Sally Hansen • Inspired By Carmindy Natural Beauty Your Skin Makeup ] [DISCONTINUED] • Foundations

rated 4.0(396 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 namaenai on 2/7/2009 6:34:00 PM more reviews by namaenai

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

UPDATE 1/2010: I stopped using this a few months ago because the ecru beige was actually a little paling on me. Mixing it with the nude beige did not help it was too dark. In pictures it did not photograph well, I looked pale. I started using the Bare Minerals matte foundation and am now trying Mary Kay's mineral foundation which seems to be better than BE.

I got 2 shades, nude beige and ecru beige. I can pull off nude beige but ecru beige is a perfect match for me. It looks natural and is buildable. I put it on with my fingers after primer and I don't have to use much at all, maybe a pump and a half. I think this is much better than the Revlon Colorstay which dries too fast and those colors didn't seem natural and they kind of take the life out of your face. Very paling. The price is good but the packaging is not so great. It is hard to tell the shades through the frosted glass but luckily I chose right.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lesliexyang on 2/4/2009 7:43:00 PM more reviews by lesliexyang

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this. I must give my opinion..so hear it is.

If you have large pores, you need to wear a primer. I believe the reason why foundations and other stuff get such bad reviews is because 1. they don't clean and get off all their makeup so it causes breakouts 2. they don't use a primer or moisturize well so it causes the foundation to not go on the way it should 3. they haven't tried different methods of trying to apply the foundation.

The way I apply this is I take my revlon foundation brush and pump one pump on there, then i apply it on my face but don't completely blend it in until I take a lightly damp cosmetic wedge and use that to smooth it out. I then set it with my physicians formula talc-free powder and my skin looks wonderful.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* polarpooch on 2/3/2009 10:04:00 PM more reviews by polarpooch

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I got this based on the reviews here, but I can't share the enthusiasm for this product at all. I wanted a slightly dewier finish than my normal long wear makeup for the winter. I have a very oily t-zone, too. This is a nicely moisturizing makeup, and the shade match was fine. It blends easily. The bottle is clever, too (when you can no longer pump the product, you can open the lid and use the rest by extracting it with a clever spatula tucked inside.) But the product just does not last. By midmorning, it had slid off my face. The finish is also not for women with large pores, or any sort of blemish/trouble areas. This makeup just soaks into my pores, and makes any problem areas more pronounced. (Yes, I do use a primer) It's also too sheer, frankly, and does little to cover redness or any discolorations. This strikes me as a makeup for drier skin that has few flaws. Probably best for younger gals or those w/o significant signs of aging. I'll finish off the bottle for use as a tinted moisturizer under my Clinque Almost Powder makeup, but will not repurchase.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 cosmogirl7 on 2/3/2009 9:27:00 AM more reviews by cosmogirl7

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I picked up this foundation at CVS trying to find a foundation that blended a little better during the winter months. (For reference: I usually use perfectly real makeup by clinique N34 also tried MAC's mineralized liquid foundation and was an NC 32. I have to say I really like this foundation. I have been using this for two weeks now, and I do agree with other reviewers here that it does cover red very well. The colors are difficult to determine and like someone else said it is better to look at the bottom of the bottle to get a better gauge, or just buy a couple you think you might be and try it out. I picked up the warm beige and the tawny beige, but I felt the warm beige was a little too pink for me, but tawny beige was perfect. I haven't had any breakouts with this foundation, and I feel this foundation lasts throughout the day. I also don't notice any problems with smearing, but I use a loose powder by origins in which I feel works very well to set the foundation. So, far I can't really say anything negative about this foundation. I apply with my fingertips, or a foundation brush. I think the coverage is medium when you apply with either. I would definitely purchase this foundation again.
Update: I have noticed this foundation looks somewhat ashy on me =( Still on the lookout for my HG foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 agingfast on 2/2/2009 2:18:00 PM more reviews by agingfast

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is probably the most long-lasting foundation I've ever used on my oilier skin, and I give it high marks for looking natural, too. I thought about giving this a five, since for the price and how it behaves, I think it's way better than other foundations. However, there are some problems: even though the bottle is glass, it's really hard to pick the right shade, and I think most shades have a gray or ashy cast, but this is improved with the passage of a little time and adding some blusher or bronzer on top to bring life back to your face.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* satsuma on 1/29/2009 9:07:00 PM more reviews by satsuma

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

The foundation has some good features. Its got very good medium, buildable to heavy coverage, covers red well & photographs beautifully (no white cast) and is a good choice if you can find a match. I did - the 015 shade, creamy beige - it has a good yellow undertone which I need & was one of the best color matches I've ever found in a d/s foundation (for reference I'm W3 in True Match). Comes in a nice hygienic pump & reasonably priced at $13 for a one ounce bottle.


So why the low rating - frankly, I'd like to give it a one, but I do recognize this product has some good points, works for others & may work for you. I rarely have an allergic reaction to makeup of any type (I'm sensitive to BHAs & some other ingredients in eyeshadows) but this caused me to develop a bad case of hives, mostly over my cheeks, & a red rash elsewhere on my face, as well as significant itching, about an hour after I put it on. I have never had this kind of reaction to any makeup before & frankly, I was shocked. I returned the product & won't buy again (though I do like other Carmindy products I've purchased). I highly recommend that if you try this product, buy from a retailer that has a good return policy & if you have any types of skin sensitivities or allergies, make sure you do a skin patch test before you do a full face.


One other warning - I use a SK blue peep to apply foundation & this stuff is incredibly hard to clean out of the sponge, probably the hardest to remove foundation I have ever tried with it. It was very important to me to get every speck out because of my bad reaction, & it took several washings in dilute shampoo, followed by a couple of go arounds with MAC brush cleaner to get the stain off my sponge this foundation left.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* iheartMUA on 1/28/2009 11:07:00 AM more reviews by iheartMUA

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

OMGosh, let me tell you. I heard about this just yesterday on the FOTD board and thought I'd try it as the girl in the picture looked awesome and her skin looked flawless.
This is THE product. I don't think I'll ever go w/o it. EVER. I put it on this morning and used it with the yellow pressed powder and WOW. I can't tell you how fabulous my skin looks. Just WOW, is all I've got. :)
This has a velvet smooth finish that just makes your skin look like a professional did it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 richaco on 1/25/2009 10:38:00 PM more reviews by richaco

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Blue    

A really quality drugstore foundation -- blends fabulously, and feels wonderful on. The only problem for me? Does not control oil and leave me with a matte finish as long as my Merle Norman flawless, so I will not be repurchasing. I think this would be a wonderful foundation for someone with normal or slightly dry skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MIJA_97 on 1/23/2009 11:14:00 AM more reviews by MIJA_97

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I actually have mixed feelings about this foundation. I have tan skin (use MAC NC40) and it's hard to tell which foundation is the right one..so I got the Tawny Beige, that was too light so I decided to get also the foundation in Mocha, that was too dark but when I combine both they seem to be the perfect match. When I'm done with these two bottles I will be getting the Warm Beige that might be the right one. I have noticed if I put a bit too much on it looks cakey overall is a good foundation it lasts pretty much all day. I am pleased it with but it my skin can get greasy....

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 kireizillah on 1/22/2009 12:31:00 PM more reviews by kireizillah

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I can see why so many people are raving about this foundation - particularly non-acne normal types. It's very creamy, blends well, minimizes pores, and leaves the skin dewy but not shiny.

But then reality hit: it broke me out horribly! I have mild acne but never like this. Itchy, painful, all over acne. I've used other oil based foundations before and never had this problem. I don't even have sensitive skin! Also, it seems to oxidize on me, turns pinky and patchy as the day wears on, and ends up looking like dirt.

I bet it works for many - but if you are acne prone, best to give it a pass.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Sally Hansen products

More Foundations products