Revlon • ColorStay Makeup [Discontinued and Reformulated Early 2013] • Liquid

rated 3.8(4431 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 ithinkuracontra on 5/1/2011 2:41:00 PM more reviews by ithinkuracontra

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This foundation gives very heavy coverage and I noticed that I barely had to use any concealer at all afterwards. It may be a bit too heavy for my liking, and I definitely think it could break a lot of people out. When looking for safe products to use that don't break out the skin, especially when I'm at the drugstore, I try to look for the words non-comedogenic/acnegenic, hypoallergenic, or dermatologist-tested. Revlon colorstay doesn't say any of this. It does say "oil-free" but to me that doesn't mean anything because not all oils are bad and break out your skin. I heard that Almay is a really good brand that keeps acne-prone skin sufferers in mind when making their formulas. Their Almay TLC, which also has pretty good reviews here on Makeup Alley, is similar to Revlon Colorstay because they both promise sixteen hours of wear, so I would definitely recommend that as a safer option.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lovelydiva on 5/1/2011 9:38:00 AM more reviews by lovelydiva

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Revlon colourstay by far is my fav drug store foundation. I'm not a big fan of revlon foundations. Everybody raving about this so i tried this out. The color match my winter skin tone. I put my Za two way cake which i absolutely love after the foundation. Sometimes i use Australi's ready go finish powder(HD powder dupe). It leaves me flawless face. It covers my big pores and decent coverage without looking cakey at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 makeupisserenity on 4/30/2011 4:30:00 PM more reviews by makeupisserenity

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have sensitive skin and this product didn't break me out at all i absolutely love this foundation it gives you full coverage with an overall natural finish i have tried many drugstore foundations and by far this is my favorite liquid foundation, however if you have dry skin this foundation will only make it worse it drys out your skin, and aswell it would be better with a pump

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 immaqueenbee on 4/30/2011 3:32:00 PM more reviews by immaqueenbee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

THE BEST FOUNDATION EVER!! If you are looking for a heavy coverage, then this is the best option for you. It is super thick and covers blemishes, evens skin tone, and creates a soft look. Its a great product comparable to MAC foundation. The colors are very neutural and don't give that orange look. I LOVE IT!!

The only con is that it is so thick which means there isn't a lot in the bottle. I use about 1 bottle every month which isn't too bad, but alot more than my previous, watery foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Miaoudeminou on 4/30/2011 1:37:00 PM more reviews by Miaoudeminou

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Ages ago I tried Revlon Colorstay in both the combination & dry/normal. Both caused acne to appear on my entire face. Since then I swore off the brand name and hated Revlon Colorstay products.
Years later and I wanted something to cover my under eye circles. I thought I'd use this foundation just for that. Little did I know that I'd try it on my entire face, it wouldn't break me out and I'd actually turn to love it. It covers a lot and can look cakey around my eyes but I'm okay with that.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sage123 on 4/30/2011 4:35:00 AM more reviews by sage123

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

NW20 - Combination/Dry
I purchased this project after i heard so many good reviews on how it stays on all day which i though would be handy for school and that it is very comparable to mac studio fix fluid. And as i didnt want to spend $50 dollars on a foundation for MAC i decided to buy this. Though when got to the shops it was sitting at $40 dollars anyway. Dosent really seem much difference between Revlon and Mac foundations anyway. The shop assistant matched me too 200 Nude in Combination/Oily (before i got tested by a clinique lady that im actually more towards combination- DRY not oily, opps).
I do not really notice the scent as much as people explained in reviews but it is there, though i wouldent not buy a product cause it has a little bad scent when you apply it.
If you want a full coverage ( i personally think) foundation that is cheap (if you are in america) then sure but i would totally suggest the mac studio fix fluid way more. It just looks so much more flawless and way less cakey then this one does. And for that extra 10 dollars i could of paid i wouldent of had to realise that the mac one is better and go out and spend another 50 on a foundation.
This package as well as the MAC is a screw top lid without a pump is totally stupid and you always pore out too much.
But before i bought my studio fix fluid this was my favourite foundation so don't get me wrong it's not bad but i just prefer MAC's one alot more.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Ashley123 on 4/29/2011 12:18:00 PM more reviews by Ashley123

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I apctually really liked this foundation. it gave really good coverage for a drugstore product. I think that it is comparable to the MAC prolong wear foundation.it lasted on me all day and some hours into the night. I really liked it until it broke me out. After the first week of enjoyment I had to push it away . I know use the.MAC prolong.wear foundation

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LoveandBeauty on 4/28/2011 5:22:00 PM more reviews by LoveandBeauty

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Skin Type: NC15, Combination/Oily

I purchased this is in the combo/oily version in shade 110 Ivory.I think this is an absolute holy grail for people with oily skin, and have issues with foundation sliding off throughout the day. Many people compare this to MAC Studio Fix, but I would say it's more similar to Estee Lauder Double Wear, because both adhere to the skin really well. I usually don't use primer or moisturizer because I feel that they just add an additional layer of grease that I don't need. However, even with Colorstay I find that I need to at least apply a primer, or else it dries too fast and it makes it difficult to blend. This sounds like a drawback, but on my skin this is a lifesaver! It delivers buildable medium-full coverage, and dries matte. The only complaint I have is the shade selection. I bought the lightest shade, and it is slightly too pink on my neutral to yellow toned pale skin. This shade is best suited for cool-toned ladies. The next shade up, Buff, is too dark for me! I've tried mixing them, but it just turns orange. So I have to settle for a slightly off shade, usually I just set it with a very pale yellow powder to offset the pink. But if you have oily skin, need coverage, and can find your shade, I would say snatch this up! It is one of the best foundations I've tried, both drugstore and high-end.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 LittleM1ss on 4/28/2011 2:17:00 PM more reviews by LittleM1ss

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

The only reason I give this product 4/5 is because I have yet to find my perfect shade :(

I have olive/yellow undertones and I tried Buff, Fresh Beige,and Medium Beige so far to no avail. However I have yet to try Ivory (which looks too light) and Nude (which also looks too pinkish for me) Perhaps I should wander into the Golden shades?

My tips for this foundation:

-It can accentuate pores so a primer is a must for flawless matte finish. I think its worth it.

-Plus you may want to use a finishing powder just for an extra hold and more natural finish

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Kurohyou on 4/28/2011 2:11:00 PM more reviews by Kurohyou

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

SAVE YOUR MONEY.

I really dont get the good reviews / raves this stuff gets...

This is the only foundation I have tried in my LIFE that I completely hate and cannot use.

heres why:

1) no pump

2) very cakey finish, very obvious on the skin

3) not very blendable

4) does not sink in / blend / adhere to the skin AT ALL

5) transfers onto EVERYTHING!!

6) DOES NOT LAST. Not even for an hour.

7) slides around on your skin

and the list goes on...

I have tinted moisturizers that cover & last better than this, and they cost less!

for reference Ive tried both formulas, Ive followed the directions on the bottle and even the tips online to a 'T', Ive tried it with and without a primer, with and without powder, with and without finishing spray, Ive tried brushes, sponges, and hands... Ive tried EVERYTHING to made this work, but unfortunately this foundation SUCKS.

I LOVE other revlon products, but they seriously failed me on this one. I cant use it at all, and it ended up being a waste of money. :'(

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Liquid products