Mario Badescu Enzyme Cleansing Gel

3.9

464 reviews

69% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients: Aqua (Water,Eau),Glycerin,Propylene Glycol,PEG-8 Stearate,PPG-2 Hydroxyethyl Cocamide,Carica Papaya (Papaya) Fruit Extract,Citrus Grandis (Grapefruit) Fruit Extract,Carbomer,Sodium Chloride,Parfum (Fragrance),Phenoxyethanol,Methylparaben,Propylparaben,Triethanolamine,Diazolidinyl Urea,Mica,CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide),CI 19140 (Yellow 5),CI 42090 (Blue 1),CI 15985 (Yellow 6)(4/26/2015)


on 11/11/2009 12:12:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This used to be all I used........it does remove makeup, doesn't dry out the skin, and the price is right. After I while though, I started to feel like I wanted something that "did a little more"- so I started to experiment with cleansers that have salicylic acid. All in all, it's a good product and if you're looking for a safe cleanser that won't give you any trouble- I say go for it. It's much easier to get now too since they carry the line (even the 16 oz sizes) at ULTA.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 10/19/2009 10:34:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Other

Eyes: Brown

What a great "cleanser". It left my skin feeling so smooth because it slowly exfoliates rather than manual exfoliation or exfoliation by granules/microbeads. It smells so relaxing and fresh and clean. The texture is similar to Cetaphil but a light green color and so much better!! It leaves your skin feeling refreshed. It also has a slight cooling effect. It doesn't lather so don't expect that but it does leave your face feeling clean, no residue left over. This was an awesome cleansing gel when I used it.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 10/17/2009 6:55:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Great cleanser. It has a slight exfoliating effect without making your skin feel dry. Not as comfortable around the eye area as some cleansers i've used so minus one lippy but i've been using it with MB's cleansing milk w carnation and rice oil to remove my waterproof mascara and eyeliner and my skin feels great. Yes it might be doubling up on products but they should last me twice as long!


on 10/7/2009 2:28:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I've been using this for almost a year, in combination with my Clarisonic brush, and my skin has NEVER looked better! I usually suffer from acne, and my skin is really sensitive, so "acne" washes are generally too harsh for me and it makes the problem worse. This contains fruit enzymes that gently exfoliate to get rid of dead skin cells which cause acne. After using this, my skin is soft and glowy. It never feels too dry or too oily, I'd say it leaves it balanced. I use several Mario products, and through trial and error, I think I have found my "dream team" which includes this cleanser. The packaging is minimal, which is fine by me. I don't care that it's "boring" because it works! Price seems high at first, but with this, a little goes a long way, so it lasts a really long time - and I always buy the BIG bottle. Definitely HG for me.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 10/3/2009 12:51:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

this is a really good cleanser that seems like it's not doing much but really is! you have to stick with it a bit and your skin will love you for it. I have oily skin, but can dry out easily, and I shave so I get ingrowns a lot. Mario badescu has been a lifesaver, their line really works! this is really nice going on, it feels like a thick gel and it feels cool and smooth and like your doing something good for your skin. I use it this way. I dampen my face and put it in my palm and rub it in for about a minute. Then I jump in the shower and keep it on till the end when I wash my hair. That gives the enzymes time to work a little bit better and actually exfoliate than just rinsing it off, the steam helps a ton too. Using it like that will really help brighten up your face and even tone! try it like that if it hasn't worked for you!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/28/2009 2:58:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a nice, gentle cleanser. It has a moderate botanical scent, and the color is a light minty green with pretty bluish iridescence. It doesn't lather at all, and it is very gentle on my combination, acne-prone skin. This doesn't make my skin dry or make me break out. It removes light makeup, but for dark eye makeup you will need to use a makeup remover in addition to this product.


I only have one tiny complaint about this product (and the MB line in general): The packaging is generic, boring, and not as expensive-looking as what you would expect for the price. However, this is one of my favorite cleansers that I've used and I would definitely buy it again.


on 9/27/2009 5:48:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have used this cleanser for years, and I have just put in an order for another bottle.

This is a green, plant-smelling gel cleanser. It does not foam up at all, nor does it remove heavy makeup. I usually use a cleansing oil to remove my makeup, then I follow up with my Mario Badescu Enzyme cleansing gel to remove all traces of the oil and makeup. I don't feel like I need to use a toner after this, but I do moisturize. This is a nice, gentle cleanser for daily use. It does mildly exfoliate your dead skin cells off, while being extremely gentle at the same time.

I used to think that this cleanser broke me out, until I learned that I needed to properly remove my makeup because this cleanser is not meant to remove heavy/professional-quality makeup. Overall, I love this stuff and I love the smell. The price is reasonable since you only need a tiny amount of product each day. I will continue to repurchase since it has become my staple daily cleanser.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/26/2009 2:13:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Honestly, I thought I would hate this. I usually can't stand facial cleansers that don't foam up and I was expecting to want to send this back. So not the case, this stuff is awesome. It's the only cleanser I've found that doesn't dry out my skin or leave it too oily, and helps calm my hellish skin. I'm not too crazy about the price but for what it does, I can live with it.

*EDIT* I still like this a lot but not as much as when I first started using it. I don't trust it to take off all my makeup (but I'm kinda paranoid about makeup removal because I'm so acne prone) but it's a good balanced cleanser.


on 9/13/2009 10:36:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I've used this product off and on for the past couple of years, and I don't know why I ever stop using it every time. It removes all of my makeup (note: I only wear concealer, powder, bronzer and blush), seems to provide gentle exfoliation and leaves my skin feeling fresh. And the smell is DIVINE!!

The only tiny thing that I don't like about this cleanser is that it leaves my skin slightly dry, BUT that is easily fixed with a moisturizer after.

I also use their Aloe Lotion, seaweed night cream, glycolic gel and an eye cream (can't remember which one off hand). I think their line is great and fairly minimalistic as far as ingredients go, which is important for my sensitive skin.

Will definitely stick with this line for a while as long as it continues to work so well for me.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Really dissappointed in this brand. I've heard all the rave reviews and decided to get this cleanser, the grapefruit toner and oil free moisturiser and none of them were any good! This cleanser did nothing, not even it's basic function of cleansing.


Back to Top