MAC • Paint Pot - Constructivist • Eye Shadow

rated 4.5(98 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.89%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Ebecks on 4/14/2013 8:31:00 PM more reviews by Ebecks

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I love cream eye shadows and theses are wonderful. They are a bit expensive up front but they last forever! The color is beautiful and can be worn day or night. It can also be worn with other creams or even powder/mineral eyeshadows. Well worth it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Sylvia60 on 2/25/2013 5:18:00 PM more reviews by Sylvia60

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Silver   Eyes: Green    

Other posters have written about the remarkable colour and combining capability of Constuctivist.
I got off on a wrong foot with this paintpot.
It went on very dry and cakey unattractive when I applied it with my fingers.
So I put it away and didn't try it again til I discovered the wonderful world of makeup brushes and now it's my go-to eyeshadow.

I'd recommend to anyone's who finds Constructivist a difficult product to try varying your technique. it made all the difference in my case.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* NativeNewyorker on 2/14/2013 2:44:00 AM more reviews by NativeNewyorker

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I wasn't sure that Paint Pots would be for me. I have done a lot of reading and watched youtube videos using Paint Pots to create any number of eye makeup looks. Finally I decided to take the plunge. I chose Constructivist because of a few great looks that were created in youtube videos. I could see that using something like Constructivist as a base for eyeshadows, added a whole new vibrance and depth and intensity to the colors. This shade is very flattering to my complexion and green eyes. It is a true chocolate brown, a bit on the cool side with a wonderful sheen.


I also think this is a versatile product that can be used in many ways. Constructivist can be used on its own to create a quick smokey eye. I have used it under MAC's Antiqued eye shadow and it really adds so much to a color that I already love and use all the time. I have also used it under Mulch and Bronzed. I use my fingers to apply it to my eyelid or apply it with a synthetic brush and then blend out the edges. Not only is my eyeshadow more intense, but the staying power is so much better.


I think this color would be flattering to just about anybody. On my NW20/25 skin, it works amazingly well. With Constructivist I have been able to enhance my eye makeup and make the most of my eyeshadows.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* IrynaHarpy on 1/27/2013 7:58:00 PM more reviews by IrynaHarpy

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

Judging by the majority of the reviews here, Constructivist is as brilliant an all-rounder for most skin tones as I suspected it would be.

I don't see any of the 'reds' or other dominant hues others seem to be attributing to it, rather it's a fabulous blending tone with delicate frosting which would be flattering on young and old (glitters & sparkles may look like a statement on young eyes but, IMO, look like a tragic state of denial on older women). If anything, it would fall into a strange cool-or-warm neutral category of its own, dependent on what it's teamed with.

Being a massive fan of MAC eyeshadows & lippies, I had to have paintpots the moment they came out as, after having a tearduct removed a decade ago, my left eye is watery & anything not waterproof is gone within a couple of hours. It isn't a pretty sight! I'd become absolutely dependent on Lime Crime primer. or having to brush liner sealant over my eye makeup. Lime Crime is terrible from the blendability POV, while sealant means shifting around all of your careful blending work.

I would still recommend wearing it with a primer since all darker eyeshadows fade throughout the day and because paintpots will crease up older skin as they dry to a powder finish. Using them as a primer is a no-no for anyone past the first flush of youth. That said, Constructivist is a wonderful multifunctioner. Most of us don't have time to go through lavish makeup routines in the morning. I often use it as a thick eyeliner blended/smudged out as a winged liner, followed by Dipdown eyeliner a little closer in & finished with a bit of Blacktrack for the finely defined 'wings'. A bit of champagne eyeshadow in the inner corners of your eyes as a highlighter and to 'lift' any heavier liner close to the nose, plus waterproof mascara & there's a quick 'n easy basic eye.

This is my must makeup if I know I'm going out in the evening. The tones in Constructivist work perfectly with any colours you want to use for an evening look. A quick retouch & pulling the colour around to the crease & you can go copper, bronze, purple, pink, green or salmon! Constructivist doesn't seem to have a conflict of interest with any other colour groups. As I've noted, it seems to be more of a tone or shade than a colour. I can line my eyes with purples or olives or coppers & it complements them all as a contouring base.

Oh, and it is definitely waterproof. The garden tap exploded off into my hand a few weeks ago when I had to water the plants at the end of a summer's day before going out. I copped the full brunt of it in my face & spent at least 5 minutes under a fountain of water trying to get it back on before turning off the mains. While the emergency plumber fixed the tap, I had to put myself together & thought I'd have to start from scratch for certain. My face hadn't budged! Seriously! Not an iota! Okay, the Constructivist had faded slightly after a long, hot day... but it was there & I got away with simply resetting my BB cream with translucent powder, relining & filling my lips & a very quick blowave.

Any product that I can count on to simplify my life drastically definitely deserves 5 lippies! Incidentally, I've used it since it first came out in Australia, so I've been through a couple of pots. Stored upside-down, I've never had to resort to any gel/cream revival routines on this baby!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aminamalika on 1/21/2013 11:58:00 PM more reviews by aminamalika

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

One of my firsts paint pots and still loving it! I'm dark skinned so it is used as a base on my lids, where I usually just leave as it and add some darker shadow to the crease. Such a beautiful color that can be used as a smokey lid and crease shade for lighter skinned ladies.. And a perfect lid colour or base for the darker skinned folks. It's also a great primer like all paint pots. Just bought a new one and I never mind spending the money on this! Be careful to close the lid on any of be paint pots tightly or else it will dry up over time. Unfortunately that happened to my Indianwood paint pot -_-

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AngelinaRA on 1/9/2013 4:23:00 PM more reviews by AngelinaRA

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I already own Bare Study and Painterly, but Constructivist is now my brand new favourite! It's a gorgeous, deep, rich chocolate brown and looks so stunning on. I have dark brown eyes and I can build this up to a super sexy smokey eye. It's a beautiful colour, blends well, and stays on all day. Definitely one of my new HG items.

Conclusion: Perfection in a pot!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 adeleseddie on 12/17/2012 8:00:00 PM more reviews by adeleseddie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

a gorgeous deep color for the paint pots. probably my favorite of them all. it's creamy and perfect. and a great product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 damuko on 11/1/2012 11:34:00 PM more reviews by damuko

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this hoping it would be a more subtle, more long lasting substitute for my brown Maybelline gel liner, but it never ended up showing. Of course, that was never what it was meant for. I still use it under my crease and into my lashline to make my powder liner last longer, but it still doesn't work as well as some other primers I've tried. I'll keep using it til it's gone/too dried out to use, though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ellety on 8/29/2012 2:32:00 PM more reviews by Ellety

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Cool   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Love it!

First paint pot I've ever bought and its a makeup routine essential for me!

I can use it as a primer, shadow and highlighter. It's my only product that it's easier to use my finger than a brush. It kind of does the work for me. This paint pot catches the creases and shadows of my eye, which makes it look like I've blended two colors together.
For a NC50 like myself, I think it's very useful!

I wish MAC carried more paint pot shadow colors though. Im still looking for more neutrals for skin tone.

But overall...I highly Rec! :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* carrasco on 5/1/2012 8:13:00 PM more reviews by carrasco

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This paint pot is dark chocolate brown with a sheen to it, I wouldn't say shimmers or glitters are in it just a sheen. The sheen doesn't really come through on the lids though. I have no issues with blending, this does seem to be more on the dry side when compared to Bare Study or Rubenesque but still very creamy compared to Quite Natural. For me this works great at a base for giving dark colors more dimension. I love to use Satin Taupe over it or the right side of Nars Kalahari. I really love paint pots, I use one every single day under powder shadows. This is one of my less used paint pots but I would still repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products