Dermalogica • Age Smart Skin Resurfacing Cleanser • Cleansers

rated 3.8(58 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Fifaki on 2/17/2013 10:33:00 AM more reviews by Fifaki

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

It is the greatest cleanser for me! It not only cleanses, but it removed a broad dark spot from my forehead, something many specific products had not managed. I alternate every night between this and the daily microfilm ant and I am very satisfied.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 DarceyLondon on 12/2/2012 6:57:00 PM more reviews by DarceyLondon

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This resurfaced my skin alright! (and not in a good way). I was given 4 sample sachets of this and at first I really liked it. My skin felt really clean and fresh and I thought it would be perfect for getting rid of the dull, dry Winter skin and refine my complexion for Summer. Sadly after Day 3 I had to abandon it. My skin was really irritated, dry and peeling. I think this would be great for oiler and/or less sensitive skin but sadly not for me. I can't comment on price or packing because I only had samples, but my overall rating is a 2 because this product did not suit my skin type.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Jens32 on 12/1/2012 5:04:00 PM more reviews by Jens32

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Loved this product. I generally find cleansers are a bit neutral in that either they're bad or just ok, but this is amazing. In the summer I use every day but in the winter every other day. It contains active ingredients and may not suit sensitive skins, but would absolutely recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* smootsa on 11/27/2012 11:31:00 PM more reviews by smootsa

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

this cleanser is quite high on irritants (sodium laureth sulfate is the first non-water ingredient, plus hexylene glycol and sodium hydroxide) so i recommend starting with a sample.
.
like many other reviewers i found it harmed my skin, and as there are plenty of other aha cleansers (with anti-irritants) i'm more than happy to bin this one ;-)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* noseofblue on 10/24/2012 5:49:00 PM more reviews by noseofblue

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This product amazed me. I never before considered a cleanser with actives--I always felt that as long as it cleansed and didn't leave me too dry or too greasy, that was fine and I would take care of skin issues after cleansing. Wrong. The smoothness of my skin after using this is unparalled, even without my Clarisonic. It's now my HG. The only downside is that it will irritate eyes, so be careful.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 RedLipsCatEyes on 10/2/2012 11:36:00 PM more reviews by RedLipsCatEyes

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I like this cleanser. It's a bit to get used to no foam. I use in conjunction with Multivitamin Thermafoliant once or twice a week and together, they offer a really great exfoliation that lasts a few days. The reason I can only give four lippies is because I'm not sure this would work well enough alone to slough off dirt at and in my pores, which tend to be stubborn anyway. But used with the Thermafoliant, the exfoliation is more than substantial. My skin ends up smooth and glowing. One of my favorite exfoliation systems. Effects are similar to Dr. Dennis Gross Alpha Beta Daily Face Peel but I only have to do this once a week as opposed to daily.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Anna12345 on 8/30/2012 11:26:00 PM more reviews by Anna12345

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have mixed feelings about this cleanser because I think it is an excellent exfoliant, perfect for removing dead skin cells and giving skin a good polish, but I also think the lactic acid in it is too strong for people with sensitive skin. I have sensitive skin, so I don't use it everyday. When I did use it daily, I found it smoothed my skin but also made it red. Therefore, I think it is best if I use it once in a while (once a week or less) when I need to prevent acne, unblock pores, etc. I wouldn't purchase it again because I don't think its suitable for my skin and I don't think you should be "afraid" of what a product might do to your skin with daily use. There are other AHAs such as salicylic and glycolic acids which do the same job (exfoliates) but are a lot more gentle. I have many products containing these AHAs which can be used daily without irritation. Overall, it is quite a good product but I would only recommend this to people who don't have sensittive skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 janneh on 3/19/2012 11:25:00 AM more reviews by janneh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Very surprised at my satisfaction with this product. I'm only 24, so I don't use this for the AgeSmart aspect; please take that into consideration with my review. I use it as an exfolient. There are two suggested directions Dermalogica provides: without water and with water. My routine: I use the Special Cleansing Gel to wash the makeup off, and Bare Minerals Eye Makeup Remover (it is amazing). Then, I pat my face dry and put a little more than a pea-size of this in my hand and rub into my face for 1-2 minutes. I splash my face with warm water, rub it in a little more with my palms, then rinse. I have acne issues which this product does not instigate and irritate. It is abrasive and even a little painful to use without water at first, so that might not work too well for you. My skin texture is more like thick Italian skin, and not so much fair and thin like Irish skin. That is a weird way to describe it, but I think this product would be too abrasive for some. It smells great and does what it says. Worth the money up front - I've had the little travel one for over 2 months and use it daily. Hope this helps!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 slinky501 on 2/1/2012 3:30:00 PM more reviews by slinky501

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Really impressed with this. Does a great job of exfoliating and cleansing, my skin has looked markedly fresher and younger since I began use. Hard to isolate the effectiveness of this product alone as I bought the age smart starter kit as one, but this product does stand out. After use and before serum/ moisturiser my skin looks markedly fresher and smoother. Having read other reviews about its strength as an exfoliator I have alternated use with my usual, mild cleanser, which is Avene AC cream cleanser. My skin is acne and dehydration prone, with first signs of ageing. Has not aggravated acne, nor dried my skin. Has IMO made it look fresher and younger though. Would recommend it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hippihanna on 1/15/2012 4:35:00 PM more reviews by hippihanna

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Ive been using this cleanser for a few days now and am absolutely hating what it is doing to my skin.
I have always thought my skin was as tough as leather and could withstand almost anything.. I mean i roast myself in the sun and never experience sunburn ever. sometimes i even wash my face with baking soda almost everyday of the week and have never had any bad reaction! so i really wasn't expecting this product to start peeling my face off... It's literally peeling my skin off!
Its really strange because its quite a soft creamy/milky texture i'd expect something like this from a scrub or some foaming cleanser, but there's no foam and no hard particles in it.
Since using this facewash my face feels tight and thirsty, i can see those wrinkles from dryness forming around my nose with dry, hard flakes and cracks forming around them.
My skin has been really clear for a while but as soon as i started using this ive had massive zits forming on my forehead, cheek and chin.
Ive been using this once a day to start out with but i think ill have to use it less often now, which means that I cant use this as a face wash but more of an exfoliation, peeling treatment of some sort. Im not looking foward to using it that way as i already have enough really good exfoliators that i currently use and i wasnt planning to add another to my collection. I really was looking for an everyday cleanser when i purchased this.
I still give it 2 lippies because there is the possibility that my skin is just adjusting to a new product as it normally does and it might just get used to it and i might end up liking it. So you will hear from me if there is any change.

UPDATE 15.02.2012:
Ive been using this face wash for over a month now and I have been using it every second or third day/ in the mornings... I cant use it anymore than that because my skin will go just go crazy with zits, dryness and tightness. I have really oily skin and even with using it less often, my skin has not adjusted to it and I still hate it! Even when I follow with a really heavy moisturizer I still have dry patches everywhere and my skin is still painfully peeling in some areas.. It looks like I have scales when I put on my make up. In the areas where my skin has peeled off Im left with dark pigmentation marks :( that are really difficult and costly to cover up and find treatment to fade them.
i originally gave this 2 lippies but now have only rated it with 1!. Im not using it anymore and wish I had never purchased it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Dermalogica products

More Cleansers products