Revlon ColorStay Makeup [Reformulated Early 2013]

3.8

4483 reviews

70% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 2.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: Titanium Dioxide (7.3%) Inactive Ingredients: Aqua/Water (Water), Cyclomethicone, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Butylene Glycol, Boron Nitride, Dimethicone, SD Alcohol 40B, PEG/PPG 18/18 Dimethicone, Nylon 12, Tribehenin, Isododecane, Polyisobutene, Sodium Chloride, Cetyl PEG/PPG 10/1 Dimethicone, Bisabolol, Serica (Silk Powder), Tocopheryl Acetate, Retinyl Palmitate, Malva Sylvestris Flower Extract (Mallow), Lilium Candidum Bulb Extract (Lily), Lactobacillus/Eridictyon Californicum Ferment Extract, Cymbidium Grandiflorum Flower Extract, Alumina, Polydimethylsiloxane/Polymethysilesquioxane Copolymer, Ethylene Brassylate, Methicone, Trisiloxane, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Tetrasodium EDTA, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, May Contain (+/-): Mica (CI 77019), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, 77492, 77499)


on 5/18/2011 4:10:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Ahhhhh-mazingggg;) i really like this foundation. It covers really well. i have fair skin and i deal with redness like no ones business! lol. this foundation makes my skin look flawless. It can look cakey if you use too much, if you didnt blend it properly or if you use to much setting powder.
How I apply:
after i moisturize and prime my face i get some product on my finger and apply it to my face ( a few swipes on my cheeks, forehead, chin, and nose) and then i buff it all in my my sigma 187 brush(duo fiber) then i take a little more product and blend it down my neck so everything looks even, then i take a dry cosmetic sponge and gently dap it on my face to absorb the excess. then i apply my bare minerals mineral viel and i set everything with mac fix plus and WA-LA a flawless face:)
i use the combo/oily formula in the shade150 buff.

the only bummer is the packaging =/ but who really cares how it comes out as long as it looks great;) i purchased mine at walgreens
walgreens and cvs have the best sales haha:)



on 5/18/2011 8:22:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

i just bought a bottle the other day..it was in sand beige..which is a bit lighter than my skin tone..but it was the most yellowish shade for that certain product..that why i got it...the first time i used it...i was so freaked out co'z it was so pale for me and i was afraid that it would turn ashy...but it didn't...the sales lady said that the color selection for colorstay were very light because oily people tend to be more acidic and foundation turns darker after a few hours when applied to acidic skin....i only used a really tiny amount and it was great..it lasted the whole day and and it covered up my acne marks...my officemate even complimented my skin...she said it look really fresh and she didn't even think that i was wearing a foundation...the only con about it is that after a few hours i feel like it got a bit oily and a few small pimples erupted..though do love the coverage..and maybe i'd use it in some occasions...co'z i do feel that this isn't really your everyday foundation...


on 5/18/2011 7:37:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Just thought I would add another review because my first one was for the original Colorstay (before they messed around with the formulation) - the below posts are right, it is COMPLETELY different. What was once a 'stay on all day/night' foundation is just not any more. Even when I put it on in the morning, I have to put so much more on because it just is not as good coverage. A real shame. I have switched to Mac Studio Finish concealer and am much happier


on 5/17/2011 10:00:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm not a big fan of liquid foundation because it feels thick and cakey. The colorstay foundation is a fairly thick foundation on its own and dries fairly quickly when applying it to your face. What I like to do is mix a small drop of the foundation with a small drop of moisturizer and it's the best consistency and almost looks airbrushed.

I have combination skin, so I must always use primer before applying any sort of foundation to my face. If I use the colorstay foundation (oily/combination formula), my T zone area gets oily instantly. So, if you have oily skin, I recommend a primer.

Overall, this foundation is great for the price. It's lasting power is quite great. There is a large selection of colors to choose from.

The con of this is the packaging. Its not sanitary because its just a bottle with a cap that you unscrew. You would almost always pour out more product that you need and you would end up pouring back the liquid in the bottle. If only they made it with a pump.


on 5/17/2011 6:29:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I received this new in a swap. I got it in Buff which is my perfect color. I tried it out today for the first time and I'm already in love. The one I have is for combo/oily I believe. I applied this at 7:15 am and by 3:30 pm it still looked amazing! It looked like I had just applied it. I didn't even apply any powder over it in the morning, and I usually have to do touch ups every few hours, but I didn't with this. This is what I have been looking for in a foundation for quite a long time. The only cons are that I maybe applied too much since if you looked close you could tell there was kind of a lot on my face and also the packaging isn't the best. However, I don't mind these two things at all. I just pour a little on the back of my hand and dip my ELF Flat Top brush in it and blend away. With a steady hand you can control how much you apply and pour out of the bottle. I will be buying this whenever I run out. I just love it. It is around the 13 dollar range which kept me from buying it, but I think it is worth it. I would rather have a 13 dollar product that I never have to worry about or touch up than my usual 8 to 9 dollar product that I have to touch up every few hours. Overall this is a great product and my face wasn't oily all day!


on 5/17/2011 3:08:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This foundation is pretty expensive for it being from the drugstore, but it's of very high quality so I feel it is worth having.
PROS:
- Has excellent coverage (Medium-Full)
- Wide range of shades to match almost every skintone
- Extremely long wearing
- Non-transferable
- Looks flawless in photographs

CONS:
- A bit on the expensive side
- The packaging (wish it had a pump so it wouldn't be so messy)
- I wish I had gotten the normal/dry because I found the oily/combo to be a bit too drying on my combo skin.

Overall, a great foundation that I feel everyone should try :)


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Colorstay Foundation > Combination/Oily Skin
Pros: Incredibly long-lasting and non-transferable
Cons: Turns a slightly darker/orange shade once it oxidises; application is rather difficult as it sets almost immediately (I highly recommend using a make-up sponge); it is very drying - whilst this is a plus for those with oily skin, I recommend using the Normal/Dry version if you have combination skin.

Overall: It was the durability, coverage and transfer-resistance that attracted me to this foundation, and it fulfils all these qualities. My only qualm is that I found the Combination/Oily Skin version too drying on my combination skin, so perhaps the Normal/Dry version will be much better - I see HG potential!


on 5/17/2011 2:38:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I've been using Revlon Colorstay for a year now. This is with out a doubt the best drugstore foundation, and I've heard so from many other people. The coverage is medium to full and it wears amazingly. It doesn't melt off and disappear through out the day. I find that I don't wear this one as much in the summer time because it is a full on foundation and it doesn't feel as light on your skin. I have normal/dry skin and the dry formula works well. I find this foundation is matte enough that I don't need a setting powder with it. I have one con and that is the color range. There are more than enough colors for everyone, but I find myself having to mix the Sand Beige and Buff together to get a perfect match. Personally, I like to apply it with my fingers. I'm still using it and I plan on continuing to use it for awhile. With the $10 price tag, you won't regret trying it out.

**Edited 2/17/13**
Changing my rating from 4 to 5 lippies due to experimenting with other foundations and always going back to Revlon Colorstay. I'm one of those people that doesn't really see the purpose of buying a Chanel foundation for everyday use, especially as foundations go quick for me. I really love this stuff. It lasts forever, gives great coverage, is very inexpensive, doesn't break me out, and now that I've been fake tanning, I've found a perfect color match. Flawless foundation.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Not yet my HG foundation, but pretty close... it's the one that lasts the longest before I become sort of a shiny shiny disco ball. I found a pretty close skin tone match, so I'm pretty happy with it. Nevertheless, it does need a pump cause it's not that easy to get it out. A bit pricey for a d/s foundation, but not as expensive as h/e ones.


on 5/17/2011 12:03:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This was an expensive foundation for the drugstore, I found that it was cheaper at my Target though. I used this a lot through out the winter, but I wouldn't use it during the summer. The only big drawback about this product is that it doesn't have a pump so getting the foundation out can be a bit messy.


Back to Top