Guerlain • Aqua Allegoria Mandarine-Basilic • Fragrances

rated 4.0(28 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Aethernaut on 9/8/2010 11:26:00 AM more reviews by Aethernaut

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Oh my, this is lovely! Opens with a big, joyful burst of mouthwatering citrus and herbs. Bright and juicy, this scent really sparkles. The basil packs quite a punch to start with and lends some depth while the whizzbang citrus does its thing. Florals waft delicately in and out, faint enough never to become sickly. Then the more woody notes come through and add a beautiful warmth. The citrus never quite leaves though, and apart from very hot days when I guess it's being vaporized much faster it lingers beautifully on my skin. I would agree that this scent probably smells very different from person to person depending on your skin chemistry. It's a very clean, light fragrance, I don't detect many of the subtler notes described by other reviewers on my skin which makes me a little sad but I really can't complain given that as is, it smells absolutely gorgeous on me, the only perfume that ever has. I do wish the basil lasted a little longer as I adore it and find it very unusual, but I can always reapply. The first time I smelt this was Christmas morning at the home of my significant others parents - his mum had bought it for me, as a present. A brave gift, since I am incredibly sensitive to smells and for that very reason have never owned a bottle of perfume in my life.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 carsonrach on 8/17/2010 11:54:00 PM more reviews by carsonrach

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

A great value. A really lovely summer fragrance. I didn't find it strong at all- in fact, if anything i'd say the opposite. The opening has a nice sparkly citrus, which unfortunately doesn't last long. Decent to low staying power. Recommended esp if you like citrus. Not overly foody or sweet, which is a plus for me- and hard to find these days! Not a complex fragrance by any means, but sometimes you just want something straightforward, fresh and pretty. This is it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* earthymoon on 7/28/2010 6:38:00 PM more reviews by earthymoon

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is a very fresh citrus floral scent. It's a nice summer/spring fragrance.
I smell orange, grapefruit and basil right away. This is a strong fragrance and can be over done. I usually prefer eau de toilette in order not to over do it, but this fragrance is almost on par with a eau de parfume. This makes me think that there's quality ingredients being used (natural orange oils, ect).
You can see fine particulates in the fragrance which also leads me to think natural derivatives are being used.
I like to put this on right after my shower and it makes me feel nice and clean. The scent lingers through out the day.
So why only 3 lippies? Mainly because this isn't a fragrance category that I care for. This was a gift. All the notes are balanced so well that I really appreciate the design.
The price isn't too shabby considering the care and quality that seems to have gone into this fragrance. It's a little pricey but when you compare it to products like Chanel, it's a bit cheaper (and I feel Chanel's quality has gone down).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MellyHelly on 5/5/2009 4:25:00 AM more reviews by MellyHelly

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I sprayed this scent on my wrist while flying to another town, just before getting into the aircraft and I was happy with it. It was a risk-action since I could feel sick if I sprayed the wrong scent, but had no problem with this one. I actually like it very much. Maybe not signature scent (I'm a devotee of Samsara and the alikes and like Floral-oriental) but absolutely pleasant for summer and working days. It's very refreshing and stimulating at the beginning, like a burst of sweet citrus mixed with aromatics herbs, very Mediterranean vegetable plot under the sun.
I love those smells! The mandarine is sweeter than other citrus smells and the basil is one of my fave smell in kitchen. I smell both in this Aqua Allegoria. After a while it settles down to a half-way between Eau de Toilette and refreshing splash cologne. It's stable and doesn't morph into strange things as many citrusy scents do on my skin.
I had a worry that it could become a plastic weird smell like Clinique Happy, but it didn't. I would say it's quite an elegant smell for daytime and it gives some relief from city stinks (dirty, pollution, unclean people...) and it also provides mental awakening in the morning :-)
Lovely scent!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tessture on 3/22/2009 1:10:00 PM more reviews by tessture

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Went onto my skin in a blast of technicolor gorgeousness. The mandarine--no pale orangey-yellow grocery fruit here,--is deep, almost red and sparkles. There are green notes, herbal and leafy. Faint floral notes creep in and out, and chamomile is very clear for a few seconds. Then it all fades down into a very blah soapy mixture which endures for about an hour. Then, Hallelujah, that passes and it settles down to a lovely deeply mandarin scent with a dried herb touch. Even the soapy part isn't bad, but that opening just knocked my socks off. Very few scents hit me like that on first try. It was spectacular. I will wear it several more times before deciding if it's FBW, but if I had to jump right now, it certainly would be.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* IrisNobile on 11/28/2008 4:04:00 PM more reviews by IrisNobile

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

It seems to me that mandarin fragrances aren't easy to achieve. As much as basil & mandarin are often combined together in different fragrances, that doesn't always smell all that good. As I always mention, Jo Malone's Lime Basil & Mandarin, was one of those failure fragrances. It has a mandarin opening for a whole 5 seconds, then after that it was nothing but a basil-scented soap. I was looking for a sparkling, vibrant, juicy mandarin, and Aqua Allegoria's Mandarine Basilic is one of those fragrances I have fallen in love with. It is the nicest-smelling mandarine note next to Trish Mcevoy's Mandarin & Ginger Lily: full of life, beautiful. It opens with a juicy, easy-to-peel sweet mandarin. Then it has a light-floral feel, and I know the notes include white peony, roman chamomile, ivy and green tea. The thing I love about it is that it never loses it's initial mandarin accord, and always manages to stay juicy and zesty. The basil smells herb-y but never overwhelming, it just gives it enough depth. Everything about this fragrance is just "Done Right" and nothing feels wrong. I guess we can all trust Mr. Jean-Paul Guerlain when it comes to creating fragrances, even the ones with a younger appeal.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* illeyad on 10/29/2008 5:52:00 AM more reviews by illeyad

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I recently purchased this on a wild trip to New York (we have the Guerlain cosmetics but little selection of the perfume where I live). I had walked into a Guerlain boutique and found over 35 bottles lined up on a table. The sales person immediately began spraying scents onto tabs of paper trying to sell me one. They were either ‘too strong,’ ‘too adolescent,’ or ‘too sugary.’ however, by chance she picked up this lovely citrus orange fragrance ad gave it a spray. I fell I love! I sampled the product on my skin for a day. I loved the orange-citrus smell, the Basil on me is light and acts as a deeper under tone to the over all smell. When I came back I purchased the $55 bottle and took it home. Now, every time I wear it I think of my adventure in New York (they say the closest think tied to memory is smell) and I always feel like I walked out of a orange orchard.


The only disappointment for me, is the scent only lasts about 8 hours at best before gently fading off.

I would highly recommend if you are looking for a light basic everyday perfume. It is a very informal casual scent to sport.

"Edit" I won't be buying again, I love it more for sentimental reasons. I have a preference for warmer scents. But I enjoyed it for the right reasons, one bottle is enough for me :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* h2okolor on 8/20/2008 5:44:00 AM more reviews by h2okolor

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is a really nice fragrance; mostly clean and fresh. It's not my favorite, but real close to being so... I use this one every few days. My husband loves it. It lasts the whole day (2 squirts). I think it's darn good value for the $$$. The packaging is fun. My daughter and I shopped at her birthday and I got her the one she wanted and this one for me -- we both like each of the Guerlain scents we bought that day a lot...! I don't know if I'll re-purchase; I think by the time this large bottle is used up, I'll be ready to move on. But I certainly am enjoying it now!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 indysmom on 8/19/2008 9:08:00 AM more reviews by indysmom

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I sprayed this on in Sephora and it smelled fresh and citrusy at first but when I got home it reeked on me. Literally smelled like b-o. I washed it off with antibacterial soap and I could STILL smell it. It was so bad on me I tried washing it off 3 more times and could still detect it on me. I think it is the basil that is not agreeing with me -- I have never tried so hard to scrub off a fragrance before.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* zeynepd on 8/11/2008 8:27:00 AM more reviews by zeynepd

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

This one does what it says on the tin. Mandarine and basil, yes. Starts with an energising burst of citrus and this is where I also get a hint of strong basil. The citrus settles to the most beautiful, true to life tangerine, but the entire energising mode makes me think of Schweppes tangerine. Still, I love the tangerine in this, after all my disappointment in my search for the ultimate orange. However, I'm not very happy with the basil, which I think does not reflect the true depth of the plant. In the drydown, I'm left with a completely soapy smell that reminds me of orange leaves, but neither the tangerine nor the basil. I would not purchase again because the drydown is not attractive at all on me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Guerlain products

More Fragrances products