Unlisted Brand • Lansinoh Lanolin • Lip Treatments

rated 4.7(207 reviews)

Average Rating.4.7
Would buy this product again.90%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 gracie97 on 8/23/2008 10:39:00 PM more reviews by gracie97

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Lansinoh is amazingly effective as a lip balm!


Before Lansinoh, my lips were perpetually dry and flaky, and most lip balms did little to relieve that.


Lansinoh softened them completely. Within 24 hours it made chapped-from-birth lips utterly smooth, soft, plump and comfortable!


It dries down to a very comfortable, slightly waxy texture and stays put for a long time, even through eating.


It works significantly better than my previous favorite, Bobbi Brown lip balm. It also leaves Aquaphor, Burts Bees, Neutrogena, Sally Hanson, Paula, Clinique and the rest of the vast array of treatments for dry lips I've tried in the dust.


I love that it is flavorless, odorless, hypoallergenic, and so non-toxic that it is safe for babies! Any sort of flavoring or scent in a balm seems to irritate and dry my lips even more.


Am feeling inspired to try to mix up some tinted balm by melting a little chunk of highly pigmented lipstick and stirring it into some Lansinoh.


The Lansinoh website has a list of many stores that carry the product. I found it in my usual supermarket -- Fred Meyer -- in the baby section by the baby bottles and nursing pads.


Thanks Makeup Alley reviewers for writing reviews that brought great product to my attention!



7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* urstandingonmytoes on 6/19/2008 4:38:00 AM more reviews by urstandingonmytoes

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

I actually used this as nipple cream when I was breast feeding my first daughter...it works on dry, chapped skin--ANYWHERE! I continued to use this as a lip balm even after my daughter stopped breast feeding, its an excellent product. Some products make my lips itchy but I have never had a reaction of any kind to this, its very moisturizing and protective when used on irritated skin/lips. This is worth buying for your nipples or your lips!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* swirlsschmurls on 6/19/2008 3:56:00 AM more reviews by swirlsschmurls

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I really love this lipbalm, even though the taste and smell isn't all that great...but if you're looking for an incredibly effective lipbalm with no frills, this is absolutely the way to go. No petroleum, so no longterm drying out, and very little reapplication needed, if any. The only downsides to this product is that the tube it comes in (I don't mind the fact that it's nipple cream, that makes me laugh) sometimes leaks, and this stuff is STICKY, and because of that stickiness, it's not the right base for lipstick. But as a balm on its own, it's faultless.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 meliss27 on 3/20/2008 12:56:00 PM more reviews by meliss27

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I cannot say enough about this stuff. LOVE! If you are addicted to lip balms like me, you must give this stuff a whirl. I dont wear much lipstick, but i cannot go a minute of the day without having some sort of moisturizing agent on my lips and this stuff is just amazing. Its super long lasting and a little thick, so a drop goes a long way. And it doubles as a gorgeous moisturizing gloss under liptick! And best of all, it does not leave your lips feeling like you desperately need more on them once its worn off - like most chapsticks or blams tend to do, for me anyways. A tube is about 9 bucks but will seriously last you a year if you use it obsessively like I do, maybe longer. I think this was my best find ever. Its known as "nipple cream" in my circle, but i dont care! i love it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 perfectionquest on 1/26/2008 8:58:00 AM more reviews by perfectionquest

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this as a facial moisturizer...I know, it sounds gross to use nipple balm on my face, but it works. I have sensitive skin, prone to acne, but VERY dry in the winter. Lanolin is the oil that sheep secrete to protect their wool, when the wool is sheared they remove the oil and purify it, supposedly it is very similar to human skin oil so it won't clog pores. I wake up with plump, moist, not greasy skin. And no blemishes! I even wear it under my powdered mineral makeup...looks smooth and beautiful. This is not greasy at all, just super moisterizing. I also use it under my eyes, no milia or puffiness. Try it...it is a little difficult to spread because it is so thick, try pressing it in.

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lil_pie on 1/17/2008 6:39:00 AM more reviews by lil_pie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This was decent but not amazing. Definitely had lip soothing properties, but not more so than a good lip balm (and a tad more expensive too), will not repurchase

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 caradiangela on 1/5/2008 11:12:00 AM more reviews by caradiangela

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Hello!! I'm reviewing another brand here: Dr. Swaab Lanolin cream. That's because this was the only lanolin-cream I could find around here in Holland. Anyway, the reason I was looking around for it was MUA: in here it tops the list of MUA Top Picks considering lip treatments. And a lip treatment was what I was in need for, my lips couldn't be more cracked, dry and painful this winter! Before the lanolin cream I've tried several lip treatments, from Blistex to Vaselin and back, but nothing REALLY did the trick. And there it was, this wonderful product called lanolin (I always liked sheep anyway! :) IT'S THE VERY BEST!!! My lips look like they never were ever even a little bit damaged by the wheater, plus they have the loveliest shine. It stays on for looong and I couldn't be happier by a lip-treatment product! EDIT: It's sad to say...even this 'wonder'product dried out my lips the last times I've used it :( Maybe it's because of the fragrance or any other ingredient...maybe it's just me and my lips...I don't know. Only Blistex daily conditioning balm seems to be working for me at the moment.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bandabug on 12/16/2007 9:50:00 AM more reviews by bandabug

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Fantastic stuff! I had almost a full tube of this left over after my second child was born and I read that it could be used as a lip balm, so I gave it a try and was amazed. I shouldn't have been so surprised considering the tremendous healing properties it provided while I was nursing -- not sure I could have continued without it! Since the skin on your lips is similar, it works wonders as a lip treatment as well. I use it every night before bed and I never have chapped lips. I agree with other reviewers who also sing its praises as a gloss. It gives a wonderful, non-sticky shine to your lips and looks terrific over lipstick. A tube might run you 6 or 7 dollars, but a little goes a LONG way and the tube will last a long time. Go get some!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* luloo on 9/19/2007 10:22:00 PM more reviews by luloo

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Other    

If you like Aquaphor, you should try this. Aquaphor has some lanolin in it, but this is 100% lanolin. It looks like petroleum jelly, but it has a slightly brown color. So if you sleep with it on your lips overnight, you might stain your pillow with it. However, it does come out pretty easily in the wash, but you might be a bit annoyed by that, whereas Aquaphor is completely clear, so there's not that problem. When you put this on your lips, however, the brown color is not noticeable. It's great for lips and for any kind of skin cracks. I put it on a crack I had on the corner of my mouth, and after only one night, it was healed. It's hard to say if it works any better than Aquaphor. I would say the results are pretty comparable. This is sold with the breastfeeding supplies, because it's marketed to treat sore nipples from breastfeeding.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nat83 on 8/5/2007 10:20:00 AM more reviews by nat83

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is the best lip balm I have used AND great value for money too!! I had high expectations based on the reviews I read on MUA but this did not disappoint one bit! There are so many good things about this product (very moisturising, hypoallergenic, cheap, tube will last for a long long time). The only downside is the packaging - kinda embarrasing to use in public. Dr Lipp makes a similar product in a cute package but the tube it comes in is TINY and it's double the price of Lansinoh. So I highly recommend lanisoh!

Ingredients
100% pure lanolin

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Lip Treatments products