Revlon • ColorStay Makeup [Reformulated Early 2013] • Liquid

rated 3.8(4434 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 4 of 5 raaaggg on 4/8/2011 12:42:00 AM more reviews by raaaggg

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Over the years I've learned that foundations can only do so much of the work when it comes to creating a flawless face. This foundation is definitely a foundation that needs to be played around with in order for it to work for you. I've tried multiple ways of applying and I was pretty satisfied with the coverage and staying power of this foundation via a flat top kabuki brush. The one thing that bothered me the most was the unnatural cakey finish I would get.

I found that the best way to apply Revlon CS is with a damp sponge (the cheap wedges that you can get from drugstores for $2 for a pack of 30). Sure it sheers it out a little, but layers can be built upon each layer easily and you avoid getting a cakey mess. Another benefit is that with this application method it looks NATURAL and you still get that same long wearing foundation that CS is all about.

Trust me. Try this method. It will not disappoint.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lokinopequeno on 4/8/2011 12:25:00 AM more reviews by lokinopequeno

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I was so excited to try this product, but so disappointed!

It literally felt like I was rubbing clay on my face. This feeling was further carried out when the product dried: it was caky, hard, and felt like I'd had Botox injections (I felt restricted when I smiled, raised my eyebrows, etc.).

My skin was quite oily at the time I tried this product, so I ended up putting some powder over top. Not a good idea.

If I touched my face, the powder and foundation would both transfer onto my finger, and leave a horrendous white smear surrounded by a stale Dorito-like mask.
This product looked far too orange on me. I even bought the lightest shade.
I realize it's hard to buy a good, matching foundation for a cooler skin tone, but this product was a little ridiculous.

The smell was also unbearable for me.


I see a lot of people have written very positive reviews for this product, so now I'm wondering if perhaps I had bought a faulty product.

Nevertheless, I won't be buying this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 emiii53 on 4/7/2011 8:19:00 PM more reviews by emiii53

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this foundation around this time last year and I absolutely HATED it. The reason was because I didn't buy the right shade and it made me look orange. But I liked the coverage and liked how it was long lasting, so recently I've tried it again, this time in a lighter shade. I bought it in ivory which I believe is the lightest shade and I bought the formula for oily/combination skin because I have dry areas but around my nose gets really oily. This product is really heavy so if you are looking for light coverage this isn't for you. I was looking for something with full coverage because I have spots on my skin that are really red and blotchy. You don't need to use a lot of this product, a little goes a long way. The one problem I have with the foundation itself is that it dries my skin out in my dry areas, so I always moisturize before applying. Another problem that doesn't have to do with the actual foundation is the packaging. Because it doesn't come with a pump, it's hard to control how much or how little comes out. Other than that this is a great foundation and I would definitely repurchase when I run out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 BrunettePrincess25 on 4/7/2011 9:25:00 AM more reviews by BrunettePrincess25

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

It just dries way too fast and the smell is just too much. I feel like I have foundation on and I also feel like it's so heavy/drying it's going to age my face with long term use. It goes on best with MAC's 187 but even then it's just not nice feeling to wear. I couldn't wait to wash it off after trying it out a few times. I feel like I'm seriously applying paint to my face with this foundation. The shade Natural Tan did match my NC40 skin perfectly though.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kalikabarlow on 4/7/2011 9:08:00 AM more reviews by kalikabarlow

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

I go through periods of loving and hating this foundation but I have to admit, it's one of the few out there that match my skin tone and doesn't cake too much. My only problem with it is mostly with the packaging, which is unhygienic and really makes it hard to finish the whole bottle. Minimizes redness and makes skin appear even. And it stays for at least 8 hours before it starts to melt a little.

UPDATE: After experimenting, I've gone back to this foundation. It's the only one I really liked, even if the finish is more matte. I'm getting the NYX Pale Foundation online but this will do until then, even if it is too pink for my skin tone >.>

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jordansmommy310 on 4/6/2011 1:21:00 PM more reviews by jordansmommy310

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

***MY NEW FAV FOUNDATION!***
I love this foundation! I read so many reviews about this product and saw it mentioned many times in tutorials on YouTube that I decided to give it a try. It is widely compared as a MAC Studio Fix Liquid dupe. I purchased mine in Normal/Dry 410 Cappuccino. After my disaster with L'Oreal True Match I was looking for a foundation with staying power and that wouldn't fade or rub off easily. I have found my wish. This foundation lasted me all day and I didnt have to touch up not once. I apply it with a stipple brush and what I like the most is that I don't have to use concealer, because this foundation itself covers my blemishes well. The look is so flawless I don't even use powder to set it because it dries to a matte finish on my skin. The only thing that I can say that i dont like is the smell. It smells like wall paint lol! But it disappears after awhile. Well worth the money and it definitely impressed me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JLo05 on 4/6/2011 2:43:00 AM more reviews by JLo05

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love this foundation. I've read other reviews before buying this and some said that it's hard to spread because it dries too quickly; I don't find this to be the case at all. I find that using my fingers to apply is the best for me. It last all day, & I have oily skin! It also doesn't make me breakout. I'm nc37 in winter/fall and I find that 310 warm golden matches really well. I want to test golden beige in the summer because I get darker then & wear nc40. Who needs the expensive stuff when this is great!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 maryanxcutie on 4/5/2011 5:12:00 PM more reviews by maryanxcutie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This foundation had great staying powder, and I just simply love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rowe0158 on 4/5/2011 5:26:00 AM more reviews by rowe0158

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Blue    

I love this foundation!! I have been using it for over a year now and will keep using it. The coverage is good whether I want a heavier or lighter coverage.. I even mix it with my moisturiser to get a 'tinted foundation' consistency :) It stays on all day, it does fade but only the slightest.. and when I want a heavier coverage it doesnt look cakey!
The packaging is a little annoying as when it gets down to the end bits it seems that a lot is left but you cant get it out of the bottle.. Its a little pricey but what good foundation isnt these days? and i get discount at the local chemist or I try to find it on special :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rayray09 on 4/4/2011 9:40:00 PM more reviews by rayray09

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Really great! The coverage is excellent and stays very well. I read once that it can stay all day without a touch up...but that is not true! I work as a camp counselor so I am constantly running after kids and getting warm, so I have noticed that it does begin to wear around my nose and cheeks. I have a problem with facial redness, but this foundation does a really good job at covering it. Definitely not for the weak-skinned: I forgot to take it off like 2 nights in a row and began to break. For being 12 dollars, its a really good deal!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Liquid products