Revlon • ColorStay Makeup [Reformulated Early 2013] • Liquid

rated 3.8(4434 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 4 of 5 atorres921 on 4/27/2011 5:15:00 PM more reviews by atorres921

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I like this foundation and it would be a repurchase if I was to run out. the only thing is that it is very thick and dries fast and you have to work fast when applying it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 HostisLove on 4/27/2011 12:30:00 PM more reviews by HostisLove

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this foundation. My skin is medium to fair and is oily. I tried lots of other foundations spending alot of money trying to find the right shade. I don't have alot of acne, but it's enough to need some good coverage. The reason I bought this foundation because Walgreens was having a sale. I LOVE this foundation. It covers well, it doesn't look caked on (unless you over apply) so you don't need alot of this foundation which is good. There are only a few down sides to it. I recomend usuing a make-up sponge to apply instead of your fingers. Not only to avoid acne causing bacteria -- but because while it stays on your face well, it will also stay on your hands and under your nails. Its hard to get off and sometimes drops fall into my sink when I am applying it and it doesn't come off the sink very well either. So while it stays on your face amazingly, try not to get it anywhere else. Another thing with that this foundation is hard to get off. You will need a facewash or make-up remover to get it off when you go to bed at night. Make sure you do because it covers so well it will cause some acne ONLY if you don't wash it off before bed. They have alot of colors to chose from to its easy to find the shade you're looking for. I suggest going a shade darker than you think you will need because it is a little lighter than most I have tried. It's soft and non greasy on my skin and the packaging is great. Very in-expensive for what you get. It give's a matte finish so there is no shine. If you want a more dewy look then I wouldn't recomend this foundation. I like the matte finish and I also use L'Oreal's True Match powder on top to set it. Also adding more coverage. All in all I love this foundation out of all the ones I've tried so far. For the price it's worth a try. I love it! Hope this helps. :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 aceciul on 4/27/2011 12:17:00 PM more reviews by aceciul

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is an everyday product. A foundation with great coverage and great staying power. You can be sure that the face you see in the morning you'll see it at night. But even when it is a really good product there are some things I don't like:
1. It smells funny so you feel like putting hard chemicals in your face, so it is not a pleasant experience.
2. It doesn't have a pump so it can get messy.
3. It dries so fast you have to be quick (I have practice in it, but not everyone does. If you are starting with makeup be sure to learn how to apply it and buy a good brush to do so, I use MAC 187 Duo Fibre Brush).
Overall itís a safe product, and by that I mean you can be sure that it is a good foundation in a very affordable price, for oily or dry skin and in a wide range of colors.
If you have sensitive skin be cautious, I've been lucky to tolerate it fine, but if I use it for a long time it really dries my skin and rashes appear. So go to the store and prove it in your jaw bone, wait some hours and see how your skin reacts.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 amvill77 on 4/27/2011 11:51:00 AM more reviews by amvill77

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This was my first d/s foundation purchase and I'm really glad I got it. I have the one for combo/oily skin. It gives wonderful coverage (too much if you're not careful, it can look really cakey) and it lasts literally all day long. When I get home from work/school my makeup still looks good (and I live in a city where its extremely hot, upper 90's and above, humid, and nasty for 10 months out of the year). It does not make me get extra oily and I'm pretty oily..and it doesn't make me break out either and I'm very sensitive to breakouts. I only have to blot once about 8 hours later and there is only minimum shine. I would definitely recommend this foundation to people who are looking for good coverage. Just be aware that you only need the TINIEST amount..literally like a small pea size or less..and work quickly in sections on your face b/c it dries fast. TI bought some airless bottles with pumps on ebay and poured it into there so I wouldn't have to hassle with the glass bottle that has no pump. Definitely give this foundation a try!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lindita on 4/27/2011 11:31:00 AM more reviews by lindita

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love this foundation.I use the "normal/dry skin" and I think it's great.First,it does last long.Sencond,it's cheap.And third,it is not so cakey.I look natural with this foundation.YES ! Def WILL BUY AGAIN :x

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 danishfilipina on 4/26/2011 9:59:00 PM more reviews by danishfilipina

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I don't know where to start... well, okay - I'm a girl who likes medium coverage yet natural looking foundation, but this... is just too crazy! It is not subtle at all, it made me look extremely fake and even if I only applied a little, it would make me look like a cakeface. I've bought it two times in different shades just to give it a try and see if months/years later I would end up liking it, but no... I still don't. It's just too heavy of coverage. I don't think anyone needs this much coverage hahah. No matter how bad your acne is or what-not, I'd rather get a good concealer than a cakeface foundation.

Only pro: It lasted a long time & didn't wear off by the end of the day/night.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 o0grace0o on 4/26/2011 9:46:00 PM more reviews by o0grace0o

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I LIKE THIS :)
I'm not extremely experienced in the foundation department, I've only tried about 3 before this one, but it's definitely the best one so far, & the only one i've repurchased.
One thing though, my first bottle I bought in Normal/Dry, because it was winter & my skin is usually dry-ish. Now being close to summer, I recently bought my 2nd bottle in Combination/Oily. Being in Canada, there is a limited selection of colors, but i thought it was fine, because both the formulations went up to 320 True Beige, which is my color.
I was in a hurry, so I just grabbed it & left. The next morning, when I opened it up & put it on, i found that it was an ENTIRELY different color than the Normal/Dry version! This one was about a shade & a bit lighter, & it had more of a pink tone to it, whereas the other formulation had a yellow undertone.
I don't know if it was just my bottle, but I put it on anyways, but i actually liked it better.
Anyways...
PROS:
- Amazing Coverage ! i need little to no concealer when i wear this.
- makes me stay matte ALL day. i don't have THAT much of a problem with oil though..
- easy to apply with anything; brush, fingers, sponge. my fave is brush though.
- Color selection is good.
- consistency is easy to work with!
- not too cakey (look at cons)
- i actually LOVE the smell!
Cons:
- i have to be careful about how much i apply; dries a bit fast.
- sometimes on my forehead it looks cakey;maybe the color ?
- bit pricey for a drugstore foundation; i got it for $19 CAD
- NEEDS. A. PUMP. what else can i say ?
Overall, the only REAL problem is that it REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY needs a pump !
I won't be switching any time soon :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Michele1620 on 4/25/2011 2:30:00 PM more reviews by Michele1620

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Oh good old stand-by Revlon Colorstay! They have 2 formulations: Oily/Combination and Dry Skin, and a pretty decent color-range for a drugstore product.

I purchased the Oily/Combo Skin formulation in Sand Beige. I've applied it with my fingers, with a foundation brush and with a damp sponge all depending on how much coverage I wanted at the time of application. I've also mixed it w/ a bit of Revlon Photoready in Shell or Nude, depending upon the time of year, and have had great results-- adds a bit of luminosity.

Good stuff, will repurchase. Just wish that it had a pump dispenser and a more pleasant fragrance!

Edit: I purchased reusable pumps dispensers from Etsy.com and solved this problem!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ciaobellakate on 4/25/2011 12:07:00 PM more reviews by ciaobellakate

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I tried this after hearing Clinique Superfit had been discontinued. Having notoriously oily and acne-prone skin, I needed a long-lasting foundation that wouldn't slide off my skin like most liquid foundations I've used.

At first, I thought it sucked. It wouldn't give all day coverage, but I soon realised this was because I was using a Laura Mercier primer that was known for being absolutely crap, so I quit using that one and then tried again.

Does not break me out, and does not get oily at all. Makes my skin look so lovely that I dread having to remove my makeup at night.

I love that I no longer have to use as much concealer.
I recommend using a slightly wet sponge wedge to stipple this foundation on if you want a full, even coverage. Using my hands just caused it to dry too quickly, leaving me with foundation lines.

The only thing I really dislike about this product is the packaging. Revlon, add a pump already!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 torrieshere on 4/24/2011 1:20:00 PM more reviews by torrieshere

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark, Neutral   Hair: Black, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really like the way that this foundation looks when I apply it, it looks great and very natural in pictures, it gives me great coverage. It makes my skin look great, and it doesn't look oily after a few hours like a lot of liquid foundations do to me.

This foundation would be my favorite if it didn't break me out at times. Also, it smells awful and it would be wonderful if it came with a pump to make it a little easier to apply.

I would repurchase, however, it won't be the foundation that I wear daily.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Liquid products