Revlon • ColorStay Makeup [Discontinued and Reformulated Early 2013] • Liquid

rated 3.8(4431 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bennodalove on 4/22/2011 4:11:00 PM more reviews by bennodalove

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

This is my HG liquid foundation, finally! I have tried NARS, YSL, MAC, Benefit, Dior, Rimmel, Maybelline, L'oreal, Lancome, Bourjois, Laura Mercier, Bobbi Brown etc...and this Revlon one blows them all out of the water.



PRO's:

- Colour match, #300 Golden Beige suits my NC30 golden undertoned skin really well. Not pink or yellow based, just a true golden that does NOT look orange like most DS foundations.
- I only need a small amount to cover my entire face. I always moisturize with sesame oil beforehand, put a pea size onto my fingers and rub them together, then pat on and blend in.
- Coverage is medium yet still manages to look fairly natural on me, does NOT look like a mask, thick or cakey (if it does you have applied too much, used the wrong tools, or not hydrated your skin well enough!)
- Doesn't irritate my sensitive skin or break my acne prone skin out
- Lasting power is AMAZING. I can apply at 7AM (I never use primer or powder btw) and it will still be there at 11PM without fading or melting off. Lasts in humid weather and rainy weather too.
- No need for touch-ups as my skin never gets oily or greasy when I wear this (I have normal/combo skin)
- Price is good, about 11 or so
- Gives a soft matte look upon application, in a few hours looks like a satin finish
- No transfering onto clothes or phones


CON's:

- Packaging is so annoying, glass bottle with no pump so I always waste lots of product, it's not that hygienic, and I can't get every bit of foundation out the bottle once it starts running out. -
- If you apply too much it will look like a mask
- Smells like paint mix or something, not pleasant.
- Combo/oily formula contains a fair bit of alcohol which I'm not that happy with, but it doesn't break me out or dry my skin out so I can't complain too much.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 SexiXLex on 4/22/2011 4:07:00 PM more reviews by SexiXLex

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

Like everyone else, i read reviews before buying this product. I heard great things, including how "great coverage"it has. This is definately not a full coverage foundation. To me it would be light-medium. Maybe it's full coverage on people with great skin haha. Personally, my pores are visible when i use this foundation, but it does stay on well. I don't have any blending problems but that's because i use my fingers instead of a brush or sponge. I would buy this again i guess, but i do wish it had more coverage than people say. I think the Photoready foundation has more coverage.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kelltastic on 4/22/2011 3:53:00 PM more reviews by Kelltastic

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I am so thrilled that after searching, trying product after product, I have truly found my holy grail foundation. It does what it promises: I have had 16 hours of perfect matte full coverage bliss! No touch-ups needed. Even with blemishes! This stuff STICKS! It does dry quickly and I could see how it would be difficult to blend, but this hasn't been an issue for me personally. I use the shade Buff (2nd lightest color with yellow undertones) and it is a perfect match. I only wish that it came in a pump bottle!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 elry7 on 4/22/2011 2:39:00 PM more reviews by elry7

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I have never used a liquid foundation before because I had sensitive skin and would break out when you put anything on it. My really good friend, who is also a cosmotologist, did my make-up for my wedding, and used Revlon Colorstay! I thought she would be using more high end products like MAC or something, but she said that MAC make up wouldn't last as long as this stuff. So I let her do whatever she does best. I didn't even think about my face the whole day. In fact, it didn't even occur to me that I was wearing foundation! It did not feel greasy, or dry. It actually felt great, like I had just washed my face...all day! There was a point where we were running in a foggy mist (ah!) to take pictures and when I looked in the mirror afterward, it was as if nothing touched it at all! No joke! this product is amazing and my skin absorbed it very well. Oh and one more important thing. I had a huge zit the night before my wedding (what luck.) And I mean huge, I remedied it the night before and was able to get the swelling out by the morning, but it was still blaring red. My friend was able to cover that thing up too! Not noticeable at all, not even in pictures. She was going to touch me up before the banquet, but when she saw me, she said "wow, it's like I just put it on!" (which was at 5am, and now it's 6pm!)

I had compliments all night with people asking me who my make up artist was and how flawless my skin looked. I had to agree, I looked pretty awesome. I took off one lippie because like the other reviewers said, the bottle is a hassle and I always end up pouring out too much which is such a waste. Also, after a few months (five or so), it doesn't blend into the skin as well and turns noticeably orange-y, but that just means it's time to get a new bottle. I do get break outs with this after a while, but that's when I get too lazy to wash my face at night (nasty...i know.). My friend taught me to get two shades, one slightly darker and one slightly lighter and mix them together to get a better match since skin color can change slightly either direction. I thought that was a great tip and for the price of this foundation, I can swing it.

I was thinking about trying out different ones just to see what's out there, but if this works so well for me, why should I waste my time and money?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SherrieF on 4/22/2011 2:08:00 PM more reviews by SherrieF

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

HOLY GRAIL PRODUCT!!! I love this foundation! I have both the normal/dry and oily/combination formulas In 150 Buff for a references Im a NC 15-20 In MAC The coverage is amazing It has a matte/satin finish to it i have alot of acne scars and this really covers them I tryd out many other foundations like loreal true match revlon photoready dream smooth mousse and superstay but i always go back nothing can compare lol i use it with my Elf studio powder brush... AMAZING!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 emilychristine on 4/22/2011 11:06:00 AM more reviews by emilychristine

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This foundation was supposed to be the best, or so I've heard. I did a lot of research before buying it, and I decided to give it a try. I actually really loved this foundation at first, it made my skin look really pretty and stayed on forever. I remember I could brush my finger across my face and nothing would stick onto it, like many other foundations do. After awhile, however, this stuff made me break out. My skin became kind of dry and it didn't really go on that smoothly anymore. It is very hard to blend, like others say, but it is manageable if you work with it. It has nice coverage as well. The one thing I really dislike is the packaging. why can't this have a pump? haha. I couldn't even get anymore out of it cus I couldn't stick my finger in there and get anymore, which stinks. I didn't buy this foundation again after it was done with, but I probably will next time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 shadesofsanity on 4/22/2011 9:04:00 AM more reviews by shadesofsanity

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I wanted so badly to love this foundation. It DOES have it's perks though.

It has relatively good coverage and definitely has staying power, but it's thick and a bit of a pain to blend, even if using a damp sponge or foundation brush. It also made my pores incredibly visible. The smell was also terrible to me.

And if you need touch-ups throughout the day? Forget it. If I tried to touch it up even slightly it got ridiculously cakey.

I'm also very pale, and though the lightest color was closer to my skin tone than most, it had WAY too much pink in it, and was still too dark for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 calupict on 4/21/2011 10:25:00 PM more reviews by calupict

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is my first foundation. It works great and long to hold the oil in my skin face from burst. The downside from this foundation are it feels heavy and no pump. People often complaints that it dried fast, I got the trick by applying the foundation with wet sponge. It get easier and even out the product in my face.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Chlorine on 4/21/2011 8:09:00 PM more reviews by Chlorine

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This foundation is both awesome and a bummer. I think it's worth the money to try it out, but I don't think it's the foundation for me.


I read so much about the coverage this foundation gives, and when I felt the texture (a little like cream foundation that melted 'cause you left your purse in the car), I was expecting it to be exactly as full as everyone claims. But for me it just isn't, y'all. The coverage here is medium at best. I get the same coverage from L'Oreal True Match, which I think of as my quickie "sure, this actually looks pretty good and anyway I don't have time for more" foundation. Colorstay doesn't feel or look heavy to me, though, so it feels just right for the look it achieves. I was just hoping for something more.


It goes on like a dream, and didn't set too fast for me to blend at all, which was something I was worried about. It smoothed over my imperfections about as well as any product could, though nothing was really and truly covered, like I said. Still, that's an impressive texture for a long wearing foundation to have.


Where this really fails for me is the color. Oh, Revlon, up yours! I'm extremely pale, though not the palest girl in the world, and pretty neutral (I'm all about True Match in W1, for color match if nothing else). I like for my foundation to match the palest areas of my skin, because I love the look of clear, fair skin. The lightest Colorstay shade might match the darker, more blushed areas of my skin, but it isn't what I like. This foundation may be light, but it isn't pale or fair, and as someone who is, I need that. Blended down my neck, it just makes me look kind of dirty if scrutinized, partly because it's so over the top pink. Yikes.


I'm thinking of investing in one of the white or ultra-pale Illamasqua Rich Liquid shades to use as a mixer (and maybe beef up the coverage a bit), because color problems are a major dealbreaker for me.


If you want a matte medium coverage liquid foundation, and you're a Revlon represented color, this stuff deserves your attention. If you want a matte full coverage foundation, or you fall outside of Revlon's shade range, you might not find it here. But a lot of folks do find it here, which I really can't explain, so whatever, maybe I'm crazy and you should try it anyway. It certainly lasts all day on my dry skin, and didn't feel dry or exacerbate my dryness or anything.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Bucephala on 4/21/2011 7:27:00 PM more reviews by Bucephala

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I was on the hunt for a good foundation to cover the redness in my entire t-zone. I've always had trouble finding a colour match for my complexion and great coverage. I was going to go to the make-up counter in at The Bay and try something high end, but the review were pretty good on this one so I gave it shot. I'm so glad that I did! I've been using it for a few weeks now and it has not broken me out. It gives me great coverage when applied with a foundation brush (I use the Spa Resource foundation brush) and the lightest shade is a perfect match to my skin tone. I will definitely re-purchase this one!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Liquid products