Chanel • UV Essentiel Protective UV Care Anti Pollution SPF 50 • Sunscreen

rated 4.1(80 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 fechenwiesen on 6/26/2013 12:33:00 PM more reviews by fechenwiesen

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I am updating a review I already wrote for this. I have been buying this for years and loved it. I repurchased it last week and found that the scent has changed and it is no longer matte on my skin. The protection still can´t be beat, but it has left me with a greasy canvas for my make up. Despite blotting and more powder, I was still a greasy mess. I am angry that I spent this much on sunscreen in a country that won´t take cosmetic returns. My search for a good daily under make up sunscreen will continue. I don´t know why they changed their formulation!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 e84 on 6/24/2013 6:29:00 AM more reviews by e84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

My favorite Sun block. Super light, absorbs quickly, does not leave my face white. I always apply quite a generous amount of it on the top of a moisturizer (Omorovicza night cream at the moment, which I also use during the day time), I have had no breakouts and it really protects my skin as I have been on holidays and not once have I felt that I have burned my face skin. I am not a fan of sunbathing but even during the day in the city I like to use quite a strong SPF. My face still has a beautiful color from the Sun, yet looks healthy and not damaged. I have used it for 3 years or so and will continue using it. The other one i also use and love is La Mer SPF 30 which is in my opinion equivalent to this one. It has a similar texture, feels light yet works.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lolo100 on 6/12/2013 5:49:00 PM more reviews by lolo100

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I have been using this for 3 years and I am yet to find a better sunscreen. It's not greasy, drying, sticky or heavy. It smells good, goes on easily and offers good protection. I never broke out from this product, it has a slight whitish tint but it blends in with the skin tone or if I use my foundation (Chanel) over, its goes on well as the sunscreen provides adequate moisture.
Also this bottle lasts me 6 months so it actually is not that pricey :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 HonestOpinion on 5/21/2013 3:54:00 PM more reviews by HonestOpinion

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is by far the BEST sunscreen I have ever used. At first I squeezed it onto my fingers then rubbed it onto my face but I discovered it applies best when u squeeze little dots onto your face after moisturizing then just gently pat it in all over. I'll squeeze 2-3 tiny pencil eraser sized dots onto my forehead/temple area, 1 on my nose, 1 on my chin and upper lip and 2-3 per cheek and just gently pat it in all around. This feels great on my skin and doesn't clog my pores.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Constantine22 on 3/14/2013 2:37:00 PM more reviews by Constantine22

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Finally I found an oil free-matte sunscreen!!! The packaging is absolutely stunning and the fluid too!!! Feels good on oily skin!!!

UPDATE: Because of the alcohol that contains and because of the price too, i find out a way much better solution like La Roche Posay's Anthelios XL 50+...HIGHLY RECOMMENDED FOR OILY-ACNE PRONE SKIN...Long Lasting Matte Effect!!!


4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 chriseileen on 3/7/2013 9:06:00 PM more reviews by chriseileen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

This is from a review on my Nordstrom.com account

I've used products with SPF in it and those products usually end up burning my eyes. I stopped using SPF infused moisturizers and decided to wear just plain moisturizer. I know how important SPF is for daily skin protection from the sun so I decided to do some research and dish out extra money for an effective expensive SPF.

The reviews on Nordstrom.com were highly rated and also on other beauty sites. I have been using this SPF by Chanel over my moisturizer and have not experienced burning of my eyes, or the "ghost" cast in photos.

This SPF's key ingredients include octinoxate, titanium dioxide, and zinc oxide ;vitamin E (antioxidant). These ingredients allow the user to put the SPF before or after moisturizer, whereas many other SPF key ingredients such as oxycinnamate require you to put it before moisturizer, to allow it to be absorbed by the skin, and also gives the ghastly cast in photographs.

I've read some reviews where they say Chanel's SPF is scent-free, even the lady working at the Chanel counter said the same thing, however; this SPF most definitely has a scent, very floral-like, but it dissipates after a few minutes.

I would recommend this product for people who wouldn't mind putting SPF before/after their moisturizer, who have problems with most SPF's burning their eyes, and those who do not want the ghastly cast in photographs.

I do not recommend this product for those on a tight budget, or I would recommend saving up for this product.

And I want to make those interested in this product aware that the size of the bottle is surprisingly small, almost surprising for the whopping $50. I know the amount of product is listed on the Chanel site, but still, quite surprising.

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 blackmath on 1/4/2013 12:57:00 PM more reviews by blackmath

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is my absolute favourite sun cream, and I've tried them all.
I have incredibly fair, sensitive skin and this has never caused breakouts. The formula dries quickly, leaves only a minimal white cast, and layers beautifully under foundation. I've yet to be sunburned while wearing this!
The only downside is it's not a great value. You get quite a small quantity for your , and I find myself having to repurchase frequently.
A definite splurge, but a must-have -- when I can afford it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kayohh on 12/23/2012 5:08:00 AM more reviews by kayohh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Pros:
- high SPF
- nice, subtle fragrance
- light-weighted, but not matte like the other Japanese sunscreen

Cons:
- expensive -- I think other milky sunscreen can be as good as this.
- doesn't seem to be waterproof

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 eulaliee on 11/14/2012 2:37:00 PM more reviews by eulaliee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I don't generally love this product, but I like it. I like the smell, the packaging, and the way it feels on my face after I applied it. It's not greasy nor is it heavy. It's very light-weight and goes on smooth.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Eteri on 10/29/2012 3:44:00 PM more reviews by Eteri

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I was interested to read that many people find they have to use quite a lot of this. I find a blob on my finger about 3/8in diameter sufficient.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Chanel products

More Sunscreen products