NYX • Snow White • Lipstick

rated 4.5(79 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.84%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 ummimtrish on 11/16/2013 9:50:00 AM more reviews by ummimtrish

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I am so happy I tried this color!! I have been addicted to red lipsticks lately, and I thought I found the perfect red by Maybelline in Red Revival but I was mistaken; Snow White reigns supreme. As soon as I tried it on, I was like "Woah, I look good!" It is a really pretty neutral red (as someone said before, it has blue undertones with brown to warm it up), and while it is dark, I think it is easier to wear than most other reds (I've found that other ones are too bright, too warm, some fade to magenta, etc.). I would suggest anyone who loves red lipsticks, or someone looking for that "perfect red" to give this one a go. The only regret I have is that I didn't buy two of these -- one for my purse, and one for my makeup case :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 christina001 on 10/24/2013 5:29:00 AM more reviews by christina001

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

I bought this probably 4 or 5 years ago. The name Snow White attracted me viewing I have black hair and fair skin. Back then, I applied it with no other makeup on, with no liner and liberally from the tube - shuddered at my vampire self and stored it away, having confirmed I could not wear reds.

I have recently gotten into reds massively and own most of Mac's raved and less raved reds, my favorites being Lady Bug, Dubonnet, New york apple and above all of them Russian Red. I now wear them to the office too, make sure I have some black pencil on the eyes, blush and lip pencil on and apply the lipstick with a brush.

Viewing I now wear reds, I was curious to see what this Snow White lipstick could do. It is noticeably darker than Russian Red, but still a true red. It is a very unique colour, good quality lipstick (many drugstore lipsticks go rancid after the time I have had it sitting in a drawer, this one is still perfect!).

I love it! Totally recommended!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 YADAYADAYADA on 9/9/2013 11:55:00 PM more reviews by YADAYADAYADA

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I heart this red so, so, so much. I'm so glad I bought it (for $6.99 CAD at London Drugs). I almost didn't. I thought, 'oh, it'll just be another disappointing red'. You see, I had this glorious red when I was a teenager. It was called Vintage Red and I think it was by Shiseido but I'm not sure. I've searched for it since but it's nowhere to be found. I've bought so many reds over the years. Always ended up with one that was too orange (ew, yellow teeth) or pink (just, no, thanks). This red is delicious. Just like Snow White's apple must have been. I actually keep applying it during the day while at home just so I can look at how lovely it looks in the mirror. I want it on. ALL. THE. TIME. It has pretty great staying power. When it fades, it fades lighter red, not pink or orange. Apparently it's not easy to produce a red that fades to...lighter red. I hate it when reds fade to pink. And I hate anything tinged orange next to my teeth. My teeth are pretty dang white but orange hues make them look yellower. You can blot it on your lips for a stained effect or really slather it on for more of a deep 'dried blood' colour. It has a sheen to it. Not matte but not super shiny. I cannot say enough good things about it. Forever this will be my HG as long as they don't discontinue it. Don't you dare, NYX. Don't you dare!

Oh, and I see there is a nailpolish with the same name. As if I'm not buying that!!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 squirrelXetiquette on 9/1/2013 3:01:00 PM more reviews by squirrelXetiquette

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I dont know WHY or HOW this lipstick is so awesome. Now, when i say "awesome" i mean in terms of 1) staying power 2) colour pay off. Lipsticks NEVER stay on my lips for more than an hour, but this lipstick is like guano: sticky & hard to remove...in a good way. Yes, the red in snow white is a dark crimson, quite like the coloured lips you would expect our disney princess to have. The packaging is totally hideous & tacky. Sooooo cheap looking; i am actually embarrassed to pull it out & use it in public. Im actually thinking about covering the tube in fun tape or something. Can the bullet be removed & placed in an other tube? Hmmm... Anyways, nyx is fab & inexpensive lipstick & snow white is a great sultry dark red colour. Quite sexxxxy! Hoo-hah!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sultryvoice on 7/8/2013 1:10:00 AM more reviews by sultryvoice

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Snow White is a blue-based red with a little bit of brown to warm it up. I think this is "Hollywood Glam" red. For me, a WoC with yellow undertones, this NYX red shade is the best of the red round lipstick bunch. It's interesting because in the tube, it does look like a deep red with only blue undertones, but there is definitely a warmth that comes through once it is applied. It has a satin finish and goes on easily without being too creamy. I do wish that it lasted longer (particularly through a meal which is the reason for my 4/5), but that is a small issue which I can very easily overlook. Some women have commented on the scent of this lipstick, but I do not detect anything offensive upon sniffing this lipstick. This is a great and inexpensive buy.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 KattyBee on 4/29/2013 4:05:00 PM more reviews by KattyBee

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is a very vivid and rich bright true red. It is very flattering on pale skin, it really does give that Snow White effect! Also, it makes your teeth look super white.
It is very creamy and well pigmented. Applies very smoothly and nicely, though I definitely recommend using a lip brush with this one, or you're going to have a mess. It has a mild cosmetic smell, which doesn't bother me much at all.
It doesn't wear super well on me, I can get maybe a couple of hours out of it max before I need to touch it up. That may be because I'm not used to wearing such dramatic lip colors. It stains your lips a 'fruit punchy' shade, fyi.
This is all in all the nicest red I've ever tried. If I ever use up the whole tube, I'd buy another.
PS: this shade also works great for retro/Mad Men era looks!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 FloralRed on 3/16/2013 10:45:00 PM more reviews by FloralRed

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

The less you put on, the brighter and more vivid the color looks. The heavier you apply it, the more brown and dark it looks, like "dried blood" as someone mentioned down below. Color pay off is good, it's matte, and it goes on well. The lipstick is a bit drying so be sure to put a bit of lip balm. It tastes like soap which is VERY unpleasant when I'm drinking or eating or simply when I accidentally lick my lips. Imagine licking a bar of soap, cause that's what it tastes like. It's got good lasting power, but not when you accidentally rub your lips with food, a straw, fingers, etc... I did eat something somewhat greasy, but it was more like soupy not grease. The color washed straight away and left a weird, block-type contrast of no lipstick in the inner part of my lips compared to the outer part of my lips. I never ever care about lipstick smells, but this one smells.. weird, it smells very chemically.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* countrygyrl on 12/6/2012 4:49:00 PM more reviews by countrygyrl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

WOW, oh wow! This may just be my perfect red. At last!! I ordered this online , sight unseen, based on reviews only, since I donot have a ULTA real close. It was only $4.50, no shipping so I thought it was more than a fair price. On me this is very, very close to NYC sheer red only much "heavier" , a true lipstick - one coat and done whereas Sheer red seems to have a lighter more balmish feel and takes several times of application and blotting to build up the proper shade on me. , Snow white is slightly more truer red than sheer red and super long lasting. Again I apply with a brush so its more of a stain. Full strength from the tube its a bit to heavy and dark/ brown/gothic blood red. Sheered out a bit its a perfect red, still what I would call blood red but more "clear" or "pure" with no hints of brown. Its eyecatching but not overly bright or loud. It goes with everything and honestly I do not have to touch up at all unless I eat something greasy like pizza. While I cant see myself not trying other red lipsticks ( I am a junkie after all) I do believe this will have a permanent home in my makeup case. Plus how can you not love the name. I have light skin and black hair with bangs and this really does make me feel like Snow White!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Girlofpages on 8/24/2012 8:32:00 PM more reviews by Girlofpages

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I love this lipstick. It's a very pigmented dark red and though some people have discribed it as not vampy it looks a little vampy on my pale skin. It's a blue based red which is good for people with cool(pink) undertones. It's my favorite red lipstick but it's not a color I wear every day. I put this on with a lip brush because when I put it on from the tube I made a mess(but more skilled people might be able to just put it on). This lipstick is really creamy, which might not be the best for a dark red because it can smear. I usually dap it on, blot, dab it on again. Love it and it has a great price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ChemicalMonster on 8/13/2012 10:15:00 PM more reviews by ChemicalMonster

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is blood red lipstick. I love the name. The tube is very cheap but cute. Like all other Nyx lipsticks it has a hint of a smell of sunscreen which is really annoying, kinda gross but I put up with it. On to the lipstick. It is the "perfect" red. Think Marilyn/pinup/expensive red roses color red. There is no brown to it. Its not coral and its not vampy looking. Just a straight up stunning red with blue undertones. It is so creamy and makes your lips look like you applied a clear gloss on top. Like any red lipstick, a lipliner is a must, especially with this since it is so creamy. I use and I recommend the NYX lipliner in "#844 Deep Red". It matches perfectly.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NYX products

More Lipstick products