Revlon • ColorStay Makeup [Reformulated Early 2013] • Liquid

rated 3.8(4434 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 3 of 5 shadesofsanity on 4/22/2011 9:04:00 AM more reviews by shadesofsanity

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I wanted so badly to love this foundation. It DOES have it's perks though.

It has relatively good coverage and definitely has staying power, but it's thick and a bit of a pain to blend, even if using a damp sponge or foundation brush. It also made my pores incredibly visible. The smell was also terrible to me.

And if you need touch-ups throughout the day? Forget it. If I tried to touch it up even slightly it got ridiculously cakey.

I'm also very pale, and though the lightest color was closer to my skin tone than most, it had WAY too much pink in it, and was still too dark for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 calupict on 4/21/2011 10:25:00 PM more reviews by calupict

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is my first foundation. It works great and long to hold the oil in my skin face from burst. The downside from this foundation are it feels heavy and no pump. People often complaints that it dried fast, I got the trick by applying the foundation with wet sponge. It get easier and even out the product in my face.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Chlorine on 4/21/2011 8:09:00 PM more reviews by Chlorine

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This foundation is both awesome and a bummer. I think it's worth the money to try it out, but I don't think it's the foundation for me.


I read so much about the coverage this foundation gives, and when I felt the texture (a little like cream foundation that melted 'cause you left your purse in the car), I was expecting it to be exactly as full as everyone claims. But for me it just isn't, y'all. The coverage here is medium at best. I get the same coverage from L'Oreal True Match, which I think of as my quickie "sure, this actually looks pretty good and anyway I don't have time for more" foundation. Colorstay doesn't feel or look heavy to me, though, so it feels just right for the look it achieves. I was just hoping for something more.


It goes on like a dream, and didn't set too fast for me to blend at all, which was something I was worried about. It smoothed over my imperfections about as well as any product could, though nothing was really and truly covered, like I said. Still, that's an impressive texture for a long wearing foundation to have.


Where this really fails for me is the color. Oh, Revlon, up yours! I'm extremely pale, though not the palest girl in the world, and pretty neutral (I'm all about True Match in W1, for color match if nothing else). I like for my foundation to match the palest areas of my skin, because I love the look of clear, fair skin. The lightest Colorstay shade might match the darker, more blushed areas of my skin, but it isn't what I like. This foundation may be light, but it isn't pale or fair, and as someone who is, I need that. Blended down my neck, it just makes me look kind of dirty if scrutinized, partly because it's so over the top pink. Yikes.


I'm thinking of investing in one of the white or ultra-pale Illamasqua Rich Liquid shades to use as a mixer (and maybe beef up the coverage a bit), because color problems are a major dealbreaker for me.


If you want a matte medium coverage liquid foundation, and you're a Revlon represented color, this stuff deserves your attention. If you want a matte full coverage foundation, or you fall outside of Revlon's shade range, you might not find it here. But a lot of folks do find it here, which I really can't explain, so whatever, maybe I'm crazy and you should try it anyway. It certainly lasts all day on my dry skin, and didn't feel dry or exacerbate my dryness or anything.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Bucephala on 4/21/2011 7:27:00 PM more reviews by Bucephala

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I was on the hunt for a good foundation to cover the redness in my entire t-zone. I've always had trouble finding a colour match for my complexion and great coverage. I was going to go to the make-up counter in at The Bay and try something high end, but the review were pretty good on this one so I gave it shot. I'm so glad that I did! I've been using it for a few weeks now and it has not broken me out. It gives me great coverage when applied with a foundation brush (I use the Spa Resource foundation brush) and the lightest shade is a perfect match to my skin tone. I will definitely re-purchase this one!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Photogirl10 on 4/21/2011 7:02:00 PM more reviews by Photogirl10

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased this foundation by chance -- I was an avid Mac foundation user, but on a long trip I was out of foundation & there wasn't a Mac store or reseller nearby so I was left in a supermarket to buy foundation. I absolutely LOVE this foundation! It's not much different from my Mac foundation, has excellent full coverage, and lasts.

I give 4/5 because the only deduction is it dries quickly when you apply it so you have to work relatively fast. Also, it took me a few tries to get the right amount -- it is thicker and less "smooth & creamy" than other high-end foundations I've owned, so I've learned to use less and finding the right amount was kind of tricky. But when I found the right amount, it feels great on my face and the coverage is great for my skin that is acne-prone.

I wish this liquid foundation was pump-able. Sometimes I spill out a little too much when pouring it which is annoying. But, for the price of the product I can't complain too much.

One other note -- I use this product in Sand Beige which at first I thought was a tad too dark but ended up working great with my fair, *slightly* tanned skin.

So glad I found this product! I can use the money I save on foundation to apply towards high-end eyeshadows and other fun things :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jstrazishar on 4/21/2011 1:34:00 AM more reviews by jstrazishar

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This foundation definitely lives up to its name--it really does stay! I wore it to a wedding once where I cried, danced, and sweated a ton, and by the end of the night it was still there! It's also full coverage, so it's great when you want to look absolutely flawless. It also leaves just the slightest dewy glow, which is great.

Now onto the not-so-great stuff. The color selection really isn't all that great. I understand that it's a drugstore brand, so the color selection really isn't going to be terrific, but still. For those of us with pinkish undertones, I don't think there are really any great options--they all look pretty yellow-undertoned to me. Also, it's kind of hard to blend in. I guess it's hard to get staying power and blendability in one foundation, though.

Overall, it's a nice foundation with staying power, so long as you are able to find a color that suits you.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jessibean on 4/20/2011 9:46:00 PM more reviews by Jessibean

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

this is my HG full coverage foundation. Applied with a wet sponge, the coverage is lighter and more dewy (more medium coverage). This lasts on me for 14+ hours, completely matte. This doesnt break me out, doesnt transfer onto phone or hands, and I dont even need to set it with powder to keep it matte all day. Basically, its amazing (and only $14 at walmart). Revlon also doesnt test on animals, which is important to me.

Only setback: The bottle. Needs a pump! Also, the lightest shade is too pink-based and light, but the next one up is too yellow based. this may just be the selection at the stores though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MSMKUP on 4/20/2011 7:32:00 PM more reviews by MSMKUP

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I can't express how much I love this foundation! For a few months now I've been using MUF foundation and it worked pretty good with my skin but throughout the day I still needed to blot. With this foundation I don't need to blot. It may be different for other people but for me it works fine. I got the sand beige color and it's the closest foundation to my skin color I've found. My face stays matte the whole day while at school, work, and during this hot weather we've been having. Recommend this to all you other oily type skins out there. I absolutely love it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 CamR on 4/20/2011 4:44:00 PM more reviews by CamR

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

So, I've been using revlon ColorStay foundation in the colours Buff and Ivory (mixed together) for a good 6 months now and I still am on the fence about whether I actually like the foundation or not!
I'll run you through what I like and don't like about it.
Pros:
-good coverage (i still need concealer under my eyes and over some acne scarring, but it's pretty full coverage)
-lasts reasonably on my skin

Cons:
-bad colour selection (I have to use a mix of 2 shades because Ivory is VERY pink/grey toned and very unatural, and the next colourdarker called Buff is way too dark for me)
-transfers VERY easily onto clothing etc
-looks cakey very easliy
-doens't last as long as I would like
-is quite expensive for a drugstore foundation ($19 CDN?!?!?!)
-packaging doesn't come with a pump
-the finish is very matte and unnatural looking

Pretty much the cons outweight the pros, but I need good coverage, and I can't find another drugstore foundation that has as good coverage, so I guess I'm stuck with this for a while!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Beachbunnie on 4/20/2011 11:24:00 AM more reviews by Beachbunnie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This is my HG foundation, I absolutely love this product!! I Come back to it time and time again. I must be the only person on the planet who loves the smell of this!! For me it smells clean. The packadging doesn't bother me either I can pour out the right amount of product its just fine, I wouldn't want it to have a pump or a plastic bottle. The shade matches
me better than any high end fnd I ever tried.I apply this one way and one way only.. with Beauty Blender!! It give the most perfect natural coverage, I set with MAC Prep + Prime powder and a spitz of Fix +
It lasts all day and I don't even need to blot!! This for me is truely amazing!! Ive had lunch outside in the sunshine and no shiny face on my return! I love love love it!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Liquid products