Revlon • ColorStay Makeup [Discontinued and Reformulated Early 2013] • Liquid

rated 3.8(4431 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 lindita on 4/27/2011 11:31:00 AM more reviews by lindita

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love this foundation.I use the "normal/dry skin" and I think it's great.First,it does last long.Sencond,it's cheap.And third,it is not so cakey.I look natural with this foundation.YES ! Def WILL BUY AGAIN :x

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 danishfilipina on 4/26/2011 9:59:00 PM more reviews by danishfilipina

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I don't know where to start... well, okay - I'm a girl who likes medium coverage yet natural looking foundation, but this... is just too crazy! It is not subtle at all, it made me look extremely fake and even if I only applied a little, it would make me look like a cakeface. I've bought it two times in different shades just to give it a try and see if months/years later I would end up liking it, but no... I still don't. It's just too heavy of coverage. I don't think anyone needs this much coverage hahah. No matter how bad your acne is or what-not, I'd rather get a good concealer than a cakeface foundation.

Only pro: It lasted a long time & didn't wear off by the end of the day/night.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 o0grace0o on 4/26/2011 9:46:00 PM more reviews by o0grace0o

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I LIKE THIS :)
I'm not extremely experienced in the foundation department, I've only tried about 3 before this one, but it's definitely the best one so far, & the only one i've repurchased.
One thing though, my first bottle I bought in Normal/Dry, because it was winter & my skin is usually dry-ish. Now being close to summer, I recently bought my 2nd bottle in Combination/Oily. Being in Canada, there is a limited selection of colors, but i thought it was fine, because both the formulations went up to 320 True Beige, which is my color.
I was in a hurry, so I just grabbed it & left. The next morning, when I opened it up & put it on, i found that it was an ENTIRELY different color than the Normal/Dry version! This one was about a shade & a bit lighter, & it had more of a pink tone to it, whereas the other formulation had a yellow undertone.
I don't know if it was just my bottle, but I put it on anyways, but i actually liked it better.
Anyways...
PROS:
- Amazing Coverage ! i need little to no concealer when i wear this.
- makes me stay matte ALL day. i don't have THAT much of a problem with oil though..
- easy to apply with anything; brush, fingers, sponge. my fave is brush though.
- Color selection is good.
- consistency is easy to work with!
- not too cakey (look at cons)
- i actually LOVE the smell!
Cons:
- i have to be careful about how much i apply; dries a bit fast.
- sometimes on my forehead it looks cakey;maybe the color ?
- bit pricey for a drugstore foundation; i got it for $19 CAD
- NEEDS. A. PUMP. what else can i say ?
Overall, the only REAL problem is that it REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY needs a pump !
I won't be switching any time soon :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Michele1620 on 4/25/2011 2:30:00 PM more reviews by Michele1620

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Oh good old stand-by Revlon Colorstay! They have 2 formulations: Oily/Combination and Dry Skin, and a pretty decent color-range for a drugstore product.

I purchased the Oily/Combo Skin formulation in Sand Beige. I've applied it with my fingers, with a foundation brush and with a damp sponge all depending on how much coverage I wanted at the time of application. I've also mixed it w/ a bit of Revlon Photoready in Shell or Nude, depending upon the time of year, and have had great results-- adds a bit of luminosity.

Good stuff, will repurchase. Just wish that it had a pump dispenser and a more pleasant fragrance!

Edit: I purchased reusable pumps dispensers from Etsy.com and solved this problem!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ciaobellakate on 4/25/2011 12:07:00 PM more reviews by ciaobellakate

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I tried this after hearing Clinique Superfit had been discontinued. Having notoriously oily and acne-prone skin, I needed a long-lasting foundation that wouldn't slide off my skin like most liquid foundations I've used.

At first, I thought it sucked. It wouldn't give all day coverage, but I soon realised this was because I was using a Laura Mercier primer that was known for being absolutely crap, so I quit using that one and then tried again.

Does not break me out, and does not get oily at all. Makes my skin look so lovely that I dread having to remove my makeup at night.

I love that I no longer have to use as much concealer.
I recommend using a slightly wet sponge wedge to stipple this foundation on if you want a full, even coverage. Using my hands just caused it to dry too quickly, leaving me with foundation lines.

The only thing I really dislike about this product is the packaging. Revlon, add a pump already!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 torrieshere on 4/24/2011 1:20:00 PM more reviews by torrieshere

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark, Neutral   Hair: Black, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really like the way that this foundation looks when I apply it, it looks great and very natural in pictures, it gives me great coverage. It makes my skin look great, and it doesn't look oily after a few hours like a lot of liquid foundations do to me.

This foundation would be my favorite if it didn't break me out at times. Also, it smells awful and it would be wonderful if it came with a pump to make it a little easier to apply.

I would repurchase, however, it won't be the foundation that I wear daily.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 vrouwen on 4/24/2011 7:43:00 AM more reviews by vrouwen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I like how it covers my blemishes quickly and make my face becomes softer look
However I don't like the packaging bottle as after I open it, I have to close it properly or it will be messy if I accidentally drop it. I would rather see the pump packaging.
From the price, its affordable I bought like 12dollar

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alee26 on 4/23/2011 7:44:00 PM more reviews by alee26

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

My go to foundation! I use the shade sand-beige and it seems to blend nicely into my skin. I love that this doesn't break me out, unlike the studio fix :(
Coverage is medium to full depending how much you use. I usually go lighter and wear a small amount so I get a medium coverage. I use the ELF Powder brush (the flat top one) and it blends in like a dream. I don't get oily that often when using this and it stays put until I take it off during the end of the day. Yes, the packaging could be improved! Revlon, take note! If it came in a pump form, I would love this even more. The smell is a bit weird, but in my opinion all foundations seem to have some sort of weird smell. Will keep on buying this over and over again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Sena007 on 4/23/2011 5:18:00 AM more reviews by Sena007

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is a HG product for me! I have it in Golden Caramel for Combination/Oily Skin.It keeps me really matte and i only have to blot maybe once or twice....love the way my skin looks with this product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 petunia25 on 4/22/2011 8:53:00 PM more reviews by petunia25

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

I find it so interesting how so many people love this product while others like me had such a bad experience. Like many others, I bought it because it was so highly recommended. I am so mad at myself for not realizing sooner that this was so horrible for my skin!! I just had my eureka moment so figured I should share the experience with others.

My skin is normal/dry and I don't normally ever have a lot of problems with it. I get the occasional pimple every now and then and use natural face products to cleanse and moisturize. Before I bought this foundation (it was my first in a really long time), I was using Revlon's New Complexion makeup (a cream to powder formula) for light coverage. For these reasons, this foundation was probably a shock to my skin when I first started using it, but I feel like I used it long enough to give it a chance to work with my skin.

Anyways, to get to the point, this broke out my skin really badly. I think it took me so long to realize because at first, I was using it only occasionally, so I didn't make the connection, plus exam time at school had me really stressed so I thought it was hormones for a while. It was only after I started using it more consistently in the last month or so that it got worse and worse. It caused large pimples around my jaw line in groups and smaller bumps on my forehead. The irony is that when I started breaking out I thought "well I'm glad I have this foundation to cover up my bad skin!" HA!!

Also, this is not natural looking at all, well not for me anyways. For reference, I bought the normal/dry formula in medium beige. I felt like it made my skin look really dull and fake. I kept using it just because I guess I didn't want to give up on it just yet, but no matter how I applied it, it always looked like I had lots of makeup on and I hate that. Who wants people to look at them and see makeup instead of their face?!?!? Also, the smell is just awful. It literally smells like paint. And as many others have mentioned, the packaging is bad as well.

However, it does give really good coverage and lasts quite a while, so for those of you that don't break out from this and it gives you a better finish than it did for me, I can see how you'd be happy with this product.

So needless to say, I won't be buying this again. Now my search will be for a light-medium coverage foundation, because I think this will be more compatible with my skin than the full coverage ColorStay.

I hope this was helpful! Good luck to everyone searching for their HG foundation!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Liquid products