CeraVe • Hydrating Cleanser • Cleansers

rated 3.7(519 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 danafoxx on 6/17/2012 8:08:00 PM more reviews by danafoxx

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

i love this! i use is morning and night. because it is summer, and i am outside most of the time i lose a lot of moisture in my skin. this is perfect, it gets rid of my dry patches fairly quickly when followed up with moisturizer. my skin always feels so soft and CLEAN after i use it.
it won't remove makeup, so do that before hand. this bottle has lasted me a long time and when it finally runs out i will definitely be purchasing again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* auburngal on 6/17/2012 7:59:00 PM more reviews by auburngal

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

After 30 years on my shelf, Cetaphil cleanser finally let me down by stripping my skin of its oils. I asked my dermatologist what to use and she said right away, "CeraVe." She's right. CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser is more emollient and moisturizing than Cetaphil for my sensitive, roseatic skin. I can use it with water, or pat it on dry, wiping off with a damp cloth or soft tissue. It's more expensive than Cetaphil, but much, much less expensive than any department store brand.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 domirox on 6/13/2012 3:49:00 PM more reviews by domirox

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I had this given to me by my dermatologist after hormones took a nasty toll on my skin (acne galore, when I have NEVER had it before and supremely dry/sore/flakey patches on my face). This cleanser is wonderful! I don't use it for eye make up removal (I use Doves beauty bar for that) but as a moisturizing cleanser it is PERFECT. I don't even need to moisturize every day (when I do, I use CeraVe's mositurizing lotion - also wonderful.)

The dry patches I mentioned were an on-and-off problem for years that nothing else ever corrected. This cleanser cleared it up in a matter of days.

Some people have said it feels like a "film" is left on your skin but I disagree - I just feel like, after I pat my face dry, my skin feels like I rubbed in some moisturizer while the skin was still wet. And I LOVE that!

I would absolutely recommend this.
I have problems with oily skin, very sensitive skin and (at the moment) acne. This moisturizer does not cause problems for any of those conditions!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LenaOfDC on 6/13/2012 8:53:00 AM more reviews by LenaOfDC

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I had to stop using my salicylic acid acne wash (I used it to prevent ocassional pimples, I don't have acne) because I started using retin-a for fine lines.


I was recommended this product and I was deathly afraid it would break me out but so far it has been wonderful. I've been using it for around 2 months. My skin feels very soft and moisturized after I use it and not as dry and "squeaky clean" as it did with the acne wash.


I don't wear anything but concealer for dark circles, mascara and a little eyeliner on my top lid so I'm not sure how this would be if you regularly wear a full face of makeup. My hunch is not that great.


Only complaint is the packaging. I wish the pump could be used in a different direction other than to the side (turning it forward locks it). Seems like it should be opposite. I noticed this when I was traveling.


I've also noticed that the very few hormonal pimples I've gotten have healed in half the time they did before and I attribute this to less chemicals and aggravation but I could be wrong.


But it works for me and I think I'll use this forever and ever.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BlueeyedSusan on 6/11/2012 7:07:00 PM more reviews by BlueeyedSusan

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I use this with my Clarisonic Mia. This has hyaluronic acid in it which most high priced cleansers and creams add, but this is very reasonably priced. When used with the Mia, it is a perfect product. I can why people would not like this if used with a wash cloth or their hands because of the texture but with the Mia, trust me this is what you want to use. I tried different cleansers when I bought my Mia but this is the right consistency and it does not cause break outs with my sensitive skin. It has all the benefits of hyaluronic acid with the right consistency to use with the Mia. I did my research before I bought this, attempting to find what products are right to use with the Mia, this fit the bill.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gommiebears on 6/5/2012 8:27:00 PM more reviews by gommiebears

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Dark, Cool   Hair: Black, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Ironically for my oily, acne-prone, sensitive skin, I actually love this cleanser. Let me explain why. There are days when my skin freaks out and my usual cleansers would be too harsh to put on my skin. Enter the Cerave Hydrating cleanser. With this cleanser, I can easily cleanse my skin and remove all of the dirt and crap from my face. This is my morning cleanser and sometimes night time cleanser. It doesn't break me out or burn, unlike Cetaphil. I wished I known about this cleansers years ago then maybe my acne wouldn't be so persistent. I swear I have ignorant and hateful derms.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 erinoray on 6/5/2012 1:23:00 PM more reviews by erinoray

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This cleanser feels like it was made for me! Within a week of using it, my (very) sensitive skin had made a complete transformation! No more redness, no more bumps- just clear, even skin. I love that it is so gentle, and I even like that it doesn't lather. The price is right, too. I will never buy another face cleanser again!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 prettyclaudiaJ77 on 5/28/2012 1:45:00 AM more reviews by prettyclaudiaJ77

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I got this cleanser because I was looking for something creamy to use with my clarisonic and wanted something hydrating for my dry and sensitive skin. Also, it had great reviews and was so affordable! It didn't break me out horribly, but after using it for about two days, I immediately noticed more black heads and my pores seemed more clogged. This was the ONLY thing I changed in my routine so I knew immediately what the culprit was and went back to Purity by Philosophy, which I think has helped my skin look more even and healthy. Bottom line, it didn't work for me because of the pore issue but it's definitely gentle on sensitive skin and feels hydrating. I can see why some other people love it so much.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bassetmomma on 5/27/2012 2:50:00 PM more reviews by bassetmomma

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

This product is a lot like Cetaphil. It's very gentle with a lotion-like consistency. No foaming or sudsing here. This product is fine if you are using it as your morning face cleanser, assuming you took your makeup off the night before. If you suffer from very dry or sensitive skin, this would be a good choice. But if you are looking for a cleanser that will remove your makeup, especially eye makeup and lipstick, I think you will find that this product is far too gentle to get the job done. I ended up using a lot of it - the pump dispenses a small amount. I am going to stick with the Cerave Foaming Cleanser and Paula's Choice.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 surferbabe09 on 5/21/2012 5:34:00 PM more reviews by surferbabe09

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I used to use cetaphil but It was still drying my face out and it did not remove anything. This cleanser restores my acid barrier on my skin while cleansing it. I have very sensitive dry skin and this has worked wonders for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More CeraVe products

More Cleansers products