MAC • Veluxe - Beauty Marked • Eye Shadow

rated 3.6(390 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ParisXIII on 11/29/2007 3:46:00 PM more reviews by ParisXIII

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

When I look at this eye shadow, I am like WOWWWWW! It is a black velvet with a deep metallic burgundy tone to it. Too bad that burgundy tone is lost when it's applied...it ends up looking like black eyeshadow.

Still, it's very pretty. Not sure I would buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 CutestCutie on 11/25/2007 1:16:00 AM more reviews by CutestCutie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

3.5/5

This one's a bit disappointing. I expected the purple to come through much more, but it really just basically looks black on my coloring. It also tends to fall on my cheeks much more than other MAC shadows. If I could go back in time, I probably wouldn't have bought this one.

For reference, I'm NC 42, black hair w/ drk brown eyes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lauradfromnc on 11/21/2007 9:50:00 PM more reviews by lauradfromnc

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I like this but not that much. It looks dangerous in the pot with the red shimmery flakes, but I used it sparingly for a smoky eye on the lid the other day and it was just okay. It does make a nice eyeliner, but why bother when other products are so much easier. The third time I tried it in the crease and it blended out nicely and wasn't super dark but the color tone did nothing for my nw20 skin or hazel/blue/green eyes. I've only used it three times, but I am going to put it up for swap.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* msdi2u on 11/1/2007 9:10:00 PM more reviews by msdi2u

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

When I originally purchased Beauty Marked a few years ago, I intended to use it for eyeliner, and it performs that task well. But recently, this came in the Novel Twist: Cool Eyes palette I purchased, and I tried to use it as a crease color. ~BAD IDEA~
Beauty Marked looks like a shimmery, red-plum in the pan, but appears totally BLACK on my lids. Not a good look for me! I also found it difficult to blend. From now on, I will use this only as eyeliner, and there will be no need to repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 noraish on 10/30/2007 1:54:00 PM more reviews by noraish

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

i agree with others; its hard to blend, must be used wet, doesn't look the same on your skin as in the pan, this shadow is black on my skin, and while the description says blackened red, i see absolutely no red, when i put it on my skin. there is an exception however, if i use it wet, it is purple, it is also very hard to work with, maybe its the finish of the shadow? i'm not really sure, but i will rebuy even if it is a lot of work just because i love the effect

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MsLips on 10/7/2007 11:46:00 PM more reviews by MsLips

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this color! It's a sparkly dark dark plummish black, perfect for a smoky look. It looks so great paired with other purples and pinks and even Bitter (yellow green). I wore this with Bitter one time and they contrasted so well!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lissa_508 on 9/24/2007 9:08:00 PM more reviews by lissa_508

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This is my first "black" eyeshadow. Mac describes it as a blackened red ..but it looks black on me. The red glitter makes it look nice in the pot ..if your looking for the glitter..it doesnt come out on your skin - which is fine with me.
This is a very wearable color on my NW100/NC15 skintone , it works well for day & dramatic smokey eyes. It layers very well & has great staying power & it blends so smoothly.
I think after this black has worked so well, I might give carbon a try.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Iammelody on 9/21/2007 12:52:00 PM more reviews by Iammelody

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a wonderful shade, but use it wet! When you use it wet, the glitter shows up and black sits quietly in the backround. When I use it wet it stays on for nearly 10 hours.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 californiasgrace on 9/15/2007 10:15:00 PM more reviews by californiasgrace

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

i love the colour, but i find this shadow extremely hard to blend with...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 blondesRbetter on 8/28/2007 12:51:00 AM more reviews by blondesRbetter

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Beauty marked is a great shade, but doesn't show up on the eye like it does in the pan, but I love this eyeshadow nonetheless. On my NC30-35 skin, it morphs into whatever color I'm wearing. For example, if I'm wearing blue shadows and put this in the crease, it turns dark blue. With purple, it turns dark purple---very versatile. I love it =D HG for me for sure

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products