Olay Hydrating Beauty Fluid Original

4.0

341 reviews

73% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water, cetyl palmitate, Glycerin, Mineral Oil, Petrolatum, cetyl alcohol, glyceryl hydroxystearate, stearic acid, steareth-100, Dimethicone, octyldodecyl myristate, potassium hydroxide, fragrance, DMDM hydantoin, iodopropynyl butylcarbamate, tetrasodium EDTA, acrylates/C10-30 alkyl acrylate crosspolymer, carbomer, FD&C red No. 4.


on 12/7/2014 6:05:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

It appears that this moisturizer has something in it that seems to tighten up my skin rather than moisturize it completely. I was attracted to the ingredients because of the mineral oil and I was hoping that this was a close formula to the Embryolisse Lait Creme Concentrate that I liked so well. This is a thin consistency and it's got a smell that reminds me of baby lotion. I liked the price and to make it a little more emollient I will mix in a little oil or serum in with it each morning. I need a good hydrating moisturizer under my sunscreen and this might fit the bill in a budget friendly way if I give it a little help.



on 11/15/2014 9:25:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I always thought this was an outdated product that my nan probably used and that it would be no good . It's nice pink colour and bottle always caught my eye though and I thought it would be nice to have one on my dressing table . I picked it up when it was on offer one day and .... I can't believe I wasted alot of time and money on other moisturisers !! This one is perfect I have oily skin and it's still fine for me , it smells nice , it goes on nicely , it's a great base for make up and it's not caused any spots . It's a great price as it just lasts and lasts . I won't be using anything else and I'm so glad I discovered this !

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have been using this lotion on and off for many years. Many people compliment me on my complexion and I always give the credit to this moisturizer. A classic and a keeper.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 10/2/2014 6:46:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I have always had oily skin so avoided moisturizing my face.... This product is so amazing!!!!!!! it goes on and feels like a regular lotion... after rubbing it in my skin feels like it is naturally moisturized...... NO oily/greasy feeling what so ever.... I dont even wanna say its "lightweight".... it feels like you never put anything at all! its amazing and will buy this product foreverrrr!!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/30/2014 10:54:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Tan, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is my HG lotion... I first tried it years ago from my mother. I think this is the best moisturizer, it really helps with dry skin and helps with all skin issues. I have tried expensive moisturizers and my skin always gets irritated to them after I've used them a lot and they have a lot of useless pricey fillers. This just moisturizers, it gets the job done, has a light smell. It really does make your skin nice.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/24/2014 5:01:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Another product that I really wanted to love, but just can't. Within the past year, my skin has gone from oily/combination to more combo/dry and so I am on the never ending hunt to find the perfect moisturizer that hydrates enough without being sticky. Unfortunately, this product not only does not hydrate very well for my currently dehydrated skin, but it is also sticky. It's a cult favorite with very many "dry skin" rave reviews, so I was hoping to love it, but for me, it just did not work. I will be on the hunt for something a bit heavier! Also, for anyone wondering, the consistency of this product is very liquidy (hence the name) and sticky. Very thin.


on 5/4/2014 10:47:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is the best product ever made. The effects of this is flawless, beautiful, radiant skin. Not sure what the secret formula is, but no wonder it's a cult classic!!!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 5/3/2014 11:30:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Light lotion, mildly moisturizing, soaks in quickly, but doesn't do anything special. It worked ok for me when I was younger but now my skin needs something more. Plus someone posted on here that its full of harmful chemicals, yuck!


on 4/7/2014 7:40:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Love this moisturizer! I will occasionally try other products but always come back to this one. Non greasy and has never caused me to break out. I like the packaging as well and can easily get the amount of product I want without wasting.


on 3/21/2014 1:48:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I've used Olay's Hydrating Beauty Fluid for years, picking it up after my mother using it for most of my childhood. I've found it to do the job really nicely and don't find myself searching for a replacement facial lotion anytime soon. I'd definitely call this my "HG" on terms of facial moisturizers. I can't ask for much more when my skin isn't in need of dire help! Just as long as it supports and keeps what I've got, I'll be pleased with it.

I have normal to moderately-sensitive skin with dry problem areas about my nose, cheeks, and in-between my eyebrows. I'm not very prone to break-outs and am too young to worry about wrinkles just yet, so when I look for a face lotion, I only need a moisturizer to keep my skin looking supple and soft and serve as a good palette for make-up. I have no real complaints about this stuff, but nothing quite stands out as spectacular either.

I like how the bottle is this girly, pastel-pink that sits on my bathroom shelf and is very easy to find among other lotions. I do think the shape is a bit odd, though I don't ever have any issues accidentally squeezing too much from the bottle or getting the last bit. Does what it is supposed to, and I know many ladies here appreciate a bottle versus a jar to keep germs at bay. A bottle lasts my family of three ladies about two-to-four months.

Now, if you're sensitive to scents, I can just about guarantee this won't be for you. Floral, very powdery and not in any hurry to fade too soon, people in front of you will be able to sniff this out after you've put it on. I always knew when my mother washed her face if she sat down near me and I could smell this. I think the nostalgia has made it rather pleasant for me, though I could imagine such a strong scent being a deal-breaker for anyone else.

In my experience, it's just about gone in fifteen to twenty minutes of applying it after a nice hot shower, but that's a long time to have such a strong scent wafting right underneath your nose and smeared about your face. I try not to let myself be too bothered, but I surely wouldn't mind an odorless version of this one.

Not particularly cheap, though not as pricey as a lot of other lotions either, so I'd say that's a rather fair trade. If you can stand the smell/happen to like it and don't need something too heavy or too light, this is a wonderful and trustworthy middle-ground. I don't ever fear it will break me out and it takes care of those dry patches lickety-split!


Popular Moisturizers


Moisturizing Cream
1266 Reviews
Strobe Cream
432 Reviews
Sweet Almond Oil
197 Reviews
Back to Top