Revlon • ColorStay Makeup [Reformulated Early 2013] • Liquid

rated 3.8(4443 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 5 of 5 jrp3 on 4/11/2011 8:35:00 PM more reviews by jrp3

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Another favorite, minus the packaging. I hate glass bottle foundations because they just gross, with the foundation leaking sometimes and bacteria, i just overall hate them. But I like the foundation itself.

This foundation for me lasts literally like 24 hours. I have wore it to prom every year and it's never failed to stay on ALL day Saturday and Sunday. Color selection is great, and I love the fact they have two formulations for dry or combo skin. Only thing is that it dries to a satin finish, which on my skin looks terrible if I don't set it with a powder. I find after 2-3 hours, the foundation looks great due to the natural oils being produced giving me a nice looking dewey finish.

The price is around 9$, which isn't terrible, but I have found other foundations for cheaper that work just as good. With a primer and powder, this is the longest lasting foundation, but it can feel a little heavy with a full coverage base. The shades tend to run a little orange on me, and i've tried at least 5 different ones from this collection, so don't be afraid to crack open the bottle and test a drop on your skin to make sure it matches because the swatches can be a little misleading.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 karinaFresh on 4/11/2011 8:25:00 PM more reviews by karinaFresh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Red, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

The only reason I continue to wear this as my everyday foundation is that its the longest wearing foundation with good coverage as far as drugstore goes (not too big of a fan of drugstore foundation). Its probably my favorite drugstore foundation (combo/oily skin version fyi) I just don't really like the finish and i dont like how it wears that much. I've been wearing it for 8 months now, used to apply it with my hands but looks and last much better when applied with a brush, a flat top brush per say.

FINISH:
Again, apply it with a flat top brush, it looks a lot better. But still, am not satisfied with the finish. I feel as if it makes my skin look kinda dull, a little dry and almost powdery? It can get cakey, or streaky if you don't apply it right. It drys really fast too so it can be hard to work with. With the right technique it can look pretty good though. It has good coverage but I wish it covered a little more. Looks better when your oils break in.

LASTING POWER:
Longest wearing drugstore foundation in my opinion, lasts me about 9 hours before it starts to look weird, and about 16 hours before it really starts coming off. Decent at controlling oil but it can smear & its not transfer resistant. Its oxidation factor is ridiculous though, it can make you look pretty orange after a couple hours.

Overall, i'll use it as more of an everyday foundation to save money but once I get my Ester Lauder double wear it'll be hard to use this. Best drugstore foundation but not HG.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 carlez123 on 4/11/2011 7:40:00 PM more reviews by carlez123

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

After years of wearing Estee Lauder Double Wear and loving it I decided to try Colorstay. Well I'm never going back to Estee Lauder. Corlorstay feels better on my skin, doesn't get as cakey and really stays put. I have a lot of age spots and this covers them very well but also makes my skin look moisturized. So happy I tried this!! Love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 iamcrayon on 4/9/2011 6:30:00 AM more reviews by iamcrayon

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

First of all, there's not pump. That's one huge pet peeve for me. They have a wide color range, too bad there wasn't my color. The color is either too light or too orange, couldn't find the perfect match without looking like an oompa loompa!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mcpatty on 4/9/2011 1:31:00 AM more reviews by mcpatty

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

i like this product for work or evening- a nice light shade, wears well, and smells good.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ruthie08 on 4/8/2011 10:21:00 PM more reviews by ruthie08

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

good coverage but hard to find a match...ive tried 3 different shades already and still havent found my match. doesn't include a pump. i have very sensitive and pimple prone skin and this made me break out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nati777 on 4/8/2011 9:27:00 PM more reviews by nati777

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I love this foundation. It's my go to foundation for work. It gives me great coverage and lasts throughout my whole work day. I work 8 to 10 hours a day by the way. It's a medium coverage, build able foundation and at first it feels kinda thick on your skin...but once it sets its amazing. If it had a pump I'd be even more in love. I've tried a lot of foundations but every path has led me right back here.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Kateilicious on 4/8/2011 8:44:00 PM more reviews by Kateilicious

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

It's an okay product and it gives good coverage BUT it dries out my skin 30 minutes after I apply it. I also have to set it with tons of powder for it to actually "stay" and if I use too much powder my skin turns orange! I'm not very pleased with this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 danielle22 on 4/8/2011 5:29:00 AM more reviews by danielle22

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I really like this foundation. I started to use MAC studio but found it was gone within a few hours and is quiet pricey so i expect a good product. a few of my friends used this and raved about it so a got one for my own and the color matches me perfectly have not found one that matches me as well. lasts all day am really happy with this product, is medium coverage and if i have an area that needs more i just do another layer. ALL of my friends now only use this product and i am hooked to this one :D

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 raaaggg on 4/8/2011 12:42:00 AM more reviews by raaaggg

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Over the years I've learned that foundations can only do so much of the work when it comes to creating a flawless face. This foundation is definitely a foundation that needs to be played around with in order for it to work for you. I've tried multiple ways of applying and I was pretty satisfied with the coverage and staying power of this foundation via a flat top kabuki brush. The one thing that bothered me the most was the unnatural cakey finish I would get.

I found that the best way to apply Revlon CS is with a damp sponge (the cheap wedges that you can get from drugstores for $2 for a pack of 30). Sure it sheers it out a little, but layers can be built upon each layer easily and you avoid getting a cakey mess. Another benefit is that with this application method it looks NATURAL and you still get that same long wearing foundation that CS is all about.

Trust me. Try this method. It will not disappoint.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Liquid products