CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser

3.7

529 reviews

66% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Glycerin, Behentrimonium Methosulfate/Cetearyl Alcohol, Ceramide 3, Ceramide 6-11, Ceramide 1, Hyaluronic Acid, Cholesterol, Polyoxyl 40 Stearate, Glyceryl Monostearate, Stearyl Alcohol, Polysorbate 20, Potassium Phosphate, Dipotassium Phosphate, Sodium Lauroyl Lactylate, Cetyl Alcohol, Disodium EDTA, Phytosphingosine, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Carbomer, Xanthan Gum


on 7/6/2012 2:27:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

If you have oily skin like me, I do not recommend. Will not remove makeup, and does not thoroughly clean or remove oils. I bought it because I am on prescription acne meds and my doc recommended something gentle. It felt good after i cleansed, my skin felt moisturized, but this caused trouble for me after a few days. Breakouts increased. This should be used only on very dry, sensitive, non acne prone skin.



on 7/6/2012 2:15:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I love it however I would not use this to remove make-up. Tried it once and did not find it all that effective. I only use Purity for that. However Cereve is perfect in the morning or for times I want to freshen up my dry aging skin when I am sans make-up. My skin looks glowing after I use this. Easy to locate and not expensive. 2 thumbs up.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/5/2012 9:30:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Love this cleanser! I have oily-acne skin, but this really helped my skin clear out. You only need 2 push and you will have enough product....At first, I thought that it wouldnt enter my pores to cleanser them, but it actually does an excellent job cleansing and giving a natural protection to the skin! Ceramides really helped my skin to retain the moisture and not to get dry with my other acne product (lotions, spot treatment, toner)...I have used one bottle for about 6 months already and I will soon rebuy another bottle! This is the perfect cleanser for all types of skin! <3


on 6/29/2012 12:27:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Gradually caused breakouts. Small ones, cysts. My skin was turning into an awful mess. I didn't understand very quickly because it is listed as non-comedogenic. I will say that it does seem to repair the moisture barrier. On balance I wish I had not done this. It is very gentle, so it can take 2-3 attempst to remove makeup. But it is adequate as a cleanser. If you need something really exceptionally gentle perhaps try it, but at the first sign of trouble cease and desist! My clogged pores became apparent after a couple of weeks of being quite satisfied.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 6/28/2012 10:48:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have combination skin that is very sensitive. I guess I should have known better than to try this product . It's greasy and makes your face feel like you rubbed armoral on it. It's most likely because glycerin is the main ingredient. Felt like it just sat on top of my skin and repelled water so it doesn't even clean at all! Hated it. Also tried the foaming version . It feels like rubbing ky on your face. Also dried me out too much. Cetaphil is much better!


on 6/27/2012 10:01:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I liked this facewash right away but I'm generally not product loyal at all so expected after I used this up, I would move on but over a year later I ran out and bought a second bottle.

I use this in the morning and at night and sometimes in the afternoon to double cleanse after using an oil cleanser to remove my waterproof sunblock. I just gently splash some lukewarm water on my face, take a pumpful of product and rub it in with a gentle fingerpad massage and then rinse off. It's very gentle and leaves my skin feeling clean but not at all tight, not even over my cheeks which the driest part of my face. It works well in both the summer and winter and for the size of the bottle (12 oz.) is quite cheap. I bought my bottle for about $9 on sale.

There are some downsides for those that care. It does not foam. It took a bit to get accustomed to a non-foaming wash, but now it doesn't bother me. It does not remove waterproof makeup or sunblock. You'll need a makeup remover separate from this cleanser if you want it to do those things. It has an ugly label that makes it look dirt cheap. I actually ignored this bottle at the store because I thought it was some dollar store rip off cleanser. Now I'm just happy it works so well and is still a bargain.


on 6/26/2012 11:38:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this in the winter time! The summer not as much but the winter it is a must have! It keeps your skin hydrated with out making it oily.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/23/2012 10:28:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I used CeraVe cleanser while I was on Accutane 3 years ago due to the dryness and tenderness while on that med, and this was good for me then. However, soon after coming off Accutane treatment, my skin became combination skin, and for combination skin that is not dry or sensitive, I found this product to not be sufficient to clean my skin. People with dry or sensitive skin may benefit from this as it is very similar to regular Cetaphil cleanser. I however have re-purposed the remaining amount I have into a makeup remover pre-wash, and it works good for that.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/20/2012 10:25:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this cleanser. I have combination skin with an oily t-zone and dry cheeks, and this cleanser moisturizes well and doesn't leave my skin feeling taut, as some previous products I've tried have. I only use it in the morning though since it's not strong enough to wash away make up (not that it's supposed to). This is a great, mild cleanser that doesn't irritate my skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/18/2012 3:37:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I purchased this cleanser probably 4 months ago and I have to say it has really been great for my skin. It is very subtle and does not irritate my skin. I do have occasional break outs but using this product I have noticed my skin looks and feels healthier. The formula is not at all foamy and it does not remove eye make up well. Before cleansing my face I use an oil-free makeup remover to remove any eye make up then I will use this product. I have used other cleaners in the past and I feel the ingredients are too harsh and irritating but Cerave is very gentle on my skin. The price is considerably well, $12, which I don't mind paying since it has done so well for me. I also use the AM lotion with SPF and it pairs well with the cleanser.


Back to Top