Revlon • ColorStay Makeup [Reformulated Early 2013] • Liquid

rated 3.8(4438 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 2 of 5 ritterronery on 5/5/2011 8:28:00 PM more reviews by ritterronery

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I can't describe how much I can't stand this foundation. It's not a bad foundation, it just doesn't suit my needs. I have fairly bad skin; post acne marks, hyper pigmentation and not to mention combo\oily skin.

What I really look for in a foundation is medium to full coverage, but I like it to look at natural as possible and I like oil control and mega bonus if it is non transferable. Reading ALL the reviews for this stuff and studying it extensively I was certain that this would HG material for me. But no. Not at all.

First off, the constistency is thick, pretty much too thick. It's almost impossible to blend out and drys really fast. I've used my fingers, a damp sponge, dry sponge, damp flat top kabuki and dry flat top kabuki. I guess the best was the dry flat top kabuki, it gave the best and most smooth coverage, all others left a dry splotchy appearance on my skin. Even with the "best" application method, the foundation just SAT right on top of my skin and just looked terrible. So cakey, so unnatural, it felt and looked like I was wearing a mask. It's just so sticky and ichty while I apply it to my skin. One big plus is that once it's on, IT'S ON! This stuff has very little to no transfer, which is awesome!

Overall, I just feel like the results really vary from person to person. Unfortunately this just didn't work for me, no matter which way I tried it. But I'm glad (slightly bitter. lol) to see it's works so well for many other people.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 NatashaBeth on 5/4/2011 5:57:00 PM more reviews by NatashaBeth

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

This foundation is absolutely AMAZING. I love the texture, the finish, the coverage that it gives me (I have a lot of acne spots/acne scaring). I'm a NC30 and I use 300 Golden Beige, maybe a little darker but I am able to blend it into my skin easily. My favorite way to apply it, is using my sigma flat top synthetic kabuki F80 brush, it gives a flawless finish to your skin. To set it I just use MAC MSF. The only 3 down sides of this products are: the packaging (it doesn't have a pump), the smell (it doesn't bother me, but it maybe a problem if your are sensitive to smells, but it dissapears after you apply it) and last, I have oily skin and this foundation does not control the oilyness. Anyway, MY FAVORITE FOUNDATION EVER!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Loz27 on 5/4/2011 more reviews by Loz27

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I usually just use this site to help me decide on what products to try and i saw all the great feed back about this so i gave it a whirl. I LOVE IT, will definatly be buying this again.
I spent 30min finding the correct shade, ( including popping outside to check what it looked like in natural light) and found that the Nude 180 matched me perfectly. (I also left it on for an hour while having luch to check it didnt oxidise too much)
I use a foundation brush to apply after applying mousturiser and a gel primer, (i do not usually use primer but after reading reviews about how quickly this product dries i figured Primer may help me get it on correctly with out to much hassle)
I only have to use a small amount to cover my whole face nicely, not cakey at all and i love the dewy look that settles into a nice natural look.
I havnt had to wear for a whole day yet but next week i will be working 40hours in a air-con office so fingers crossed..

the only con about this was after spending 30min finding the correct shade from the testers provided, none of the bottle had the same shade or number, strange! i had a tester that said nude 200, and the purchase options were Nude 180 or Beige 200, so we ended up opening the bottles to match...the Sales lady said she had mentioned this to the Revlon rep numerous times to no avail??

anyhow, now i know my shade i will def be buying this again, great price, easy to use and perfect for my colour.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 uwushuwereme on 5/2/2011 10:05:00 PM more reviews by uwushuwereme

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I bought Maybelline Dream Mousse Liquid foundation and was so disappointed, I threw it away after one use! I went to Wal-Mart and pick this up in Fresh Beige. I've never been one for Revlon makeup, but this was amazing! It went on smooth, my skin could breathe, looked natural, didn't look cakey, and stayed on all day, even when I ran a mile in 90 degree weather! I bought a much more expensive foundation and I couldn't even tell the difference between them! I usually break out if I leave any makeup on my face when I sleep, but I left this on my face all night and nothing happened! This is the best liquid foundation I've ever used and I'm never buying another brand again!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 darkhoney on 5/2/2011 4:51:00 PM more reviews by darkhoney

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love this foundation. It's light, breathable, build-able, dewey, realistic looking, and readily available. It goes from casual weekend wear to going on on the town without creasing, and is so touchable. I don't feel like even trying any other foundations b/c I love this one so much. I use the matching concealer for greater coverage and compact for touch ups during the day. Thank you, Revlon!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kelleegross on 5/2/2011 4:43:00 PM more reviews by kelleegross

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

UPDATE: I transferred it into a plastic travel size pump bottle (sanitized with alcohol) to cut down on the mess and waste less product. I also mixed Caramel and Cappacinno together into the bottle to provide a custom match. Using this product has become a lot easier and takes less time. I have since stop using the MUFE HD and switched MSF in dark to set the foundation and a little Black Opal blocking powder in my tzone to prevent oil. I look fresh faced for hours.

First off let me say that I never thought that I could find a liquid foundation that I would like because I hate the feeling of it being on my face. I'm usually and Bare Minerals girl, but all of the reviews and all the popularity it has on youtube I thought that I would give it a try. I picked it up from CVS on a BOGO sale and got two colors (Caramel and Cappacinno), just in case one didn't match. The time using this product, I applied it (just using caramel) with a beauty blender sponge. The coverage was amazing. The color to me was a tiny bit too light but it didn't look bad. I set it with MUFE HD powder and my face appeared flawless. It is definitely longwearing because except for a little oil breakthrough, my face still looked the same as I applied it 12 hours before. It didn't itch, irritate or break me out. The next day I mixed the two shades together and applied it with a stippling brush. I think this will be my method of applying it because I use less product. The color matched perfectly. I didn't transfer onto my clothes either. The only drawback is of course the packaging. It would be great if it had a pump. I don't know why I didn't try this sooner.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 tmarti25 on 5/2/2011 12:17:00 AM more reviews by tmarti25

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is pretty good, I think it's on of the best drugstore foundations. I found perfect matches for summer and winter. I do think this foundation can cause some breakouts but overall one of the best...you can get it at Rite Aid on sale for like 6 bucks.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 thewidowpicard on 5/1/2011 6:55:00 PM more reviews by thewidowpicard

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

This isn't a horrible foundation but it's not fantastic. The coverage is nice. Doesn't break me out. Although at 12 dollars it's hardly worth it. I could mix any cheap foundation with a moisturizer and it would have the same effect.

Edit: Since I've been using this since December I've had moderate whiteheads and I didn't attribute them to this foundation but since I've gone without using it for a week my skin has already improved. This makeup covers nicely but it's not worth a face full of whiteheads.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ithinkuracontra on 5/1/2011 2:41:00 PM more reviews by ithinkuracontra

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This foundation gives very heavy coverage and I noticed that I barely had to use any concealer at all afterwards. It may be a bit too heavy for my liking, and I definitely think it could break a lot of people out. When looking for safe products to use that don't break out the skin, especially when I'm at the drugstore, I try to look for the words non-comedogenic/acnegenic, hypoallergenic, or dermatologist-tested. Revlon colorstay doesn't say any of this. It does say "oil-free" but to me that doesn't mean anything because not all oils are bad and break out your skin. I heard that Almay is a really good brand that keeps acne-prone skin sufferers in mind when making their formulas. Their Almay TLC, which also has pretty good reviews here on Makeup Alley, is similar to Revlon Colorstay because they both promise sixteen hours of wear, so I would definitely recommend that as a safer option.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lovelydiva on 5/1/2011 9:38:00 AM more reviews by lovelydiva

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Revlon colourstay by far is my fav drug store foundation. I'm not a big fan of revlon foundations. Everybody raving about this so i tried this out. The color match my winter skin tone. I put my Za two way cake which i absolutely love after the foundation. Sometimes i use Australi's ready go finish powder(HD powder dupe). It leaves me flawless face. It covers my big pores and decent coverage without looking cakey at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Liquid products