
Shade match for me is pretty much perfect, I use the oily/combination in Nude 04 and i haven't noticed any oxidation or the like yet! Love it.
I also find it blends/layers really nicely if you work quickly.
You do need to let it dry a little on your face after you apply, but it does dry to a really natural semi matte finish. I've stopped using powder after foundation with this and it doesn't go shiny or wear off unevenly. I have oily skin and powder is pretty much a necessity with any other foundation I've used except this one.
Definitely long wearing, nice smooth even coverage even after work/uni/dance classes.
Only down side to this foundation for me is the smell! I really dont like it. Its kind of chemically/powdery/florally, but it does fade fairly quickly.
Packaging could be improved, a pump would be great, but I'm so impressed with this foundation that it doesnt matter to me :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Liquid products