Giorgio Armani • Designer Modelling Compact Foundation SPF 22 • Foundations

rated 3.7(39 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LUVrascal on 2/18/2009 11:33:00 PM more reviews by LUVrascal

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this on a whim. I normally use Laura Mercier's Tinted Moisturizer and I love it, so I wasn't necessarily looking for anything new. But this caught my eye at Neiman Marcus and the SA was convincing so I went ahead and bought it.

I bought the lightest color which is a good nuetral, it didn't seem to lean towards a more cool or warm tone color. That and the beautiful packaging is where my excitement about this product ends. Over the course of a few days I tried applying this by different means with the same result. I used my traditional Lancome foundation brush, a large Pout stippling brush, a makeup sponge, even fingers...each time it ended up looking like it sat on top of my skin. It didn't blend evenly, and when I looked closely in a mirror I could see an uneven surface that made my skin look blotchy. I absolutely DON"T have blotchy skin so that was ridiculous. I was like a patchwork quilt, even with the lightest of applications. Most days I don't wear or need foundation. I only wear it when I need an occasional polished look. It's nothing short of remarkable when an expensive foundation can make a person's skin look worse than it does when it's clean and make-up free.

The thick constistancy had no staying power either, even with a dusting of LM loose power on top to set it. It has a slight sheen to it too, and when rubbed between fingers feels almost greasy. I'm a light applier and I went for a very sheer amount of coverage each time I used it. I'm completely baffled. I expect this from a drugstore brand, not Armani.

As other people have mentioned below, it's around $70.00. I wouldn't repurchase or recommend. Back to the store this goes. That's the last time I stray from LM.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 spasovski on 8/11/2008 3:01:00 PM more reviews by spasovski

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

Love this product.. I use the 5 over 6.5 luminous silk foundation and my skin looks flawless.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 meezteeh on 5/26/2008 9:37:00 PM more reviews by meezteeh

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Mmmmkay. This is not going to be nice. I wanted to try this product based on the reviews here. The SA at Holt Renfrew matched me to shade 7. I wanted to get the 5.5 (the next lightest shade) but the SA insisted that 7 should work. I went home, tried it the next morning, it looked nice, but it was just too dark. So, because it kinda looked nice on my skin, I decided to buy the 5.5 shade so I can mix them together. BAD idea. First of all, this is not a cheap foundation. It costs about 70 dollars plus taxes, and I got 2 so I'm mad at myself for having 2 foundations for about $150 that I dont even like. For some reason, 5.5 alone or a combination of 5.5/7 just didnt look as nice as my initial application. It's cakey and my face was an oil slick by the end of the day. I tried it with primer and it actually looked nice, but then that was the same day that my face was blemish free. I tried it on my not-so-nice-face days, and it highlights every imperfections you have on your face. I think for this foundation to work, you have to have nice skin to begin with. And when I do put it on on my nice-face-days, I have to use a primer to control the oilies and I think the whole process is just too expensive.... not worth the $$$. I am NOT buying this again. I am waiting until my face tans a little bit so I can see how the 7 will look since it looked nice the first time. I am so disappointed and that's just $$$ down the drain.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* abfabjeanius on 5/14/2008 5:36:00 PM more reviews by abfabjeanius

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Oh, how I wanted to love this product. I got it in a swap and was dying to try it, but alas, I think my skin is too oily. On initial application, it looked gorgeous - gave my skin a perfect finish that still looked real. But within 3 hours, it was sliding off my face! And I had used NARS primer underneath, too. And as the day progressed, it literally settled into my pores. I think I will have to save it for the winter (along with my MAC Studio Tech.).

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 bluflax on 5/7/2008 10:55:00 AM more reviews by bluflax

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Oh dear. This looked great indoors, but when I went outside and looked at my face I saw EVERY pore in my face. I didn't even know I had so many large pores!! This is going back to Armani pronto.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tempestnuit on 5/1/2008 12:21:00 AM more reviews by tempestnuit

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

I've been trying several high end foundations and this is the best one! It makes my skin look healthy, dewey, soft and it's seamless on - doesn't look like you're wearing makeup, very natural.

Will definitely buy again. I use it with the little brush that comes with it and the color match was perfect for my golden tan tone.
The only thing is that I can't seem to wear it in my under eye area, it just doesn't look right, so i use a little bit of concealer and use this all over my face. It lasts all day, no touch-up necessary (maybe in the evening if you got out after work).

get this, you won't regret it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CJCJ on 4/30/2008 7:12:00 PM more reviews by CJCJ

Age: Unknown   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Lovely product. Goes on beautifully (I use the GA brush), covers well, leaves a gorgeous finish. I won't buy it again because the lightest shade is too dark. So, I'm layering it over LSF #0 and adding pure white powder over it for a match. If the color works for you, this is a great foundation.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mink on 4/29/2008 11:52:00 AM more reviews by mink

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Gorgeous foundation - I have to say I'm very, very impressed. Based on its appearance in the jar, I didn't expect it to have the light, almost powdery texture that it did. On the skin it is non-sticky and weightless and provides a soft satin glow, definitely not matte but not quite dewy either and provides very natural, buildable coverage. I apply with either a foundation brush or my fingers and wear Smashbox primer underneath. It does not have as much staying power as I'd like, but for the texture and finish it is totally worth it (I can just reapply). The ultimate test for me is whether it accentuates the pores on my nose and I'm happy to say it doesn't at all - and has actually kept them clearer! Also, it looked just beautiful on my friend who normally refuses to wear foundation because they tend to settle into her large pores. All in all, a fantastic foundation which would be perfect if it had more staying power. The color is a perfect match too - #5.5

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Nocturnefata on 4/26/2008 12:53:00 PM more reviews by Nocturnefata

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I do not own this product but tried it at Saks. The SA made me up using this as the base. I'm very pale and the lightest shade was ok for me in the store but not in the sunlight. What I didn't like was that it drew attention to every enlarged pore and any flakiness I had. The areas didn't have either of these problems looked nice for about 4 hours. Then it started to cake and settle. I was hoping this would be great for my combo skin but Dior Skin Extreme gets my vote for best compact/powder with SPF.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shaykirk on 4/14/2008 6:19:00 PM more reviews by shaykirk

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely love love this foundation! Yes, it is a little pricey, but I think it is well worth it (especially given all the $ I have spent on bad ones). It goes on easily and feels light but still covers. I have oily skin and it wears well all day...I often don't even need to reapply like other foundations. The packaging is fine with me and I do actually like the brush. The bristles feel like a mixture of a foundation brush and blush brush. I think it helps to get the light even distribution of the product on your face. I actually prefer it to my foundation brush and a sponge.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Giorgio Armani products

More Foundations products