Cover Girl • Simply Ageless • Crème

rated 3.5(428 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.59%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aprila220 on 5/16/2010 1:56:00 PM more reviews by aprila220

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I got this in BzzAgent campaign to try along with some other Simply Ageless products that I'll be reviewing later after I've had a chance to wear them without this foundation with them. I had tried this about a 1.5 year ago and hated it then but since it was a campaign I thought I'd try it again as we all know skin can change...
The color they sent me was waaaayyyy too light (Buff Beige). There was only 4 or 5 colors to choose from for the campaign and this was the color next to the darkest. Right now, I'm medium toned so I thought that would be ok. Big no. The color was awful! That being said, I'm not judging the foundation on the color - although even if had not been too light, it was still too pink for my skin tone.
The application is nice, it's smooth and cool. Aside from being too light, it looked great. It softened my pores and pitted acne scarring. Then it all changed. After about 2 hours I looked horrible. It made my pores look like gaping holes and it had settled into every fine line I have!! I had smile lines that looked like someone had taken a concealer pen and actually drawn them on. After about 3 or 4 hours, I looked worse, adding an oil slick to it all AND you could see blending lines! Also you could definitely tell I was wearing make up, like a mask kind of. However, the fact that the color was way way way too light could have contributed to that. I just remember that all this happened when I first tried it also and back then the shade matched...I actually switched back then when my boyfriend commented about the lines on my face (where it didn't blend well).
Maybe if you didn't have large pores and oily skin it would work? But I have both and it's a huge no for me.


1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jacie07 on 5/15/2010 11:42:00 AM more reviews by jacie07

Age: Unknown   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This cream foundation has a swirl of Olay serum in it ( the white swirl color does not affect the foundation color) and is reported to improve skin condition with 4 weeks of continuous use. This leaves a semi-dewy finish and can go from sheer to heavy coverage depending on application method. It has spf 22. This foundation layers beautifully over moisturizer and sunscreen. I prefer my cosmetics to come in a tube or pump bottle rather than in a pot, but do appreciate that the CG people did not enclose this product in any additional packaging.I received this as a free sample from BuzzAgent but it is rather expensive for a DS product. HUge amount of product however.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kimberlymacg on 5/15/2010 8:54:00 AM more reviews by kimberlymacg

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I am a BzzAgent and received this for free in Classic Ivory as part of the Cover Girl and Olay Simply Ageless BzzCampaign. Most of the time I wear some Cover Girl Smoothers Concealer in Neutral followed by Cover Girl Advanced Radiance pressed powder in Creamy Natural. When I want a bit more coverage, I use a powder foundation. I'm not normally a fan of cream or liquid foundations as I find the coverage too heavy for me but I did like this product. It took me a couple of tries before I found a way to apply it to achieve sheer, flawless coverage. I found that by moistening the sponge and stipling the product on a well moisturized face I got a nice dewy effect. The product is creamy but dries to a powdery but not chalky finish. When I tested it's staying power by rubbing an old t-shirt on my face there was minimal rub-off. I wore it all day and it did not settle into the few fine lines that I have.
I was able to choose from several shades for this BzzCampaign. The Classic Ivory is a decent match for me, but I'd probably go one or possibly two shades darker if I was choosing the best color for myself. As other reviewers have noted, this foundation does seem to run a bit light. I like the fact that there is Olay Regenerist Serum in the product. I am a big fan of the Regenerist products and I figure that a little bit more skincare in your foundation can only help. Simply Ageless foundation has an SPF of 22. I'm not sure that the average person could use enough product to really get a sunblock benefit and I would always recommend applying sunblock before foundation, but again, a little bit more SPF can't hurt.
I didn't care for the packaging. The product is in a screw top jar with a little flip top compartment underneat for the sponge. I much prefer compacts to jars for makeup.
This product is expensive for drug store makeup but it's still cheaper than department store or boutique products and I do think that this is a quality product.
I'm surprised to say this because I'm not usually a "traditional foundation" fan, but I do think that I would buy this product again and use it instead of my powder foundation when I want more coverage than my usual pressed powder routine.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* highrise on 5/14/2010 11:06:00 AM more reviews by highrise

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

Never wear foundation, only powder, but approaching 40 felt the need for a little evening-out as my skintone isn't what it used to be! I have used stick foundations in the past and liked their ease-of-use, and that's why this appealed to me. Also, I've noticed that stick foundations seemed to have disappeared from a lot of brands, so a potted creme seemd like the next best thing.
Went with Classic Beige, which was slightly darker than what I normally get with CG but was a terrific match. Really appreciate the 22SPF as well. This goes on extremely easily (i just use clean fingers)and does exactly what I wanted - no obvious makeup-look, just a little extra refining than powder would normally supply.
What a pleasure to find something that does what it promises!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 shnymrsh on 5/13/2010 4:13:00 PM more reviews by shnymrsh

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got this free to try from BzzAgent along with the other products in the Simply Ageless line. Now, I don't have a ton of wrinkles, but I do have a few fine lines and this foundation did not settle into those lines, just as advertised. I am not usually a fan of creme foundations simply because I have combo/oily skin and they usually just slide off me. This one hasn't. It really dried to a powder-like finish and never looked oily or greasy. I applied this with a brush instead of the included sponge and got a really nice even finish. I am NC20 in MAC and Classic Ivory is a pretty good match. I am not a big fan of the packaging though. It comes in a screw top container with a flip open compartment in the lid with a round sponge inside. I think a flip open compact would be a better design. All in all, a nice foundation.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Peskypixie on 5/9/2010 10:34:00 PM more reviews by Peskypixie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this after reading all the good reviews on it, and initally really liked it. I don't usually wear liquid / cream foundation to work daily (unless I'm trying something new, then it is a minimum of 2 weeks of daily wear). After 2 months I put it on and it literally felt horrible, and melted off my skin. It had changed / aged- so gross!

I'd used a different sponge every time, and had not re-dipped to prevent bacteria from infesting the jar, I was very careful. This is in a plastic jar and I don't think it seals very well. If you can use it right away and it works with your skin it would be ok, but it's not a great product if you don't use consistently and need your foundation to be shelf stable. Threw this out. I also think this was very expensive for a drugstore foundation. Won't repurchase. The powder is equally as disgusting and went in the trash as well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* brokentyrant on 5/9/2010 9:41:00 PM more reviews by brokentyrant

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I thought this was good at first, but as i waited to see it drying it looked
very cakey and dry, white and mask like
Olay's lotion part is only on thin top level, too. deff. not as pictured

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bluewaterhue on 5/9/2010 6:51:00 PM more reviews by bluewaterhue

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I think this is my favorite CG foundation thus far. I switched to the Ageless line from the TruBlend mousse because I wanted to at least give it a shot to help with fine lines that have begun developing. So far I can't say that I've noticed much of a difference as a result of the makeup as far as fine lines go, but here's my pros and cons,
Pros:
-goes on very nicely with a slightly damp/moisturized makeup wedge
-don't need a lot of product to get good coverage
-once set with CG simply powder it lasts all day with few if any touch ups
-very comfortable to wear, not at all greasy.
-good SPF
Cons:
-more than I'm used to spending on foundation, but not unreasonable
-not a lot of product in the container
-no noticeable difference as far as fine lines goes, but I figured it can't hurt and I do like Olay products.
-in general the same shades but in different CG lines do vary alot, Classic Ivory is what I use and it is lighter in this line than in the TruBlend mousse, yet it is much darker in other lines.

Overall I would recommend this and will be buying it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 blondie86 on 5/6/2010 3:35:00 PM more reviews by blondie86

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

First off, let me say I'm obviously not in the targeted age group for this product (I'm 23), though I will add it is definitely not my first anti-aging product, either. I have some spider veins already (thanks mom!) and the fact that I've been smoking for years has definitely taken a little bit of a toll on my skin. This product not only manages to even out my skin tone, but look extremely NATURAL while giving me the coverage I need. I have oily skin, and this doesn't slip and slide around during the day. It's easy to blend for me using the sponge provided, though I might give it a try with my 187 after reading some other reviews. Like other people have said, the colors do run light so get a color a shade or two darker than your usual and you should be fine. I think once you hit your 20's, it's a good time to start taking better care of your skin and if that can extend to your makeup as well, why the hell not? Will definitely repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 SukieZW on 5/5/2010 5:05:00 PM more reviews by SukieZW

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Yes this runs light, but for me that's a good thing b/c I'm so pale. I use the lightest shade (205) and it's a perfect match. Overall I really like the creaminess of the product, it glides on easily. The only thing to be carefull of is if I use a matte primer first (MUFE HD), then it seems the foundation can feel a little sticky on my face. The packaging is solid, good price, just expect to buy a little darker than you normally would.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Cover Girl products

More Crème products