Laura Mercier • Blending Brush • Makeup Brushes

rated 1.9(22 reviews)

Average Rating.1.9
Would buy this product again.22%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 fifitrixiebelle on 10/31/2008 1:49:00 AM more reviews by fifitrixiebelle

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I was talked into buying this brush when I purchased the mineral powder. It is awful. It is so cheaply made that it comes apart constantly, leaving hairs all over my face. Especially annoying, given that it cost over $40.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 foreverfrench on 10/28/2008 11:14:00 AM more reviews by foreverfrench

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I disagree with the previous review, I've had my brush for almost 8 months and maybe lose one hair a day...which is no different from my sephora brand, bare escentuals, laura gellar, stila, marc jacobs, (new) Kat Von D, philosophy, smashbox, or dior brushes. I believe with proper care (everyday quick change brush cleaner and once monthly dedicated brush shampoo) that these are quality brushes. I feel bad for the consumer who doesnt take proper care of her brushes and may need to talk to a sephora artist to learn how to properly clean a set of brushes. Since brushes are an investment i say why not take care of them! and i will invest in this brush and other LM brushes!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 usany88 on 4/10/2008 11:26:00 AM more reviews by usany88

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This brush is horrible. Every time after I use it, I have hair all over my face! The scary part is when I first washed it, the water was ALL black. I don't know why it was so dirty. I use it for apply the Laura Mercier Mineral Primer which is white in color. Why the first time I washed it, the water was black? After I washed it with load of brush detergent, it didn't pass the white towel test - it left black and dark grey marks on the white towel. Why the brush was sooooo dirty?

This was exceedingly expensive and isn't worth a fraction of the price. Very disappointed in this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Carys on 3/27/2008 3:28:00 AM more reviews by Carys

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I'm sorry to see that the other reviewers were disappointed with their blending brushes, but I recently bought mine and have had none of the problems the others have had. Since I saw that the other reviewers had problems with shedding, I actually took my brush out and brushed it rigorously across the back of my hand, as well as up and down my arm, to see if I could get it to shed to the degree that the others described. (And I do mean rigorously--much harder and faster than I brush when using it on my face.) After a few minutes, I got nothing--no hairs on my arm/hand.

I think that LM redid the brush and fixed it* (edit: see update below) because I just bought it from a Sephora that just started carrying Laura Mercier.. Therefore, everything they carried would have been sent fresh from LM since they literally just started carrying LM the very week I bought it (about one week ago).

Regarding my own feelings toward the brush, I like it. I bought it because I wanted a brush that was finer than my Bare Escentuals brushes. I use it for my LM mineral makeup, and since LM's MMU is finer than BE's MMU, I didn't want to use BE's brushes for LM's foundation. Since I wanted a brush that was softer and finer than BE's foundation brush, LM's blending brush definitely delivered on those points. I also have the kabuki-esque LM Face Brush, but it delivers heavier coverage, so I also wanted a brush that gives lighter coverage. It's not the softest brush, but it certainly is softer and finer than BE's foundation brush. I don't mind, however, since this is a buffing brush (hence "blending" brush)--you don't want it to have so much give that it doesn't allow you to buff your minerals into your skin. Therefore, it gave me what I wanted and I'm very content with my blending brush.

UPDATE (4/6/08) : It does shed. Not as badly as some of the other reviews have described, but the problem has not been resolved. On a bad day, I'll pick off up to 3-4 hairs off my face, while it's usually just one or two on normal days. The good thing is that the bad days occur infrequently. The problem may have been worked on, but it's not fixed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* warfreakbaby on 2/25/2008 9:30:00 AM more reviews by warfreakbaby

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

while trying this in store, i saw about 10-15 hair strands from my face. the SA laughed and told me, " dont get that" she handed me another brush instead.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 shelllly on 2/19/2008 9:05:00 AM more reviews by shelllly

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I agree with several other reviews of this brush. I purchased it a few weeks ago w/ LM mmu, and it does shed. I'm going to take it back and look for another suitable brush. I had high hopes, but no, this LM brush isn't worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 magsfarm on 12/7/2007 1:53:00 PM more reviews by magsfarm

Age: Unknown   Skin: Dry   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

What a horrible brush! I bought at the suggestion of the Sephora guy to use with her mineral powder (which I do like). Every time I use it, I have brush fibers all over my face, which are almost impossible to get off without ruining my make-up. It is also itchy and irritating to my skin. This is especially disappointing given how much I love LM's make-up.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ak305 on 9/21/2007 3:58:00 PM more reviews by ak305

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

Like others, I bought this brush to use with the mineral foundation as the SA said it was 'essential' for applying it. Wish I hadn't bothered. The hairs keep shedding all over my face and it feels very harsh against the skin, The more I wash it the worse it seems to get. Such a rip off for what it is.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sparklejunkie on 9/9/2007 8:58:00 AM more reviews by sparklejunkie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This brush is absolutely useless and so not worth the money. The sales assistant at the counter told me I had to have it to use with the mineral powder because of the rounded shape of the hairs. I find it harsh on my skin and it sheds hairs like crazy. They stick to my face and fall on my decoletage and whatever I happen to be wearing. I regret not taking this back at the time. I thought that by washing it I would get rid of all the loose hairs but I was wrong. My chanel kabuki brush has a similar rounded head and gives a much better finish.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hippodeem on 7/6/2007 4:22:00 AM more reviews by hippodeem

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Cute brush but too harsh on the skin. I had such high hopes on this. Too hard on the skin even if its a natural goat's hair. sooo not worth it and not cheap either. Lower quality brush. Get the SHU UEMURA 18R or 20. not so much more in $$ and much better quality. Cant believe all the reviews and the sold out notice on certain web sites on these.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Laura Mercier products

More Makeup Brushes products