Revlon • ColorStay Makeup [Reformulated Early 2013] • Liquid

rated 3.8(4446 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 5 of 5 ciaobellakate on 4/25/2011 12:07:00 PM more reviews by ciaobellakate

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I tried this after hearing Clinique Superfit had been discontinued. Having notoriously oily and acne-prone skin, I needed a long-lasting foundation that wouldn't slide off my skin like most liquid foundations I've used.

At first, I thought it sucked. It wouldn't give all day coverage, but I soon realised this was because I was using a Laura Mercier primer that was known for being absolutely crap, so I quit using that one and then tried again.

Does not break me out, and does not get oily at all. Makes my skin look so lovely that I dread having to remove my makeup at night.

I love that I no longer have to use as much concealer.
I recommend using a slightly wet sponge wedge to stipple this foundation on if you want a full, even coverage. Using my hands just caused it to dry too quickly, leaving me with foundation lines.

The only thing I really dislike about this product is the packaging. Revlon, add a pump already!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 torrieshere on 4/24/2011 1:20:00 PM more reviews by torrieshere

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark, Neutral   Hair: Black, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really like the way that this foundation looks when I apply it, it looks great and very natural in pictures, it gives me great coverage. It makes my skin look great, and it doesn't look oily after a few hours like a lot of liquid foundations do to me.

This foundation would be my favorite if it didn't break me out at times. Also, it smells awful and it would be wonderful if it came with a pump to make it a little easier to apply.

I would repurchase, however, it won't be the foundation that I wear daily.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 vrouwen on 4/24/2011 7:43:00 AM more reviews by vrouwen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I like how it covers my blemishes quickly and make my face becomes softer look
However I don't like the packaging bottle as after I open it, I have to close it properly or it will be messy if I accidentally drop it. I would rather see the pump packaging.
From the price, its affordable I bought like 12dollar

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alee26 on 4/23/2011 7:44:00 PM more reviews by alee26

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

My go to foundation! I use the shade sand-beige and it seems to blend nicely into my skin. I love that this doesn't break me out, unlike the studio fix :(
Coverage is medium to full depending how much you use. I usually go lighter and wear a small amount so I get a medium coverage. I use the ELF Powder brush (the flat top one) and it blends in like a dream. I don't get oily that often when using this and it stays put until I take it off during the end of the day. Yes, the packaging could be improved! Revlon, take note! If it came in a pump form, I would love this even more. The smell is a bit weird, but in my opinion all foundations seem to have some sort of weird smell. Will keep on buying this over and over again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Sena007 on 4/23/2011 5:18:00 AM more reviews by Sena007

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is a HG product for me! I have it in Golden Caramel for Combination/Oily Skin.It keeps me really matte and i only have to blot maybe once or twice....love the way my skin looks with this product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 petunia25 on 4/22/2011 8:53:00 PM more reviews by petunia25

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

I find it so interesting how so many people love this product while others like me had such a bad experience. Like many others, I bought it because it was so highly recommended. I am so mad at myself for not realizing sooner that this was so horrible for my skin!! I just had my eureka moment so figured I should share the experience with others.

My skin is normal/dry and I don't normally ever have a lot of problems with it. I get the occasional pimple every now and then and use natural face products to cleanse and moisturize. Before I bought this foundation (it was my first in a really long time), I was using Revlon's New Complexion makeup (a cream to powder formula) for light coverage. For these reasons, this foundation was probably a shock to my skin when I first started using it, but I feel like I used it long enough to give it a chance to work with my skin.

Anyways, to get to the point, this broke out my skin really badly. I think it took me so long to realize because at first, I was using it only occasionally, so I didn't make the connection, plus exam time at school had me really stressed so I thought it was hormones for a while. It was only after I started using it more consistently in the last month or so that it got worse and worse. It caused large pimples around my jaw line in groups and smaller bumps on my forehead. The irony is that when I started breaking out I thought "well I'm glad I have this foundation to cover up my bad skin!" HA!!

Also, this is not natural looking at all, well not for me anyways. For reference, I bought the normal/dry formula in medium beige. I felt like it made my skin look really dull and fake. I kept using it just because I guess I didn't want to give up on it just yet, but no matter how I applied it, it always looked like I had lots of makeup on and I hate that. Who wants people to look at them and see makeup instead of their face?!?!? Also, the smell is just awful. It literally smells like paint. And as many others have mentioned, the packaging is bad as well.

However, it does give really good coverage and lasts quite a while, so for those of you that don't break out from this and it gives you a better finish than it did for me, I can see how you'd be happy with this product.

So needless to say, I won't be buying this again. Now my search will be for a light-medium coverage foundation, because I think this will be more compatible with my skin than the full coverage ColorStay.

I hope this was helpful! Good luck to everyone searching for their HG foundation!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bennodalove on 4/22/2011 4:11:00 PM more reviews by bennodalove

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

This is my HG liquid foundation, finally! I have tried NARS, YSL, MAC, Benefit, Dior, Rimmel, Maybelline, L'oreal, Lancome, Bourjois, Laura Mercier, Bobbi Brown etc...and this Revlon one blows them all out of the water.



PRO's:

- Colour match, #300 Golden Beige suits my NC30 golden undertoned skin really well. Not pink or yellow based, just a true golden that does NOT look orange like most DS foundations.
- I only need a small amount to cover my entire face. I always moisturize with sesame oil beforehand, put a pea size onto my fingers and rub them together, then pat on and blend in.
- Coverage is medium yet still manages to look fairly natural on me, does NOT look like a mask, thick or cakey (if it does you have applied too much, used the wrong tools, or not hydrated your skin well enough!)
- Doesn't irritate my sensitive skin or break my acne prone skin out
- Lasting power is AMAZING. I can apply at 7AM (I never use primer or powder btw) and it will still be there at 11PM without fading or melting off. Lasts in humid weather and rainy weather too.
- No need for touch-ups as my skin never gets oily or greasy when I wear this (I have normal/combo skin)
- Price is good, about 11 or so
- Gives a soft matte look upon application, in a few hours looks like a satin finish
- No transfering onto clothes or phones


CON's:

- Packaging is so annoying, glass bottle with no pump so I always waste lots of product, it's not that hygienic, and I can't get every bit of foundation out the bottle once it starts running out. -
- If you apply too much it will look like a mask
- Smells like paint mix or something, not pleasant.
- Combo/oily formula contains a fair bit of alcohol which I'm not that happy with, but it doesn't break me out or dry my skin out so I can't complain too much.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 SexiXLex on 4/22/2011 4:07:00 PM more reviews by SexiXLex

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

Like everyone else, i read reviews before buying this product. I heard great things, including how "great coverage"it has. This is definately not a full coverage foundation. To me it would be light-medium. Maybe it's full coverage on people with great skin haha. Personally, my pores are visible when i use this foundation, but it does stay on well. I don't have any blending problems but that's because i use my fingers instead of a brush or sponge. I would buy this again i guess, but i do wish it had more coverage than people say. I think the Photoready foundation has more coverage.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kelltastic on 4/22/2011 3:53:00 PM more reviews by Kelltastic

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I am so thrilled that after searching, trying product after product, I have truly found my holy grail foundation. It does what it promises: I have had 16 hours of perfect matte full coverage bliss! No touch-ups needed. Even with blemishes! This stuff STICKS! It does dry quickly and I could see how it would be difficult to blend, but this hasn't been an issue for me personally. I use the shade Buff (2nd lightest color with yellow undertones) and it is a perfect match. I only wish that it came in a pump bottle!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 elry7 on 4/22/2011 2:39:00 PM more reviews by elry7

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I have never used a liquid foundation before because I had sensitive skin and would break out when you put anything on it. My really good friend, who is also a cosmotologist, did my make-up for my wedding, and used Revlon Colorstay! I thought she would be using more high end products like MAC or something, but she said that MAC make up wouldn't last as long as this stuff. So I let her do whatever she does best. I didn't even think about my face the whole day. In fact, it didn't even occur to me that I was wearing foundation! It did not feel greasy, or dry. It actually felt great, like I had just washed my face...all day! There was a point where we were running in a foggy mist (ah!) to take pictures and when I looked in the mirror afterward, it was as if nothing touched it at all! No joke! this product is amazing and my skin absorbed it very well. Oh and one more important thing. I had a huge zit the night before my wedding (what luck.) And I mean huge, I remedied it the night before and was able to get the swelling out by the morning, but it was still blaring red. My friend was able to cover that thing up too! Not noticeable at all, not even in pictures. She was going to touch me up before the banquet, but when she saw me, she said "wow, it's like I just put it on!" (which was at 5am, and now it's 6pm!)

I had compliments all night with people asking me who my make up artist was and how flawless my skin looked. I had to agree, I looked pretty awesome. I took off one lippie because like the other reviewers said, the bottle is a hassle and I always end up pouring out too much which is such a waste. Also, after a few months (five or so), it doesn't blend into the skin as well and turns noticeably orange-y, but that just means it's time to get a new bottle. I do get break outs with this after a while, but that's when I get too lazy to wash my face at night (nasty...i know.). My friend taught me to get two shades, one slightly darker and one slightly lighter and mix them together to get a better match since skin color can change slightly either direction. I thought that was a great tip and for the price of this foundation, I can swing it.

I was thinking about trying out different ones just to see what's out there, but if this works so well for me, why should I waste my time and money?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Liquid products