Laura Mercier • Secret Camouflage • Concealers

rated 3.9(569 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 vogysgirl on 5/5/2010 9:18:00 PM more reviews by vogysgirl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I love this concealer. It covers my dark circles & redness around my nose. Covers my blemishes. I will never ever replace this with another. Best concealer ever as far as I'm concerned. A bit pricey if you're on a budget which I am but with this stuff, I don't care, I love it!!!
Update-I see more reviews on this being cakey & not for under the eye area. WRONG! I know & understand that everyone has different skin but maybe you should apply a light layer. This stuff is heavy duty so go lightly not heavy amounts. As far as breakouts, something else has to be causing this reviewers outbreaks as I have super sensitive skin & have no problems with this concealer.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rachelhal on 4/24/2010 12:22:00 PM more reviews by rachelhal

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy   Eyes: Hazel    

I have been using this almost every day for over a year. I feel like I am somewhat of a concealer connoisseur; I don't wear foundation and am dependent on concealer to mask redness around my nose and mouth. I do not use it under the eyes. Almost two years ago I had a make over at Laura Mercier and the MA used this concealer (w/ their c. brush) to hide redmarks and the redness. I was pretty impressed by how it seemed to meld into my skin and bought the compact, but not the brush. I use it over my bare, moisturized skin with my finger, tapping very lightly and very quickly. The ratio of dark/light product doesn't really seem to make a difference. I normally don't set it w/ powder and it will last for hours. I have never had any reaction to this and I have pretty sensitive skin.
A couple of weeks ago I bought MUFE full concealer and would say it is pretty similar to texture (even though that one is in a tube). Before SC, my HG since 1997 was Px Camouflage Cream, now I would say I like SC, the MUFE one, and MAC studio finish w/ SPF.
One more thing, I live in a very dry climate and have not had this dry out on me, even though it seems like it would. If you buy it at Sephora or Nordies you can always xchange it anyway. It lasts forever.

EDIT sept 4, 2010: I use MUFE full cover MUCH more now, mainly because it lasts much longer, even through my sweaty work-outs, and it is much more portable. I would say the coverage is equal to the LM concealer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Hothead on 4/22/2010 10:07:00 AM more reviews by Hothead

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Have been using these for years. I have one in each color and could not imagine doing anyone's mu without having these along as "insurance" for uneven complexions and/or discoloration.

this is not meant to be used as an undereye concealer as the product is too dry... it is best used to cover uneven white/brown/red areas on the face and used in conjunction with foundation or mineral powder.

this is considered a necessary product for LM's Flawless face.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SpunkyPanda on 4/20/2010 7:28:00 PM more reviews by SpunkyPanda

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

good coverage, feels light on skin and doesnt cake up. i got this in a pot form where it comes with two colored concealers and translucent powder on the bottom. it hides my blemishes and my large pores and did i mention it feels light? <3

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 avantgardelovers on 4/17/2010 1:49:00 AM more reviews by avantgardelovers

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

i LOVE this product, it blends perfectly into my skin so i can wear even less foundation on the days my skin is a bit icky. i love the packaging, the big mirror, and most of all how it matches my skin perfectly. im half asian half caucasian and fair, number 3 is my perfect match, however i rarely use the lighter side

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Happyfaced on 4/9/2010 9:42:00 AM more reviews by Happyfaced

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I absolutely love this. It has amazing coverage, and I've even hidden the occasional horrible dry spot with this, without it caking! It is definitely for spots/scars/ redness only though - not for undereyes as is it too matte and not quite creamy enough. I like the fact that you can mix the colours, although I very rarely do this as the lightest shade is pretty spot on for me as it is. It lasts for ages, and I like that the packaging has a decent sized mirror. I've carried it round in my handbag every day and it has never broken. I will definitely repurchase this when it runs out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 vanevita on 4/3/2010 4:04:00 PM more reviews by vanevita

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I got this product because I was looking for a good concealer for my extreme dark circles. My skin is dry to normal, I dont feel it dries up my skin, but it does give my eyes a weird grainy texture, and then with shadow, foundation, powder, it just doesnt blend well with anything, it looks cakey, is pretty bad, I dont like it, I thought I got a bad one of these, but after reading some people has the same problem, I concluded it is the product itself, is so dry and messy to apply. The color kinda matches well, and the coverage is ok, but I need more coverage. For me it sucks that I cant find a concealer that actually covers my dark circles.
UPDATE: So after still giving this corrector/concealer more use, I found that using the color backwards would cover my circles better, and that using less product would cake less, I like it a bit more now :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ViMaquillage on 3/22/2010 9:04:00 PM more reviews by ViMaquillage

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

First off I suffer from oily, acne proned skin so most concealers just slide right off or crease right through. I've used all kinds of DS concealers, mineral powder concealers, the most recent was Rimmel Hide the Blemish for the obvious problems, and the concealer that comes with Pixi tint and conceal illuminator. I LOVED the consistency of the Pixi for under eye concealer as it was rather dry but still easy to blend however there wasn't much of variety in shades and I wanted an all in one product hence the Laura Mercier Secret Camouflage.

I've heard all the negative reviews as this is quite stubborn within the package and difficult to blend especially during the colder months. However I find it quite easy to apply around the eye when mixed with the tiniest bit of moisturizer. It mixes with the moisturizer so well that if I carry the palette with me I've got to bring along the moisturizer as well.

*For the record I use Cetaphil daily moisturizer rather than eye cream that way I can use it all over my face.

It comes in 6 different shades, but each palette contains opposing shades within the same tone. You mix the two to create the right shade for yourself, it is quite pricey but the product goes a long way so technically it is a wonderful investment! I would definitely buy it again, I use for red acne scars and undery eye.

My only qualms is that it should come with some kind of mixing well but the back of my hand always works!

Will definitely buy again!


2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nicole007 on 3/15/2010 6:09:00 AM more reviews by nicole007

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I recently purchased this on a whim because i was desperate for a really good under eye concealer. I have to say, i am very impressed. It does a really good job of correcting and concealing the darkness that i get under my eyes from lack of sleep. It's a little pricey but a little goes a long way and i think it will last quite a while.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* amy212 on 3/4/2010 9:24:00 PM more reviews by amy212

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Dry, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Green    

This is a hg concealer for me. I only use it under my eyes and it works really well with no to minimal creasing. It is very dry and dense but this works well because every other concealer creases over my oily mineral sunblock, this does not. This lasts forever - seriously, esp because I only use it for the under eye area.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Laura Mercier products

More Concealers products