CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser

3.8

562 reviews

66% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Glycerin, Behentrimonium Methosulfate/Cetearyl Alcohol, Ceramide 3, Ceramide 6-11, Ceramide 1, Hyaluronic Acid, Cholesterol, Polyoxyl 40 Stearate, Glyceryl Monostearate, Stearyl Alcohol, Polysorbate 20, Potassium Phosphate, Dipotassium Phosphate, Sodium Lauroyl Lactylate, Cetyl Alcohol, Disodium EDTA, Phytosphingosine, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Carbomer, Xanthan Gum


Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

Make sure you are washing the product of your skin fully, as with any cleanser it may clog your pores if you do not rinse thourougly enough. For reference I have dry, sensitive skin with bouts of hormonal break outs around my chin and cheeks. If your considering this cleanser and you are trying to pick between Cetaphil and CerVe, just go with CerVe I personally had breakouts with Cetaphil.

P.S. I really like that this cleanser comes in a bottle with pump included, very convienent. No frills packaging which can be a put off to many, but let the Cermaides and Hyluranic acid speak for themselves..This cleanser also lasts a very good amount of time.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 1/11/2013 10:49:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

I love this and use it all over in the shower and to wash my face in the morning. I have very dry skin and since I started using it, I feel so much better. Afterwards, I use Cerave Lotion all over while still wet, which is a rather light lotion that works better than many heavier ones. I use it mostly as a body lotion, but it is fine as a facial lotion too. These products have really changed my life and it's winter and I am very, very dry normally. Even in summer I am very dry. My husband loves it as a facial cleanser and he has somewhat oily skin. I love it as a hand soap too as I wash my hands a lot and they used to hurt so and crack. The only thing it is not good for is taking of heavy make up, especially eye makeup, so I use Kiehl's Ultra Cleanser for that or Neutrogena Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser. This is a great product. It could be tad cheaper, but when you think how good it is, I'd probably pay more for it. I go through a lot of it and am hooked. This really does keep protect your skin and has not caused any breakouts.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 1/8/2013 7:20:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I've been using this as my only cleanser for about 3 months now. I originally meant to buy the foaming cleanser so when I first used this one it was kinda off putting. Its doesn't suds up at all. I decided to use it up as fast as I could and then purchase the foaming cleanser. Well between then and now I fell in love with it! Lol. Its very gentle on your skin so it doesn't remove makeup well but if I don't wear makeup all day and then clean my face with it I feel like it cleans my skin adequately. My current routine is to use this in the morning and use a cold cream at night. The bottle has lasted a long time and I love using my clarisonic with this too.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 1/5/2013 1:35:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

My dermatologist recommended this cleanser to combat my hormonal acne and I love this stuff.
Note: as other reviewers have mentioned, this cleanser does not remove makeup very well.
I take a slightly wet cotton pad and pump some of the product onto the pad and massage it in circles to remove my makeup. I do this twice to remove the majority of my concealer, powder, etc.
I use Shiseido cotton pads which are very gentle.

I then pump some of the product into my hands and gently massage the face to remove the final traces of makeup.

My skin feels soft afterwards. I've tried Cetaphil and I think that made me break out. (my skin is very sensitive and I have rosacea)

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 12/30/2012 10:48:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Grey

This is tied with Aquanil for my favorite cleanser/body wash.

I don't wash my face everyday, and when I do, it's really quickly in the shower using the same wash I use on my body (my skin's crazy dry and sensitive, so this works better than it sounds).
With no fragrances, irritating essential oils, dyes or lathering agents, my skin is happy! Finally, almost no itching when I get out of the shower.
And, to my shock, my skin actually *looks* better. I did a double take of my face after the first time I used it, it just looked healthier somehow. I still can't wash my face every day, especially in the winter, but this is my go-to cleanser because of its richness. Even my monthly little breakout looks calmer.

It's also interesting that CeraVe's moisturizing cream irritated my skin, and yet they contain a lot of the same ceramides and sphingolipids. Perhaps I just can't have those things remain on my skin, but it's ok if the contact is temporary? I don't know. But I do recommend giving this one a try, even if their moisturizer didn't work out for you. Maybe get a sample size, since the pump bottle is enormous.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 12/28/2012 12:11:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

An OKAY product, just not for me. I have very sensitive and dry skin on my face from swimming. I tried using this on my face since it was recommended by a that I saw dermatologist and my doctor.

After using this for about a week, I saw no improvement on the dryness on my skin. I also noticed that when washing my face with this, my skin began to feel a bit tighter and sting/BURN a little. It felt even dryer when I washed and dried my face.

I cant even tell you how much it burned my face when I used it once after I was in the sun for a little long time (no sun burn, just my face got really sensitive)
--------------------------------------------------------
BOTTOM LINE: is OKAY product, DEFINITIVELY NOT for people who have a good amount of sensitivity to their face.

BETTER ALTERNATIVE (if willing to spend $21 at Sephora, or where ever is carried)
KORRES Milk Proteins Foaming Cleanser 5.07 FL OZ

Leaves the skin feeling not dry at all and I can even use it after I have been in the sun for a long time. A little pricey, but currently the ONLY cleanser that I use.


on 12/24/2012 7:18:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I love this cleanser. It's extremely gentle, soothing and actually hydrating. I hadn't realized how much other cleansers were drying out my skin until I tried this. This doesn't break me out at all. My only complaint is that it doesn't completely remove makeup mainly mascara (I have to use a foaming cleanser on my eyes) otherwise I would have given it 5 lippies.


on 12/16/2012 2:08:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Ok everyone raves about this but I have to dissent. I dislike this immensely. It doesn't make my skin feel clean and somehow makes it feel dryer despite being a hydrating cleanser. It feels cheap. It leaves makeup behind. It stings my eyes. Marcelle's cream cleanser is way better.


on 12/13/2012 7:28:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I am obsessed with this! About a year ago, I went to my dermatologist because I suffer from persistent hormonal acne. He gave me a few samples or various products and Cerave just happened to be one of them. I can't believe I just brought this stuff out now. My skin has been going crazy because of school, winter and stress. After only two days of using this cleanser, I noticed a huge difference in the overall appearance of my skin. My skin has been dry lately, but this cleanser used with my clarisonic cures all of that. Also, this cleanser is so soothing. It does not irritate my skin at all. With that being said, I'm going out today and buying a huge tube of it. Love!
EDIT: Ok so about a week into using this, I started to get major clogged pores.... I can't say this directly caused the problem, but it certainly didn't help. Needless to say, I've stopped using. Such a shame because I really wanted to like this product.


on 12/11/2012 7:57:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is great for cleansing already cleaned skin.....
First off, I have dry and rosacea skin.
I do like this product but it doesn't clean off "the day" and makeup residue well enough to use at night. I think is great in the morning when you need a quick rinse off after sleeping. In the morning my skin has already been cleared of makeup and etc. and since my skin is very dry using my night time cleanser would be too much on my senstive skin. This works nicely for that. It doesn't dry me out and leaves my skin soft.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top