CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser

3.8

535 reviews

66% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Glycerin, Behentrimonium Methosulfate/Cetearyl Alcohol, Ceramide 3, Ceramide 6-11, Ceramide 1, Hyaluronic Acid, Cholesterol, Polyoxyl 40 Stearate, Glyceryl Monostearate, Stearyl Alcohol, Polysorbate 20, Potassium Phosphate, Dipotassium Phosphate, Sodium Lauroyl Lactylate, Cetyl Alcohol, Disodium EDTA, Phytosphingosine, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Carbomer, Xanthan Gum


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I have extremely sensitive oily, acne prone skin. THis product is so gentle and sensitive, fragrance free, non-comedogenic and does not make my skin flare up the way other cleansers do. It is comparable to cetaphil because I have used it as well. I only use this in the morning and purpose cleanser at night because the cerave is so gentle that it doesn't get my makeup off completely. It's a wonderful cleanser for people that have major skin problems and are just looking for a nice basic cleanser without all the bells and whistles.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.



Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Curly, Other

Eyes: Blue

I get it -- this product is probably relatively good for dry, mature skin, or winter time skin cleaning. However, it considering it's a CLEANSER, it does NOT adequately clean my face. Left behind is sunscreen and makeup, which is very disappointing. Despite my wanting to be gentler on my 30+ skin, I I don't think I can deal with a product that requires so many extra steps, (makeup wipes beforehand and toner afterward before moisturizer). Disappointing.


on 8/5/2012 3:07:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Will forever be a loyal customer!
I have combo skin, leans more towards oily.
Lately, however, ive had the worst dry patches, painfully dry. So noticeable that people at work have commented. After doing some research I decide to try Cerave. Wow. After 2 days of use I saw the difference, one week and wow. No more painful dry patches my skin looks and feel so good. I also use the pm moisturizer. I use this with my clarisonic and it's so awesome.
So gratefult that I found this.


on 8/3/2012 5:00:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this cleanser because I absolutely adore the CeraVe moisturizing cream. I figured it couldn't hurt because the ingredients just seem like they won't hurt. A lot of people complained that it left behind a bit of a film, but I figured that was fine. So I purchased it and took it to a 3 week camp thing I had to test out the results.
My biggest complaint with this facial cleanser is that it just doesn't clean my face well enough. I know sometimes you can't tell whether it's cleaning your face or not, but the fact that it couldn't remove even the most washable of my eyeshadows disappointed me. Generally speaking, the only makeup I ever have a hard time removing is mascara. But then I figured I'd keep trying it (I didn't have anything else, anyway) and I noticed my skin just kept going downhill. I have pretty good skin and really only break out because of hormones or if something I'm using is bad, such as this facial cleanser. It wasn't like I had a crazy overnight reaction, it's just that I started breaking out in places I normally didn't break out and got a bunch of weird bumps all over my face. So I figured my face just wasn't getting cleaned enough, toughed out the last few days, and brought it home as a morning cleanser. I must say, I love this in the morning because it doesn't strip my face of moisture and just removes excess oil. I'd really like to love this because it leaves my skin balanced, but it just doesn't clean well enough to be the only cleanser I rely on. I won't buy it again, but I can use it up.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/2/2012 7:35:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Omg!!!!! This stuff feels extremely hydrating!! I'm a person who has very dry skin. Its so dry sometimes it stings. Specially around my eye area. I just bought this and I couldn't wait to write about my first impression. It lathers up a bit and its very creamy. It feels like a very moisturizing lotion. My face feels so soft. I didn't even feel the need to apply lotion which is silly because I seriously can't live without moisturizing my face! Ill keep using it to see if any of my small breakouts reduce. But this is def for a person with really dry skin. :)


on 7/23/2012 12:26:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Very happy with the CeraVe Cleanser. Very soothing and comforting and cleanses well - no residue on cotton when I tone afterwards. Lots of product for the amount you receive. The packaging is nothing glamourous but feel that I can overlook this for the awesomeness that this cleanser is. I have very sensitive skin (eczema, rosacea) and clog-prone (esp to dimethicone, silicone) and this has been wonderful to my skin. It has CERAMIDES in it which are really good for skin in general. Which they had the PM Face Lotion available in Canada. It isn't drying ot greasy whatsoever, but very balancing. Wish I knew about this earlier. Was using Cetaphil before but this feels more soothing and moisturizing. I would suggest PRE-CLEANSING beforehand. I use 2 pumps each time I cleanse, twice a day - it's a good cleansing practice in general. The first time to remove makeup. The second to deep cleanse the skin. Keep in mind this does not lather, but is quite creamy - unlike Cetaphil, which is more thin and milky. The non-fragrance is a great feature for all skins and will be buying this as long as it is around. Bought this for $16 for 12 oz. I'm a huge belever that it's about the product and not the brand necessarily. I see a lot of inconsistency between products within the same brand. CeraVe seems to offer a small range of products that all work well, which is very refreshing. Now to figure out how I can buy a pretty cleansing pump from Dior and transfer this cleanser into that, and my life is perfect - lol!

EDIT - Oct 2012

Skin has grown intolerant to this cleanser. It just burns now, probably because my skin is far more drier. Have gone back to Cetaphil. Loved this, but unfortunately can no longer handle it.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 7/20/2012 3:59:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This cleanser shouldn't even be called a "hydrating" cleanser. I have oily, dehydrated, acne-prone skin for reference. After using this I noticed I had a lot of little white flakes on my nose, and my nose started to feel a lot rougher. My face also looks and feels a lot drier, and I noticed several little bumps (clogged pores). I feel that this is also not helping my acne. This product is seriously terrible for my skin. Hydrating my ass! I have oilier skin so to make it this dry is amazing. I really hope I can exchange this at the store for another cleanser because this is seriously really drying to my skin; my foundation ends up going awful because of how the cleanser made my skin. There is no way I will continue using this cleanser, especially since I have a wedding to go to in two weeks.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 7/6/2012 2:27:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

If you have oily skin like me, I do not recommend. Will not remove makeup, and does not thoroughly clean or remove oils. I bought it because I am on prescription acne meds and my doc recommended something gentle. It felt good after i cleansed, my skin felt moisturized, but this caused trouble for me after a few days. Breakouts increased. This should be used only on very dry, sensitive, non acne prone skin.


on 7/6/2012 2:15:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I love it however I would not use this to remove make-up. Tried it once and did not find it all that effective. I only use Purity for that. However Cereve is perfect in the morning or for times I want to freshen up my dry aging skin when I am sans make-up. My skin looks glowing after I use this. Easy to locate and not expensive. 2 thumbs up.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/5/2012 9:30:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Love this cleanser! I have oily-acne skin, but this really helped my skin clear out. You only need 2 push and you will have enough product....At first, I thought that it wouldnt enter my pores to cleanser them, but it actually does an excellent job cleansing and giving a natural protection to the skin! Ceramides really helped my skin to retain the moisture and not to get dry with my other acne product (lotions, spot treatment, toner)...I have used one bottle for about 6 months already and I will soon rebuy another bottle! This is the perfect cleanser for all types of skin! <3


Back to Top