MAC Paint Pot in Painterly

4.3

1000 reviews

81% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Isodocecane, dimethicone, polyethylene, hydrogenated polyisobutene, quaternium-90 bentonite, dimethicone silylate, octyldodecanol, silica, trihydroxystearin, retinyl palmitate, tocopheryl acetate, lecithin, carnauba wax, propylene carbonate, triethoxycaprylylsilane. May contain: mica, titanium dioxide, iron oxides, bismuth oxychloride, blue 1 lake, carmine, chromium hydroxide green, chromium oxide greens ferric ferroxyanide, manganese violet, ultramarines, yellow 5 lake.


on 7/4/2015 9:49:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Grey

I use this mostly as a base for my eyeshadow and actually as a small spot concealer! I like the texture of it and it works perfectly as a base.



on 6/28/2015 8:51:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have oily, but not excessively oily lids. Gave this product a good year worth of trial and error.

I believed this to be a eye shadow primer. For that it is HORRIBLE. It doesn't help keep it on pretty much at all. I read somewhere to set it with a neutral shade before shadows, didn't work. I read somewhere to use a little more product then your expecting, didnt work.

It is pink so it covers veining in eyes well so if you use it for that it may work for you, but even then it started to come off within 4 hrs. May also work for ppl with dryer lids, but from what I've heard if you have dry lids the ELF primer is amazing. I'd probably try that first if you fit into that category. Don't automatically waste youre money on this.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/21/2015 10:47:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Love this product, but I don't feel it works as a primer at all. I definitely creases but the colour is lovely.


on 6/21/2015 9:04:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Other, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Love it


on 6/17/2015 12:26:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I've used this product consistently since 2008, and no matter how many other primers I use (Too Faced, Urban Decay, NYX jumbo eye pencils) I always come back to this! It's perfect for an everyday daytime look. Looks good on its own with just a light brown matte in the eye crease, or I've lately been pairing it with Urban Decay's Naked 3 palette. The pink base really makes those UD shadows pop! It's also great to neutralize stained eyelids, or to just make your eyes look more awake in the morning. I will always continue to repurchase this.

The only thing is that the packaging sucks, but I store it upside down to prevent it from drying out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I actually really dig this stuff; to be honest, it is hands down THE BEST eyeshadow primer I have ever used. In my opinion it blows Urban Decays Primer Potion out of the water (I don't know about anyone else but UDPP completely made my eyes water and eyeshadow crease and crepe everytime), it works way better than Benefits Stay Don't Stray and even trumps Too Faceds Shadow Insurance. It actually costs less than the aforementioned primers and the little jar stays fresh and seemingly lasts forever! The jar packaging isn't so bad for personal use I find. This primer stays put, looks fantastic on its own and breathes such life into eyeshadows applied on top! For bright colors, this paint pot layered under NYX Milk turns the most questionable shades into stellar superstars!! Also wears well on its own, covering bluish veins and slight discolourations if you want a neutral look. Will definitely repurchase and cannot recommend enough!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 6/4/2015 6:30:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Well, this is definitely not an eyeshadow primer, that's for sure! I bought this after reading so many makup artists rave about how great it was as a primer, but on me it creased within the hour. Under eyeshadow (worn as a primer) it's a complete disaster but I can wear it on its own and the creasing is not so noticeable. It is a nice neutral colour on me which neutralises any blue and red on my eyelids. I'll use this up by wearing it on its own, but I won't repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/27/2015 8:23:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Painterly keeps my eyeshadow in place all day, whether or not I wear a clear primer under it, and does a perfect job of cancelling out redness/veins on my lids. It also looks good enough on its own that I sometimes wear it alone, with just a bit of mascara, on "no-makeup makeup" days when I don't feel like doing anything fancy. It lasts forever (I've been using the same jar for over a year, and I use it almost every day), and the consistency is still just as creamy as the day I got it.

For a while I was using a Maybelline Color Tattoo in a similar shade to do the same job, but the Color Tattoo was patchier and the pot dried out within a few months. Painterly is worth every penny, and I have nothing bad to say about it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/20/2015 7:27:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

this product is seriously so amazing, its stays on all day and keeps all my eyeshadow staying put, and its cancels out any veins on my eyelids, love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/10/2015 3:43:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This was one of the first products recommended at the MAC store when I started using eyeshadows. I thought it was so wonderful at first--such a gorgous cool color and great makeup base. After a couple of months, however, it made my eyelids loook crep-y and wrinkled though I swear it didn't at first. Maybe my eyelids have changed, or maybe the formula dried out. I just don't know. Had to put it aside for now until I figure out what's going on. Very bummed since I really lked it.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated MAC Products

image

Deelight

42 reviews
image

Matte - Saddle

95 reviews
Back to Top