Mario Badescu Enzyme Cleansing Gel

3.9

473 reviews

69% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients: Aqua (Water,Eau),Glycerin,Propylene Glycol,PEG-8 Stearate,PPG-2 Hydroxyethyl Cocamide,Carica Papaya (Papaya) Fruit Extract,Citrus Grandis (Grapefruit) Fruit Extract,Carbomer,Sodium Chloride,Parfum (Fragrance),Phenoxyethanol,Methylparaben,Propylparaben,Triethanolamine,Diazolidinyl Urea,Mica,CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide),CI 19140 (Yellow 5),CI 42090 (Blue 1),CI 15985 (Yellow 6)(4/26/2015)


on 1/22/2010 12:23:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I recieved a sample of this from the Mario Badescu web site since it was recommended to me from their skin type survey. The sample lasted for two weeks (using it twice a day) & I was able to notice the difference it made in my skin. Prior to using this product I had been using Proactiv & other harsh products since I had developed acne on my cheeks but those products had only worsened my skin. I wouldn't have thought to use the MB cleanser because I had always gone for the harsher products advertised for acne & this product is the opposite. My skin still isn't perfect but this cleanser improved it so much compared to how it was a few months ago. I had been getting atleast one new pimple daily & now I rarely get any. The smell of this cleanser is really fresh yet mild, but kind of reminds me of hotel soap for some reason. I love its gel texture which feels nice on my skin. I also love the bottle it comes in as well as the type of nozzle. There are also very few ingredients & most of them are natural, which I appreciate. I could go on & on about this cleanser but lastly, it's very inexpensive & they sell it at some Ultas so it's pretty easy to access.



on 1/21/2010 4:34:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I got a sample of this awhile back and have really fallen in love with this. I used it as my morning cleanser and I can really see an improvement in my skin since I started. I have had issues with acne in the past but when on Accutane in college. Since then I have only had minor flares up, but I find that this really helps keep them at bay. I follow with a toner just to make sure I get all the gunk off. Loving Mario B skincare at the moment.


on 1/12/2010 6:05:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

So many people seem to like this product, but it really did not do anything for me. I am wondering if I had a bad sample, as my face did not feel very clean after using. I am still loving Purity by Philosophy, so I will stick with that for now.

PS>>>I really do like other products by Mario Badescu!


on 1/9/2010 12:30:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I bought this yesterday bc it had no sulfates in it so I thought it would be gentle but it was anything but. Despite not having fragrance listed in the ingredients it has a strong scent which I could handle if the product worked well. Unfortunately the stuff dried my face out so badly after one use that my face started to hurt and itch. Not good. If you want to try this product I highly recommend getting a sample before putting your money down on it.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have never ever thought that I would buy a non foaming cleanser, let alone loving it. However, this cleanser totally change my mind and my life. It's so gentle but it cleans so well. I have A LOT of acnes and clogged pores, and this cleanser unclogged 90% of those pores! After I started to use this cleanser, I stopped breaking out with cystic acnes! Now I just have some little bumps and many scars. I recommend this to my friend who has oily skin and she loves it too! I must say this is the most amazing cleanser I have ever used!
Update: Still love it!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 1/6/2010 2:26:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Amazing amazing cleanser that does not strip my skin of moisture (it's non foaming) but also cleans very well. Leaves my skin feeling very refreshed and soft, and has a really fresh, "green" scent, smells almost like freshly cut grass to me. It is very inexpensive at $12 for a large 8 oz. bottle, it lasts me almost a whole year! My absolute favorite cleanser, will continue to repurchase!


on 12/19/2009 12:31:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I use this every day and find it non-irritating on my senssitive skin. It makes my skin smooth and is nice to use with my Clarisonic brush.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/18/2009 3:28:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

This is how the Mario Badescu Website describes this cleanser: This non-foaming, gel cleanser thoroughly removes the day’s make-up, dirt and oil without drying the skin. Papaya and Grapefruit Extracts are exfoliating Alpha Hydroxy Acids that help prevent dulling build-up that can cause blackheads and pimples.

My skin is Nordic, fair, very dry, slightly sensitive and acne prone (both "normal" and cystic). A 8 oz/200 ml bottle lasts me 6 months. I've used this twice a day for almost a year now (with the exception of using Dermalogica for two months - BIG mistake). Despite what the bottle claims, I use this after I've removed my makeup. It might be okay to use alone when wearing mineral makeup, but when wearing liquid foundation I feel safer when using a oil cleanser (I love the one by Lumene) prior to this to remove my makeup.

I would describe this as a pretty basic cleanser. It's nice to use, but it's nothing spectacular and that's the reason why I love it. After using up my first bottle of this cleanser I decided that I wanted a cleanser with some more "action", since I have acne prone skin and this doesn't do much to prevent it. I used the Dermalogica Ultracalming Cleanser and the Essential Cleansing Solution for about a month each, but during that time I got more and more bumps on my skin. It was cystic acne mixed with these pimple like irritational bumps. That's when I started appreciating the Enzyme Cleansing Gel for real. This might not do that much for my skin, but that's why I like it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/8/2009 1:28:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

i got a sample of this from the website, and surprisingly it was my favorite item out of the bunch. i was kind of confused by it at first (gel cleanser? strange concept!) but after my first use, my skin looked and felt amazing, i was honestly stunned. it doesn't leave that gross dry feeling after you use it and it makes your skin very soft and glowy. i'm definitely buying the full size asap.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/11/2009 12:12:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This used to be all I used........it does remove makeup, doesn't dry out the skin, and the price is right. After I while though, I started to feel like I wanted something that "did a little more"- so I started to experiment with cleansers that have salicylic acid. All in all, it's a good product and if you're looking for a safe cleanser that won't give you any trouble- I say go for it. It's much easier to get now too since they carry the line (even the 16 oz sizes) at ULTA.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top