Cover Girl • Lash Blast • Mascara

rated 3.7(4309 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 greenbird on 10/2/2009 3:10:00 PM more reviews by greenbird

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara has gotten rave reviews, press, and women bought it in droves. So I bought it several times-thinking I MUST love this mascara, because everyone else does! I am Asian, with short, straight, thin eyelashes. My head hair is thick and long-my eyelashes suck. It has caused me hundreds of dollars in department store and drug store mascara hunting. This mascara adds volume, a little bit of length, and good separation since the bristles on the brush are so defined-but I get more volume from: Maybelline Colossal Volume (but clumpier), L'Oreal Voluminous (much more volume!), and Max Factor Volume Couture and Max Factor 2000 Calorie mascaras. I get more length from Max Factor Volume Couture mascara. I did a side by side comparison-and L'Oreal Voluminous and Max Factor Volume Couture left my eyelashes significantly thicker and longer than Lash Blast (but the Loreal Voluminous left my lashes a bit clumpier, but thicker). What Lash Blast does do is that it separates, thickens, and lengthens with minimal smudging or clumping -but there are other brands that will make your lashes thicker or longer. The brush is so large-that it is difficult to maneuver on smaller/Asian eyelids, and I can't brush my lower lashes without smearing since the brush is so large and difficult to maneuver. It also takes a lot of room in my purse. Good, but not great mascara-if you have longer, thin lashes-this will give you good volume. If you're looking for significant length-this isnt it. But i havent tried the Lash Blash length which is more specifically for lengthening lashes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 dayglo on 10/2/2009 2:36:00 AM more reviews by dayglo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Threw it away after one use. There is too much flexibility in the wand where the bristled head connects to the shaft, making it difficult to control the product's exact placement on the lashes, especially on the inner third of the eye. My lashes are naturally light, especially at the roots. This wand failed to grab the bases of my lashes and the formula flaked disastrously over the course of my workday, leaving me looking somewhat mottled. Gross.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jomakemeblush on 10/2/2009 more reviews by jomakemeblush

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have long thin lashes so this mascara does what I want, fuller & thicker lashes. I have been using this mascara for so long and can't imagine using any other. People always think I'm wearing fake lashes & I respond, it's lash blast b**** =)


* not every product works for everyone. Glad it works for me*

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lexi95 on 10/1/2009 4:40:00 PM more reviews by lexi95

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

i have to admit, i did expect alot from this product, mostly based ona ll the good reviews it has been getting. however, this is by far one of the worst mascaras i have ever used in my entire life!!! i do have smaller eyes and was warned it would be hard to use. that wasnt really my problem, my problem was that it clumps worse than anything i have ever seen. by the time i apply this, it looks like i have a total of 3 whole lashes.i wouldnt waste your money buying this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 hehe193 on 10/1/2009 3:16:00 AM more reviews by hehe193

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

For all the hype it's been getting, I found lash blast mascara to be quite the let down. I have the worst lashes ever - short, thin, and point downwards. So obviously, mascara is rather important to me.

The wand of this mascara was way too big. It didn't allow me to get the inner and outer corners of my lashes, which usually make a big difference when it comes to looks.
The formula also didn't hold my curl. It weighed my lashes down a few minutes after application.

So, for those who are blessed with naturally thick luscious lashes, then maybe this mascara is for you. As for me, I'm still on my journey to find my HG mascara.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hablagabrielle on 10/1/2009 1:35:00 AM more reviews by hablagabrielle

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I tried the Waterproof version of this product first. I hated it--but I tend to hate most waterproof mascaras. I then switched to the blackest nonwaterproof version. Immediately I noticed how much fuller and longer my lashes looked! Also, it doesn't dry up hard like Great Lash or Define A Lash, so you can reapply it throughout the day. The downside is that the formula is heavier than other mascaras I've tried so I end up recurling my lashes before and after each coat. One coat usually does the trick, though. Be forewarned--this mascara is not for those who wear glasses. Your lashes will definitely bump into your lenses and leave weird black marks all over them. The big ol' brush separates your eyelashes, but it's really difficult to maneuver it around your lower lashes.

EDIT: So I've been using this mascara for a long time and recently switched to Maybelline's XXL Curl Power mascara. Because I'd never really compared Lash Blast to anything else, I assumed all mascaras were this good. I was wrong--XXL sucked and I hate it. It made my lashes clumpy and bumpy and gross and weird and much too long. I kept Lash Blast on one eye for comparison and it looked so much better and so much more natural, believe it or not. Now, I'm a senior in high school so I take regular naps throughout the day, but this mascara stays put and looks even better after I sleep. Recently I've taken to applying three coats before bed and then adding one more in the morning, when it's softer and prettier. It works amazingly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Paris334 on 9/30/2009 6:17:00 PM more reviews by Paris334

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Would I buy this again? YES! I'm on my fourth one and about to buy the fifth! Last time I bought the two-pack. I love, love, love this stuff! It's one of the few mascaras I've found that do not rub off on my lower lid during the day. I used think this it was always my liner but on days when I didn't wear liner I'd still have black smudges under my eyes. (What can I say, I wasn't quite so makeup savvy - WHY would it take months to realize it's the mascara??? LOL)

Lash Blast never budges and I have to admit that I wear it two days in a row sometimes. I know - that's awful but if I don't take it off before bedtime I always wake up and it looks perfectly fine! So I swipe a quick second coat on (sometimes the corners are bare from rubbing during sleep) and I'm good for the day. I know that's awful but I choose to think of it as being more gentle on my eyelashes - no tugging to remove it!

I did buy this in waterproof and I do NOT like that. I find that too many black mascaras look gray when you put them on and I find this to be a particular problem with waterproof mascaras. So I still have it in my cabinet but probably wouldn't wear it unless I knew I was going swimming or somewhere I'm likely to cry.

Only two things I don't love - it's a bit hard to remove. But I've always had that problem with every mascara - for whatever reason all of the removers that everyone loves don't work as well on me! And it seems that the tubes dry out fairly quickly. But I'm fine with those things - they are tiny, tiny trade-offs for this awesome mascara!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dmtowns on 9/30/2009 4:02:00 PM more reviews by dmtowns

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I am a mascara junkie, I will admit it. I have used tons of mascaras, both high and low end, and Lash Blast smokes all of them. My wimpy lashes become long, full, dark...they look like falsies. This is one of the very few mascaras I have repurchased more than once (I'm on my fourth tube of it now), and I hope they never d/c it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Carmela22 on 9/29/2009 7:49:00 PM more reviews by Carmela22

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara rocks. It's as good as Diorshow, maybe better, and Lancome Hypnose. I honestly can't believe I've found a drugstore mascara that compares and, at half the price, it simply can not be beat!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Caarly on 9/29/2009 3:25:00 AM more reviews by Caarly

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I love this , the formula is great not to thick not to watery , the applicator or great you may think that it wont get to the inner eyelashes well it does and you dont have to wiggle the wand back and forth really it separates is perfectly on its own and the long part of the wand is really nice and stiff so it be moving around or get bent , well worth the 7.00 i spent and i will buy it again . i defiantly recommend it .Ratings - 4 beause there are better ones out there , 2 - becasue its not super cheap and not as expensive as they can get , and 4 becasue like it could be better but its great . = ) Sorry for how long it is .

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Cover Girl products

More Mascara products