Lancome Cils Booster XL

4.0

430 reviews

73% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua/Water/Eau, Oryza Sativa Cera/Rice Bran Wax, Cera Carnauba/Carnauba Wax/Cire De Carnauba, Cera Alba/Beeswax/Cire D'abeille, Stearic Acid, Candelilla Cera/Candelilla Wax/Cire De Candelilla, Triethanolamine, Palmitic Acid, Acacia Senegal/Acacia Senegal Gum, Panthenol, Sodium Polymethacrylate, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Propylparaben, PEG/PPG-17/18 Dimethicone, Methylparaben, Simethicone, Rayon, Polyquaternium-10, Tocopheryl Acetate, Polycaprolactone.


on 3/24/2009 11:38:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Kinky, Medium

Eyes: Black

This stuff is ok, but honestly, I do better with extra coats of Lancome mascara. Sometimes this makes lashes too thick and then my mascara just clumps. It seemed to work great at first, but now, I hardly ever reach for it. I likely should have used it more, but I always forget about it (telling)... Gave it four because it does make lashes longer and fuller, just at the expense of looking real (to me).



on 3/23/2009 8:59:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I received a tester for this and tried it...but found that it does not compare to Shiseido's Makeup mascara base. Cils XL does not hold my curls nor does it waterproof my mascara the way Shiseido's base does. It does help lengthen my lashes and that's it. The more and more I apply this, my lashes droop. With Shiseido's base, it actually lifts my curls and holds'em in place.


on 3/20/2009 11:12:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I've played with several mascara primers and continue to go back to my beloved Cils Booster. the price makes me seriously want to hurl .. so i don't use it daily, but Cils Booster XL definitely delivers nice dramatic lashes. I've tried shiseido's base and a few others .. but nothing fattens up my lashes like this one does. I wish it did add a little more thickness, and I hate that it tends to dry out faster than it should as I've had to return/exchange it periodically, but overall, it does a nice job of adding some drama. A good find if you don't mind plunking down $21.50 or so on a mascara base.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/13/2009 7:54:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My all time favorite mascara base ♥ is makes my mascara stay on all day ;)


on 3/13/2009 6:14:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

The product goes on white, but dries down to be clear. It does not harden the lashes, and is easy to wash off. While it does not create the false lash effect on me, it definitely boosts up the volume and length. it even helps curl! I do not curl my lashes with a curler, but if I press my fingers on the lashes and hold them for a few seconds at an angle, that creates a very gentle and natural curl. This product helps to create a bigger curl than mascara alone. By itself, it did not show any volumnizing effect. I saw the difference after I put on the mascara. For reference, I used it with Fresh Supernova mascara (which in itself is a very good volumnizing and lengthening mascara).


on 3/13/2009 2:56:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This stuff is quite simply amazing! I got it in the "Fishnets and Lace" set from Sephora, which includes Definicils mascara and a trial size Hypnose mascara. Using Cils Booster XL with Definicils gives me lashes that are so long they almost look artificial. The only downside is that because I have naturally long lashes already, I feel a bit silly using the Clis Booster XL during the day. For daytime, I just use the Definicils alone, which works wonders on me. For a night on the town, though, the Cils Booster XL followed up with Definicils is utterly smashing! I hope it lasts a good long time, considering that I don't use it everyday.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

First of all, no one NEEDS a mascara base. It's just an extra step in your makeup routine that you could probably avoid. I wasn't amazed with this as most people were. The formula is white and the wand is tough so be careful not to get too close to the base of your lashes because the wand is spiky and hurts. Don't let it dry before putting on your mascara. I learned that the hard way and ended up with huge clumps. It does make my lashes longer and curls them a bit but I don't see any extra volume and it doesn't make my mascara glide through my lashes. I probably won't purchase this again seeing as it was $21 USD and I don't really need a mascara base.


on 3/1/2009 12:49:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Girls I am telling you, buy this primer and you will not be able to live with out it. What a huge difference. I use it with the lancome oscillating mascara and I have people asking me all of the time if I am wearing fake lashes!! And I have not tried this but my girlfriend wears it with her cover girl mascara and swears by that. I am thinking of trying that next time and possibly saving myself a little cash (I AM in love with that oscillating mascara though, it is so dramamtic).
TIP- if you have not used a primer before, DO NOT let the white primer dry first, you must apply the mascara immediately over the WET primer. I do one eye at a time.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/27/2009 11:08:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

CROSS-POST:

WOW am I impressed! (This is for the XL Cils Booster.) I had been wanting to try a mascara base for some time, and it was between this, MAC, and Shiseido. Well, Shiseido was slightly more expensive and MAC's reviews were so-so. As a result, I choose this. The rave review may be because I have never tried a mascara base before but omg omg wow. I put this on and it does look slightly milky at the tips of my lashes and follow immediately with my mascara (currently MAC's Dazzlelash) and am amazed at how beautiful, long, and lush my lashes look. It's strange too... my mascara doesn't smudge all day (even through a short nap one day), but when I go to take it off at the end of the day, it slides right off, no objections. My curled lashes held, but they have a somewhat natural curl to begin with.


My lashes were long enough to touch my brows! (And I have high brows.) They were full, beautiful, and SOFT! Will be repurchasing, although I will eventually give Shiseido and MAC a try.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/26/2009 5:07:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Wow! I am so surprised at the older, bad reviews. I just love this stuff. I found out I need to apply the mascara immediately, before the Cils has time to dry. That really helps. My eyelashes curl by themselves now! And it come off easily. The cosmetician said woman use less mascara with this and I can see that may be true. It especially helps my thinner lower lashes. I don't know if they've improved this stuff since the bad reviews, but it sure has worked for me - no matter which mascara I happen to have in my hand.




Back to Top