Revlon • ColorStay Makeup [Reformulated Early 2013] • Liquid

rated 3.8(4441 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 1 of 5 Kurohyou on 4/28/2011 2:11:00 PM more reviews by Kurohyou

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

SAVE YOUR MONEY.

I really dont get the good reviews / raves this stuff gets...

This is the only foundation I have tried in my LIFE that I completely hate and cannot use.

heres why:

1) no pump

2) very cakey finish, very obvious on the skin

3) not very blendable

4) does not sink in / blend / adhere to the skin AT ALL

5) transfers onto EVERYTHING!!

6) DOES NOT LAST. Not even for an hour.

7) slides around on your skin

and the list goes on...

I have tinted moisturizers that cover & last better than this, and they cost less!

for reference Ive tried both formulas, Ive followed the directions on the bottle and even the tips online to a 'T', Ive tried it with and without a primer, with and without powder, with and without finishing spray, Ive tried brushes, sponges, and hands... Ive tried EVERYTHING to made this work, but unfortunately this foundation SUCKS.

I LOVE other revlon products, but they seriously failed me on this one. I cant use it at all, and it ended up being a waste of money. :'(

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 yulliannah on 4/28/2011 3:49:00 AM more reviews by yulliannah

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I cant believe i havent reviewed this yet, Ive been using this foundation for a few years now it is my HG. For reference im a NC20(on the darker side) with ance prone oily skin, i use this in either buff or sandbeige,(in the oily/combo skin formula) i prefer sandbeige, as buff is a tad too light for me. My criteria for foundation is: has to decently cover my acne scars, stay on long, and combat the oilyness of my face, i believe this foundation does it all ! I would say coverage is high medium( definetely not full as some scars and acne still show through), stilll does a amazing job as evening out my skin tone and hiding my acne scars all over my cheek, what can i say i love it, it works, ovcourse blotting
throughout the day is necssary but for someone as oily as me this is a godsend, it truly stays on all day! give it a shot

EDIT: have been using this for about 2 years, ive tried others in between(Vichy dermablend, loreal true match, face shop bb cream) and i just kept going back to this, truly the only foundation that does not melt off my face by the end of the day!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shelbyclarke on 4/27/2011 10:34:00 PM more reviews by shelbyclarke

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I think I may have found my HG. This foundation allows me to go much much longer without blotting my t-zone. Before I would be blotting and powdering after an hour (I had been using various forms of the Dream Mousse...never again!). It has not made me break out yet (I've been using for about 2 weeks). I apply with a sponge and it blends very well.

There are only two things really wrong with this foundation. The packaging- I'd prefer a pump or squeeze bottle.
The scent- It smells like paint! But it fades as soon as it dries.

But those two negatives do not outweigh the positives!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 starlite714 on 4/27/2011 9:06:00 PM more reviews by starlite714

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I don't know.... I feel like after reading other reviews I have a different product... but no, mine says REVLON COLORSTAY so whatever ha ha. I don't think it dries fast... its so oily/wet/liquidy it dries slower than my Maybelline SuperStay.... I don't know if it has great staying power because I am mixing it with SuperStay but it definitely doesn't have great coverage... I like it because it has all the opposite qualities of SuperStay - oily translucent and yellow toned ... making it perfect when they are mixed... just PERFECT!

I do have extremely oily skin and just realized that while at the store I only looked at the color... which I got 150 Buff for Normal/Dry Skin... and I have oily skin :( Oh well maybe thats why the liquid is so oily ha ha... I DO overlay my liquid foundation with some light powdering of Jane Iredale Golden Glow pressed Powder and Aveda translucent powder and it keeps my face from getting oily for most of the day.

Good stuff.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Beautyperk05 on 4/27/2011 6:02:00 PM more reviews by Beautyperk05

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This foundation is the best ive found at the drugstore. It has great coverage and a very amplified color selection. Although i still find I have to mix my foundation during the summer. I am usually 330 Natural Tan during the winter, but in the summer I mix 330 & 370 to make an acceptable color for my skin. Yes, Ive heard they have an in-between color in 350 but Ive search long and short and nothing! :( Anywho, the only downside to this foundation is that its very thick, and I find I have to work fairly fast so that it doesnt end up drying out. I've also discovered a little trick, when I dont want so much makeup on, I use a wedge sponge dip it in water a little then apply foundation and VUALA! you have yourself a flawless face with not so much foundation. :)

I will keep repurchasing ... I think i found that out after my 3rd bottle. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lisses11 on 4/27/2011 5:55:00 PM more reviews by lisses11

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

So thankful to you fellow MUA ladies who recommended this product! I am so impressed...easily blendable, matte, and LONG WEAR. No really, this stuff ACTUALLY lasts all day. Its also a pretty light formula-my skin breathes and I dont feel Like I'm wearing a mask. I do use ELF mist and set and powder over top. I am 'supposedly' NC30-35. I picked this up in natural tan...its a little on the dark side but will be perfect in just a few weeks. Ive still been wearing it. Hooray for readily available GOOD foundation!! You can always find a deal on DS brands if ya look!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 anpatel3 on 4/27/2011 5:26:00 PM more reviews by anpatel3

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I use this as my everyday foundation, and while it is thick, I just apply it to problem areas and blend it out to the rest. It is quite a great foundation for being drugstore kind. It stays on FOREVER and definitely takes no time to get used to it. I use this, apply my MAC concealer on problem areas, put my setting powder on and I am good to go. It has lasted through hot sweaty days and never faded until I removed it at the end of the night. Definitely recommend.

The bottle is just yuck to work with and I would much rather prefer a pump, but I will take it for the price and overall product quality.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 atorres921 on 4/27/2011 5:15:00 PM more reviews by atorres921

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I like this foundation and it would be a repurchase if I was to run out. the only thing is that it is very thick and dries fast and you have to work fast when applying it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 HostisLove on 4/27/2011 12:30:00 PM more reviews by HostisLove

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this foundation. My skin is medium to fair and is oily. I tried lots of other foundations spending alot of money trying to find the right shade. I don't have alot of acne, but it's enough to need some good coverage. The reason I bought this foundation because Walgreens was having a sale. I LOVE this foundation. It covers well, it doesn't look caked on (unless you over apply) so you don't need alot of this foundation which is good. There are only a few down sides to it. I recomend usuing a make-up sponge to apply instead of your fingers. Not only to avoid acne causing bacteria -- but because while it stays on your face well, it will also stay on your hands and under your nails. Its hard to get off and sometimes drops fall into my sink when I am applying it and it doesn't come off the sink very well either. So while it stays on your face amazingly, try not to get it anywhere else. Another thing with that this foundation is hard to get off. You will need a facewash or make-up remover to get it off when you go to bed at night. Make sure you do because it covers so well it will cause some acne ONLY if you don't wash it off before bed. They have alot of colors to chose from to its easy to find the shade you're looking for. I suggest going a shade darker than you think you will need because it is a little lighter than most I have tried. It's soft and non greasy on my skin and the packaging is great. Very in-expensive for what you get. It give's a matte finish so there is no shine. If you want a more dewy look then I wouldn't recomend this foundation. I like the matte finish and I also use L'Oreal's True Match powder on top to set it. Also adding more coverage. All in all I love this foundation out of all the ones I've tried so far. For the price it's worth a try. I love it! Hope this helps. :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 aceciul on 4/27/2011 12:17:00 PM more reviews by aceciul

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is an everyday product. A foundation with great coverage and great staying power. You can be sure that the face you see in the morning you'll see it at night. But even when it is a really good product there are some things I don't like:
1. It smells funny so you feel like putting hard chemicals in your face, so it is not a pleasant experience.
2. It doesn't have a pump so it can get messy.
3. It dries so fast you have to be quick (I have practice in it, but not everyone does. If you are starting with makeup be sure to learn how to apply it and buy a good brush to do so, I use MAC 187 Duo Fibre Brush).
Overall itís a safe product, and by that I mean you can be sure that it is a good foundation in a very affordable price, for oily or dry skin and in a wide range of colors.
If you have sensitive skin be cautious, I've been lucky to tolerate it fine, but if I use it for a long time it really dries my skin and rashes appear. So go to the store and prove it in your jaw bone, wait some hours and see how your skin reacts.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Liquid products