Mario Badescu Enzyme Cleansing Gel

3.9

460 reviews

69% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients: Deionized Water (Aqua), Glycerin, Papaya (Carica Papaya Fruit) Extract, Grapefruit (Citrus Grandis Fruit) Extract, Lauramide DEA, Monomide, Triethanolamine, Methylparaben. (2/19/2014)


on 10/3/2009 12:51:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

this is a really good cleanser that seems like it's not doing much but really is! you have to stick with it a bit and your skin will love you for it. I have oily skin, but can dry out easily, and I shave so I get ingrowns a lot. Mario badescu has been a lifesaver, their line really works! this is really nice going on, it feels like a thick gel and it feels cool and smooth and like your doing something good for your skin. I use it this way. I dampen my face and put it in my palm and rub it in for about a minute. Then I jump in the shower and keep it on till the end when I wash my hair. That gives the enzymes time to work a little bit better and actually exfoliate than just rinsing it off, the steam helps a ton too. Using it like that will really help brighten up your face and even tone! try it like that if it hasn't worked for you!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 9/28/2009 2:58:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a nice, gentle cleanser. It has a moderate botanical scent, and the color is a light minty green with pretty bluish iridescence. It doesn't lather at all, and it is very gentle on my combination, acne-prone skin. This doesn't make my skin dry or make me break out. It removes light makeup, but for dark eye makeup you will need to use a makeup remover in addition to this product.


I only have one tiny complaint about this product (and the MB line in general): The packaging is generic, boring, and not as expensive-looking as what you would expect for the price. However, this is one of my favorite cleansers that I've used and I would definitely buy it again.


on 9/27/2009 5:48:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have used this cleanser for years, and I have just put in an order for another bottle.

This is a green, plant-smelling gel cleanser. It does not foam up at all, nor does it remove heavy makeup. I usually use a cleansing oil to remove my makeup, then I follow up with my Mario Badescu Enzyme cleansing gel to remove all traces of the oil and makeup. I don't feel like I need to use a toner after this, but I do moisturize. This is a nice, gentle cleanser for daily use. It does mildly exfoliate your dead skin cells off, while being extremely gentle at the same time.

I used to think that this cleanser broke me out, until I learned that I needed to properly remove my makeup because this cleanser is not meant to remove heavy/professional-quality makeup. Overall, I love this stuff and I love the smell. The price is reasonable since you only need a tiny amount of product each day. I will continue to repurchase since it has become my staple daily cleanser.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/26/2009 2:13:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Honestly, I thought I would hate this. I usually can't stand facial cleansers that don't foam up and I was expecting to want to send this back. So not the case, this stuff is awesome. It's the only cleanser I've found that doesn't dry out my skin or leave it too oily, and helps calm my hellish skin. I'm not too crazy about the price but for what it does, I can live with it.

*EDIT* I still like this a lot but not as much as when I first started using it. I don't trust it to take off all my makeup (but I'm kinda paranoid about makeup removal because I'm so acne prone) but it's a good balanced cleanser.


on 9/13/2009 10:36:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I've used this product off and on for the past couple of years, and I don't know why I ever stop using it every time. It removes all of my makeup (note: I only wear concealer, powder, bronzer and blush), seems to provide gentle exfoliation and leaves my skin feeling fresh. And the smell is DIVINE!!

The only tiny thing that I don't like about this cleanser is that it leaves my skin slightly dry, BUT that is easily fixed with a moisturizer after.

I also use their Aloe Lotion, seaweed night cream, glycolic gel and an eye cream (can't remember which one off hand). I think their line is great and fairly minimalistic as far as ingredients go, which is important for my sensitive skin.

Will definitely stick with this line for a while as long as it continues to work so well for me.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Really dissappointed in this brand. I've heard all the rave reviews and decided to get this cleanser, the grapefruit toner and oil free moisturiser and none of them were any good! This cleanser did nothing, not even it's basic function of cleansing.


on 9/6/2009 3:59:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

It didn't really do anything for me. I used it morning and night, though it didn't really remove my facial make up very well at all, i ended up having to resort to my Simple wipes.
It had a light, cooling gelee texture and didn't actully foam (i'm not entirely sure if its meant to though).

Didn't make much difference to my complexion.


on 9/2/2009 9:13:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is a very pleasant cleanser, which is a non-foaming gel. It washes clean and is rather refreshing to use. It cleaning ability is good if you are not wearing a lot of makeup and the smell is pleasant. The concentration of acids is not enough to do anything so it is very gentle. The only caveat I have is that the ingredients are very basic and it is essentially glycerine. There is nothing advanced about this cleanser and if you donít like the thought of rubbing glycerine into your face, its best to give this a miss. The nozzle is quite good but a pump would be better. I enjoyed the entire bottle but would not repurchase simply because itís too basic a formula. This cleanser would be suitable for all skin types, especially sensitive.


on 8/31/2009 10:18:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This is my HG facial cleanser!!! It's also the first MB product I tried and now I'm hooked. I purchased the large 16 oz bottle and it has lasted just over a year and that's with me and my bf both using it. I prefer to buy this direct from MB and have it shipped since Kit charge AU$36 for the small bottle. Some people have commented they don't like the smell but that is one of the things I love most about this cleanser - it's like a morning dew rainforest/freshly mown grass scent. It was unusual to get past the fact this cleanser does not foam but you definitely notice that your face is deeply cleaned after you wash the gel off.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/18/2009 6:53:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is actually a very pleasant product to use. Feels nice on the skin when you wash :). But this isn't good for my skin. I could imagine it being nice for it when i'm older maybe and when i'm not so prone to breakouts.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top