Laura Mercier • Secret Camouflage • Concealers

rated 3.9(582 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 imxgracey on 7/4/2010 5:25:00 AM more reviews by imxgracey

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

this product is great for my dark under eye circles. I've gone through countless concealers and none did the job (too cakey, color didn't match, etc). Although the product is a bit thick and hard, if you warm it up on the back of your hand first, problem solved. I first use the salmon/peach color to cover my dark circles (shade SC-2) and then i use the concealer (white shade) over it. I do understand that this product can be a bit drying as people have been saying but since i do use a moisturizing eye cream day and night, it keeps the under eye area moisturized and as a great primer for the concealer.

all in all, i think its very effective at covering my dark circles and although a bit expensive, ($28), it does last a long time since you use very little each time. its also recommended to use a concealer brush and also try using with the secret brightening powder which helps set the concealer while brightening!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Dive14 on 6/21/2010 6:58:00 AM more reviews by Dive14

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I can't believe that I haven't reviewed this yet, I think it's the best concealer ever. I love Cle de Peau for under-eyes and that is my other HG but for blemishes, this is the best without a doubt. I am obsessed with flawless skin and after trying it out at Space NK I knew straight away that I had to have it. I have it in every shade but the one that is a perfect match for my (NC25/30) skin is the second lightest - number 2. My sister who is a very fair, blue-eyed natural blonde uses shade 1. I have repurchased this shade as it is the one I use the most and therefore ran out quickest, and would repurchase again should I need to. I only gave it a 4 for packaging because one container I have doesn't close properly after I dropped it but otherwise it's brilliant - a good size for carrying around in handbags, even a clutch bag as it's slim and compact. And it comes with a mirror so is perfect for touch ups on the go. The formula is great, very opaque, dense and quite a dry consistency which is perfect for me as I can be sure it will stay put rather than sliding off halfway through the day. Lasting power is excellent in that respect. However u can warm it up with your fingers and it becomes more creamy which makes it easier to apply. I have the brush that goes with this and I would 100% recommend buying that also.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 loveisblind1 on 6/21/2010 4:31:00 AM more reviews by loveisblind1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

It is one of my favorite concealers. I have fair skin with warm golden undertones. I used a SC-2 (second lightest shade). SC-1 is only if you are extremely pale. I was afraid this product was going to look cakey because it was such a thick product, but I learned how to apply it correctly to not have that look. The concealer is two-toned with a salmon/golden color and a light golden based color. This matches my skin tone quite well.


The look: The sales lady told me to combine the colors together to achieve the perfect shade. Since the product is so thick, it is a little hard to blend the colors but its do-able. Combining the colors matches my skin tone and my foundation: I am the lightest shade here: http://karlasugar.net/wp-content/uploads/2010/01/Chanel-Lift-Lumiere-Foundation-Medium.jpg

It does have the potential to be cakey if not blended or applied correctly.


Coverage: Medium/Full. More towards Medium. If you have a blemish, this concealer conceals them quite well. The yellow based concealer conceals red marks well. With brown / dark spots, it is harder to cover up. The salmon color would be better suited for that.


Price: Reasonable. Last a LONG time though because only a very small amount of the product is used. I bought mine back in Winter and still haven't yet reached the halfway mark.


Use/Tips: Using a concealer brush, I sometimes apply the concealer before putting on my makeup to have a more uniform look. Placing the concealer on after is still fine though. I use the more salmon based color under my eyes as that color is better suited for covering dark circles under the eyes. I put the concealer on blemishes and around the mouth and nose to give a clean look. Its Extremely important to make sure the concealer is well blended around the edges of where the concealer is placed on your face. Put two or more layers of concealer on a blemish and set with a little bit of setting powder, lightly dusted. Place your foundation over it if you wear it.


Conclusion: I love it! Its a heavy duty concealer that matches my skin tone well. It has a tendency to look cakey but with the right application, it can make you closer to looking flawless.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 yogagirl on 6/16/2010 8:49:00 PM more reviews by yogagirl

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

It's good...I'm learning years later. If I apply it with my finger, too thick and cakey. I use it with a brush...and it's perfect for undereyes. It WILL camo your acne scars, too. That's a bit of a special effect, tho...you'll look "covered."

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 clarisseqt on 6/7/2010 5:15:00 AM more reviews by clarisseqt

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I thought this is the best concealer in the market that's why I've been putting up with it even though it breaks me out a lil. I use it only on special occasions when I have to look my "best". Even though it covers my acne scars, it highlights the spots since it's cakey and flaky. I can't get the perfect shade for me, I even tried to blend SC 4 and SC 3. It is difficult to use.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 pandaxen on 6/3/2010 3:46:00 AM more reviews by pandaxen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

After reading many reviews on this product in magazines, I decided to try it out. I think it is great that you get 2 colours to blend- easy for summer/winter months when you get darker/lighter. However, this was too drying for my face- I have sensitive, combination skin and it gave me the flakies though I have to comment the coverage is excellent and it covers all redness and didnt cause me to break out. Overall, a little on the dry side so I switched to Laura Mercier's Secret Concealer. It is meant to be used for the undereyes but the formula is creamier so I used that instead. Would not repurchase as it is pricey and gives me the flakies and emphasizes on any dry spots.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* andreacaracortada on 5/26/2010 6:25:00 AM more reviews by andreacaracortada

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

i have this in sc1. am not really sure though...you need to have perfect, well moisturised skin to have an amazing result here cause it flakes. it is also hard to apply under eyes, cause of its cakey consistency. i wish it was softer...for discolourations or major pimples i would go for something more pharmaceutical like avene's couvrance or la roche posay. to sum up: i will give this a miss.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 iheartea on 5/26/2010 12:25:00 AM more reviews by iheartea

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got this product coz I read a lot of good reviews about but I didn't like it! I was a bit disappointed coz I like laura mercier products. I found the product too dry upon application even if I warmed it in the palm of my hands with a brush. Mixing the colors the 2 colors to match my skin tone and cover my blemishes was too much work! Anyway, I had to return this product back and would obviously not purchase again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 juliehj81 on 5/13/2010 7:46:00 PM more reviews by juliehj81

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I use the salmon color to cover my dark circles under my eyes and the other color for redness around my nose and mouth. I think it is a great product that is light and doesn't cake up. It is between a cream to powder consistency. Some people complain about it drying underneath the eyes but it does not do that to me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* misscruella16 on 5/13/2010 6:15:00 AM more reviews by misscruella16

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I like this concealer because its very opaque and its not greasy like many concealers out there. You dont need a ton of powder to set this, but paradoxically it can be drying and tend to bring out flakies. I dont know if its just me, because I do use retin-a but this looks very drying on me and you can see every flake on my face that wasnt there before i put this on. I think it might be better for realllyyy oily people out there. I also dont like the idea of having to mix this with the white part every day because its time consuming. its great that you can get your perfect shade i guess, but its just a pain for me. i dont use this on my undereyes because it can look cakey too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Laura Mercier products

More Concealers products