Too Faced Retractable Kabuki Brush

4.6

270 reviews

88% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.6

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.6

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 6/1/2012 8:31:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I've had this brush for about a year and I'm very pleased with it! I bought it to replace a Smashbox kabuki, and I believe this brush is superior to that one -- the bristles are much softer, and I've experienced less shedding.


Pros: Cruelty free, tight bristles, very soft. Portable. Applies products evenly and without streaking.


Cons: Kind of expensive. After a year of daily use and occasional washing, I am noticing a bit of shedding (still, less than I experienced with the Smashbox kabuki or the BE kabukis I've used!).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 5/16/2012 11:02:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I love this Kabuki brush. If you haven't tried any of Too Faced's "Teddy Bear Hair" brushes, you must try them! They are super soft and just heavenly!
I love that this brush is retractable, also the outside case is absolutely beautiful. Several different versions of the case have been released so some are prettier than others. Great for overall blending, application of thicker foundations, and just amazing with my pressed mineral foundation. I have owned it for over a year now and have yet to see it shed a single hair.
I have not come across any other Kabuki with better application or even better packaging/looks! If I lost or somehow damaged my brush I would buy another again in a heartbeat.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 5/8/2012 7:12:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This brush is INCREDIBLY soft! I love the coverage that it provides and I love how compact it is. It is a little pricey, but well worth it! I'm a sucker for pretty packaging and anything pink lol. It's super easy to wash and keeps it's form beautifully.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/15/2012 3:25:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Very soft brush that works like and other kabuki brush but it's retractable so you can carry it around for touch ups during the day. Brilliant!

Looks cute too

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/23/2011 2:03:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I love this brush! What's not to love? It's pretty, functional, mobile and super soft.
It's totally synthetic so it's cruelty free which is excellent!
The brush is pretty dense so it's good for grabbing product from both pressed AND loose powder.
This is a MUST have

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/12/2011 7:07:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Black

After deathmatching this and Ecotools' retractable kabuki brush, Too Faced definitely wins. Both brushes are soft and dense, easily picking up product from my hard pressed powder compact, but TF's bristles are much softer. TF's brush head is much bigger and wider than Ecotools', though when closed TF's brush is about half an inch smaller than the Ecotools brush. The retracting mechanism is smooth and doesn't stick, and the cap locks in place with an audible click. After two weeks my Ecotools brush's sliding mechanism is already sticking, and the cap is loose and doesn't stay in place.


Yes, the Ecotools brush is more than $20 cheaper than Too Faced's brush, but you get what you pay for and IMO brushes should be an investment and not what you scrimp on. Ecotools' retractable kabuki is fine if you need a kabuki *right now*, but I'd save up for Too Faced's. The only things that annoy me about TF's brush is that a) they recently revamped the packaging and instead of the cute cherry blossom pattern there's nothing but bland script (this is me admittedly being nitpicky) and b) the brush will shed hairs occasionally as mentioned below. The second bit is quite egregious and prevents this from being a HG product.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this brush, I use it everyday to apply Mac Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation. I bought this so that I wouldn't have to use the sponge that came in the compact. Let me start off by saying that this brush is INCREDIBLY soft. Once my friend borrowed it the entire school day so she could pet it as much as she pleased as she said."Its soo soft." Besides being pink cute and soft, it actually does a good job at applying pressed powder foundation. I can get a good medium coverage with this brush. I also use this to blend out pigmented blushes. At first I wasnt sure how to wash this brush since its retractable. I wet the bristles a bit and apply some shampoo on my palm. I brush my brush gently back and forth and also in circular motions to get it really clean. I rinse it and then condition it for a few minutes. I rinse it again and squeeze out as much water as possible. Since this brush is so dense, it takes a while to dry. I recommend having an extra one or something else to apply your makeup while this is drying. It has never shed a hair and ive washed it every week for 6 months now.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/13/2011 4:40:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love this brush! I bought it because I didn't like the brush that came with my mineral makeup starter kit, it was way to stiff but this one is soft and comfortable to use. I also like that it's really portable. It's pretty expensive (I got it for $38 from the Canadian site ebeauty.ca: http://bit.ly/pOPrhT) but most good brushes are, so I just think of it as an investment.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/24/2011 8:22:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Yes,it was perfectly soft and gliding oh so beautifully on my cheeks... for the first 2 months... then the brush became coarse,stiff and nothing more than average even though i took really good care of it(my mac and dior brushes and even cheaper one like ks and ecotool are still hella soft)i tryed everything and nothing helped so .. bummer... (


on 8/7/2011 6:47:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

This brush is fantastic. I use it to buff on Mac Studio Fix Powder + Foundation and it gives me perfect medium/full coverage. It's super soft and it doesn't shed at all. It's quite pricey but definitely worth it in my opinion.


Popular Makeup Brushes


Core Collection
205 Reviews
Blush Brush
226 Reviews
Back to Top