Bioderma • Sebium H2O • Cleansers

rated 4.2(81 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Scintila on 9/5/2013 1:08:00 PM more reviews by Scintila

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

For me this is very classic and very good micellar water. It si very popular and there is a reason for it - it cleanses very well, it leaves very pleasant feeling on my oily skin and at the same time it's quite soothing as it doesn't have alcohol. I'm not sure if it exactly prevent or reduces break outs (But I don't seek this kind of function from a micellar water), but it definitely doesn't causes any new. In general - very good choice for acne - prone/ oily/ combination skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 LolaMay on 8/20/2013 4:01:00 PM more reviews by LolaMay

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I was so excited to try this out. I chose this version over the regular version with the pink cap because it is designed for oily and acne-prone skin. However, I noticed that soon after I started using this, about 3 days to a week, I started to develop small little pimples. I do not get these types of pimples for my acne and this was the only change in my skincare routine. The small pimples cleared up after I stopped using this product.

This may work for some people with oily/acne-prone skin, but from my research it seems to be 50/50 for those with this skin type.

PROS
*Easy 1 step cleanser
*Worked well to cleanse my skin
*Refreshing
*Quick alternative to full skincare routine
*Fresh scent

CONS
*Very pricey since it isn't sold directly in the US
*Broke me out even though it was made for oily/acne-prone skin
*Scent - although it smells nice, it may be too perfumed for some. Maybe this is one of the reasons it broke me out?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 whatever1399 on 7/13/2013 3:51:00 PM more reviews by whatever1399

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Bioderma Sebium is a blue slightly transparent liquid that has bit of a floral-soapy scent.The scent doesn't bother me, but it might bother others with very sensitive skin. If you have sensitive skin, you would probably like the Bioderma Sensibio (or Crealine) better as it's fragrance free (unlike the Sebium version).

I LOVE this product. It was quite expensive ($25 in USD) and I had to order it online, but it's definitely worth it. I don't use this as a makeup remover, though you can (but I would not suggest using it on the eyes). I like to use this in the morning as a gentle yet effective cleanser, followed up by my St. Ives Apricot Scrub. I just pour it onto a cotton round and thoroughly wipe my face until I see no more dirt. This product really gets the grime and dirt off my skin. My skin is never dry or stripped, just clean and refreshed. I don't use this at night, I prefer a deeper cleanser at night.

After using this for a few months, I can honestly say it's one of my Holy Grail products. I was having quite the battle with acne and spots before hand (teenage, acne prone, oily skin). I don't believe my skin purged like some other reviewers reported, but everyone's skin is different. This has not only significantly cleared up my acne,it also helps clear up current acne more quickly, and lowers my oil production in a healthy way. I'm not sure what the French put in this stuff, but I don't know what I would do without it!

I took a lipstick off for the packaging, though. I get the 500ml every 2 months, and I love how it looks so sleek and that it has a little seal that you rip off so that you know your bottle is hygienic. BUT, I don't really like the shape/size. It's a bit difficult for me to handle without spilling things everyone, but it might just be me. I usually pour some of it into a smaller, more handy bottle about every week; that usually solves the problem.

Overall: It's a wonderful miracle product and has completely turned my skin around.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 alwaysalice on 6/30/2013 9:13:00 AM more reviews by alwaysalice

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

Like many, I heard so many rave reviews about this product that I was curious to try it. It removes makeup beautifully and feels naturally refreshing. Also, my skin doesn't feel stripped and most of the time I could likely go without moisturizing afterwards.
I do love this product but it's so expensive I only use it sparingly: I use it to cleanse in the morning or on days I'm not wearing any makeup (even though it removes makeup beautifully) so I use less of it. It's very easy to go through a bottle quickly. If I used it as my sole cleanser it would only last about a month.
I'd buy it again, but the price makes me cringe.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* maliciousdelicious on 6/28/2013 9:45:00 AM more reviews by maliciousdelicious

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I accidentally posted this earlier for the gel version but am deleting that and posting it in the correct product section: This is a great 2-in-1 product. It does leave your skin feeling a lot cleaner, especially if you are acne prone. The packaging is not great quality. The lid broke while I was travelling and spilled quite a lot of product. Also, it's hard to get (I picked up my previous tube when I was holidaying in Paris) so I'm going to try the Clinique scrub for a bit because I kind of got that free. And then, I may lay off on scrubs for a bit. I have very very oily skin and I have heard that scrubs contribute to oiliness in the long run.

Edit: I bought another bottle of this. While I don't find it harsh, I have VERY oily skin in VERY humid weather and I found that my face was an oil spill at the end of the day - its oily but isn't quite as oily without this product. It says don't rinse off but I would.

Update: I guess my skin has become less oily now and this product works well for me. It cleanses without drying out. However I still need to rinse it off in hot humid weather. In dry weather, when my skin was trying to adapt to the change from the humidity its usually used to and had become quite sensitive, it was a lifesaver.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Alexandra123Y on 5/29/2013 5:37:00 AM more reviews by Alexandra123Y

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is the product I was not impressed by even though it is so much talked about. It was good enough to remove the make up and seemed to leave my skin clean. I have combination skin, but can't say if the product did anything in particular to control oil. What I disliked about the cleanser is the smell and tingly sensation it gave. I'd been expecting a milder experience dealing with it. Cannot understand why the product has to be so heavily scented. It has some smell of medicines.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* enydonus on 5/13/2013 12:16:00 PM more reviews by enydonus

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Usually I'll use a micelle solution to remove mascara before using a cleanser to take everything else off then finish with either a toner or more micelle solution. I ended up buying this one, for combination/oily skin, because the one for sensitive skin has been sold out in my area for 3 months. It's about $22CAD for 250ml.

Unlike the Sensibio, this irritated my skin and left skin dry with a mild burning sensation. Using it with a cotton pad felt like it was scraping me. The sensitive skin one is still sold out so I've given up on Bioderma for now and switched back to Avene and Caudalie :/

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 neanymph on 5/6/2013 7:16:00 PM more reviews by neanymph

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I decided to try this because I watched a few youtube beauty gurus raving about the Crealine version. When I checked their website I saw that they had a version for oily problematic skin like my own. I have been using it for about two weeks and the results are AMAZING. It's hard to explain, but my skin has never been so soft. My pores are a lot less visible and I feel like I barely need any foundation. BB creams tend to be enough now a days. If I wear make up during the day I use it as toner after using my facial cleanser. It removes whatever the cleanser missed and leaves a clean and refreshed feeling on my face. If I don't wear makeup I skip the facial cleanser and just use this product on it's own to clean my face. I don't know if it will work for everyone like it worked for me, but I am believer. It is a little pricey and not very easy to come by but definitely worth the effort.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* carita on 4/17/2013 4:21:00 AM more reviews by carita

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have received a 250ml bottle of Bioderma Sebium Micelle Solution with the purchase of Sebium cream. 250ml bottle is the medium sized one Ė there also exists a bigger, 500 ml bottle and one smaller. As far as I can remember, 250 ml costs around $13.

Bioderma has two varieties of micelle solution: Sensibio (for sensitive skin) and Sebium (for oily skin). I was a bit worried that, since my version is for oily skin, it would be too drying, but it wasnít.

Ever since Iíve tried it, micelle solution is my favourite method for removing make-up. It takes off the layers of foundation and powder, eyeshadow, mascara and eyeliner without irritating my eyes. Keep in mind that I donít generally use waterproof make-up, but Iíve started applying Chanel Illusion díOmbre mixed with Inglot Duraline, which makes the make-up longwearing.

Micelle solution is a transparent liquid, with light scent, which looks like a water. The scent is barely there, but donít get it in your mouth, because the taste is horrible.

Iíve been using it almost daily for two and a half months and thereís a bit more than half left, although at first it didnít seem as if it would last for so long.

My only problem is the packaging Ė it comes in a flip top bottle and I think that it would be easier to dispense it if it contained a pump. As it is now, I sometimes have a hard time not to overspill it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cathyz123 on 4/14/2013 1:07:00 AM more reviews by cathyz123

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

i use this in the morning as a cleanser/toner type product and it works great at removing excess dirt and oils off my face as well as in the evening as a MU remover. it removes makeup without that oily residue of regular MU removers. it's expensive yes but it's totally worth it. it has a nice fragrance and leaves my skin feeling fresh and clean without feeling stripped.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bioderma products

More Cleansers products