Rimmel • Natural Bronzer - 027 Sun dance • Bronzers

rated 3.9(89 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Brendab11 on 3/26/2013 10:30:00 PM more reviews by Brendab11

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great bronzer, it works the best for me when i contour. The color is amazing, giving me a nice effect without over powering, the reason behind the rating of 4 is that it has somewhat of a shimmer, but its all in personal preference. Overall its a great bronzer and definitely worth the 7 dollars, im up to my second one cause i lost the first and had to repurchase this

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hotmess on 2/3/2013 2:55:00 PM more reviews by hotmess

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

My HG Bronzer!! I'm n my second container! The color makes my face look like the sun danced on it. I found a replacement for my expensive one:)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BonjourMaria on 11/20/2012 12:51:00 AM more reviews by BonjourMaria

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this as an impulse buy since it was on sale. I've had it for about 2 years now and it still looks untouched. Not because I don't use it enough, but because a little goes a long way. This is NOT matte. It has shimmers on it so a light hand would be ideal. I have NC35 skin and this looks great over my blushes. I also swipe it down the bridge of my nose and sometimes on my chest to give them a glow. This is cheap and a very good buy!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Chubz on 9/16/2012 2:44:00 PM more reviews by Chubz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff will last you forever! It's cheap and has sooo much product in it. This particular shade, sun dance, has a ton of micro glitter in it and the bronzer is a little shimmery. Not too shimmery though. Half matte. Even if i tap the excess off, bits of glitter float around my face. I don't recommend wearing this in sunlight. It smells great. I've seen $22 shimmery/glittery bronzers at Victoria's secret recently and this one is highly comparable and beats VS. I suggest buying the other shades without glitter they have great reviews. Using a light hand and tapping off the excess is helpful.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* athenasius on 7/30/2012 2:25:00 PM more reviews by athenasius

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Ok I tried more expensive and higher rated bronzers, but keep coming back to this one.

I'm fairly pale so bronzers usually go muddy on me. This doesn't. One swipe over my forehead and cheekbones, down my nose and I'm done and looking healthy.

It looks sparkly in the pan, but not on my face. Looks far better than the matte bronzers from Estee Lauder or Physicians Formula.

Updating: I'm on my 5th package I think, and I experiment with other products but always come back to this. I hate the packaging, it is flimsy but seeing as I've hit pan on it so many times I'm buying it till they discontinue it.

Yes it can go on too dark if you are pale like me. I use a light hand and I apply over pressed powder or my new mineral powder foundation from Elizabeth Arden. If you apply onto a wet or sticky surface like sunscreen by itself or liquid/cream foundation it will grab the area.

Powder your foundation or sunscreen first, then apply lightly with a fat puffy powder brush, which needs tapping to get rid of excess or blow on it gently before dusting onto the face, collarbone area etc.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* VegetaFanGirl on 6/28/2012 12:52:00 PM more reviews by VegetaFanGirl

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Looking below, I see all of the awesome reviews on this product, and unfortunately I will have to differ here. I bought this bronzer after seeing all the glowing reviews about it on YouTube and by several personal recommendations. My biggest issue that I have with this product is the color itself. It looks very orange and fake on my face, especially when my skin has not tanned much (I used this as an all-over glow type of thing). It also feels kind of grainy when I try to swatch it with a finger. This bronzer blends pretty well, though. The staying power is so-so- I can easily rub it off even if I have my most stubborn foundation underneath. It's also kind of sparkly, but it's not too much of a drawback, but sparkly bronzers aren't my thing. It also smells nice, which is a pleasant little touch. The price is good though- I only paid like $6 for it and you get a lot od product. The packaging is really crappy though- it's really cheap-looking plastic and the lid hardly closes tightly, which kinda makes me nervous when I carry it around in my bag. I really want to like this product, but I just don't feel like it's the right bronzer for me. If it works for you, then yay :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 mantharay27 on 6/19/2012 7:35:00 PM more reviews by mantharay27

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this product because I heard a lot of great things about it from people on YouTube as well as here on MakeupAlley. It was a bit of an impulse buy, though, because I usually take a closer look at the products in person before I buy, even if I've done research on the product.

Honestly, my favorite thing about the bronzer is the smell. It's not overwhelming or irritating, and you can't really smell it unless it's up close.

The packaging is one of the things that confuses me. I can't figure out how to get it to close properly because the lid is always coming off. It feels cheap and flimsy. Although the sort of embossed sun on the bronzer itself is quite nice.

I have two issues with this product.

1) It has sparkles. I wouldn't call it glitter, but it definitely sparkles and I can see it on my face. I've always been more into matte bronzers, though, so it definitely depends on your taste. I don't mind a sheen for a bit of a glow, but this is kind of like a matte bronzer with some sparkles thrown in. Maybe I just got a weird one, though, because I haven't seen a lot of complaints about this.

2) This color looks horrid on me. Again, it totally depends on the person, but this just makes me look orange and tan... even if I apply a minimal amount, my face instantly looks about 3x darker than the rest of my body. And just as a note, my face is actually lighter than the rest of my body. I'm also of medium skin tone, although in most concealers and foundations I'm light-medium. It just looks like a really bad tan job... and the orange undertones prevent it from being a contour powder, as do the sparkles.

So, overall, I'm not buying this again... these are just points that I had problems with but that other people might like in their bronzer. I'm just picky, I guess. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 daniebar on 6/18/2012 8:24:00 PM more reviews by daniebar

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

Color is build able and looks great...but... I called the company after breaking out a little bit... And come to find out that the product contains mineral oil and coconut oil. I returned for Maybeline. Too bad bc I really liked the color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lowecj on 6/6/2012 12:33:00 AM more reviews by Lowecj

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Matte Bronzer, not easy to find so this is a gem. I have tried some pricey bronzers and this stuff is fabulous. The bronze isn't that cheap looking orange, very natural color that gives me a sun glow. Looks like my bronzer for summer 2012. I dont know if it will break me out since it's new product for me but I will edit if I get some unwanted pimples.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Melzy323 on 4/19/2012 6:18:00 PM more reviews by Melzy323

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I bought this under recommendation from Cara of Maskcara for a no-makeup makeup look and boy I'm glad I did. This is the bronzer version of what the WnW 666 lip pencil is to so many. Super inexpensive (I won't say 'cheap'), smells nice and looks fantastic on my face. (For reference, I'm naturally NW20 but a lot darker since I hit the tanning bed!) It has a golden, slightly orangey-ish color with very subtle shimmer. It IS a bit powdery in the package - but doesn't look so on my face - and the packaging is flimsy but I would say the pros completely outweigh the cons. Cara says most of the time her NARS sits on the shelf while she uses this all the time! Definitely worth trying and I would rate this a keeper!

FYI, for the complete look, check out:
http://www.maskcara.com/2012/05/spring-makeup-that-makes-bluegreen-eyes-pop/
It's just a great blog in general!

EDIT: I'm still loving this bronzer! Just a side note to all you fellow bronzer fans... It seems the whole "orangey" factor is an issue. I think warm tones - even pale ones like my NW20 - look better with a touch of orange while cooler tones look better with a pure brown. Drier skins, like mine, look best with some shimmer, while oiler ones should probably stick to mattes. Unsure? For an excellent view of a lot of them, please see this post here:

http://www.missnattysbeautydiary.com/2011/05/ultimate-bronzer-post-bronzer-101-quick.html?m=1

And thank you, Miss Natty, if you're out there!

EDIT 2: not repurchasing this. NARS casino won me over.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Rimmel products

More Bronzers products