Guerlain Parure SPF 20 Powder Foundation

3.8

71 reviews

59% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.6

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.6

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 8/24/2011 8:19:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I bought this as a replacement for Prescriptives Flawless pressed mineral powder, as Prescriptives stopped trading and I was desperate for a replacement which would be as good. However, I am disappointed. It is expensive and the packaging is lovely - however, I'm not interested in the beautiful gold case (which I find quite cumbersome and not easy to open)- I want something more compact and lighter to pack for air travel and holidays. I don't like the sponge as much as the thinner round applicator I had with Prescriptives, and a brush makes far too much powdery mess - I prefer to use a sponge/powder puff applicator. Also, although Parure looks lovely on me when I first apply it, it doesn't seem to have any staying power, and when I wipe off my make up at the end of the day, there's hardly anything left. This didn't happen with the Prescriptives.
I have said that I will buy it again, but that's only if I can't find anything better, or any way to get hold of the Prescriptives product from the USA, where I believe it might still be available (though not to me trying to order it from the UK!).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 7/7/2011 10:42:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I bought this powder foundation because i used to have the old version "divinora compact foundation" and it was my HG powder foundation, so i thought that this one "parure" would be the same except for the packaging but i was wrong. This powder is diaster, let alone its price, it has zero coverage, and the color is strange, im nc 30, so i chose Doré Sensuel 22 which is relatively abit darker than my skin, but when i apply it it turns out very powdery and very light, i look like a ghost. i dont recommend this powder foundation.


on 6/11/2011 1:29:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

My favorite powder to date :) It's very finely-milled so your face doesn't look cakey. Makes your skin look smooth and also has good coverage. I sometimes use this alone to cover undereye circles. Staying power only lasts a few hours however so I usually do frequent touch ups. The makeup case is quite good and looks very elegant. The price however is outrageous but it is an investment. The first one I bought lasted me approximately six months and now I am on my second one. Works well on my acidic skin, but I just wish it was more affordable.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 12/12/2010 6:47:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I really love the gold exterior, and it feels so luxurious when i bring this makeup around. I love the fact that it's refillable so i can get any drugstore brand refills and still get to use the awesome gold packaging. I love how fine the powder feels on my skin and this is definitely quality powder. It makes my face glow! It has long staying power too, i can see it by the end of the day. And to add on, SPF 20!? However, this is expensive. So i use it occasionally. I REALLY wanted this to be my HG but the only reason why i am giving this 4 lippies is because it doesn't control my oilies for long. I have to re-apply in 2 hours and i live in a warm climate, prone to sweating and oily face, and i hate re applying cos it only serves to make my face look like a mask. I'm using it while it lasts, but i am probably better off going back to studio fix.

EDIT: i'm putting this 5 lippies because i found out that the reason it doesn't seem to control my oilies is because i am putting too little of this powder on my face. I use a sponge with this, and it works perfectly. I use my mineral powder now for everyday use and i'll go back to this when i need a heavier coverage.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/6/2010 3:10:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

A truly beautiful, fine, fine, finely milled powder foundation that can be used as a finishing powder over foundation, or on its own with a sponge. I am neutral, Mac N3 in Face/Body; Maybelline Creamy Natural, Mac NW20 in liquids, and the color Rose Delicat is my perfect match. Not "rosey" as the name implies, but neutral and soft focus, the color is my skin but way better, just prettiness all around including the sleek shiny chic compact. The best things about the foundation are: 1. it does not oxidize or change color throughout the day and 2. it has a slight glow about it as if you are radiating from within! The perfect powder foundation for me, way better than the skin-destroying chunky Mac SF; better color range than Chanel and more finely milled. I will buy this again until it's discontiunued! Five stars!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/3/2010 1:15:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

i brought this compact about a year ago and used it through out fall and winter last year, then have been pretty satisfied with it, it does nothing wrong, really. it does not give a matt finish, which i appreciate as matt finish provides better coverage and oil control however does not look natural( imagine when light strikes on your skin, and your skin looks"set and matt" instead of lively and healthy). of course i like matt finish as well depending on the look i am creating. this powder when used alone gives a glowy and healthy complexion and the coverage is light to medium, if you look for a natural look, i will recommend it used on its own. however i have tried using it above foundation plus base, the healthy look does not show up, which is a little bit disappointing and somewhat strange in this sense. but it has no problem with oil control or adding coverage.
but when i think of how much it cost, i may not buy it again, i have tried enough powder i guess as i am a big powder user because it is convenient to carry around to touch up in the middle of the day and nice packaging to put into the bag and versatility in which you can use it as setting powder above liquid/creme foundation or use by its own when i am running short of time. however, it is almost $80 tax included where i live. it is unbelievable. the original price is 3/4 of how much i paid for. if i can get it in US or somewhere i may be buying it again considering it is a powder i have no complain for except the price for 9 g which may last for 3 months at most for daily use for me.
when it comes to the packaging, i am not as satisfied as the product itself. while a lot of people found it fascinating and elegant which i have to admit yes it is, the gold layer starts to fade or "rust" (gold does not, but it is not gold, just golden, so...yeah the same problem i have with ysl packaging which is the main reason i struggle with repurchasing any of ysl or guerlain products.)after a while(one month?i believe) and your fingerprint will get all over the compact and looks lacking of care and dirty.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/29/2010 7:12:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I sell Guerlain so I did not have to pay alot. This powder is great. I was breaking out awful. HG Shiseido let me down. This actually smoothed out the pimples. It made me look a little pale so I put on their bronzer and it was flawless. Smell is overpowering. Smells like mature rich women. Haha I don't mind smelling like a rich lady. This is really the best powder of all time I have ever tried. The gold compact looks great too. Since it is so expensive I try to limit my uses so it will last.


on 4/26/2010 12:34:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I love this foundation. Great colors. Blends well. Currently my favorite. One of the best color matches I have purchased.


on 3/19/2010 2:11:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Other, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

i do love guerlain products, very gorgeous n worth every penny. This compact powder is really great, makes my skin (ance prone,quite flaky, few spots) look like silk. It contains hint crystal pearls so its reflecting light very well, spots n pigmentation disappear as it never comes. I used Dior Perfect Fit pressed powder which can do the same miraculous thing, but Guerlain is better. However, this powder is not for oil controls, so if ur skin is oily, u should use another version Parure pearly white with narce spf 35 which contains more sebum absorbing.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/27/2010 2:13:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Brown

In the morning this looks pretty good, but after a few hours it does get oily. When that happens, I don't apply it again all over my face because then the orange patches appears. Overall, this is still a good foundation powder, even though the price is way too high.


Back to Top