Chanel Sublimage Eye

3.4

41 reviews

43% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Glycerin, Squalane, Shea Butter, Cetearyl Alcohol, Pentylene Glycol, Canola Oil, Methyl Methacrylate Crosspolymer, PEG-8 Beeswax, Beheneth-25, Cetyl Alcohol, Cetearyl Glucoside, Phytosteryl Canola Glycerides, Ammonium Acryloyldimethyltaurate/VP Copolymer, Palmitic Acid, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Dimethicone, Butylene Glycol, Sodium Methylparaben, Xanthan Gum, Centella Asiatica Extract, Hesperidin Methyl Chalcone, O-Cymen-5-Ol, Vanilla Planifolia Fruit Oil, Steareth-20, Tetrasodium EDTA, Citric Acid, Chlorhexidine Digluconate, Licorice Root Extract, Dipeptide-2, Potassium Sorbate, Palmitoyl Tetrapeptide-3, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Biotin


on 12/17/2011 12:40:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Wow what a waste of money....and if you have any sensitivity/allergies it will make your eyes swell up...made from some rare African flower but it should be considered a pesty weed.....I can't believe Chanel is selling this as their premier line....YUCK....I bought it returned it which of course Neiman's acts like their are doing you a favor taking it back!! It was an impulse purchase and would normally purchase Chanel/new product lines at Nordstrom because of their awonderful customer service.



on 12/17/2011 12:33:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

I received a deluxe sample of this and have been using this religiously am and pm for about 5 weeks now. Despite my friend's love for this eye cream, this doesn't do much for me. For sure, I'm going to try something else and will not repurchase, especially at this insane price.

Regarding the eye cream, this is on the emollient side and it does make my eye area looking velvety and smooth for a while. I'm some tiny fine lines under one of my eyes and I can tell they look less apparent with this eye cream before the cream is fully absorbed. Therefore I don't think it helps to reduce fine lines... To be honest, I'm doubtful if there is an eye cream that can really reduce fine lines, instead of filling them with silicones or other ingredients for an illusion.

As for dark circles, I cannot see any improvement and I somehow think that they look worse. I'm not sure if this is my health or this eye cream though for sure, it won't reduce mine.

This is decently moisturizing enough for my Sahara eye area. I need a second eye cream though I can get away with this alone if the humidity isn't too low. If you don't have very very dry eye area, this alone may be enough for you.

Another problem is that it doesn't help my concealer to sit under my eyes better, or probably worse. Fyi, I'm using Cle de Peau's concealer. Can you imagine my concealer looks better on unmoisturized skin than with this?

Honestly, I'm disappointed with this eye cream, esp it comes from one of my favourite brands. It's not even an average eye cream for me, sadly.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/22/2011 11:04:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Black

Fortunately for me, but unfortunately for my wallet, this product works wonders on my eye area. I've gone through many an eye cream and regular moisturizers around my eye area, but Chanel's sublimage eye cream has significantly reduced my fine lines and lightened my dark circles in the two months I've been using it this far. It's thick but you need very little, so I imagine the jar lasting a year or more even with twice daily usage. In my mind that eases the $200US price tag a bit, but if you don't want to commit to a full jar sample tubes are easy to get from Chanel counters (if the SAs are nice and generous) and/or eBay. Jars don't bother me so the packaging isn't an issue, and the vanilla scent is soft and not overpowering. Would be HG if it wasn't so out of my price comfort zone.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/21/2011 2:09:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I just purchased my second jar of Sublimage Eye... I love it! Very rich and moisturizing. It is a bit expensive (I get it at The Bay for $190), but it lasts forever. I bought my last jar 8 months ago and still have enough left in it for another month or so... now that I think about it, I spend more on Starbucks coffee and it does absolutely nothing for my skin, lol. You don't need to use a lot because it is very thick and luxurious. I'm not sure I would spend the money if I were in my early 20's, but now that I'm 34 I wouldn't hesitate for a second to buy something that works so well.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/23/2011 4:53:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

8/4/11 EDIT O.K. I've REALLY come to love how much this moisturizes my entire eye area and have actually bought some more sample tubes, BUT, I got them at a REALLY good price from someone who got them as a GWP and wasn't using them. I stand by what I said below. The ingredients do NOT qualify this product for a $200 price range. I just find it well moisturizing and non irritating around my sensitive eye area. A LOT of creams irritate around my eyes. But this really doesn't do anything for my dark circles And there aren't any ingredients in it that would. But I do like the cream. I just would never pay anywhere near full price for it.
7/29/11 EDIT: This IS REALLY moisturizing and gentle around my eye, the product is really growing on me....not $200 a 1/2 ounce bottle worth of growing but 4 lippie growing, so it gets 4 lippies.
I like Chanel Sublimage Eye Cream. But then again, I'd like any eye cream that has the first two listed ingredients: water and glycerin. Water is always a good base and glycerin always plumps up, minimizes lines and really alleviates dry areas while being non-irritating. Then again, it's also incredibly cheap and not worth putting out $200 for a 1/2 ounce bottle of it, even if it's by Chanel and they've added some exotic form of vanilla. Exotic or not, vanilla oil is just vanilla oil and, while an excellent moisturizer and anti-oxident in it's own right,again, not worth putting out $200 for a 1/2 ounce jar.

Now, I have for years used Avon's Moisture Therapy Hand Cream. It has an excellent glycerin base (as does Chanel's Sublimage Eye Cream) and little fragrance. You can actually dot this hand cream under your eyes and get releif from dryness and a plumping effect of the under-eye area and fine lines disappear. Why? It's glycerin based, it does that. For $3.99 a tube (a 3 ounce tube). So WHY pay $200 for a 1/2 jar (lovely jar though) of basically the same thing? Add a few drops of vanilla oil to Avon's Moisture Therapy hand Cream, you've got the same thing.

There are some products out there that actually hold moisture in a little better for much longer, but these contain hyaluronic acid. Chanel Sublimage does not, ROC does (plus ROC contains retinol), And ROC undereye treatments cost about $20 (or a little less at Walgreens)

So, while I intend to use up my sample of Chanel sublimage (and I do like it), I don't intend to buy it. And this comes from a woman who generally loves all things Chanel. Well, all fashions and fragrances anyway. I am not really sold on their skincare or makeup.

Now, an aside on the jar. It's adorable but not practical. It's clunky, o.k. for the one's boudior but impractical to carry around. And it is not very hygenic. I would prefer if it came in a tube, much more hygenic and practical for carrying around with one.

Overall, this is one Chanel product which I cannot recommend. Save your $$$ and get the ROC Retinol Correxion Deep Wrinkle Filler with Retinol and Hyaluronic Acid.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 7/17/2011 6:10:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have rosacea hyper-sensitive skin and eyes. I didn't think I'd like the Chanel creams. They are a line which, to me focuses on more on elegance over gentleness. However, the Sublimage is one of the creamiest and gentlest eye creams I have found. It does not sting, and keeps the eye area nicely hydrated. Worth $200? I could actually justify that because it would easily last a year. However, I do not like the fact it comes in a jar,not a tube (bacteria issues), so I have been content to purchase sample tubes off Ebay. Much easier to work with, and within the realm of affordability, too.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/12/2011 11:24:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

They say this should last six months.. So if it does at $200 it really costs $33 a month... Which for a decent eye cream is a deal. I've been trying a lot of eye creams as I tend to get puffy eyes and also have dry skin.. Sublimage hydrates and I have noticed that my eyes aren't as puffy after a few weeks. I wouldn't say this eye cream turns back the hands of time.. But it's pretty great.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/8/2010 3:21:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

No matter how hard I try, I cannot find an eye cream as creamy and hydrating as this. Every eye cream I try irritates my eyes, this does not. I am sure this isn't worth $200 but I like it and I buy it once every twelve months so in the long haul the price isn't an issue. I like to think this is delaying the signs of age by simply providing hydration, it also contains a peptide or two so that can't hurt. Cannot comment on the anti-aging properties because that is not my focus. But if you want hydration and no irritation this should be a safe bet.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/13/2010 3:42:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This eye treatment seems very average. I'm in my early 20s and use eye creams for prevention, but this didn't really hydrate or wow me in any other ways. Furthermore, though Chanel touts some "magical" vanilla extract, the ingredients are mostly preservatives, artificial fragrance, waxes, oils and other synthetics--nothing particularly effective nor worth the steep price tag. It didn't burn my skin or cause any other sort of damage, but I found absolutely no reason to buy this.


on 3/4/2010 6:05:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This undereye cream is just average. I got a sample of it when I purchased my Blanc Essential Night cream and I've been applying it religiously every night for the last 4-5 months, but my undereye dark circles don't seem to be going away at all. I wouldn't purchase this very highly expensive eye cream.


Back to Top