Revlon • ColorStay Makeup [Reformulated Early 2013] • Liquid

rated 3.8(4453 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 4 of 5 Hanix on 5/10/2011 7:30:00 PM more reviews by Hanix

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I am not a fan of liquid foundations but when I tried this product, I'm hooked! I'm down to my third bottle! It's absolutely long-wearing and stays on even in my long haul flights.I blend it with a damp wedge sponge and just set it with MAC studio fix PF and it creates a flawless,dewy finish..It does a pretty good job covering blemishes even without concealer. It would be nicer if it comes in a pump though..But I definitely recommend it for anyone looking for a foundation with staying power and full coverage.=)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lolomarie on 5/10/2011 7:22:00 PM more reviews by lolomarie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

When I saw that everyone had this product, I just had to give it a try! It's only around $7 (but I got it at the Swap Meet for $4!!)!
Pros: Full-coverage for sure
Cons: the packaging (It's really annoying it's like a cylinder tube with no pump you have to pour it out), kinda has an orangey-tint

I really liked the Revlon Colorstay because it was full coverage, but the only reason I didn't really like it after a while was because I bought the wrong shade... whoops. I probably wouldn't buy it again because of the packaging, it just wastes too much of the product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 staceisace on 5/10/2011 1:34:00 PM more reviews by staceisace

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I saw so many rave reviews about this online that I decided to try it. However, my experience with this foundation didn't get off to a very good start. I bought the normal/oily skin formula as I have normal/combination skin. This was a big mistake as I find this formula far too drying! Then I also managed to choose the wrong shade - I hate the way Boots/Superdrug have such bright lights, they make the colours look all wrong! It was a bit too dark but it would probably match me now that I've seen the sun a little! I applied this with both my fingers and the ELF powder brush. I hated the effect. Even after spending ages blending, it just didn't look even and since it's got such good coverage, the uneven-ness was so obvious! I am not normally a fan of full coverage foundations so that's probably why I wasn't able to work with this. I also found that it oxidized quite a lot on my skin (it did stay on pretty well, I'll give it that!) making the fact it was a touch dark even more obvious! I seriously dislike foundations which don't have pumps so it loses marks for packaging with me. All in all, it's a huge thumbs down - I hate the formula, the finish, the oxidising and the packaging! I will definitely not be repurchasing!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* GothicGal on 5/10/2011 4:32:00 AM more reviews by GothicGal

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This makeup was too dark (the lightest shade) & made me look orange. It was a full coverage but I had to touch up straight away bc my skin got so shiny & oily from this. So yeah, didn't like this foundation.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KennaB on 5/10/2011 3:55:00 AM more reviews by KennaB

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

favorite foundation. heavy coverage and very buildable. when going out for a night i usually put 2 layers on...makes me look like i have flawless skin. i just wish it would come with a pump.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ayeeitsmeereeuh on 5/8/2011 6:00:00 PM more reviews by ayeeitsmeereeuh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

When i first bought this foundation, i thought it was really nice. This foundation has a paint-like smell to it that i didn't mind at first, but after a while, every time i applied it on, the smell just makes me gag. Also the consistency of this foundation is really thick and its really hard to blend. It feels really cakey on my face compared to other foundations also. It rubs off too easily too. It made me break out too. Although a pro for this product is that it has really nice coverage. I honestly don't understand why people like this product. I will never buy this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 llmdrll on 5/8/2011 5:17:00 PM more reviews by llmdrll

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I'd say this foundation lasts me about 7 1/2 hours before it starts to fade away and make me look oily. I have very fair skin and even the lightest shade is a little too dark for me, but there's not much I can do about that. It covers blemishes and hyper-pigmentation fairly well. My face is discolored from acne and this covers some of the redness, but I still use a green primer beforehand. Overall, this is my go to foundation because of the coverage and staying power.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lksandrock on 5/8/2011 2:40:00 PM more reviews by lksandrock

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this foundation! I have found that if I mix it with a dewier foundation (I use Neutrogena Healthy Skin Effects), it improves the overall look and blendability of the foundation. To blend, I use a Beauty Blender sponge and it the two foundations together blend flawlessly.

I agree that it smells a bit odd, but it does not bothered me. I am also prone to brewkouts, and it has not caused me any problems.

I would recommend this fondation to anyone looking for a medium to full coverage foundation. If you have trouble blending it, try mixing it with a dewier foundation, it may change your mind about the foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Toom_Snoopy on 5/8/2011 1:15:00 PM more reviews by Toom_Snoopy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love the coverage and oil control of ColorStay but it makes me break out everytime I use it (comedone). No matter how I cleanse my face completely with cleansing lotion followed by foaming wash two times but my face is terribly bad! I think it's due to its ingredient "NaCl" which has high rate of comedogenic. I used to have comedone from using Neutrogena Acne Wash which has NaCl also. I think this foundation contains bad ingredients for skin such as alcohol. I think if I use foundation everyday I should avoid bad ingredients because it's on my skin more than 10 hours a day especially the waterproof one.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Jake54 on 5/8/2011 11:57:00 AM more reviews by Jake54

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

So, no one may have the nerve to tell you, but if you wear this your face probably smells like paint thinner! Yeah, this is the first product my husband actually requested I stop wearing. Embarrassing! When he'd kiss me he'd get hit by that awful, chemically odor. I actually had him go through my products until he identified this as the culprit. I realized it was giving me a head ache because after I stopped my head aches cleared up. Also, the colors run extremely light, so you'll have to purchase about 3 shades darker than your usual and it can be both mask like and oily! I know! Not worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Liquid products