Laura Mercier • Secret Camouflage • Concealers

rated 3.9(588 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BeeGee35 on 10/24/2010 8:49:00 PM more reviews by BeeGee35

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

i LOVE this concealer. it covers the vein that is by the inner corner of my eye and my purple undereye! this does NOT slide into fine lines on my face. it also lasts all day. Now to the one bad aspect... my skin has turned dry with the fall/winter season. this product is trying on dry skin. so i'll probably switch back to MAC for winter if I can't get this to work for me.. but i LOVE this. it covers and doesn't move. what more could i ask for?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 juno2509 on 10/5/2010 11:34:00 AM more reviews by juno2509

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Es demasiado seco para mi contorno,necesito poner el corrector inmediatamente despues de la crema.
Corrije bien pero no aguanta muchas horas.
No es que sea el peor que he probado ni mucho menos pero no volverķa a comprarlo.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 meghanadriana on 9/19/2010 6:15:00 AM more reviews by meghanadriana

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

i was looking for a creamy concealer and i found this! this product is amazing to me, it hides my dark circles and stays in place the entire day. on days i'm too lazy i wear this alone instead of with foundation and i think i look presentable still. love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 xALRx on 9/5/2010 4:08:00 PM more reviews by xALRx

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I REALLY wanted to love this product... but so far it seems like the only concealer that does an ok job is Bare Minerals (Matte). I've been looking high and low for a fabulous concealer that doesn't slide around or pull a disappearing act. So far, no such luck!

After countless hours of scouring and testing concealers, I bought this one thinking "Well, what do I have to lose? If I don't like it I can always return it." And that is exactly what I did!

The colors were either too tan, too yellow or too pink... it's forever the Goldilocks story with me and makeup. Anyway, I returned it and was so disappointed. Oh well... still looking!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 javajunkie787 on 8/27/2010 6:46:00 PM more reviews by javajunkie787

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

For a long time i was addicted to the bobbi brown face touch up stick - i do not like greasy, wet concealers bc i feel like the melt off of look blotchy on me. however, i was never fully satisfied w/ the BB stick. i didnt feel it gave enough coverage or evenness

i finally tried something new and i love this! first of all it really lasts all day. i think i could jump into a swimming pool and it would stay on fine. it provides excellent coverage and blends in nicely. i cover it w/ a little powder and im good to go. i am very happy i switched to this.

i think the price is fine b/c that is what i paid for my BB concealer. i have a lot of acne scar discoloration so i would know what is/isnt good coverage and this definitely is great coverage. it doesnt make you feel like you've melted by the end of the day, i work out w/ it on and it also doesnt come off!

def will re-buy - new staple product. i even returned one of my BB sticks b/c i wont be using those anymore! thank you MUA makeup board for the rec!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 GREENGAL on 8/21/2010 12:16:00 PM more reviews by GREENGAL

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

First off, I have very oily, acne -prone skin. I live in a very hot, very humid climate. This is about the 20th concealer I have tried in my day, and I've tried them all. MAC studio fnsh, Bobby brown creamy concealer, Benefit boing & erase paste, to name just a few. I have been using this one for about 2 months and I am really starting to love it. At first I was a little skeptical because it is somewhat a thick,dry consistency. Very tricky to work with, so you have to give it some effort. For me I find it works best for the face (acne scars, blemishes) Not undereye area. It is far too drying.. even with a great eyecream it will crease. Best if you warm it up on your hand first or use a bit of fix plus. Do Not over do it. Less is definitely more with this product and it is key to achieving good coverage. I made this mistake once and ended up with patches of concealer on my cheecks, so a very light hand and a good finishing powder is essential, especially if you have oily skin. It is a bit pricey but the amount will last a good while. I would spend alot for a good concealer so it is well worth every penny. I took off one lippie becuz it doesn't work well undereyes as it claims.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 imxgracey on 7/4/2010 5:25:00 AM more reviews by imxgracey

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

this product is great for my dark under eye circles. I've gone through countless concealers and none did the job (too cakey, color didn't match, etc). Although the product is a bit thick and hard, if you warm it up on the back of your hand first, problem solved. I first use the salmon/peach color to cover my dark circles (shade SC-2) and then i use the concealer (white shade) over it. I do understand that this product can be a bit drying as people have been saying but since i do use a moisturizing eye cream day and night, it keeps the under eye area moisturized and as a great primer for the concealer.

all in all, i think its very effective at covering my dark circles and although a bit expensive, ($28), it does last a long time since you use very little each time. its also recommended to use a concealer brush and also try using with the secret brightening powder which helps set the concealer while brightening!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Dive14 on 6/21/2010 6:58:00 AM more reviews by Dive14

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I can't believe that I haven't reviewed this yet, I think it's the best concealer ever. I love Cle de Peau for under-eyes and that is my other HG but for blemishes, this is the best without a doubt. I am obsessed with flawless skin and after trying it out at Space NK I knew straight away that I had to have it. I have it in every shade but the one that is a perfect match for my (NC25/30) skin is the second lightest - number 2. My sister who is a very fair, blue-eyed natural blonde uses shade 1. I have repurchased this shade as it is the one I use the most and therefore ran out quickest, and would repurchase again should I need to. I only gave it a 4 for packaging because one container I have doesn't close properly after I dropped it but otherwise it's brilliant - a good size for carrying around in handbags, even a clutch bag as it's slim and compact. And it comes with a mirror so is perfect for touch ups on the go. The formula is great, very opaque, dense and quite a dry consistency which is perfect for me as I can be sure it will stay put rather than sliding off halfway through the day. Lasting power is excellent in that respect. However u can warm it up with your fingers and it becomes more creamy which makes it easier to apply. I have the brush that goes with this and I would 100% recommend buying that also.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 loveisblind1 on 6/21/2010 4:31:00 AM more reviews by loveisblind1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

It is one of my favorite concealers. I have fair skin with warm golden undertones. I used a SC-2 (second lightest shade). SC-1 is only if you are extremely pale. I was afraid this product was going to look cakey because it was such a thick product, but I learned how to apply it correctly to not have that look. The concealer is two-toned with a salmon/golden color and a light golden based color. This matches my skin tone quite well.


The look: The sales lady told me to combine the colors together to achieve the perfect shade. Since the product is so thick, it is a little hard to blend the colors but its do-able. Combining the colors matches my skin tone and my foundation: I am the lightest shade here: http://karlasugar.net/wp-content/uploads/2010/01/Chanel-Lift-Lumiere-Foundation-Medium.jpg

It does have the potential to be cakey if not blended or applied correctly.


Coverage: Medium/Full. More towards Medium. If you have a blemish, this concealer conceals them quite well. The yellow based concealer conceals red marks well. With brown / dark spots, it is harder to cover up. The salmon color would be better suited for that.


Price: Reasonable. Last a LONG time though because only a very small amount of the product is used. I bought mine back in Winter and still haven't yet reached the halfway mark.


Use/Tips: Using a concealer brush, I sometimes apply the concealer before putting on my makeup to have a more uniform look. Placing the concealer on after is still fine though. I use the more salmon based color under my eyes as that color is better suited for covering dark circles under the eyes. I put the concealer on blemishes and around the mouth and nose to give a clean look. Its Extremely important to make sure the concealer is well blended around the edges of where the concealer is placed on your face. Put two or more layers of concealer on a blemish and set with a little bit of setting powder, lightly dusted. Place your foundation over it if you wear it.


Conclusion: I love it! Its a heavy duty concealer that matches my skin tone well. It has a tendency to look cakey but with the right application, it can make you closer to looking flawless.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 yogagirl on 6/16/2010 8:49:00 PM more reviews by yogagirl

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

It's good...I'm learning years later. If I apply it with my finger, too thick and cakey. I use it with a brush...and it's perfect for undereyes. It WILL camo your acne scars, too. That's a bit of a special effect, tho...you'll look "covered."

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Laura Mercier products

More Concealers products