CeraVe • Hydrating Cleanser • Cleansers

rated 3.7(523 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 tikabindu on 6/26/2012 11:38:00 PM more reviews by tikabindu

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love this in the winter time! The summer not as much but the winter it is a must have! It keeps your skin hydrated with out making it oily.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Gracious_Lady on 6/23/2012 10:28:00 AM more reviews by Gracious_Lady

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I used CeraVe cleanser while I was on Accutane 3 years ago due to the dryness and tenderness while on that med, and this was good for me then. However, soon after coming off Accutane treatment, my skin became combination skin, and for combination skin that is not dry or sensitive, I found this product to not be sufficient to clean my skin. People with dry or sensitive skin may benefit from this as it is very similar to regular Cetaphil cleanser. I however have re-purposed the remaining amount I have into a makeup remover pre-wash, and it works good for that.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Unmasked on 6/20/2012 10:25:00 PM more reviews by Unmasked

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love this cleanser. I have combination skin with an oily t-zone and dry cheeks, and this cleanser moisturizes well and doesn't leave my skin feeling taut, as some previous products I've tried have. I only use it in the morning though since it's not strong enough to wash away make up (not that it's supposed to). This is a great, mild cleanser that doesn't irritate my skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bobbjayvas on 6/18/2012 3:37:00 PM more reviews by bobbjayvas

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased this cleanser probably 4 months ago and I have to say it has really been great for my skin. It is very subtle and does not irritate my skin. I do have occasional break outs but using this product I have noticed my skin looks and feels healthier. The formula is not at all foamy and it does not remove eye make up well. Before cleansing my face I use an oil-free makeup remover to remove any eye make up then I will use this product. I have used other cleaners in the past and I feel the ingredients are too harsh and irritating but Cerave is very gentle on my skin. The price is considerably well, $12, which I don't mind paying since it has done so well for me. I also use the AM lotion with SPF and it pairs well with the cleanser.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 danafoxx on 6/17/2012 8:08:00 PM more reviews by danafoxx

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

i love this! i use is morning and night. because it is summer, and i am outside most of the time i lose a lot of moisture in my skin. this is perfect, it gets rid of my dry patches fairly quickly when followed up with moisturizer. my skin always feels so soft and CLEAN after i use it.
it won't remove makeup, so do that before hand. this bottle has lasted me a long time and when it finally runs out i will definitely be purchasing again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* auburngal on 6/17/2012 7:59:00 PM more reviews by auburngal

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

After 30 years on my shelf, Cetaphil cleanser finally let me down by stripping my skin of its oils. I asked my dermatologist what to use and she said right away, "CeraVe." She's right. CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser is more emollient and moisturizing than Cetaphil for my sensitive, roseatic skin. I can use it with water, or pat it on dry, wiping off with a damp cloth or soft tissue. It's more expensive than Cetaphil, but much, much less expensive than any department store brand.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 domirox on 6/13/2012 3:49:00 PM more reviews by domirox

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I had this given to me by my dermatologist after hormones took a nasty toll on my skin (acne galore, when I have NEVER had it before and supremely dry/sore/flakey patches on my face). This cleanser is wonderful! I don't use it for eye make up removal (I use Doves beauty bar for that) but as a moisturizing cleanser it is PERFECT. I don't even need to moisturize every day (when I do, I use CeraVe's mositurizing lotion - also wonderful.)

The dry patches I mentioned were an on-and-off problem for years that nothing else ever corrected. This cleanser cleared it up in a matter of days.

Some people have said it feels like a "film" is left on your skin but I disagree - I just feel like, after I pat my face dry, my skin feels like I rubbed in some moisturizer while the skin was still wet. And I LOVE that!

I would absolutely recommend this.
I have problems with oily skin, very sensitive skin and (at the moment) acne. This moisturizer does not cause problems for any of those conditions!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LenaOfDC on 6/13/2012 8:53:00 AM more reviews by LenaOfDC

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I had to stop using my salicylic acid acne wash (I used it to prevent ocassional pimples, I don't have acne) because I started using retin-a for fine lines.


I was recommended this product and I was deathly afraid it would break me out but so far it has been wonderful. I've been using it for around 2 months. My skin feels very soft and moisturized after I use it and not as dry and "squeaky clean" as it did with the acne wash.


I don't wear anything but concealer for dark circles, mascara and a little eyeliner on my top lid so I'm not sure how this would be if you regularly wear a full face of makeup. My hunch is not that great.


Only complaint is the packaging. I wish the pump could be used in a different direction other than to the side (turning it forward locks it). Seems like it should be opposite. I noticed this when I was traveling.


I've also noticed that the very few hormonal pimples I've gotten have healed in half the time they did before and I attribute this to less chemicals and aggravation but I could be wrong.


But it works for me and I think I'll use this forever and ever.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BlueeyedSusan on 6/11/2012 7:07:00 PM more reviews by BlueeyedSusan

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I use this with my Clarisonic Mia. This has hyaluronic acid in it which most high priced cleansers and creams add, but this is very reasonably priced. When used with the Mia, it is a perfect product. I can why people would not like this if used with a wash cloth or their hands because of the texture but with the Mia, trust me this is what you want to use. I tried different cleansers when I bought my Mia but this is the right consistency and it does not cause break outs with my sensitive skin. It has all the benefits of hyaluronic acid with the right consistency to use with the Mia. I did my research before I bought this, attempting to find what products are right to use with the Mia, this fit the bill.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gommiebears on 6/5/2012 8:27:00 PM more reviews by gommiebears

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Dark, Cool   Hair: Black, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Ironically for my oily, acne-prone, sensitive skin, I actually love this cleanser. Let me explain why. There are days when my skin freaks out and my usual cleansers would be too harsh to put on my skin. Enter the Cerave Hydrating cleanser. With this cleanser, I can easily cleanse my skin and remove all of the dirt and crap from my face. This is my morning cleanser and sometimes night time cleanser. It doesn't break me out or burn, unlike Cetaphil. I wished I known about this cleansers years ago then maybe my acne wouldn't be so persistent. I swear I have ignorant and hateful derms.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More CeraVe products

More Cleansers products