Revlon • ColorStay Makeup [Reformulated Early 2013] • Liquid

rated 3.8(4434 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 5 of 5 darkhoney on 5/2/2011 4:51:00 PM more reviews by darkhoney

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love this foundation. It's light, breathable, build-able, dewey, realistic looking, and readily available. It goes from casual weekend wear to going on on the town without creasing, and is so touchable. I don't feel like even trying any other foundations b/c I love this one so much. I use the matching concealer for greater coverage and compact for touch ups during the day. Thank you, Revlon!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kelleegross on 5/2/2011 4:43:00 PM more reviews by kelleegross

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

UPDATE: I transferred it into a plastic travel size pump bottle (sanitized with alcohol) to cut down on the mess and waste less product. I also mixed Caramel and Cappacinno together into the bottle to provide a custom match. Using this product has become a lot easier and takes less time. I have since stop using the MUFE HD and switched MSF in dark to set the foundation and a little Black Opal blocking powder in my tzone to prevent oil. I look fresh faced for hours.

First off let me say that I never thought that I could find a liquid foundation that I would like because I hate the feeling of it being on my face. I'm usually and Bare Minerals girl, but all of the reviews and all the popularity it has on youtube I thought that I would give it a try. I picked it up from CVS on a BOGO sale and got two colors (Caramel and Cappacinno), just in case one didn't match. The time using this product, I applied it (just using caramel) with a beauty blender sponge. The coverage was amazing. The color to me was a tiny bit too light but it didn't look bad. I set it with MUFE HD powder and my face appeared flawless. It is definitely longwearing because except for a little oil breakthrough, my face still looked the same as I applied it 12 hours before. It didn't itch, irritate or break me out. The next day I mixed the two shades together and applied it with a stippling brush. I think this will be my method of applying it because I use less product. The color matched perfectly. I didn't transfer onto my clothes either. The only drawback is of course the packaging. It would be great if it had a pump. I don't know why I didn't try this sooner.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 tmarti25 on 5/2/2011 12:17:00 AM more reviews by tmarti25

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is pretty good, I think it's on of the best drugstore foundations. I found perfect matches for summer and winter. I do think this foundation can cause some breakouts but overall one of the best...you can get it at Rite Aid on sale for like 6 bucks.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 thewidowpicard on 5/1/2011 6:55:00 PM more reviews by thewidowpicard

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

This isn't a horrible foundation but it's not fantastic. The coverage is nice. Doesn't break me out. Although at 12 dollars it's hardly worth it. I could mix any cheap foundation with a moisturizer and it would have the same effect.

Edit: Since I've been using this since December I've had moderate whiteheads and I didn't attribute them to this foundation but since I've gone without using it for a week my skin has already improved. This makeup covers nicely but it's not worth a face full of whiteheads.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ithinkuracontra on 5/1/2011 2:41:00 PM more reviews by ithinkuracontra

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This foundation gives very heavy coverage and I noticed that I barely had to use any concealer at all afterwards. It may be a bit too heavy for my liking, and I definitely think it could break a lot of people out. When looking for safe products to use that don't break out the skin, especially when I'm at the drugstore, I try to look for the words non-comedogenic/acnegenic, hypoallergenic, or dermatologist-tested. Revlon colorstay doesn't say any of this. It does say "oil-free" but to me that doesn't mean anything because not all oils are bad and break out your skin. I heard that Almay is a really good brand that keeps acne-prone skin sufferers in mind when making their formulas. Their Almay TLC, which also has pretty good reviews here on Makeup Alley, is similar to Revlon Colorstay because they both promise sixteen hours of wear, so I would definitely recommend that as a safer option.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lovelydiva on 5/1/2011 9:38:00 AM more reviews by lovelydiva

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Revlon colourstay by far is my fav drug store foundation. I'm not a big fan of revlon foundations. Everybody raving about this so i tried this out. The color match my winter skin tone. I put my Za two way cake which i absolutely love after the foundation. Sometimes i use Australi's ready go finish powder(HD powder dupe). It leaves me flawless face. It covers my big pores and decent coverage without looking cakey at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 makeupisserenity on 4/30/2011 4:30:00 PM more reviews by makeupisserenity

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have sensitive skin and this product didn't break me out at all i absolutely love this foundation it gives you full coverage with an overall natural finish i have tried many drugstore foundations and by far this is my favorite liquid foundation, however if you have dry skin this foundation will only make it worse it drys out your skin, and aswell it would be better with a pump

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 immaqueenbee on 4/30/2011 3:32:00 PM more reviews by immaqueenbee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

THE BEST FOUNDATION EVER!! If you are looking for a heavy coverage, then this is the best option for you. It is super thick and covers blemishes, evens skin tone, and creates a soft look. Its a great product comparable to MAC foundation. The colors are very neutural and don't give that orange look. I LOVE IT!!

The only con is that it is so thick which means there isn't a lot in the bottle. I use about 1 bottle every month which isn't too bad, but alot more than my previous, watery foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Miaoudeminou on 4/30/2011 1:37:00 PM more reviews by Miaoudeminou

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Ages ago I tried Revlon Colorstay in both the combination & dry/normal. Both caused acne to appear on my entire face. Since then I swore off the brand name and hated Revlon Colorstay products.
Years later and I wanted something to cover my under eye circles. I thought I'd use this foundation just for that. Little did I know that I'd try it on my entire face, it wouldn't break me out and I'd actually turn to love it. It covers a lot and can look cakey around my eyes but I'm okay with that.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sage123 on 4/30/2011 4:35:00 AM more reviews by sage123

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

NW20 - Combination/Dry
I purchased this project after i heard so many good reviews on how it stays on all day which i though would be handy for school and that it is very comparable to mac studio fix fluid. And as i didnt want to spend $50 dollars on a foundation for MAC i decided to buy this. Though when got to the shops it was sitting at $40 dollars anyway. Dosent really seem much difference between Revlon and Mac foundations anyway. The shop assistant matched me too 200 Nude in Combination/Oily (before i got tested by a clinique lady that im actually more towards combination- DRY not oily, opps).
I do not really notice the scent as much as people explained in reviews but it is there, though i wouldent not buy a product cause it has a little bad scent when you apply it.
If you want a full coverage ( i personally think) foundation that is cheap (if you are in america) then sure but i would totally suggest the mac studio fix fluid way more. It just looks so much more flawless and way less cakey then this one does. And for that extra 10 dollars i could of paid i wouldent of had to realise that the mac one is better and go out and spend another 50 on a foundation.
This package as well as the MAC is a screw top lid without a pump is totally stupid and you always pore out too much.
But before i bought my studio fix fluid this was my favourite foundation so don't get me wrong it's not bad but i just prefer MAC's one alot more.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Liquid products