Revlon • ColorStay Makeup [Reformulated Early 2013] • Liquid

rated 3.8(4447 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 4 of 5 llmdrll on 5/8/2011 5:17:00 PM more reviews by llmdrll

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I'd say this foundation lasts me about 7 1/2 hours before it starts to fade away and make me look oily. I have very fair skin and even the lightest shade is a little too dark for me, but there's not much I can do about that. It covers blemishes and hyper-pigmentation fairly well. My face is discolored from acne and this covers some of the redness, but I still use a green primer beforehand. Overall, this is my go to foundation because of the coverage and staying power.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lksandrock on 5/8/2011 2:40:00 PM more reviews by lksandrock

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this foundation! I have found that if I mix it with a dewier foundation (I use Neutrogena Healthy Skin Effects), it improves the overall look and blendability of the foundation. To blend, I use a Beauty Blender sponge and it the two foundations together blend flawlessly.

I agree that it smells a bit odd, but it does not bothered me. I am also prone to brewkouts, and it has not caused me any problems.

I would recommend this fondation to anyone looking for a medium to full coverage foundation. If you have trouble blending it, try mixing it with a dewier foundation, it may change your mind about the foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Toom_Snoopy on 5/8/2011 1:15:00 PM more reviews by Toom_Snoopy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love the coverage and oil control of ColorStay but it makes me break out everytime I use it (comedone). No matter how I cleanse my face completely with cleansing lotion followed by foaming wash two times but my face is terribly bad! I think it's due to its ingredient "NaCl" which has high rate of comedogenic. I used to have comedone from using Neutrogena Acne Wash which has NaCl also. I think this foundation contains bad ingredients for skin such as alcohol. I think if I use foundation everyday I should avoid bad ingredients because it's on my skin more than 10 hours a day especially the waterproof one.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Jake54 on 5/8/2011 11:57:00 AM more reviews by Jake54

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

So, no one may have the nerve to tell you, but if you wear this your face probably smells like paint thinner! Yeah, this is the first product my husband actually requested I stop wearing. Embarrassing! When he'd kiss me he'd get hit by that awful, chemically odor. I actually had him go through my products until he identified this as the culprit. I realized it was giving me a head ache because after I stopped my head aches cleared up. Also, the colors run extremely light, so you'll have to purchase about 3 shades darker than your usual and it can be both mask like and oily! I know! Not worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ilovecanada101 on 5/8/2011 11:52:00 AM more reviews by ilovecanada101

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

So I have very small pimples on my forehead and nose area so I wanted a medium to full coverage foundation and I can honestly say that its amazing. It covers all of my pimples and it leaves a very glowy and dewy finish. Would be better if it had a pump though but love it! The price was pretty expensive I got it for $16.99 but still good product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 amaurybigstick on 5/7/2011 8:07:00 PM more reviews by amaurybigstick

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

GOO andddd buyy it!! its grate coverage its medium to full and im sooo acne pronee it dosnt broke me out and it last like wall paintsss itss awesomee!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lunardrive on 5/6/2011 11:34:00 PM more reviews by lunardrive

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

This is thick and hard to spread, but doesn't cover worth a lick. This is not a full coverage foundation. I don't think it's that expensive because Walmart sells it for $9 and CVS or Walgreens always have sales on Revlon. To me, it's not even medium coverage and this is in no way a replacement for Estee Lauder double wear. Double wear covers, this stuff doesn't even come close to the coverage I get with double wear.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* furnando on 5/6/2011 11:15:00 PM more reviews by furnando

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I have found that this foundation matches my skin tone better than MAC's Studio Fix Fluid. However, I haven't found a way to apply it so that it looks natural therefore I took a point away for that. I also don't like how fast it dries, barely gives anytime to blend properly. I have been using the damp sponge application way and am getting better results. Overall, I prefer this to MAC but am still hoping to find the perfect foundation. My perfect match for this is Golden Caramel. The price is what really makes this foundation work, and the better skin matches. I will play around with application techniques and see if I can make it work better :).

UPDATE: Ok so after finally playing around with application techniques, I found one that works! SO I really love this foundation, it lasts soooo long, I even washed my face thoroughly and found some color still on afterwards! I don't use this everyday, since the coverage is too heavy and I only need coverage against redness. However, this is great !

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Angelamakeup on 5/6/2011 11:26:00 AM more reviews by Angelamakeup

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have dry combination skin but my color range in this product is in their Oily range. I really wish they would offer my colors in their Dry/Combo. I have Asian skin and my winter shade is 310 Golden Beige. My summer shade is 350 Rich Tan. For drugstore makeup, this stuff is awesome! I can use it every day for work and save my more expensive makeup for dates or nights out. The only thing I don't like so much about this product is the funny paint smell it has.

Yes, I will most definitely repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ritterronery on 5/5/2011 8:28:00 PM more reviews by ritterronery

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I can't describe how much I can't stand this foundation. It's not a bad foundation, it just doesn't suit my needs. I have fairly bad skin; post acne marks, hyper pigmentation and not to mention combo\oily skin.

What I really look for in a foundation is medium to full coverage, but I like it to look at natural as possible and I like oil control and mega bonus if it is non transferable. Reading ALL the reviews for this stuff and studying it extensively I was certain that this would HG material for me. But no. Not at all.

First off, the constistency is thick, pretty much too thick. It's almost impossible to blend out and drys really fast. I've used my fingers, a damp sponge, dry sponge, damp flat top kabuki and dry flat top kabuki. I guess the best was the dry flat top kabuki, it gave the best and most smooth coverage, all others left a dry splotchy appearance on my skin. Even with the "best" application method, the foundation just SAT right on top of my skin and just looked terrible. So cakey, so unnatural, it felt and looked like I was wearing a mask. It's just so sticky and ichty while I apply it to my skin. One big plus is that once it's on, IT'S ON! This stuff has very little to no transfer, which is awesome!

Overall, I just feel like the results really vary from person to person. Unfortunately this just didn't work for me, no matter which way I tried it. But I'm glad (slightly bitter. lol) to see it's works so well for many other people.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Liquid products