CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser

3.7

559 reviews

66% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Glycerin, Behentrimonium Methosulfate/Cetearyl Alcohol, Ceramide 3, Ceramide 6-11, Ceramide 1, Hyaluronic Acid, Cholesterol, Polyoxyl 40 Stearate, Glyceryl Monostearate, Stearyl Alcohol, Polysorbate 20, Potassium Phosphate, Dipotassium Phosphate, Sodium Lauroyl Lactylate, Cetyl Alcohol, Disodium EDTA, Phytosphingosine, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Carbomer, Xanthan Gum


on 1/5/2013 1:35:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Other, Warm

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

My dermatologist recommended this cleanser to combat my hormonal acne and I love this stuff.
Note: as other reviewers have mentioned, this cleanser does not remove makeup very well.
I take a slightly wet cotton pad and pump some of the product onto the pad and massage it in circles to remove my makeup. I do this twice to remove the majority of my concealer, powder, etc.
I use Shiseido cotton pads which are very gentle.

I then pump some of the product into my hands and gently massage the face to remove the final traces of makeup.

My skin feels soft afterwards. I've tried Cetaphil and I think that made me break out. (my skin is very sensitive and I have rosacea)

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.



on 12/30/2012 10:48:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Grey

This is tied with Aquanil for my favorite cleanser/body wash.

I don't wash my face everyday, and when I do, it's really quickly in the shower using the same wash I use on my body (my skin's crazy dry and sensitive, so this works better than it sounds).
With no fragrances, irritating essential oils, dyes or lathering agents, my skin is happy! Finally, almost no itching when I get out of the shower.
And, to my shock, my skin actually *looks* better. I did a double take of my face after the first time I used it, it just looked healthier somehow. I still can't wash my face every day, especially in the winter, but this is my go-to cleanser because of its richness. Even my monthly little breakout looks calmer.

It's also interesting that CeraVe's moisturizing cream irritated my skin, and yet they contain a lot of the same ceramides and sphingolipids. Perhaps I just can't have those things remain on my skin, but it's ok if the contact is temporary? I don't know. But I do recommend giving this one a try, even if their moisturizer didn't work out for you. Maybe get a sample size, since the pump bottle is enormous.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 12/28/2012 12:11:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

An OKAY product, just not for me. I have very sensitive and dry skin on my face from swimming. I tried using this on my face since it was recommended by a that I saw dermatologist and my doctor.

After using this for about a week, I saw no improvement on the dryness on my skin. I also noticed that when washing my face with this, my skin began to feel a bit tighter and sting/BURN a little. It felt even dryer when I washed and dried my face.

I cant even tell you how much it burned my face when I used it once after I was in the sun for a little long time (no sun burn, just my face got really sensitive)
--------------------------------------------------------
BOTTOM LINE: is OKAY product, DEFINITIVELY NOT for people who have a good amount of sensitivity to their face.

BETTER ALTERNATIVE (if willing to spend $21 at Sephora, or where ever is carried)
KORRES Milk Proteins Foaming Cleanser 5.07 FL OZ

Leaves the skin feeling not dry at all and I can even use it after I have been in the sun for a long time. A little pricey, but currently the ONLY cleanser that I use.


on 12/24/2012 7:18:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I love this cleanser. It's extremely gentle, soothing and actually hydrating. I hadn't realized how much other cleansers were drying out my skin until I tried this. This doesn't break me out at all. My only complaint is that it doesn't completely remove makeup mainly mascara (I have to use a foaming cleanser on my eyes) otherwise I would have given it 5 lippies.


on 12/16/2012 2:08:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Ok everyone raves about this but I have to dissent. I dislike this immensely. It doesn't make my skin feel clean and somehow makes it feel dryer despite being a hydrating cleanser. It feels cheap. It leaves makeup behind. It stings my eyes. Marcelle's cream cleanser is way better.


on 12/13/2012 7:28:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I am obsessed with this! About a year ago, I went to my dermatologist because I suffer from persistent hormonal acne. He gave me a few samples or various products and Cerave just happened to be one of them. I can't believe I just brought this stuff out now. My skin has been going crazy because of school, winter and stress. After only two days of using this cleanser, I noticed a huge difference in the overall appearance of my skin. My skin has been dry lately, but this cleanser used with my clarisonic cures all of that. Also, this cleanser is so soothing. It does not irritate my skin at all. With that being said, I'm going out today and buying a huge tube of it. Love!
EDIT: Ok so about a week into using this, I started to get major clogged pores.... I can't say this directly caused the problem, but it certainly didn't help. Needless to say, I've stopped using. Such a shame because I really wanted to like this product.


on 12/11/2012 7:57:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is great for cleansing already cleaned skin.....
First off, I have dry and rosacea skin.
I do like this product but it doesn't clean off "the day" and makeup residue well enough to use at night. I think is great in the morning when you need a quick rinse off after sleeping. In the morning my skin has already been cleared of makeup and etc. and since my skin is very dry using my night time cleanser would be too much on my senstive skin. This works nicely for that. It doesn't dry me out and leaves my skin soft.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I like this cleanser, as it takes off all of my makeup (I don't wear any long wear or waterproof makeup) without stripping all of the oils out of my very dry skin. However, I don't find it to be any better at cleaning my face than other similar cleansers (such as Cetaphil ). If you like cleansers that have a little something extra in them, then do try it. It has hyaluronic acid and ceramides, both good for your skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/4/2012 1:58:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I've been using this for about half a month or so. I'm not seeing any improvement in my skin from those wonderful 'acids'. I was really hoping that this cleanser and the moisturizer by the same brand I use immediately afterward would help with my oily skin. It doesn't dry it out at least, as the Phisoderm cleanser I was using does. And I've found that it's not helping at all with my very mild case of acne. It was very expensive, considering the size of the bottle, and even after I had some coupons for them.


on 11/10/2012 1:10:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

OMG!!! I love this cleanser and moisturizer!!! I was having some dry, flaky skin issues on my face for quite some time. I went to the dermatologist expecting to be told that I would need some costly treatment or prescription. I was a little ambivalent when the dr. recommended Cerave Cleanser and Moisturizer. I thought there was no way that an OTC product was going to help since I had already tried so many. I used the samples that the dr had given me and I was more-than-pleasantly surprised. Within a week, my skin was completely transformed! I have since started using it on my entire body. My previously red, dry and flaky elbows are now smooth and my previously beyond-dry legs are silky smooth! I've also bought it for my teenage son who has had both eczema and sebhorreic dermititis. I won't go so far as to claim that it got rid of these conditions, but it definitely helped to moisturize his skin and made a very noticeable improvement.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top