Cover Girl • Lash Blast • Mascara

rated 3.7(4315 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 hehe193 on 10/1/2009 3:16:00 AM more reviews by hehe193

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

For all the hype it's been getting, I found lash blast mascara to be quite the let down. I have the worst lashes ever - short, thin, and point downwards. So obviously, mascara is rather important to me.

The wand of this mascara was way too big. It didn't allow me to get the inner and outer corners of my lashes, which usually make a big difference when it comes to looks.
The formula also didn't hold my curl. It weighed my lashes down a few minutes after application.

So, for those who are blessed with naturally thick luscious lashes, then maybe this mascara is for you. As for me, I'm still on my journey to find my HG mascara.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hablagabrielle on 10/1/2009 1:35:00 AM more reviews by hablagabrielle

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I tried the Waterproof version of this product first. I hated it--but I tend to hate most waterproof mascaras. I then switched to the blackest nonwaterproof version. Immediately I noticed how much fuller and longer my lashes looked! Also, it doesn't dry up hard like Great Lash or Define A Lash, so you can reapply it throughout the day. The downside is that the formula is heavier than other mascaras I've tried so I end up recurling my lashes before and after each coat. One coat usually does the trick, though. Be forewarned--this mascara is not for those who wear glasses. Your lashes will definitely bump into your lenses and leave weird black marks all over them. The big ol' brush separates your eyelashes, but it's really difficult to maneuver it around your lower lashes.

EDIT: So I've been using this mascara for a long time and recently switched to Maybelline's XXL Curl Power mascara. Because I'd never really compared Lash Blast to anything else, I assumed all mascaras were this good. I was wrong--XXL sucked and I hate it. It made my lashes clumpy and bumpy and gross and weird and much too long. I kept Lash Blast on one eye for comparison and it looked so much better and so much more natural, believe it or not. Now, I'm a senior in high school so I take regular naps throughout the day, but this mascara stays put and looks even better after I sleep. Recently I've taken to applying three coats before bed and then adding one more in the morning, when it's softer and prettier. It works amazingly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Paris334 on 9/30/2009 6:17:00 PM more reviews by Paris334

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Would I buy this again? YES! I'm on my fourth one and about to buy the fifth! Last time I bought the two-pack. I love, love, love this stuff! It's one of the few mascaras I've found that do not rub off on my lower lid during the day. I used think this it was always my liner but on days when I didn't wear liner I'd still have black smudges under my eyes. (What can I say, I wasn't quite so makeup savvy - WHY would it take months to realize it's the mascara??? LOL)

Lash Blast never budges and I have to admit that I wear it two days in a row sometimes. I know - that's awful but if I don't take it off before bedtime I always wake up and it looks perfectly fine! So I swipe a quick second coat on (sometimes the corners are bare from rubbing during sleep) and I'm good for the day. I know that's awful but I choose to think of it as being more gentle on my eyelashes - no tugging to remove it!

I did buy this in waterproof and I do NOT like that. I find that too many black mascaras look gray when you put them on and I find this to be a particular problem with waterproof mascaras. So I still have it in my cabinet but probably wouldn't wear it unless I knew I was going swimming or somewhere I'm likely to cry.

Only two things I don't love - it's a bit hard to remove. But I've always had that problem with every mascara - for whatever reason all of the removers that everyone loves don't work as well on me! And it seems that the tubes dry out fairly quickly. But I'm fine with those things - they are tiny, tiny trade-offs for this awesome mascara!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dmtowns on 9/30/2009 4:02:00 PM more reviews by dmtowns

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I am a mascara junkie, I will admit it. I have used tons of mascaras, both high and low end, and Lash Blast smokes all of them. My wimpy lashes become long, full, dark...they look like falsies. This is one of the very few mascaras I have repurchased more than once (I'm on my fourth tube of it now), and I hope they never d/c it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Carmela22 on 9/29/2009 7:49:00 PM more reviews by Carmela22

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara rocks. It's as good as Diorshow, maybe better, and Lancome Hypnose. I honestly can't believe I've found a drugstore mascara that compares and, at half the price, it simply can not be beat!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Caarly on 9/29/2009 3:25:00 AM more reviews by Caarly

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I love this , the formula is great not to thick not to watery , the applicator or great you may think that it wont get to the inner eyelashes well it does and you dont have to wiggle the wand back and forth really it separates is perfectly on its own and the long part of the wand is really nice and stiff so it be moving around or get bent , well worth the 7.00 i spent and i will buy it again . i defiantly recommend it .Ratings - 4 beause there are better ones out there , 2 - becasue its not super cheap and not as expensive as they can get , and 4 becasue like it could be better but its great . = ) Sorry for how long it is .

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 LORIO on 9/28/2009 1:02:00 PM more reviews by LORIO

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a miss for me. My lashes were hard and spiky with this. Not the least bit attractive. I like a mascara that leaves my lashes full, thick and long but soft and this one does none of the above.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 myrougelips on 9/28/2009 10:54:00 AM more reviews by myrougelips

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

Curl Hold: 0

Volume: 1/5
No volume was created at all but Lash Blast definitely darkened and separated my lashes and created the illusion of volume.

Length: 0/5

No Smudging Rating: 3/5
Minimal smudging, remarkable, give that it is not waterproof

No Clumping Rating: 5/5
Does not clump at all!

Wand Design/Ease of Use: 0/5
Fat handle does not mean fat lashes. It is so awkward to use. Also, the wand is rubber with rubber bristles. I am not a fan of rubber brushes although I think they are very hygienic and clean (I'll explain next time!) and they are really great for separating lashes and does not clump. Watch EmilyNoel83's video for more rubber wand insights.

Ease of Removal: 5

It does not live up to the hype! There are SO MANY mascaras which do a great job than this. The good side is that it is SUPER cheap and if you are opting for just a natural look then this is for you.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BKBarbi3 on 9/28/2009 3:51:00 AM more reviews by BKBarbi3

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

OH MY GOD this is my go to HOLY GRAIL mascara ! it does all things for my lashess ohh man it lengthens, seperates and volumizes. i think this will always be my favorite mascara and anyone that ive used it on is amazed i do have to say it can be hard to work with if u have small eyes but the bristle are amazing i love this mascara <3

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 101alexis on 9/28/2009 12:36:00 AM more reviews by 101alexis

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this mascara. I love mascaras with big bristles, and this is great, like a better version of max factor's 2000 calorie mascara. Took off a lippie because it sometimes flakes and it does clump even when I wipe the wand off with a tissue.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Cover Girl products

More Mascara products