Lancome • Hypnose Drama • Mascara

rated 3.3(458 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.47%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 blacklikemyheart on 1/22/2012 4:20:00 PM more reviews by blacklikemyheart

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Love this mascara because I like a lot of lash. However, I do feel that a tube of this dries out more quickly than some other mascaras.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TiaDGB on 1/19/2012 5:27:00 PM more reviews by TiaDGB

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Black    

Hm, I have not reviewed any Lancome products yet, so let's start with Hypnose Drama :) This product has its good and bad points, but I would not purchase the full size (I received a sample in a GWP). Overall it's all right and I don't have a problem using it, but it's far from my HG or to go mascara.


PROS
-It does seem to provide decent volume and length. Nothing amazing, but better than a lot of mascaras that I've owned.


CONS
-The brush shape is weird. It's a wavy shape with wiry bristles. Apparently it's wavy because you're supposed to rotate the brush as you work it through your lashes, but who's really going to do that? I tried it and it made absolutely no difference anyway. I mean I don't have a HUGE problem with this brush, but I would have preferred a more standard one. This is just another example of makeup companies running out of ideas so they market something totally pointless as extraordinary.
-It clumps. BAD. I usually go through my lashes with a clean, disposable mascara wand after applying this. Otherwise it will look like I have about three huge lashes.
-I don't really like the consistency. I find it wet and goopy and it doesn't seem to pick up evenly on the brush.


The lasting power is pretty average. It doesn't flake or smudge terribly, but it won't last for eons either. Just typical of a non-waterproof mascara. Overall, this mascara is all right but I will not repurchase. If anything, I'd stick with the regular Hypnose.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 luvtek on 1/17/2012 6:38:00 PM more reviews by luvtek

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

So glad I received this as a gift w/purchase or I would've never discovered it. It is THE BEST mascara I've ever used. No effort, goes on easy and can build and build to desired amount of volume & length w/o any mess! Just bought my 1st full-size after the 3 month rule and will more than likely stick with it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mllemustard on 1/10/2012 8:58:00 PM more reviews by mllemustard

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Hazel    

I rarely want to spend this much on mascara-- I usually make do with whatever comes as a gift with purchase-- but I think I will actually buy a tube of Hypnose Drama.

Maybe it's my skin looking really good these days, but I put the Hypnose Drama on this morning and realized that I didn't need any other makeup. No makeup. Just the mascara. At some point I put on Burt's Bees Red Dahlia lip balm, but there's not much color there. If I looked this good at a black-tie function, I'd be happy.

So, maybe I'm just having a really good day, but if the Hypnose Drama keeps this up, I'll unfortunately be spending $25 a tube every 3 months or so. Sigh.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Snuggles555 on 1/6/2012 3:21:00 PM more reviews by Snuggles555

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Love it! Stangest shaped brush I have ever seen but was amazed at how little effort/product it took for the application onto my eyelashes. WOW! Instant difference! One coat for daytime is really all that is needed. Maybe 2 coats for dressing up/going out. Will be buying this again & again, don't care how much it costs!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 orcuttjm on 1/3/2012 2:56:00 PM more reviews by orcuttjm

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I got a free sample of this with another purchase. I have the regular version in black. I was really excited to try this product because I'm usually a drugstore mascara kind of girl. The brush is kind of funky shaped, with wiry bristles. The first time I applied it, the product got all over my lids and ruined my eyeshadow. I chalked it up to operator error with the new brush and tried again. Since then, the application is better if I'm VERY careful, but still tends to get all over the place. The effect on my lashes is ehh. Just a normal mascara to me, no dramatic length or volume. With two coats it makes every lash I have congeal into one enormous clump. A few flakes throughout the day. But on the plus side, did not smudge under my oily eyes and removes easily with soap and water. All in all, probably will not purchase but glad I got a chance to check one more product off my list.

Edit: Wore this to work the other day, and it did slightly smudge and flake under my eyes. Not the worst mascara I've ever worn, but not the best either.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 1uella on 12/30/2011 5:34:00 AM more reviews by 1uella

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Been buying the mascara often despite my usual chopping and changing - it just goes on really thick and glossy, and does hold a slight curl, which is better than any other mascara I have tried. Except maybe YSL's False Lash Effect, which smells disturbingly perfumed and is crazily expensive. This one is just right, although I would say that if it's left on overnight it does become very crumbly and flaky which gets in my eyes - but that's my fault for not removing it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Emma93 on 12/30/2011 5:26:00 AM more reviews by Emma93

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I have been repurchasing this product for almost 2 years now. I absolutely love this mascara. I have read some of the previous reviews and I can not report fallout or anything like that. I know that everyones lashes are different, even though they might look similar, so I totally understand that this mascara might not work for everyone, which is why I'll give it 4 points. I have pretty short but dense lashes and there hasn't been one lenghtening mascara that did the job for me, so I switched to even more volume than I already have and this mascara gives me both: more volume and length. The only thing that I don't like about this, is that on some days it doesn't keep the curl, but usually it does. Definitely a go to mascara for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dolledup21 on 12/30/2011 2:24:00 AM more reviews by dolledup21

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

i love this mascara! although i took a lippie off due to the design of the brush, kinda sucks because it tends to get very clumpy. but when wiped off and applied correctly this mascara is nothing less than amazing!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Coopersmom on 12/28/2011 10:27:00 AM more reviews by Coopersmom

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have never used a mascara that flaked so much. My under eye area and cheeks are covered with black specks within an hour of application and things get worse as the day goes on. Hoping I just got an old/bad mascara. I have thrown this away after 2 weeks use.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Lancome products

More Mascara products