Revlon • ColorStay Makeup [Reformulated Early 2013] • Liquid

rated 3.8(4452 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 4 of 5 Sweety85 on 4/18/2011 2:43:00 AM more reviews by Sweety85

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Blond, Straight   Eyes: Green    

I preffer more natural look, and more natural coverage, so while this foundation does provide a most amazing full on coverage, i dont think it looks too natural on, hence you can't have both, it's one or the other. It's not a foundation that i would wear every day, as a matter of fact, i try not to wear a foundation every single day due to obvious skin aging (yes, no foundation regardless of how natural it feels or looks is therapeutic for your skin) but i do wear this foundation when going out, as it just gives a great coverage, stays on for a while, and it's a decent price. I have been using this for a while, and definatelly recommend it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* just_a_small_town_girl on 4/17/2011 4:26:00 PM more reviews by just_a_small_town_girl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Man, YouTube users really hyped up this foundation to be something great. As I remember, it was a bit on the pricey side. All I liked about this was the color I selected. This really made my skin dry out more, even though I bought the one specific for dry skin. Maybe now that winter is over, I'll give this another shot. I really want to like it because the color was perfect.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 batmann on 4/16/2011 3:07:00 PM more reviews by batmann

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

The packaging is fine but i honestly wish it came with a pump overall the product is great(: , probably the best drug store foundation out their. Not as pricey as others i say pricing is in between. The thing with this foundation is that you must act quickly and blend well or else it will leave you with a cakey finish.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 DiscoPandaGoGo on 4/16/2011 11:35:00 AM more reviews by DiscoPandaGoGo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

Okay, despite giving this product 4 lippies and not 5, the only reason is the packaging. I use this product on clients, it mixes well, and lasts long throughout photoshoots and wedding photos. However, that being said, the coverage is nice and the finish is good as well. I like it, not for me personally, but for clients. Plus I got them on sale for $7 a piece, score!

One gripe... is the packaging. I hate, hate, hate, HATE bottles of foundation that are just... open. It gets germs in the product and can just be... blah. Everytime I buy a new one, I just replace the packaging by letting it sit downturned, then depositing it into a pump top disposable product holder. It's more sanitary and much easier to use on the go or when I'm pressed for time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 cvalencia817 on 4/15/2011 9:54:00 PM more reviews by cvalencia817

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this liquid foundation the other day, because I read good reviews on it.. but I feel it's best for dry or normal skin. I have oily skin and even though I used the oily skin version, my face looked wet! I liked the coverage and the foundation itself, but it just didn't work for me personally.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 makeuplab on 4/13/2011 3:13:00 PM more reviews by makeuplab

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

I just purchased this foundation and i love it! i needed a darker foundation for when I am more tan and all of my favorite youtube gurus use this a lot so i thought id try it! I found it at walmart for 14 dollars but in drugstores its like 20, which is quite expensive for drugstore products! the smell is a bit overwhelming tho, it wears off a but after like 10 mintunes though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gloooria on 4/13/2011 3:13:00 AM more reviews by gloooria

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I used this foundation as my everyday foundation i also have mac studio fix and nars sheer glow foundation that i use on special ocassions or days that i dont work. I love the way it wear it really does last all day long i was so excited when i purchased this and started using it. I really dont like using my expensive foundations if im going to sweat or be running around. The only thing is i bought mine for about $13 to me thats a little but expensive for a drug store brand. Another thing that bothers me is that i usually put foundation on the back of my hand and apply and well this foundation dries quick so i usually blot on my face and hurry up and apply either than that i love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lindslou on 4/13/2011 1:42:00 AM more reviews by lindslou

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I only have one problem with this foundation... it makes you look white and ghostly in pictures! The "colorstay" in the name, definitely is true. I put it on in the morning, and through everything in the day, it stays on really well. I have found that putting the Colorstay Pressed Powder over the top (to set it) really helps to make it last even longer and also helps you to not look as white in pictures as if you were to just put the liquid on. I have found the cheapest price as $10.47, which to me, is reasonable for the product. It lasts a very long time and provides FULL coverage.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 christinarose on 4/12/2011 8:35:00 AM more reviews by christinarose

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I love this product. I love how they have a choice for combination skin. Having combination skin makes it very difficult to find a proper foundation due to the oiliness in the t-zone. This foundation stayed put all day long and gave me an extremely flawless application. I found it easy to blend with a sponge, and i barely had to wear any concealer at all because this foundation is so pigmented on its own. Only down-side I believe was the packaging. The foundation is quite runny, so it was very difficult to keep from making such a mess. I think this product would be better with a pump. All in all, I would buy this product again and I was very happy with it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sezza899 on 4/12/2011 7:52:00 AM more reviews by sezza899

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Green    

Love this product.
After revlon discontinued my shade in one of their other foundations I used I turned to this.
I love the colour selection for this range. I'm quite cooled toned, so for me a lot of foundations are way too orange and I end up looking like an oompa loompa. I know a lot of people complain that revlon's shade ranges are always too pink based, but seriously, most other brands are the opposite!
I find that this foundation doesn't work for a lot of people, mainly because they dont apply it properly. It does dry quite quickly and if you don't work quickly it can look cakey.
I find the best way to apply it is with a stippling brush, I use my sigma F80 and the finsih I get is beautiful. I also find that by using this it gives me a sheerer finish as well, as I don't really need full coverage for my skin.
It does have an icky smell but I hardly notice it anymore.
And it does what it says, it really does last all day.
I have used higher end brands and in the end I still always come back to this as a staple of my makeup bag.
It does contain a lot of titanium dioxide which gives a white caste in photos though. I'm a bit torn as to how this perfoms in photos -- on average cameras, yes it does give a castle, but on good quility equipment it actually photographs quite well. i've used this on a couple of shoots and it turned out fine.

So in summary, great product once you master how to use it properly!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Liquid products