Chanel • Sublimage Eye • Treatments (Eye)

rated 3.3(39 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.41%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cerulfox on 11/22/2011 11:04:00 PM more reviews by cerulfox

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Fortunately for me, but unfortunately for my wallet, this product works wonders on my eye area. I've gone through many an eye cream and regular moisturizers around my eye area, but Chanel's sublimage eye cream has significantly reduced my fine lines and lightened my dark circles in the two months I've been using it this far. It's thick but you need very little, so I imagine the jar lasting a year or more even with twice daily usage. In my mind that eases the $200US price tag a bit, but if you don't want to commit to a full jar sample tubes are easy to get from Chanel counters (if the SAs are nice and generous) and/or eBay. Jars don't bother me so the packaging isn't an issue, and the vanilla scent is soft and not overpowering. Would be HG if it wasn't so out of my price comfort zone.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 laurieja on 11/21/2011 2:09:00 PM more reviews by laurieja

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I just purchased my second jar of Sublimage Eye... I love it! Very rich and moisturizing. It is a bit expensive (I get it at The Bay for $190), but it lasts forever. I bought my last jar 8 months ago and still have enough left in it for another month or so... now that I think about it, I spend more on Starbucks coffee and it does absolutely nothing for my skin, lol. You don't need to use a lot because it is very thick and luxurious. I'm not sure I would spend the money if I were in my early 20's, but now that I'm 34 I wouldn't hesitate for a second to buy something that works so well.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* crickett85 on 7/23/2011 4:53:00 PM more reviews by crickett85

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

8/4/11 EDIT O.K. I've REALLY come to love how much this moisturizes my entire eye area and have actually bought some more sample tubes, BUT, I got them at a REALLY good price from someone who got them as a GWP and wasn't using them. I stand by what I said below. The ingredients do NOT qualify this product for a $200 price range. I just find it well moisturizing and non irritating around my sensitive eye area. A LOT of creams irritate around my eyes. But this really doesn't do anything for my dark circles And there aren't any ingredients in it that would. But I do like the cream. I just would never pay anywhere near full price for it.
7/29/11 EDIT: This IS REALLY moisturizing and gentle around my eye, the product is really growing on me....not $200 a 1/2 ounce bottle worth of growing but 4 lippie growing, so it gets 4 lippies.
I like Chanel Sublimage Eye Cream. But then again, I'd like any eye cream that has the first two listed ingredients: water and glycerin. Water is always a good base and glycerin always plumps up, minimizes lines and really alleviates dry areas while being non-irritating. Then again, it's also incredibly cheap and not worth putting out $200 for a 1/2 ounce bottle of it, even if it's by Chanel and they've added some exotic form of vanilla. Exotic or not, vanilla oil is just vanilla oil and, while an excellent moisturizer and anti-oxident in it's own right,again, not worth putting out $200 for a 1/2 ounce jar.

Now, I have for years used Avon's Moisture Therapy Hand Cream. It has an excellent glycerin base (as does Chanel's Sublimage Eye Cream) and little fragrance. You can actually dot this hand cream under your eyes and get releif from dryness and a plumping effect of the under-eye area and fine lines disappear. Why? It's glycerin based, it does that. For $3.99 a tube (a 3 ounce tube). So WHY pay $200 for a 1/2 jar (lovely jar though) of basically the same thing? Add a few drops of vanilla oil to Avon's Moisture Therapy hand Cream, you've got the same thing.

There are some products out there that actually hold moisture in a little better for much longer, but these contain hyaluronic acid. Chanel Sublimage does not, ROC does (plus ROC contains retinol), And ROC undereye treatments cost about $20 (or a little less at Walgreens)

So, while I intend to use up my sample of Chanel sublimage (and I do like it), I don't intend to buy it. And this comes from a woman who generally loves all things Chanel. Well, all fashions and fragrances anyway. I am not really sold on their skincare or makeup.

Now, an aside on the jar. It's adorable but not practical. It's clunky, o.k. for the one's boudior but impractical to carry around. And it is not very hygenic. I would prefer if it came in a tube, much more hygenic and practical for carrying around with one.

Overall, this is one Chanel product which I cannot recommend. Save your $$$ and get the ROC Retinol Correxion Deep Wrinkle Filler with Retinol and Hyaluronic Acid.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* msm4slm on 7/17/2011 6:10:00 PM more reviews by msm4slm

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have rosacea hyper-sensitive skin and eyes. I didn't think I'd like the Chanel creams. They are a line which, to me focuses on more on elegance over gentleness. However, the Sublimage is one of the creamiest and gentlest eye creams I have found. It does not sting, and keeps the eye area nicely hydrated. Worth $200? I could actually justify that because it would easily last a year. However, I do not like the fact it comes in a jar,not a tube (bacteria issues), so I have been content to purchase sample tubes off Ebay. Much easier to work with, and within the realm of affordability, too.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 thecoveted on 6/12/2011 11:24:00 PM more reviews by thecoveted

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

They say this should last six months.. So if it does at $200 it really costs $33 a month... Which for a decent eye cream is a deal. I've been trying a lot of eye creams as I tend to get puffy eyes and also have dry skin.. Sublimage hydrates and I have noticed that my eyes aren't as puffy after a few weeks. I wouldn't say this eye cream turns back the hands of time.. But it's pretty great.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 buddy655 on 11/8/2010 3:21:00 AM more reviews by buddy655

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

No matter how hard I try, I cannot find an eye cream as creamy and hydrating as this. Every eye cream I try irritates my eyes, this does not. I am sure this isn't worth $200 but I like it and I buy it once every twelve months so in the long haul the price isn't an issue. I like to think this is delaying the signs of age by simply providing hydration, it also contains a peptide or two so that can't hurt. Cannot comment on the anti-aging properties because that is not my focus. But if you want hydration and no irritation this should be a safe bet.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kayelle on 6/13/2010 3:42:00 PM more reviews by Kayelle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This eye treatment seems very average. I'm in my early 20s and use eye creams for prevention, but this didn't really hydrate or wow me in any other ways. Furthermore, though Chanel touts some "magical" vanilla extract, the ingredients are mostly preservatives, artificial fragrance, waxes, oils and other synthetics--nothing particularly effective nor worth the steep price tag. It didn't burn my skin or cause any other sort of damage, but I found absolutely no reason to buy this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 blackholes on 3/4/2010 6:05:00 AM more reviews by blackholes

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This undereye cream is just average. I got a sample of it when I purchased my Blanc Essential Night cream and I've been applying it religiously every night for the last 4-5 months, but my undereye dark circles don't seem to be going away at all. I wouldn't purchase this very highly expensive eye cream.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Catloveschanel on 3/3/2010 3:28:00 AM more reviews by Catloveschanel

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have used this for two weeks and it's very hydrating for my eyes and my wrinkles seem to be subsiding.

I got this on the fab Coco Rouge New Lipstick launch makeover at Nordstroms that coincided with the fabulous spending spree 4 days prior to my birthday. It was a gift with purchase and 4 ml is sufficient for trial.

Please note I use Retinol on my eyes as well per my dermatologist advice. It dried out my eyes . . . as is known to happen before it gets better. I have used just about every eye cream and this is just about the best due to the wrinkles subsiding. It doesn't reduce puffiness. Erno Laszlo antioxidant reduces puffiness. Puffiness off and on leads to wrinkles. . . so it is a toss up whether or not I would buy it again, but so far, so love.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 PanPan70 on 2/25/2010 5:26:00 PM more reviews by PanPan70

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I got a deluxe sample of this as a GWP. There's no way I'd plunk down $200 for a jar of it. it's a nice eye cream and I'm using it and I like it. It's very emollient-- I find that if I use too much it kind of sits on top of my skin rather than soaking in. It's too rich for somebody with as oily skin as I have. But if you've got dry skin and want to spend way too much money on skin care you might be pleased with this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Chanel products

More Treatments (Eye) products