Paula's Choice Lip & Body Treatment Balm

4.4

102 reviews

84% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, Petrolatum (emollients), Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla) Wax (thickener), Lanolin, C10-30 Cholesterol/Lanosterol Esters (emollients), Beeswax, Ozokerite, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Copernicia Cerifera (Carnauba) Wax (thickeners), Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Jojoba Esters, Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Oil (plant emollients/oils), Bisabolol (soothing agent), Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate (stabilized vitamin C/antioxidant), Tocopheryl Acetate (vitamin E/antioxidant), Trihydroxystearin, Hydrogenated Polyisobutene (thickeners).


on 7/7/2012 10:22:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I got this product with the lip perfecting scrub in a pack for $16. I use it after the scrub and at first I was a little skeptical.

The packaging is not of the highest quality but also not of the worst. I fear the lid may crack easily if I drop the product so I'm being careful.

Once opened the balm looks like any other except that its hard. Its almost like a wax. I find that I have to warm it up by rubbing it with my finger a little.

Once it is on lips, I love it. Its smooth and so moisturizing. Its not shiny or glossy, my lips just look like they are full of moisture. A little product also goes a long way. It doesn't move around and it doesn't clog the pores around my lips either. Love it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 3/14/2012 3:10:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

For those who are using this on the body (especially knees, elbows, extremely dry hands), purchase 100% bottled castor oil instead! It is a cheaper alternative and it'll last you a long time. For lips, nothing beats Vaseline (or C.O. Bigelow's mentha lip shines), though I sometimes use a drop of castor oil on the lips - works great!


on 1/21/2012 1:39:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Using this on a consistent basis keeps my lips soft and prevents chapping. I have also used this on dry patches, my cuticles, and my elbows. For those who are sensitive, it does contain lanolin and for those who are concerned, it is petrolatum-based. As for the packaging, I have bought this several times and here's my experience: the first time I bought it, I'm pretty sure it came in the larger 0.5 oz size. The second time it was in a tiny, tiny pot that made it very difficult to get at with my finger and might have been called something else--I think it was just labeled as something for lips. It was also on clearance. The last few times I've bought it, it's been back in the larger 0.5 oz size and has been called "Lip & Body Treatment Balm." So, it sounds like the company received enough complaints about the miniscule size that they reverted back to the original size and name. Good. I went through that tiny pot in no time, or rather, I would have if I could've gotten to all of it...

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Finally I have found my hg lip balm. I LOVE this product. Everything about it is perfect in my eyes: it's not scented, it's thick, it's long lasting, it's not sticky, it moisturizes and makes my lips feel so smooth and soft. I 'll buy this over and over again. I believe it is worth the price. Plus it is made in the USA and I love supporting companies that manufacture from our home turf!

The only thing I would change is the fact that I have to dip my finger into a pot, but I make sure my finger is cleaned well before I use it.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 8/21/2011 9:36:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Wonderful multi-purpose product. I use it on my lips, nails and cuticles, elbows, and on patches of eczema. It's too thick (and probably too waxy/greasy) to use over large areas, but for the above purposes, it's perfect.


on 2/26/2011 4:51:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This stuff is really amazing; it's one of the few lip balms out there that keeps my really dry lips moisturized for a very long time. After two rounds of Accutane my lips have become quite dry and need almost constant moisture, made worse of course during winters. It's a true balm with a thick texture, I find you kind of need to warm it up between your fingers to apply it. It has no fragrance, colorants or essential oils which often irritate my lips. My only qualm with it is the packaging; I really hope she considers re-packaging it to tube or stick form. It's not cheap at all but it lasts a really really long time. Lovely stuff. Will definitely re-purchase.


on 2/2/2011 11:46:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I used to be a Paula's Choice fan but some of the actions of her company lately have really annoyed me. This balm used to come in a large tub and last for ages (it was called Lip and Body Treatment Balm), and now it comes in a much smaller tub that doesn't last long, and is spuriously called Lip Recovery Balm. It is the same product but in a much smaller container, at the same cost as before. I know companies have to make money but honestly, how expensive can the ingredients be? Not very, I think. Paula herself goes on at length about how cheap cosmetics ingredients are. The product is not just a lip treatment, it's for the body as well, as it's name used to state. PC has cunningly rebadged it as a lip balm, presumably because her PR people know that it's not a good look to try to sell a body balm in such a small quantity.

In essence, I feel ripped off! I used to use this product all over my body on dry areas - elbows, legs, heels, hands. I can't really do that now as the container is so small. I'm going to look elsewhere for a decent dry skin treatment. It's a shame as this is a good balm for very dry skin ALL over the body (not just lips!!). However, on principle, I will not buy this product again.

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.


on 12/16/2009 3:54:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is literally my biggest HG, #1 desert-island product of all time. I will update this review later on to add more of my personal thoughts on this product when I have time, but in the meantime, I felt it was important to pass on some relevant information.

This is the EXACT SAME PRODUCT as Paula's Choice Lip Recovery Balm (see MUA reviews here). Not a "dupe," but exactly the same. As of the end of 2009, Paula's Choice has renamed and repackaged the Lip & Body Treatment Balm; the ingredients have not changed at all. So if you are a fan of the Lip & Body Treatment Balm, do not despair - you can still buy it - but it is now called the Lip Recovery Balm. Unfortunately, it's more expensive per ounce now, though the overall price is lower:

The old Lip & Body Treatment Balm was $10.95 for a 0.5 ounce tub ($21.90/ounce).
The new Lip Recovery Balm is $7.95 for a 0.19 ounce tub ($41.84/ounce).
For reference, a tube of ChapStick is $1.69 for a 0.15 ounce tube ($11.26/ounce).

With that said, the Paula's Choice balm is WORTH THE DIFFERENCE. I would be very mad at them if they ever actually decided to charge this much, but I'd pay $100/ounce or more if I had to.

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.


on 3/23/2009 12:46:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

As a lip balm junkie, and as a PC skin care user for about a year, I cant believe it took me so long to try this lip balm! This is probably my HG lip treatment now, I cant go anywhere without this stuff. It makes my lips super smooth and hydrated, and has never flaked off or made my lips flaky, like so many other lip balms tend to do. Also I don't need to apply as nearly as often as any other lip balms I've ever tried. Makes an amazing base for lipstick or gloss, they always go on perfectly smooth after i apply this. Does great thing for my cuticle too, which are usually kinda dry and ragged looking-I work as a Bartender/Server, and I'm constantly washing my hands and having to deal with strong bleach chemicals for the glass washer. I don't mind the packaging that it comes in, it's just like a larger Carmex tube. Just try to make sure your hands are clean before dipping in! I will definitely repurchase, however this jar is so big that I think it will last at least a year!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/3/2009 1:59:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Love this, and I'm a lip balm junkie. I have to have this under my lipstick. It even makes my lips look good without lipstick--not too shiny, but plump and moist!


Popular Lip Treatments


Baby Lips Lip Balm
1466 Reviews
Beeswax Lip Balm
3590 Reviews
Prep + Prime Lip
171 Reviews
Back to Top