Cover Girl • Simply Ageless • Crème

rated 3.5(425 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.59%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* highrise on 5/14/2010 11:06:00 AM more reviews by highrise

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

Never wear foundation, only powder, but approaching 40 felt the need for a little evening-out as my skintone isn't what it used to be! I have used stick foundations in the past and liked their ease-of-use, and that's why this appealed to me. Also, I've noticed that stick foundations seemed to have disappeared from a lot of brands, so a potted creme seemd like the next best thing.
Went with Classic Beige, which was slightly darker than what I normally get with CG but was a terrific match. Really appreciate the 22SPF as well. This goes on extremely easily (i just use clean fingers)and does exactly what I wanted - no obvious makeup-look, just a little extra refining than powder would normally supply.
What a pleasure to find something that does what it promises!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 shnymrsh on 5/13/2010 4:13:00 PM more reviews by shnymrsh

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got this free to try from BzzAgent along with the other products in the Simply Ageless line. Now, I don't have a ton of wrinkles, but I do have a few fine lines and this foundation did not settle into those lines, just as advertised. I am not usually a fan of creme foundations simply because I have combo/oily skin and they usually just slide off me. This one hasn't. It really dried to a powder-like finish and never looked oily or greasy. I applied this with a brush instead of the included sponge and got a really nice even finish. I am NC20 in MAC and Classic Ivory is a pretty good match. I am not a big fan of the packaging though. It comes in a screw top container with a flip open compartment in the lid with a round sponge inside. I think a flip open compact would be a better design. All in all, a nice foundation.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Peskypixie on 5/9/2010 10:34:00 PM more reviews by Peskypixie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this after reading all the good reviews on it, and initally really liked it. I don't usually wear liquid / cream foundation to work daily (unless I'm trying something new, then it is a minimum of 2 weeks of daily wear). After 2 months I put it on and it literally felt horrible, and melted off my skin. It had changed / aged- so gross!

I'd used a different sponge every time, and had not re-dipped to prevent bacteria from infesting the jar, I was very careful. This is in a plastic jar and I don't think it seals very well. If you can use it right away and it works with your skin it would be ok, but it's not a great product if you don't use consistently and need your foundation to be shelf stable. Threw this out. I also think this was very expensive for a drugstore foundation. Won't repurchase. The powder is equally as disgusting and went in the trash as well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* brokentyrant on 5/9/2010 9:41:00 PM more reviews by brokentyrant

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I thought this was good at first, but as i waited to see it drying it looked
very cakey and dry, white and mask like
Olay's lotion part is only on thin top level, too. deff. not as pictured

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bluewaterhue on 5/9/2010 6:51:00 PM more reviews by bluewaterhue

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I think this is my favorite CG foundation thus far. I switched to the Ageless line from the TruBlend mousse because I wanted to at least give it a shot to help with fine lines that have begun developing. So far I can't say that I've noticed much of a difference as a result of the makeup as far as fine lines go, but here's my pros and cons,
Pros:
-goes on very nicely with a slightly damp/moisturized makeup wedge
-don't need a lot of product to get good coverage
-once set with CG simply powder it lasts all day with few if any touch ups
-very comfortable to wear, not at all greasy.
-good SPF
Cons:
-more than I'm used to spending on foundation, but not unreasonable
-not a lot of product in the container
-no noticeable difference as far as fine lines goes, but I figured it can't hurt and I do like Olay products.
-in general the same shades but in different CG lines do vary alot, Classic Ivory is what I use and it is lighter in this line than in the TruBlend mousse, yet it is much darker in other lines.

Overall I would recommend this and will be buying it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 blondie86 on 5/6/2010 3:35:00 PM more reviews by blondie86

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

First off, let me say I'm obviously not in the targeted age group for this product (I'm 23), though I will add it is definitely not my first anti-aging product, either. I have some spider veins already (thanks mom!) and the fact that I've been smoking for years has definitely taken a little bit of a toll on my skin. This product not only manages to even out my skin tone, but look extremely NATURAL while giving me the coverage I need. I have oily skin, and this doesn't slip and slide around during the day. It's easy to blend for me using the sponge provided, though I might give it a try with my 187 after reading some other reviews. Like other people have said, the colors do run light so get a color a shade or two darker than your usual and you should be fine. I think once you hit your 20's, it's a good time to start taking better care of your skin and if that can extend to your makeup as well, why the hell not? Will definitely repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 SukieZW on 5/5/2010 5:05:00 PM more reviews by SukieZW

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Yes this runs light, but for me that's a good thing b/c I'm so pale. I use the lightest shade (205) and it's a perfect match. Overall I really like the creaminess of the product, it glides on easily. The only thing to be carefull of is if I use a matte primer first (MUFE HD), then it seems the foundation can feel a little sticky on my face. The packaging is solid, good price, just expect to buy a little darker than you normally would.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HelenaS on 5/3/2010 1:32:00 PM more reviews by HelenaS

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This is an initial review, as I just purchased this today. I was somewhat desperate as I am waiting for my mark. Powder Buff foundation to come in and in the meantime, have nothing to fall back on that really works right now. Normally I do not buy cream or liquid foundations. I stick to powder b/c it is easy to apply, blends over my sensitive skin easily, and frankly just looks better. However, I read the reviews for this and esp. noted the one that compared it to LM Tinted Moisturizer. That product is one that worked for me, but it is far too expensive. So I paid $15 for this one, held my breath, and ran home to apply it. Next time I will find coupons or take advantage of a sale. (CVS was running BOGO 50% off today, but I bought mascara with that, not having any idea if this would work or not, I didn't see the point in getting two. At the rate I use up foundation, it would probably go rancid before I got to it, anyway! LOL)

First, I just want to say that this looks, feels, acts just like Laura Mercier's Tinted Moisturizer on me. I mean exactly...right down to the sheer-yet-covers-redness finish, velvety feel, and of course, the SPF (which I don't rely on anyway, but nice to have it there). I just can't believe how great this is making my 43 year-old skin look! Doesn't settle in lines or pores, gives a radiant look, makes my eyeshadow, lipstick, and blush and everything look so much better, even though I only lightly blended this just around my nose and mouth, and a bit on my chin.

As far as the details: It is much lighter than it looks. So go up one shade from the one that you think you should buy! I am NC20 and Creamy Natural looked right to me, but I went one up to Buff Beige and it is perfect. It does look a little light going on, but once blended it is perfect. If I were to plan on getting any sun or color on my face I would even go up one more, but thanks to Shiseido, I don't have to do that. :)

I had no problem with the packaging. It's not the most elegant, but it works fine.

I applied it over my usual Shiseido SPF 55 Lotion. I always use this as I need serious sun protection. I never use enough foundation to really provide enough SPF, so even though this is SPF20, I will continue to prep with the Shiseido, which also works well as a primer.

This blended like a dream. I used my finger to gently pat it onto the reddish areas around my nose and mouth. It looks fabulous--matte, velvety, and just beautiful. It minimized my larger pores and didn't cause the dreaded "white dot" syndrome. Whew on that one! It's not settling in any fine lines or magnifying any lines that I didn't know I had--and that does happen sometimes with foundation--it makes you look OLDER not younger/better---happily this one actually does what it is supposed to do!

In one spot I applied too much and it definitely looked a little heavy/cakey. So don't overdo it. I swirled the white part with the colored part and just dabbed tiny amounts bit by bit where I needed them. I found that patting it lightly worked best for my sensitive skin, just using small amounts and blending gently. It disappeared into my skin and completely blended to give a smooth, yet sheer appearance.

I will post back after wearing this for awhile to see how my skin likes it. Overall, I am extremely pleased right now. I plan to use this as a tinted moisturizer this summer. If it works, I will stock up at the next sale! Even at the full price, though, it is dramatically cheaper than high-end products like LM, and appears to perform in much the same manner. Love it so far!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 nykat on 5/2/2010 5:45:00 PM more reviews by nykat

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

So I have used this for almost a month now and I'm content with it. It does it's job. Yes, the cololrs run light like so many have mentioned but once you find your match (if it's even available in this brand) then the product itself is pretty decent. It has good texture and goes on smoothly. I usually use a primer underneath but even when I haven't it wasn't blotchy. I can't really say that my skin looks any firmer though....wouldn't that be nice. But for a creme foundation at a reasonable price, I'm not complaining. that said, I probably will not be re-purchasing any time soon, mostly because it's getting too hot for me to wear heavy makeup;-)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 butterflybeezs on 5/2/2010 5:26:00 PM more reviews by butterflybeezs

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I think I may have found my HG foundation. I have extremly oily skin, I can blot my face 15 min after I apply my makeup, thats how oily I am. I have tired almost every drug store foundation, and nothing seems to work. After reading all the great reviews on Revlon colorstay I decided to try that and I was less then impressed with it. So the other day I went to my local walmart and noticed they had this on sale, I figured why not, I might as well give it a try. And omg am I glad I did. So far I would say this is the best foundation I have ever used. It controls my oily skin so well, and looks flawless. I only have to blot my face once instead of 4+ times a day. Everytime I look in the mirror im amazed by how good my skin looks. All other foundations would make my pores looks HUGE, This covers them so well. I am very pleased with this product!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Cover Girl products

More Crème products