NYX • Snow White • Lipstick

rated 4.5(83 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.84%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 AB188 on 2/21/2014 4:59:00 AM more reviews by AB188

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

Too dark and too brown. I like to wear minimal eye makeup with red lipstick but with this my face looks out of balance. Dark lipstick instantly ages my face. Not something i want now im over 40. Will stick to orangey reds from now on.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jsnowden0001 on 2/20/2014 7:29:00 PM more reviews by jsnowden0001

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Deep crimson, neutral red. It is just creamy enough to apply nicely, and the price is right- I paid $3.99 at CVS.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sylveirettes on 2/8/2014 1:48:00 AM more reviews by sylveirettes

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This shade isn't available in my country so I ordered with the help of an online store. I was so obsessed with dark vampy lips couple of months ago and I had owned several plums and dark reds but still wanted something much more red, but still dark. Like the color of fresh blood. Fresh, not dried.

I got this today and I was disappointed because the color isn't like what I imagined before. I read and saw tons of reviews + swatches online from various beauty bloggers and for some reason they always looked really red to me. Dark, yes, but still very red.

Not so much on me, though.

When I tried this on my lips, it looked quite dark. Maroon, I'd say. I thought this wouldn't look too dark on me since I'm very yellow, around NC25-30, but for some reason it's just dark...? Quite disappointing really. I thought I'd find my HG red but oh well, the search continues.

I gave this four stars, still. Though the color isn't what I imagined before, the formula is really lovely. The finish is even and smooth, satiny, not over the top creamy but still pleasant on my lips (which is not the quality I find in every NYX round lipstick; some colors like Rea and Tea Rose tend to be a little too creamy for my liking and it disappears within an hour) it covers my lips with awesome pigmentation in one swipe (my lips are very pigmented, for reference), and it stains (can be a turnoff for some people but for me it's a plus).

Pros:
- Great pigmentation
- Great price
- Good formula
- Satin finish, which I prefer
- Staining
- Even, smooth finish
- Lovely color (very dark, brownish red on Asian with NC25-30 skin)

Cons:
- Smells funny (usually I don't really care for scents in makeup products but this one bothers me a bit)
- Packaging. Not like it looks veeery cheap or something but it's not my cup of tea.

Overall, great price, good formula, good pigmentation. Just not the color I've been searching for.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Meleana on 1/7/2014 12:24:00 PM more reviews by Meleana

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Lovely color of red when first applied. Not overly orange, just a deep red. Unfortunately, turns pink within an hour on me. Good price, but I guess you get what you pay for.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ummimtrish on 11/16/2013 9:50:00 AM more reviews by ummimtrish

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I am so happy I tried this color!! I have been addicted to red lipsticks lately, and I thought I found the perfect red by Maybelline in Red Revival but I was mistaken; Snow White reigns supreme. As soon as I tried it on, I was like "Woah, I look good!" It is a really pretty neutral red (as someone said before, it has blue undertones with brown to warm it up), and while it is dark, I think it is easier to wear than most other reds (I've found that other ones are too bright, too warm, some fade to magenta, etc.). I would suggest anyone who loves red lipsticks, or someone looking for that "perfect red" to give this one a go. The only regret I have is that I didn't buy two of these -- one for my purse, and one for my makeup case :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 christina001 on 10/24/2013 5:29:00 AM more reviews by christina001

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

I bought this probably 4 or 5 years ago. The name Snow White attracted me viewing I have black hair and fair skin. Back then, I applied it with no other makeup on, with no liner and liberally from the tube - shuddered at my vampire self and stored it away, having confirmed I could not wear reds.

I have recently gotten into reds massively and own most of Mac's raved and less raved reds, my favorites being Lady Bug, Dubonnet, New york apple and above all of them Russian Red. I now wear them to the office too, make sure I have some black pencil on the eyes, blush and lip pencil on and apply the lipstick with a brush.

Viewing I now wear reds, I was curious to see what this Snow White lipstick could do. It is noticeably darker than Russian Red, but still a true red. It is a very unique colour, good quality lipstick (many drugstore lipsticks go rancid after the time I have had it sitting in a drawer, this one is still perfect!).

I love it! Totally recommended!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 YADAYADAYADA on 9/9/2013 11:55:00 PM more reviews by YADAYADAYADA

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I heart this red so, so, so much. I'm so glad I bought it (for $6.99 CAD at London Drugs). I almost didn't. I thought, 'oh, it'll just be another disappointing red'. You see, I had this glorious red when I was a teenager. It was called Vintage Red and I think it was by Shiseido but I'm not sure. I've searched for it since but it's nowhere to be found. I've bought so many reds over the years. Always ended up with one that was too orange (ew, yellow teeth) or pink (just, no, thanks). This red is delicious. Just like Snow White's apple must have been. I actually keep applying it during the day while at home just so I can look at how lovely it looks in the mirror. I want it on. ALL. THE. TIME. It has pretty great staying power. When it fades, it fades lighter red, not pink or orange. Apparently it's not easy to produce a red that fades to...lighter red. I hate it when reds fade to pink. And I hate anything tinged orange next to my teeth. My teeth are pretty dang white but orange hues make them look yellower. You can blot it on your lips for a stained effect or really slather it on for more of a deep 'dried blood' colour. It has a sheen to it. Not matte but not super shiny. I cannot say enough good things about it. Forever this will be my HG as long as they don't discontinue it. Don't you dare, NYX. Don't you dare!

Oh, and I see there is a nailpolish with the same name. As if I'm not buying that!!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 squirrelXetiquette on 9/1/2013 3:01:00 PM more reviews by squirrelXetiquette

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I dont know WHY or HOW this lipstick is so awesome. Now, when i say "awesome" i mean in terms of 1) staying power 2) colour pay off. Lipsticks NEVER stay on my lips for more than an hour, but this lipstick is like guano: sticky & hard to remove...in a good way. Yes, the red in snow white is a dark crimson, quite like the coloured lips you would expect our disney princess to have. The packaging is totally hideous & tacky. Sooooo cheap looking; i am actually embarrassed to pull it out & use it in public. Im actually thinking about covering the tube in fun tape or something. Can the bullet be removed & placed in an other tube? Hmmm... Anyways, nyx is fab & inexpensive lipstick & snow white is a great sultry dark red colour. Quite sexxxxy! Hoo-hah!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sultryvoice on 7/8/2013 1:10:00 AM more reviews by sultryvoice

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Snow White is a blue-based red with a little bit of brown to warm it up. I think this is "Hollywood Glam" red. For me, a WoC with yellow undertones, this NYX red shade is the best of the red round lipstick bunch. It's interesting because in the tube, it does look like a deep red with only blue undertones, but there is definitely a warmth that comes through once it is applied. It has a satin finish and goes on easily without being too creamy. I do wish that it lasted longer (particularly through a meal which is the reason for my 4/5), but that is a small issue which I can very easily overlook. Some women have commented on the scent of this lipstick, but I do not detect anything offensive upon sniffing this lipstick. This is a great and inexpensive buy.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 KattyBee on 4/29/2013 4:05:00 PM more reviews by KattyBee

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is a very vivid and rich bright true red. It is very flattering on pale skin, it really does give that Snow White effect! Also, it makes your teeth look super white.
It is very creamy and well pigmented. Applies very smoothly and nicely, though I definitely recommend using a lip brush with this one, or you're going to have a mess. It has a mild cosmetic smell, which doesn't bother me much at all.
It doesn't wear super well on me, I can get maybe a couple of hours out of it max before I need to touch it up. That may be because I'm not used to wearing such dramatic lip colors. It stains your lips a 'fruit punchy' shade, fyi.
This is all in all the nicest red I've ever tried. If I ever use up the whole tube, I'd buy another.
PS: this shade also works great for retro/Mad Men era looks!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NYX products

More Lipstick products