CeraVe • Hydrating Cleanser • Cleansers

rated 3.8(480 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 cindythenarwhal on 1/29/2012 7:55:00 PM more reviews by cindythenarwhal

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I was given samples of this cleanser by my dermatologist. I used it as they instructed and I ended up liking it. I purchased the full size after I ran out of the samples. After around a month or two, my face started to react badly to it. My face would get extremely itchy and painful whenever I cleansed with it. I'm still not quite sure to this day why it stopped working so well. I guess it just wasn't for me.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lola88 on 1/24/2012 12:31:00 PM more reviews by lola88

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

My favorite cleanser! I have dry skin. Washing my face in wintertime really dries my skin out. My face does not feel as tight after washing with this cleanser. It has a very creamy consistency and I love the pump for hygiene. The fact that this is a drugstore cleanser is an added bonus of not having to pay a high price.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Benzgirl79 on 1/22/2012 12:51:00 AM more reviews by Benzgirl79

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

For reference: I have very dry, sensitive skin that will break out in an irritation rash or tiny milia if a product does not agree with me. I tend to react to anything with alcohol or SLS.


I really wanted to like this cleanser after all the great things I've heard about it. I usually use Ren Hydra-Calm Gel Cleanser since my skin is so sensitive and have been happy with it for the most part but wanted to find a less expensive option since I go through it so quickly. Unfortunately, I didn't last 5 days with this cleanser as my skin progressively got worse each day with rash-like spotty irritation along my jawline, tiny bumps on my forehead and one very large pimple on my temple which I never get. I also see a lot of congestion on my chin (gross, under-the-skin clogged pores) underneath the corners of my mouth. To make matters worse, I feel the preliminary pain of an upcoming cystic pimple between my eyes - hello unicorn!


I do like the pump and the price cannot be beat, about $11 for 12 oz.The consistency is creamy and I only needed 4-5 pumps to ensure it covered my face entirely and messaged it in. I do wear foundation (Bourjois Healthy Mix) and did find that it did not pass the "white towel test," there was quite a bit of foundation left, even after two washes with vigorous massaging. However, I did do some reading about this prior to purchasing and knew it wasn't a great MU remover. It also had a strange "waxy" or "squeaky" feeling on my skin when washing. I did like the way my skin "felt" after using this, (very soft and moisturized) however, I did not like the way my skin "looked." It was splotchy immediately after washing and in the morning, I saw my skin noticeably deteriorate. I also noticed that my hands were extremely dry after washing which I've never had happen with any cleanser. This just didn't agree with me, which is disappointing since I thought I'd be the perfect candidate for this cleanser.

* Update: I've moved on to Estee Lauder's Verite cleanser for combo/sensitive skin and it has been a godsend.

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sillychicken on 1/16/2012 6:41:00 PM more reviews by sillychicken

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

This package is not the best for traveling but if you turn the pump to the off position and tape a small paper cup over it it won't spill on a plane ride.

I've been using this for a few weeks now and I find it cleans very well and moisturizes. It doesn't suds up but it will clean your face, you just have to gently massage your face with it for a couple of minutes.

It reminds me of my discontinued Kiehl's Centella face wash with a similar look, feel, lack of smell. The great thing is although it is pretty much the same but with different packaging, it is very cheap. It's about $12 for 12 oz, while the Kiehl's cost me about $30-40 for 8oz, depending on what country I got it from.

Will buy again and again. HG.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 virlomi on 1/15/2012 3:33:00 PM more reviews by virlomi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is a great no frills cleanser. As I am sensitive to SLS/SLES I was on the hunt for one without it. Enter Cerave Hydrating. Cleanses my skin beautifully without irritation. I cannot comment on make-up removal as I don't wear anything but mascara & lip-balm daily. Over time this has helped my skin barrier repair itself. Will never be without this in the winter.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 tisawonderfullife on 1/13/2012 1:38:00 PM more reviews by tisawonderfullife

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I needed a new cleanser to go with my clarisonic mia. I like Cerave products and am using the AM lotion and moisturizing lotion, and with the good reviews of this product, I decided to give it a go. I washed my face with this at night and woke up in the morning to find many tiny pimples on my forehead. I guess its a bit too hydrating for certain parts of my face that are more oily than others. I gave it another go the next night and still more pimples. To see it if was just hormones, I washed with my olay regenerist mini-peel and the next day, the tiny pimples were gone.

I really wanted this to work. Unfortunately I will continue my search for a cleanser. However, I found this product to be a great body wash especially in these winter months.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* riotkitty on 1/1/2012 1:48:00 PM more reviews by riotkitty

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I used to have oily, acne prone skin in my teens and 20's but now that I'm in my 30's my skin has gotten so dry yet is still acne prone. I ran out of my old cleanser (Boscia Purifying Gel) and decided I needed something more gentle and cost effective. I love Cerave's moisturizing cream and this had a lot the same great ingredients with the detergents down on the list. I use it with a Clarisonic Mia Brush and it just the amount of cleaning I need without stripping the skin.

Its true it doesn't lather and works kind of like a cleansing conditioner for the skin. This is is good thing because lathering agents are drying to the skin and hair.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 yaytaytay on 12/29/2011 2:45:00 PM more reviews by yaytaytay

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I dont even wanna began to explain how much of a struggle it has been to find a gentle cleasner with NO harsh chemicals or fragrances in it but still keeps my acne prone sensitive skin in check. Finally i have found this CeraVe line! SOOOOO happy. I use the hydrating cleanser and the PM night creme and then use the cleanser in the morning again with the AM moisturizer! My skin has never been clearer. I dont wear face make up so i cant tell you whether it takes of face make up well but im sure it does. But when i do get a pimple or two every month they never get big and they go away within a day or two when im using this. Love love love.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AuNatural716 on 12/25/2011 9:21:00 PM more reviews by AuNatural716

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

YUCK this is basically like a less irritating Cetaphil cleanser. It is pretty much the same consistency, texture, and color, and I never felt like my skin was really clean whenever I used this because it has such a filmy quality. After a few weeks use, I found that it was even clogging up my skin and preventing breakouts from healing over, so I immediately quit use and found Purpose soap to be a better choice for my oily, acne-prone skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ShalimarMoon on 12/21/2011 3:57:00 PM more reviews by ShalimarMoon

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Finally, a moisturizing cleanser that actually is hydrating but rinses off easily and doesn't break me out. My 40+ skin needs more moisture these days, but I still break out at the drop of a hat, so I'm happy to find this. The texture and weight are similar to hair conditioner; this does not lather. I don't wear makeup so I can't speak to whether this removes mascara, etc., but it washes away my sunscreen just fine.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More CeraVe products

More Cleansers products