Revlon • ColorStay Makeup [Discontinued and Reformulated Early 2013] • Liquid

rated 3.8(4431 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 HoneyB24 on 4/4/2011 7:33:00 AM more reviews by HoneyB24

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I hated this foundation when I first tried it. It smells like paint, it can be hard to blend and it broke me out. I used it a couple of times and then decided it was not for me. Then about a month later I gave it another try and I LOVED it!!
I just needed to find the best way to apply it ( I use a sponge now) and make sure my skin is well moisturised before application. It doesn't break me out now either, think my skin needed to get use to it.
I cannot live without this foundation now, it's a great colour and stays on my oily bits ALL day. LOVE IT!! : )

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Katelynnmac on 4/3/2011 11:04:00 PM more reviews by Katelynnmac

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Revlon colorstay is probably the best drugstore foundation I have ever tried.. It's literally my holy grail. Although it's color selection is very mild, you can mix two of your closest colors and probably get a decent match! It has GREAT coverage, but as others have said it dries and does have a strange smell. I used it for about eight months and thought I'd switch to maybelline fit me(HORRIBLE CHOICE, WORST FOUNDATION OR ACNE PRONE SKIN) and I just had to go back and buy some colorstay. It's about 17 dollars in Canada which is a bit expensive for drugstore but it's worth it! I had horrible acne and it helped so so so much. I totally would recommend purchasing this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Aishteru85 on 4/3/2011 3:23:00 AM more reviews by Aishteru85

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this for almost a year. And It is by far the best foundation I have ever tried. I've tried other durgstores ones like rimmel, l'oreal, maybelline, kate and etc and the high ends like shisheido, dior and double wear estee lauder
Pros:
It lasts all day, I mean all day...up to 12 hours and more.
It controls oil like a super sponge
It has FULL coverage.
A little goes a long way.
For the quality it gives, i find the price to be pretty reasonable.
It doesnt break me out
Cons:
The smell is horrible, utterly disgusting. it smells like paint.
the consistency is rather thick.
and where i live, they dont carry a color that matches my skin tone, and i use early tan, which is a tad too dark for me...
the packaging is horrible
and you need a heavy duty make up remover to remove this
=I have moderate acne scars, crazy oily face and i live in a tropical weather, and this made me sweat like a pig, so this is by far the best foundation to tackle oiliness, provides amazing coverage for acne scars and can withstand gallons of sweat without totally disappearing..

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 shana1306 on 4/2/2011 8:18:00 AM more reviews by shana1306

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Overall, I think this is a pretty damn good foundation. For me, it has no downsides.
Coverage is adjustable, you can make it lighter by applying it combined with moisturiser/tinted moisturiser (I use it with a tinted moisturiser most days just to lighten up the coverage) or make it fuller by using as is. When I use it in combination with tinted moisturiser/as is it doesnt mask my freckles too much and make my face look 'weird' as can happen to people with freckles who use too fuller coverage foundation :)
Shade match for me is pretty much perfect, I use the oily/combination in Nude 04 and i haven't noticed any oxidation or the like yet! Love it.
I also find it blends/layers really nicely if you work quickly.
You do need to let it dry a little on your face after you apply, but it does dry to a really natural semi matte finish. I've stopped using powder after foundation with this and it doesn't go shiny or wear off unevenly. I have oily skin and powder is pretty much a necessity with any other foundation I've used except this one.
Definitely long wearing, nice smooth even coverage even after work/uni/dance classes.
Only down side to this foundation for me is the smell! I really dont like it. Its kind of chemically/powdery/florally, but it does fade fairly quickly.
Packaging could be improved, a pump would be great, but I'm so impressed with this foundation that it doesnt matter to me :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 MzCurly on 4/1/2011 11:27:00 AM more reviews by MzCurly

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Ok first of all let me start by saying that I live in Australia, and this foundation costs nearly $40! I laugh (cry) when i read peoples comment and they are all "$12 is so expensive for a drugstore brand" How i wish we had foundations that were that cheap!
I am fair-medium and i have yellow undertones and colourstay does so not match, which is sad because it seems to have great coverage, since i got the wrong colour (twice! i was hopeful :S) i dont know if its full-coverage, because on me it just made my spots look more red. And I got a colour in each formula dry n combo/oily and I cant really comment on what it does to your skin, as i have very tough skin, if something works on it once, it wont continue to do so for long ( has been so much fun trying to get rid of pimples) and so using it my skin didnt cause any reaction.
Cons:
I don't understand why no one mentions this, but IT SMELLS LIKE PAINT! and when first applying it, feels like it too! Thick and goopy.
No pump? Whats that about? Waste of product.
Not a good range of colour selections, all the so-called yellow undertoned ones, are like beige
Pros:
Good coverage
Long lasting

So overall if you have pink/beige undertones, try it, might work well for you

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 pinkrose838 on 3/31/2011 9:20:00 PM more reviews by pinkrose838

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

UUGHH. this product is amazing! Full coverage! Natural look! Lasts all day! Perfect Match! EXCEPT.... it broke me out. And i never break out! This turned by baby smooth skin into cystic acne heaven. Veryyy dissappointed...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 LilSophi on 3/31/2011 8:02:00 PM more reviews by LilSophi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

I have seen so many great reviews on this product and thought I would give it a try.
To begin the packaging is terrible it takes me forever to get the product out, and when it did finally come out. Its hard to get out as much as you want, its always too much.
The product dried very quicky was hard to blend. I had been prepared for this (by reading many reviews on it)
Its not the worst foundation I have ever used ... but nowhere near as good I had hoped.
Im going back to Maxfactor Xperiance.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jaciart on 3/30/2011 8:45:00 PM more reviews by jaciart

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

This product was a great colour match for me, but made me break out like crazy, so I returned it to the store.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pepelondon on 3/30/2011 8:36:00 PM more reviews by pepelondon

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I've been having problems with my current foundation since my skin suddenly decided to go into overdrive and produce oil like crazy. I bought the oily skin formula and it's better at controlling oil than Vichy and bare minerals. It is very thick and quick drying which is problematic during application. I combine this with BB cream (for its healing benefits) in half and half and then apply with a wet sponge. Like many others, the container isn't very sanitary or practical: you could end up with way too much.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 aquaopal on 3/30/2011 3:58:00 PM more reviews by aquaopal

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown, Kinky   Eyes: Black    

I love this foundation! I get so many compliments when I wear this! My skin looks flawless. I used Caramel and I am NC45 (so the people at MAC say). I have seen YT videos on how great this foundation is, which is what prompted me to also give it a try. It is longwearing and does not cake up or look "fake" on your face.

I took one lippie off only because I do not like the packaging. I wish this came in a pump. I have read from other reviewers that they simply purchased a pump top that could be used with the bottle. I think I will try that eventually.

Price was around $10.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Liquid products