Badger • SPF 30 • Sunscreen

rated 2.8(48 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.37%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LazyLittleLady on 4/20/2012 8:21:00 AM more reviews by LazyLittleLady

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This was by far the worst Badger product I have ever tried. The formula was so thick and white, it was hard to blend in. It felt like it sat on top of my skin and melted off. I'm pretty sure its not very waterproof since I still burned where I applied the sunscreen even after reapplying. Total fail.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 xcheck on 4/12/2012 7:40:00 PM more reviews by xcheck

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This sunscreen works. However.....I made the terrible mistake of using this on my face - a big NO NO. It goes on leaving a white tinge (which fades away) but it left my skin an oily mess. It felt like it kept melting the whole time I wore it while I was outside. The next day I had a huge breakout. Good product for the body but you're taking a chance if you use it on your face.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 saromakeup on 3/31/2012 7:19:00 PM more reviews by saromakeup

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I absolutely love this product. When I put it on it melts into my skin honestly without that much whiteness (I use it on my face everyday, and I'm a tanned / olive skinned person so actually whiteness can show up on it).

I know people have found it white / thick / greasy or even lumpy. Some thoughts on this.

I am used to natural skincare products, using olive oil, shea butter, cocoa butter on my face and body variously as cleansers and moisturisers. So I'm not put off by a 'greasy' feel - I actually find this super-luxurious and softening. I also don't mind a thick product as long as it's spreadable and workable which I find this one is.

The lumps are not zinc oxide! :) They are beeswax. They work into my skin pretty quickly, more so if I soften them between my fingers with the heat of my hands. Again, something you're maybe more used to if you use natural skincare products.

For me Badger sunscreen is an absolute daily pleasure, because the ingredients are exactly what I would normally seek and use for my skin (olive oil, shea butter, cocoa butter, jojoba oil) because those ingredients are anti-oxidant, hydroxy acid rich, plus gorgeously moisturising. I used to be put off using a daily SPF because I don't like chemicals on my face (not so fussed about my body), so I've been very happy since using this almost daily on my face.

But - if you're someone who is very used to conventional skincare products (even the high-end ones!) that contain a lot of mineral oils / petroleum derivates and silicones, you may well find this product greasy and weird to work with. I can only say that I love it!! The whiteness I guess is an issue for ppl but honestly I find it disappears after about 10 - 15 seconds of gentle spreading on my face. I do roll the tube as they say in the directions, perhaps that also helps.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Snowblind on 1/30/2012 5:00:00 PM more reviews by Snowblind

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

Like everyone have already mentioned, the stuff is very white. I used the lipstick from the same brand and it was a horrible, white mess but the sunscreen ain't that bad. The whiteness disappears almost completely after a good rub and some time. After an hour of placing the sunscreen I notice it has melted on the skin taking most of the whiteness away.

My main issue is the fact it's so hard to spread. You need to rub it well in order to get rid of the whiteness which isn't that good a thing if you use sunscreen on your face as an anti-ageing measure. All the rubbing and pulling will cause you wrinkles if the sun doesn't. I've tried to make the suncreen more watery and easier to spread by trying to mix it with water or day creams, but it never mixes with anything because it's waterproof!

The waterproof factor is another point of irritation since it leaves your skin very shiny and seems to suffocate the skin in a way washable sunscreens don't. According to Badger Balm they will be releasing a non-waterproof version of this in the near future, which I can't wait.

All in all it's an OK product. It takes a lot of time in the morning to put this on with all the rubbing and waiting for the whiteness to disappear. That's why I often find myself using the Green People sunscreen instead, since I don't have the time for this one. Unfortunately Green People uses lavender which isn't something to put on your skin but it's the safest sunscreen I've found apart from Badger Balm. And doesn't require a lot of work to put on.

Let's wait and see if the non-waterproof version is easier to apply.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 KrystalEmmaMarie on 11/6/2011 3:09:00 PM more reviews by KrystalEmmaMarie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I loved how strong the sun protection of this sunscreen was, I would prefer to use this after another layer of sunscreen the first hour because it's very thick and it has a lot of Zinc Oxide. Because the product contains so many organic oils such as coco butter, shea, olive oil, joboba oil, and ect, it can REALLY get into your pores, possibly making small little bumps and pimples around your face and back. Another miss was the large quantity of Zinc Oxide; how pale and shiny it made me. Maybe I'd use this on my arms, legs, stomach, and hips if they were dry, but for it's price on such a small tube, I will pass on it. Acne prone skins should avoid this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ShiverWithAntici on 11/3/2011 4:27:00 AM more reviews by ShiverWithAntici

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I am a fan of Badger products, really respect the company, and yes, find the packaging to be charming and adorable, but I just don't like their sunscreen. I originally purchased this solely because of the safety rating from the EWG. I have only tried the unscented version and used it regularly for a few months. That was a little over a year ago. I took a break from this product, then returned to it a few days ago and I'm very dissatisfied. I guess I was more broken out a year ago anyway and/or not paying as close attention to my skin as I am now, but after using this these past few days, I developed several pimples, including one very large, painful eruption on my neck. Now, to be fair, my breakouts could POSSIBLY be due to me changing around my other skincare products a bit recently, including my having stopped using my previous toner for a few weeks (which was probably helping to PREVENT my breakouts). But these breakouts just seem too sudden, so I think it was due to the sunscreen (I did a little research and found that one of the ingredients, cocoa butter, is highly comedogenic). Even if I hadn't broken out, the other reviews are spot on: this product is a misery to apply, doesn't blend well (it takes forever to make it look semi-decent and not completely ghostlike), feels so heavy and greasy (even on the days when my face is especially dry), it separates, and is just generally unpleasant to use. I really would not recommend this product to anyone, especially those with acne-prone skin.


**Update: I need to learn not to review products before trying a few other comparable ones. Compared to Beyond Coastal and Desert Essence mineral sunblocks, this product isn't bad AT ALL. This blends in much more easily than the others and doesn't leave as much of a blotchy white cast on my face (maybe the difference is the titanium dioxide in the two others that I tried and/or something about their formulations). I'm still not certain that this is what broke me out, so until I find something better, I'm going to use this.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 frobot on 7/28/2011 12:35:00 AM more reviews by frobot

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is the absolute worst sunscreen I have ever used. No matter how much I tried, it would not blend into the skin at all! Spent a while vigorously trying to rub it into my face / make it a little less conspicuous, but I had to give up and take all of it off with a paper towel.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 noire on 6/7/2011 2:48:00 PM more reviews by noire

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted to love this product! I had the non-scented version. It went on heavy, but I could tolerate that and it gave me much less breakout than the chemical sunscreens. The biggest problem was that the product had too many balls. It was really difficult to apply. In the end, I had to throw it away after more than 6 months of purchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ashleydutta on 5/23/2011 12:35:00 AM more reviews by ashleydutta

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I respect what Badger is trying to do, but they seriously need to work on their formula. The oil is totally separated from the zinc oxide paste. Every time I try to apply it, I end up with an armful of heavy oil, and no actual sunscreen! I have tried it a few times (different bottles) and it ALWAYS does this. I'm giving up. Even if I can get a bit out that is white (not liquid oil), it is so heavy and greasy. Not a problem to occasionally wear on arms & legs, but would never, ever let this stuff go near my face. I can't imagine. It is a horrible break out waiting to happen. The smell is also so strong of oils and shea/cocoa butters it makes me sick after a while. I also cannot imagine wearing this in humid summer heat. And given how oily it is, I think it must rub right off! One thing is good though - they use coated zinc oxide that is NOT nano size, and there are not harmful preservatives. I can feel confident what I am putting on my skin is good for me. I'll finish the bottle, but then I'll look elsewhere for a natural zinc oxide sunscreen.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 CarolynKeene on 5/10/2011 6:26:00 PM more reviews by CarolynKeene

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

Considering that this is a physical sunscreen, I found Badger easy to apply and blend, and the white cast faded after a few minutes. Here's what I didn't like: greasier than I expected and way too greasy to use on my face some of the ingredients could lead to clogged pores/acne (olive oil and cocoa butter) something in this made my face feel hot and irritated within minutes of application--maybe the lavender oil? the "Lightly Scented" version has a pretty strong olive oil fragrance (do I want to smell like a bottle of Napoleon's?). I'm using this for my arms and legs only, and won't repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Badger products

More Sunscreen products