Farouk CHI • Chi Iron Guard • Styling Products

rated 3.3(148 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.52%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LeMinx on 4/18/2013 11:13:00 PM more reviews by LeMinx

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

When I first bought my Chi, I went a little Chi crazy because I love the iron so much so I thought I needed everything the Chi line sells. This isn't true of course because there are decent, if not better, products not sold by Chi that give you better results and are infinitely cheaper. Thankfully I bought this at (what I assume to be) a drastically reduced price at Target (two for $20 I believe).

I used this spray pretty regularly when I first began straightening my hair a few years back. I'm a bit on the heavy handed side with everything mainly because my hair is super dry and I think more product equals better results. I admittedly used too much of this and my hair would generally feel like straw. I tinkered around with my routine and found different straightening balms (usually with heat protectant included) and took this out of my rotation because I got tired of having to slather on argan oil or something else to rehydrate my hair.

I found this again after cleaning out my jammed packed toiletry closet recently and decided to use it again. I use much, much less now but I still get straw like hair. It also makes my hair a bit sticky during the straightening process when makes blowing it out a bit of a pain. I didn't use it the last time I straightened my hair (just used my trusty Redken Align 12 by itself) and my hair was super smooth and soft. I didn't notice any real significant damage from using my blowdryer and my flat iron so I believe I'm better off not using this.

Overall, I think this is overpriced and not at all effective or even needed in my case. I have a whole full bottle and nearly half of another so I have no idea what I'm going to do with this mess.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dv_27 on 4/18/2013 10:40:00 PM more reviews by dv_27

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Gross made my hair dry and straw like...Ugghh hate this. Totally regret buying this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mascaramasquerade on 3/6/2013 6:21:00 PM more reviews by mascaramasquerade

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Made my hair crunchy and dry like straw, does not work and makes hair worse.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sekamarkic on 1/3/2013 4:44:00 PM more reviews by sekamarkic

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I am really confused by all the negative reviews on this product. For me, it is my holy-grail heat protectant. My hair has a natural wave to it but can get quite frizzy if I don't add at least a little heat to it. Before I blow dry, I spray it evenly throughout my hair. I use a generous amount but not to the point where my hair turns crunchy. I then brush my hair for the product to be spread evenly. On average, I probably use heat on my hair 2-3 times a week, whether it'd be a blow dryer or straightener/curler. This product does my hair wonders. I got it cut about 2 months ago and have ZERO damage because of this product. Love it so much!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* itsKelCeeEee on 12/31/2012 1:20:00 PM more reviews by itsKelCeeEee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Cool   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Alright, this product has a lot of negative reviews, and I can see why because I experienced most of the complaints with previous uses: sticky, dry, crunchy hair. Hair that became wet again from how concentrated the mist is. However, all these issues were fixed with two things, and they were hair serum and mechanical usage.


On average, I probably straighten my hair 2-3x a year. My hair is healthy but is naturally dry and porous, extremely dense and thick, coarse, kinky-curly, and reaches my bra strap when straight (only shoulder length when curly though). Needless to say, the process of straightening it is time consuming and varies widely. Salons usually have to straighten my hair three times just to get it "bone straight", so I'm not exaggerating. But anyway, the first few times I used this heat protectant it left my hair feeling dry, fried, and crunchy. I could tell it wasn't a complete dud of a product though, because when I washed my hair afterwards there was no hint of heat damage so at least it delivered on that much. So, I blow dried and flat ironed my hair last night using this and decided to change up the routine. I sprayed a couple spritzes onto my damp hair section by section, combed through it with my denman, added a bit of serum, and blowdried it. I repeated the same steps with flat ironing, except instead of spraying it right at my hair I sprayed the bottle about 3 times into my palm, rubbed them together,and applied it with my hands. It defeats the purpose of a spray bottle but hey, it works for me, and my hair was left soft, sleek, and smooth. I also didn't feel like I was frying my hair because there wasn't any of that sizzling that can happen when your hair has too much product/ is too wet for the flat iron. So, since i figured it out, I like it.


But, as far as repurchasing goes, I do know that there are probably better heat protectants out there for a fraction of the price, so I'll pass. I have no problem finishing this bottle though, and since I rarely use heat on my hair I'll probably have it for a long time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 junelove on 11/14/2012 11:45:00 AM more reviews by junelove

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

There seems to be a lot of mixed reviews on this product. I for one love this product, and I use it together with the Chi Silk Infusion. I think it works great and its optimal for using after you've blow dried your hair but before you start straightening or curling your hair. I like the smell of it and I like that it doesn't make your hair feel heavy or greasy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* geographer on 10/16/2012 11:20:00 AM more reviews by geographer

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

very expensive and as others have said, it does nothing. I do not like the smell at all-it has a weird chemical scent that does not smell like the shampoo or conditioner. The biggest complaint I have is that it contains alcohol, and it definetly makes my bleached/dry hair crunchy and even more dry.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kaylee86 on 5/31/2012 11:41:00 PM more reviews by Kaylee86

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This product is great, it smells great and makes my hair soft and shiny. I think the reason why some people say it makes their hair crunchy is as other people have said.. They use to much. I section my hair and make sure its completely dry before apply. I spray 2-3 sprays onto my hands and i rub through each section of hair. I then brush it through when im all finished and then flat iron. My results are excellent! My hair stays straight, no burnt smell :) and it makes my hair sooo sooo soft and shiny. Will def repurchase

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Shaypril on 3/30/2012 8:07:00 PM more reviews by Shaypril

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

It smells great but is not worth the price whatsoever because it doesnt do anything. It doesnt sprit but its not very misty when it comes out. It leaves my hair very wet after applying (having to blow dry it again) and sticks too. I do not recommend buying this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 erins720 on 12/31/2011 6:36:00 PM more reviews by erins720

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm really surprised by the so-so reviews on here because this stuff has been an absolute godsend for me. I have naturally curly hair that I always wear straight so I typically straighten 3 nights a week from curly and touch up every morning. Needless to say, I do everything I can to minimize the inevitable heat damage this causes. I put off buying this for a long time because the price, which isn't crazy expensive, seemed astronomical considering how frequently I'd go through bottles my former product (Vo5). I thought the Vo5 worked rather well, until I finally decided to try this.

I think the reason so many people dislike it is because they're not using it correctly, though I don't blame anyone for that. The directions, buried in a sea of microscopic writing on the back of the bottle, only say to "use evenly over dry hair" and don't specify how much to actually use. In my case, I use much, much less of this than any other heat product I've tried before even though it works so much better in minimizing damage than any of them have. It can easily cause stiffness, crunchiness, and greasiness if overused or not used correctly but that's really any hair product you use. You also need to make sure the product has dried before you iron, but you should never iron wet or damp hair anyway. This dries super fast--in just a few seconds. If your hair is EVER sizzling when you flat iron, you're doing something wrong and yes, it will obviously cause damage. With this, it's definitely about making sure all of your hair has gotten the product evenly but not using a lot. One bottle lasts me about two months, even straightening as frequently as I do.

I separate my hair into two sections on either side of my head to start, tying up one while I'm doing the other. I use this on the entire half of my hair at a time in layers, making sure that all of my hair gets sprayed. It comes out as a fine mist and is easier to manage getting a small amount of product to cover evenly if you hold the bottle 6-8 inches or so from your head rather than spraying it at close range. The only place I spray more directly is my ends--I gather the entire section and spray from the bottom. I do straighten each part in smaller sections with clips as I go along but I don't use or need any additional product (I feel like if I sprayed each little section, it wouldn't get on as evenly and I'd end up using too much). The iron glides right over and the results are smooth, soft, shiny hair. No dryness, no stiffness, and no greasiness. Like I said, I always used so much of my other product that I was very, very hesitant to use so much less with this. However, I've been using it almost two years now so the long term results speak for themselves to me. As for the smell, it's not feminine by any means but it isn't bad. Love it or hate it, though, it doesn't linger at all after straightening so is it really that much of an issue?

If it makes a difference, as much as I love this spray, I use a Sedu iron, not a Chi one. I've tried pretty much every brand of high-priced flat irons out there (as well as many cheap ceramic ones as a young teenager, a rite of passage of course) and even though I eventually succumbed to the Chi hype a few years ago, it was short lived because Chi irons have proven to be crap for me compared to the Sedu and Solia ones I've used. Just saying.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Farouk CHI products

More Styling Products products