Laura Mercier • Secret Camouflage • Concealers

rated 3.9(577 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 pandaxen on 6/3/2010 3:46:00 AM more reviews by pandaxen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

After reading many reviews on this product in magazines, I decided to try it out. I think it is great that you get 2 colours to blend- easy for summer/winter months when you get darker/lighter. However, this was too drying for my face- I have sensitive, combination skin and it gave me the flakies though I have to comment the coverage is excellent and it covers all redness and didnt cause me to break out. Overall, a little on the dry side so I switched to Laura Mercier's Secret Concealer. It is meant to be used for the undereyes but the formula is creamier so I used that instead. Would not repurchase as it is pricey and gives me the flakies and emphasizes on any dry spots.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* andreacaracortada on 5/26/2010 6:25:00 AM more reviews by andreacaracortada

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

i have this in sc1. am not really sure though...you need to have perfect, well moisturised skin to have an amazing result here cause it flakes. it is also hard to apply under eyes, cause of its cakey consistency. i wish it was softer...for discolourations or major pimples i would go for something more pharmaceutical like avene's couvrance or la roche posay. to sum up: i will give this a miss.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 iheartea on 5/26/2010 12:25:00 AM more reviews by iheartea

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got this product coz I read a lot of good reviews about but I didn't like it! I was a bit disappointed coz I like laura mercier products. I found the product too dry upon application even if I warmed it in the palm of my hands with a brush. Mixing the colors the 2 colors to match my skin tone and cover my blemishes was too much work! Anyway, I had to return this product back and would obviously not purchase again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 juliehj81 on 5/13/2010 7:46:00 PM more reviews by juliehj81

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I use the salmon color to cover my dark circles under my eyes and the other color for redness around my nose and mouth. I think it is a great product that is light and doesn't cake up. It is between a cream to powder consistency. Some people complain about it drying underneath the eyes but it does not do that to me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* misscruella16 on 5/13/2010 6:15:00 AM more reviews by misscruella16

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I like this concealer because its very opaque and its not greasy like many concealers out there. You dont need a ton of powder to set this, but paradoxically it can be drying and tend to bring out flakies. I dont know if its just me, because I do use retin-a but this looks very drying on me and you can see every flake on my face that wasnt there before i put this on. I think it might be better for realllyyy oily people out there. I also dont like the idea of having to mix this with the white part every day because its time consuming. its great that you can get your perfect shade i guess, but its just a pain for me. i dont use this on my undereyes because it can look cakey too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Gill222 on 5/11/2010 1:03:00 PM more reviews by Gill222

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This product is far too drying. It makes my face breakout in dry patchyness whenever I use it. I Wouldn't recommend this as being so dry it makes spots look like little scabs = gross. It makes my nose flakey after applying there too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Suikerklontje on 5/11/2010 4:52:00 AM more reviews by Suikerklontje

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This product was a real disappointment.


I bought this product initially for my dark under eye circles. I read on the Laura Mercier website that it could be used in this area (it reads: Laura Mercier Secret Camouflage completely camouflages dark circles, minor imperfections and discolorations) so I chose this over the Laura Mercier secret concealer because I liked the idea to custom blend my concealer.


Unfortunately, this concealer is not suited for the under eye area. It is far too dry! The coverage is good, but the product tends to become cakey and creases terribly. It completely dehydrated my under eye area!
I tried applying this with my fingers, with a concealer brush, even with a damp sponge. I tried to use it over and under foundation, but none of this helped. Don't buy this product if you need an under eye concealer, because you're sure to regret it.


As for concealing imperfections on the face: I don't really have blemishes or pimples or what not to cover up, but I do have some redness around my nose. When I apply this product it looks fantastic at first. Because the product is very pigmented you only need to lightly dab this concealer on your skin with a concealer brush to get rather good coverage. However, the product becomes very flaky around my nose after a few hours and I absolutely hate that!


All in all, I wouldn't recommend this product for the under eye area, and for concealing redness around the nose it is no good either. I won't be buying this again.

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dtownbaby on 5/7/2010 1:10:00 PM more reviews by dtownbaby

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

This is a really good concealer for me. i use the SC-4 or 3 they both work for me. i noticed that alot of the bad reviews complained about having to mix the two colors but that is not the point of having the two colors the lighter one is great around the nose and on red spots and the darker one is the best i have ever used for my blemishes and under eye circles, i have rarely mixed the two colors together. i just blend out the edges really well and set it with my bare essential mineral veil its great, i dont even use foundation much anymore. i took off one lippie because although they have a separate rating for packaging i think that sanitation is so important and this product is not that sanitary. it picks up dirt and germs i have to put a piece of wax paper on top to ease my mind.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 vogysgirl on 5/5/2010 9:18:00 PM more reviews by vogysgirl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I love this concealer. It covers my dark circles & redness around my nose. Covers my blemishes. I will never ever replace this with another. Best concealer ever as far as I'm concerned. A bit pricey if you're on a budget which I am but with this stuff, I don't care, I love it!!!
Update-I see more reviews on this being cakey & not for under the eye area. WRONG! I know & understand that everyone has different skin but maybe you should apply a light layer. This stuff is heavy duty so go lightly not heavy amounts. As far as breakouts, something else has to be causing this reviewers outbreaks as I have super sensitive skin & have no problems with this concealer.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rachelhal on 4/24/2010 12:22:00 PM more reviews by rachelhal

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy   Eyes: Hazel    

I have been using this almost every day for over a year. I feel like I am somewhat of a concealer connoisseur; I don't wear foundation and am dependent on concealer to mask redness around my nose and mouth. I do not use it under the eyes. Almost two years ago I had a make over at Laura Mercier and the MA used this concealer (w/ their c. brush) to hide redmarks and the redness. I was pretty impressed by how it seemed to meld into my skin and bought the compact, but not the brush. I use it over my bare, moisturized skin with my finger, tapping very lightly and very quickly. The ratio of dark/light product doesn't really seem to make a difference. I normally don't set it w/ powder and it will last for hours. I have never had any reaction to this and I have pretty sensitive skin.
A couple of weeks ago I bought MUFE full concealer and would say it is pretty similar to texture (even though that one is in a tube). Before SC, my HG since 1997 was Px Camouflage Cream, now I would say I like SC, the MUFE one, and MAC studio finish w/ SPF.
One more thing, I live in a very dry climate and have not had this dry out on me, even though it seems like it would. If you buy it at Sephora or Nordies you can always xchange it anyway. It lasts forever.

EDIT sept 4, 2010: I use MUFE full cover MUCH more now, mainly because it lasts much longer, even through my sweaty work-outs, and it is much more portable. I would say the coverage is equal to the LM concealer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Laura Mercier products

More Concealers products