Revlon • ColorStay Makeup [Reformulated Early 2013] • Liquid

rated 3.8(4449 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 2 of 5 cvalencia817 on 4/15/2011 9:54:00 PM more reviews by cvalencia817

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this liquid foundation the other day, because I read good reviews on it.. but I feel it's best for dry or normal skin. I have oily skin and even though I used the oily skin version, my face looked wet! I liked the coverage and the foundation itself, but it just didn't work for me personally.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 makeuplab on 4/13/2011 3:13:00 PM more reviews by makeuplab

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

I just purchased this foundation and i love it! i needed a darker foundation for when I am more tan and all of my favorite youtube gurus use this a lot so i thought id try it! I found it at walmart for 14 dollars but in drugstores its like 20, which is quite expensive for drugstore products! the smell is a bit overwhelming tho, it wears off a but after like 10 mintunes though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gloooria on 4/13/2011 3:13:00 AM more reviews by gloooria

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I used this foundation as my everyday foundation i also have mac studio fix and nars sheer glow foundation that i use on special ocassions or days that i dont work. I love the way it wear it really does last all day long i was so excited when i purchased this and started using it. I really dont like using my expensive foundations if im going to sweat or be running around. The only thing is i bought mine for about $13 to me thats a little but expensive for a drug store brand. Another thing that bothers me is that i usually put foundation on the back of my hand and apply and well this foundation dries quick so i usually blot on my face and hurry up and apply either than that i love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lindslou on 4/13/2011 1:42:00 AM more reviews by lindslou

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I only have one problem with this foundation... it makes you look white and ghostly in pictures! The "colorstay" in the name, definitely is true. I put it on in the morning, and through everything in the day, it stays on really well. I have found that putting the Colorstay Pressed Powder over the top (to set it) really helps to make it last even longer and also helps you to not look as white in pictures as if you were to just put the liquid on. I have found the cheapest price as $10.47, which to me, is reasonable for the product. It lasts a very long time and provides FULL coverage.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 christinarose on 4/12/2011 8:35:00 AM more reviews by christinarose

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I love this product. I love how they have a choice for combination skin. Having combination skin makes it very difficult to find a proper foundation due to the oiliness in the t-zone. This foundation stayed put all day long and gave me an extremely flawless application. I found it easy to blend with a sponge, and i barely had to wear any concealer at all because this foundation is so pigmented on its own. Only down-side I believe was the packaging. The foundation is quite runny, so it was very difficult to keep from making such a mess. I think this product would be better with a pump. All in all, I would buy this product again and I was very happy with it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sezza899 on 4/12/2011 7:52:00 AM more reviews by sezza899

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Green    

Love this product.
After revlon discontinued my shade in one of their other foundations I used I turned to this.
I love the colour selection for this range. I'm quite cooled toned, so for me a lot of foundations are way too orange and I end up looking like an oompa loompa. I know a lot of people complain that revlon's shade ranges are always too pink based, but seriously, most other brands are the opposite!
I find that this foundation doesn't work for a lot of people, mainly because they dont apply it properly. It does dry quite quickly and if you don't work quickly it can look cakey.
I find the best way to apply it is with a stippling brush, I use my sigma F80 and the finsih I get is beautiful. I also find that by using this it gives me a sheerer finish as well, as I don't really need full coverage for my skin.
It does have an icky smell but I hardly notice it anymore.
And it does what it says, it really does last all day.
I have used higher end brands and in the end I still always come back to this as a staple of my makeup bag.
It does contain a lot of titanium dioxide which gives a white caste in photos though. I'm a bit torn as to how this perfoms in photos -- on average cameras, yes it does give a castle, but on good quility equipment it actually photographs quite well. i've used this on a couple of shoots and it turned out fine.

So in summary, great product once you master how to use it properly!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jrp3 on 4/11/2011 8:35:00 PM more reviews by jrp3

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Another favorite, minus the packaging. I hate glass bottle foundations because they just gross, with the foundation leaking sometimes and bacteria, i just overall hate them. But I like the foundation itself.

This foundation for me lasts literally like 24 hours. I have wore it to prom every year and it's never failed to stay on ALL day Saturday and Sunday. Color selection is great, and I love the fact they have two formulations for dry or combo skin. Only thing is that it dries to a satin finish, which on my skin looks terrible if I don't set it with a powder. I find after 2-3 hours, the foundation looks great due to the natural oils being produced giving me a nice looking dewey finish.

The price is around 9$, which isn't terrible, but I have found other foundations for cheaper that work just as good. With a primer and powder, this is the longest lasting foundation, but it can feel a little heavy with a full coverage base. The shades tend to run a little orange on me, and i've tried at least 5 different ones from this collection, so don't be afraid to crack open the bottle and test a drop on your skin to make sure it matches because the swatches can be a little misleading.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 karinaFresh on 4/11/2011 8:25:00 PM more reviews by karinaFresh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Red, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

The only reason I continue to wear this as my everyday foundation is that its the longest wearing foundation with good coverage as far as drugstore goes (not too big of a fan of drugstore foundation). Its probably my favorite drugstore foundation (combo/oily skin version fyi) I just don't really like the finish and i dont like how it wears that much. I've been wearing it for 8 months now, used to apply it with my hands but looks and last much better when applied with a brush, a flat top brush per say.

FINISH:
Again, apply it with a flat top brush, it looks a lot better. But still, am not satisfied with the finish. I feel as if it makes my skin look kinda dull, a little dry and almost powdery? It can get cakey, or streaky if you don't apply it right. It drys really fast too so it can be hard to work with. With the right technique it can look pretty good though. It has good coverage but I wish it covered a little more. Looks better when your oils break in.

LASTING POWER:
Longest wearing drugstore foundation in my opinion, lasts me about 9 hours before it starts to look weird, and about 16 hours before it really starts coming off. Decent at controlling oil but it can smear & its not transfer resistant. Its oxidation factor is ridiculous though, it can make you look pretty orange after a couple hours.

Overall, i'll use it as more of an everyday foundation to save money but once I get my Ester Lauder double wear it'll be hard to use this. Best drugstore foundation but not HG.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 carlez123 on 4/11/2011 7:40:00 PM more reviews by carlez123

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

After years of wearing Estee Lauder Double Wear and loving it I decided to try Colorstay. Well I'm never going back to Estee Lauder. Corlorstay feels better on my skin, doesn't get as cakey and really stays put. I have a lot of age spots and this covers them very well but also makes my skin look moisturized. So happy I tried this!! Love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 iamcrayon on 4/9/2011 6:30:00 AM more reviews by iamcrayon

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

First of all, there's not pump. That's one huge pet peeve for me. They have a wide color range, too bad there wasn't my color. The color is either too light or too orange, couldn't find the perfect match without looking like an oompa loompa!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Liquid products