CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser

3.7

555 reviews

66% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Glycerin, Behentrimonium Methosulfate/Cetearyl Alcohol, Ceramide 3, Ceramide 6-11, Ceramide 1, Hyaluronic Acid, Cholesterol, Polyoxyl 40 Stearate, Glyceryl Monostearate, Stearyl Alcohol, Polysorbate 20, Potassium Phosphate, Dipotassium Phosphate, Sodium Lauroyl Lactylate, Cetyl Alcohol, Disodium EDTA, Phytosphingosine, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Carbomer, Xanthan Gum


on 12/16/2012 2:08:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Ok everyone raves about this but I have to dissent. I dislike this immensely. It doesn't make my skin feel clean and somehow makes it feel dryer despite being a hydrating cleanser. It feels cheap. It leaves makeup behind. It stings my eyes. Marcelle's cream cleanser is way better.



on 12/13/2012 7:28:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I am obsessed with this! About a year ago, I went to my dermatologist because I suffer from persistent hormonal acne. He gave me a few samples or various products and Cerave just happened to be one of them. I can't believe I just brought this stuff out now. My skin has been going crazy because of school, winter and stress. After only two days of using this cleanser, I noticed a huge difference in the overall appearance of my skin. My skin has been dry lately, but this cleanser used with my clarisonic cures all of that. Also, this cleanser is so soothing. It does not irritate my skin at all. With that being said, I'm going out today and buying a huge tube of it. Love!
EDIT: Ok so about a week into using this, I started to get major clogged pores.... I can't say this directly caused the problem, but it certainly didn't help. Needless to say, I've stopped using. Such a shame because I really wanted to like this product.


on 12/11/2012 7:57:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is great for cleansing already cleaned skin.....
First off, I have dry and rosacea skin.
I do like this product but it doesn't clean off "the day" and makeup residue well enough to use at night. I think is great in the morning when you need a quick rinse off after sleeping. In the morning my skin has already been cleared of makeup and etc. and since my skin is very dry using my night time cleanser would be too much on my senstive skin. This works nicely for that. It doesn't dry me out and leaves my skin soft.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I like this cleanser, as it takes off all of my makeup (I don't wear any long wear or waterproof makeup) without stripping all of the oils out of my very dry skin. However, I don't find it to be any better at cleaning my face than other similar cleansers (such as Cetaphil ). If you like cleansers that have a little something extra in them, then do try it. It has hyaluronic acid and ceramides, both good for your skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/4/2012 1:58:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I've been using this for about half a month or so. I'm not seeing any improvement in my skin from those wonderful 'acids'. I was really hoping that this cleanser and the moisturizer by the same brand I use immediately afterward would help with my oily skin. It doesn't dry it out at least, as the Phisoderm cleanser I was using does. And I've found that it's not helping at all with my very mild case of acne. It was very expensive, considering the size of the bottle, and even after I had some coupons for them.


on 11/10/2012 1:10:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

OMG!!! I love this cleanser and moisturizer!!! I was having some dry, flaky skin issues on my face for quite some time. I went to the dermatologist expecting to be told that I would need some costly treatment or prescription. I was a little ambivalent when the dr. recommended Cerave Cleanser and Moisturizer. I thought there was no way that an OTC product was going to help since I had already tried so many. I used the samples that the dr had given me and I was more-than-pleasantly surprised. Within a week, my skin was completely transformed! I have since started using it on my entire body. My previously red, dry and flaky elbows are now smooth and my previously beyond-dry legs are silky smooth! I've also bought it for my teenage son who has had both eczema and sebhorreic dermititis. I won't go so far as to claim that it got rid of these conditions, but it definitely helped to moisturize his skin and made a very noticeable improvement.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I only use this after a peel, wax or when I don't need to wash away makeup. The cleanser is very, very gentle, but doesn't take off makeup well at all. I'm not mad I bought it but would hesitate before buying another full-size bottle. Truly love the AM PM moisturizers but those reviews are elsewhere.


on 11/6/2012 6:10:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I think I read a blogger who recommended this a while ago as an alternative to Cetaphil, which never worked as well for me as it did for other people. I really like the Cerave - itís gentle but cleansing and strikes the balance of not being either stripping or too greasy. I use it when washing my face at the sink, and something a bit thicker in the shower (Eucerin redness relief cleanser in the winter and Neutrogena redness soothing cleanser in the summer).


on 11/4/2012 7:18:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have been using CereVe Hydrating Cleanser for over a year now. Initially I did not like it because I am use to harsh cleansers but after a while it grew on me. It was very gentle and was able to clean any makeup off (except mascara) while not drying out my skin. I recently became aware of some of the ingredients put in skincare products with that being said my only complaint is that it contains some of those ingredients (Parabens and DMDM Hydantoin). Due to this I have stopped using this and am in a search for a gentle cleanser that does not contain these ingredients. Sad day :(


on 10/19/2012 2:51:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is an edited review. I thought this cleanser was irritating my eyes but it turns out not to be the culprit. Which is great, because no other cleanser I have experimented with compares to this one. I can only use it in the morning because it does not take off makeup super welll - but sometimes I also cleanse first with the foaming cleanser and then follow up with this or vice versa (kind of like a double cleanse). I find it very gentle around my eye area and I think it has even help keep my eye irritation (blepharitis) under control by helping me to gently cleanse my eyes. This and the foaming cleanser are my HG.


Back to Top