Paula's Choice Lip & Body Treatment Balm

4.4

104 reviews

84% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, Petrolatum (emollients), Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla) Wax (thickener), Lanolin, C10-30 Cholesterol/Lanosterol Esters (emollients), Beeswax, Ozokerite, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Copernicia Cerifera (Carnauba) Wax (thickeners), Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Jojoba Esters, Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Oil (plant emollients/oils), Bisabolol (soothing agent), Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate (stabilized vitamin C/antioxidant), Tocopheryl Acetate (vitamin E/antioxidant), Trihydroxystearin, Hydrogenated Polyisobutene (thickeners).


on 8/21/2013 11:36:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Silver, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

The only lip product I will ever use again! I've had really dry lips all my life and before I found Paula's Choice the only thing that worked was Blistex Lip Ointment ( which had to be reapplied every hour to be effective, made my lips tingle constantly, and was so goopy my husband always wiped his mouth after I kissed him!). Ordered this as part of the duo with the lip exfoliator and Wow! My lips are soft and smooth for hours and hours! I also use it under my eyes to protect that skin from the constant wiping I have to do (my permanent treatment for chronic dry eye causes excess tears to frequently leak) and it doesn't clog pores and even helps prevent that "sleep" crust! Other reviewers are correct...it is hard in the jar and must be melted with your fingertip to get good application, but unlike every other lip treatment out there containing wax, it doesn't just trap dry, chapped lips under a layer of wax. The description "treatment" is absolutely correct! The packaging is sturdy and maybe not as pretty as a glass jar or pot, but it keeps the product fresh and stable. This is truly fragrance free and taste free as well so you don't smell like medicine nor does it taste oily or waxy. I use the scrub every night followed by this treatment and wake up with soft, kissable lips. If I'm not wearing lipstick I'll reapply again in the morning and maybe once more during the day ( if I go outside I use Paula's Choice Invisible lipstick with sunscreen, another fantastic product, over it). That dry, tight, chapped feeling is a thing of the past!



on 3/15/2013 6:27:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Love this! A look at the ingredient list: castor oil, candelilla wax, lanolin, shea butter and jojoba - this is packed with the good stuff, and that's just to name a few!

I have the new packaging which comes with a plastic, metallic-blue lid. The plastic is nice and thick; I've dropped the tub a few times and it hasn't damaged it one bit. It's a decent size - larger than your Carmex or Burts Bees tins.

The balm is colourless and hard; you need to warm it up with your finger. The texture is nice and thick - think castor oil - and the staying power is great. I slather this on before bed and wake up with product still on my lips, which I like because that's telling me it's slow to absorb and thus providing a moisture barrier for my lips.

Also, the occlusive texture does not clog the pores around my mouth, a huge plus!
I can see this lasting me a long time which is perfect because this has become a staple in my daily/nightly routine.

EDIT 11th April 2014:
This is still my HG lip balm; nothing else performs like this little beauty. I still haven't finished my first tub! I also use this as a cuticle balm and it works fabulously. You simply must try this one... and thank me later! ;)

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 7/7/2012 10:22:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I got this product with the lip perfecting scrub in a pack for $16. I use it after the scrub and at first I was a little skeptical.

The packaging is not of the highest quality but also not of the worst. I fear the lid may crack easily if I drop the product so I'm being careful.

Once opened the balm looks like any other except that its hard. Its almost like a wax. I find that I have to warm it up by rubbing it with my finger a little.

Once it is on lips, I love it. Its smooth and so moisturizing. Its not shiny or glossy, my lips just look like they are full of moisture. A little product also goes a long way. It doesn't move around and it doesn't clog the pores around my lips either. Love it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 3/14/2012 3:10:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

For those who are using this on the body (especially knees, elbows, extremely dry hands), purchase 100% bottled castor oil instead! It is a cheaper alternative and it'll last you a long time. For lips, nothing beats Vaseline (or C.O. Bigelow's mentha lip shines), though I sometimes use a drop of castor oil on the lips - works great!


on 1/21/2012 1:39:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Using this on a consistent basis keeps my lips soft and prevents chapping. I have also used this on dry patches, my cuticles, and my elbows. For those who are sensitive, it does contain lanolin and for those who are concerned, it is petrolatum-based. As for the packaging, I have bought this several times and here's my experience: the first time I bought it, I'm pretty sure it came in the larger 0.5 oz size. The second time it was in a tiny, tiny pot that made it very difficult to get at with my finger and might have been called something else--I think it was just labeled as something for lips. It was also on clearance. The last few times I've bought it, it's been back in the larger 0.5 oz size and has been called "Lip & Body Treatment Balm." So, it sounds like the company received enough complaints about the miniscule size that they reverted back to the original size and name. Good. I went through that tiny pot in no time, or rather, I would have if I could've gotten to all of it...

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Finally I have found my hg lip balm. I LOVE this product. Everything about it is perfect in my eyes: it's not scented, it's thick, it's long lasting, it's not sticky, it moisturizes and makes my lips feel so smooth and soft. I 'll buy this over and over again. I believe it is worth the price. Plus it is made in the USA and I love supporting companies that manufacture from our home turf!

The only thing I would change is the fact that I have to dip my finger into a pot, but I make sure my finger is cleaned well before I use it.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 8/21/2011 9:36:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Wonderful multi-purpose product. I use it on my lips, nails and cuticles, elbows, and on patches of eczema. It's too thick (and probably too waxy/greasy) to use over large areas, but for the above purposes, it's perfect.


on 2/26/2011 4:51:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This stuff is really amazing; it's one of the few lip balms out there that keeps my really dry lips moisturized for a very long time. After two rounds of Accutane my lips have become quite dry and need almost constant moisture, made worse of course during winters. It's a true balm with a thick texture, I find you kind of need to warm it up between your fingers to apply it. It has no fragrance, colorants or essential oils which often irritate my lips. My only qualm with it is the packaging; I really hope she considers re-packaging it to tube or stick form. It's not cheap at all but it lasts a really really long time. Lovely stuff. Will definitely re-purchase.


on 2/2/2011 11:46:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I used to be a Paula's Choice fan but some of the actions of her company lately have really annoyed me. This balm used to come in a large tub and last for ages (it was called Lip and Body Treatment Balm), and now it comes in a much smaller tub that doesn't last long, and is spuriously called Lip Recovery Balm. It is the same product but in a much smaller container, at the same cost as before. I know companies have to make money but honestly, how expensive can the ingredients be? Not very, I think. Paula herself goes on at length about how cheap cosmetics ingredients are. The product is not just a lip treatment, it's for the body as well, as it's name used to state. PC has cunningly rebadged it as a lip balm, presumably because her PR people know that it's not a good look to try to sell a body balm in such a small quantity.

In essence, I feel ripped off! I used to use this product all over my body on dry areas - elbows, legs, heels, hands. I can't really do that now as the container is so small. I'm going to look elsewhere for a decent dry skin treatment. It's a shame as this is a good balm for very dry skin ALL over the body (not just lips!!). However, on principle, I will not buy this product again.

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.


on 12/16/2009 3:54:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is literally my biggest HG, #1 desert-island product of all time. I will update this review later on to add more of my personal thoughts on this product when I have time, but in the meantime, I felt it was important to pass on some relevant information.

This is the EXACT SAME PRODUCT as Paula's Choice Lip Recovery Balm (see MUA reviews here). Not a "dupe," but exactly the same. As of the end of 2009, Paula's Choice has renamed and repackaged the Lip & Body Treatment Balm; the ingredients have not changed at all. So if you are a fan of the Lip & Body Treatment Balm, do not despair - you can still buy it - but it is now called the Lip Recovery Balm. Unfortunately, it's more expensive per ounce now, though the overall price is lower:

The old Lip & Body Treatment Balm was $10.95 for a 0.5 ounce tub ($21.90/ounce).
The new Lip Recovery Balm is $7.95 for a 0.19 ounce tub ($41.84/ounce).
For reference, a tube of ChapStick is $1.69 for a 0.15 ounce tube ($11.26/ounce).

With that said, the Paula's Choice balm is WORTH THE DIFFERENCE. I would be very mad at them if they ever actually decided to charge this much, but I'd pay $100/ounce or more if I had to.

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.


Popular Lip Treatments


Baby Lips Lip Balm
1482 Reviews
Beeswax Lip Balm
3594 Reviews
Prep + Prime Lip
172 Reviews
Back to Top