MAC • Paint Pot in Painterly • Eye Shadow

rated 4.3(949 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 billierosetyler on 7/2/2014 2:48:00 AM more reviews by billierosetyler

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Background: I have only been using this product for about a month, but it has become one of my staples! I apply it with my index finger.

PROS:
* Makes an excellent eyeshadow base. Covers up darkness/veins on lids.

CONS:
* Expensive (AUD $35).
* It creases. However, I resolved this by applying primer first (Too Faced Shadow Insurance).

Tips: To prevent it from drying out while I am applying the product, I unscrew the lid of the pot, swipe some of the product on to my finger, and then place the pot face-down on the basin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lovelymallie on 6/20/2014 10:53:00 AM more reviews by lovelymallie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I have mixed feelings about this product, but for the most part I love it!
In the first place I bought it to wear on its own, just to "even out the eyelid" for an everyday natural look. Well, I can't do that. This thing creases like crazy!
However if I use it as a primer, with eyeshadow on top it stays in place and makes a great base for any eyeshadow. It is probably the best primer I have tried, at least on the same page as UD primer potion and the one from Too Faced.
Now the shade of this, I find a bit odd. At least on me. I'm a NC15-20, and this is quite pink. If probably should've gone with Soft Ochre instead.

- Nice eyeshadow primer, I will definitely buy again if I ever use it up. (comes in a big jar)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sizza911 on 6/15/2014 9:04:00 PM more reviews by sizza911

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I love this as a base for any eyeshadow looks that are going to be brown/pink based. I am very fair skinned and as I get older, the skin on my eyelids is getting thinner and more blue veins and redness show through. This paint pot does a great job of covering my veins and giving me a smooth and evenly colored eyelid to put color over. It is a bit darker than my skin tone, so I only use this up to my crease and then use a lighter eyeshadow primer or NYX's white eyeshadow base under my browbone. In the past, I had the Stila Prime Pot to use. It is pretty identical but what makes my MAC better is that my Stila prime pot dried up and was worthless within 6 months and I had barely made a dent in it. I felt like I pretty much wasted $20 for it. My MAC Paint Pot has been in my drawer for a year and is only half used and still as soft and pliable as the day I bought it. Since my nails are long, I use a brush to apply this now to keep it from getting underneath them. I have just enough time to work this in place before it sets up and mattifies. It's always perfect by the time I'm ready to start applying my powder shadows over it. I recently bought one for my daughter to use too after I did her makeup for prom and she was thrilled with her look and how long it lasted. She has somewhat pigmented eyelids, despite being very fair skinned like me, and the Paint Pot lightened the skin on her lids and making a great base for her eyeshadows too. Painterly is a great pick for lighter skinned gals like me. Darker skinned gals or more olive toned ladies would probably like Soft Ochre better.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bamaRN37 on 6/11/2014 10:01:00 PM more reviews by bamaRN37

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I am NC15 and this is good for days when I don't feel like wearing eyeshadow. Most of the time I use Painterly and then do my winged liner and mascara. It covers the little veins and any discoloration on my eye lids. If you use a thin layer, I can see where it might be good to prevent creasing. However if you use any more than that, it just might crease up on you. Might be better off using UDPP. I would not repurchase because concealer or UDPP would be better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 bambambadgal on 6/4/2014 10:16:00 PM more reviews by bambambadgal

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I find that this product works best as a consealer or a highlighter. in my case its great for contouring or neatening up edges ( eg eyebrows / liners) but as far as eyeshadow goes.... Boring , plain , lifeless :s I will buy again great for base for darker complextions :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 maybellecowbell on 5/29/2014 5:35:00 AM more reviews by maybellecowbell

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

Totally over hyped for me - totally rubbish as a base, UDPP is better & I still have to use that under this to get it to not crease, what is even the pint of that? Just adding an extra unnecessary step. I don't even find that shadow adheres to this particularly well. I don't get more than 3/4 hours wear from this with having to touch up with is a lot less then almost any other eye product I use.

On my skin this is a good neutral tone, so there's something positive I can say about it. Though I have even tone on my lids anyway so I don't need it *humble brag*.

Basically stay away if you have even the slightest bit of oil on your lids (eg. if you are a human).

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lupitastar07 on 5/28/2014 12:38:00 AM more reviews by lupitastar07

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This evens out my skin tone, hides the vains I have, prevents my eyeshadow from creasing, make the colors more vibrant, seems to be waterproof, and makes my e/s easier to blend. What more can I ask for? (Well, the product does dry out if the jar is not clased super tight but that is to be expected.)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* valmont32677 on 5/22/2014 8:31:00 PM more reviews by valmont32677

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

I bought this sight unseen because somebody had used it in a YouTube cat eye liner tutorial. Ugh!! This went back returned unused for the PP in Vintage Selection...Painterly is too much like concealer or a base looking to me. Bring on the glitter bombs please!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 darthodis on 5/21/2014 8:02:00 AM more reviews by darthodis

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I'm on my last uses of this product and it's unavailable everywhere I can get it...and I'm really sad if I have to live a make-up-wearing-day without this product. I use Painterly as a eyeshadow base and it's the only product that does it all for me; cover veiny lids and prime my eyelids. It does not crease at all on me. HG product for sure.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 shalie on 5/13/2014 8:43:00 AM more reviews by shalie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This paint pot is amazing, I am olive tone, who tans easily and this is the right color for me, creamy, long lasting, and looks great with a smoky eye. A little bit on the expensive but it is worth the investment. Looks flawless on the skin and it is a nice canvas for neutral colors.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products