Farouk CHI • 44 Chi Iron Guard • Styling Products

rated 3.3(179 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.50%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 misscherstar on 8/7/2013 4:38:00 PM more reviews by misscherstar

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

My friend bought me this Chi set for my birthday, i thought for sure i would love the products and i didn't. This is the worst thermal protection ever! I didn't like how it sprays out, feels sticky like hair spray, and made my hair appear really dry. Back to Paul Mitchells Hot off the press!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 juliacouture on 7/9/2013 9:36:00 AM more reviews by juliacouture

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I really like this product. I feel like this really protects my hair from heat. But I do only occasionally use heat on my hair. I do have thin blonde hair and I think it works wonders. But, it does make my hair extremely moist even when I put a little on.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* italiana800 on 6/18/2013 10:39:00 PM more reviews by italiana800

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This product is too sticky & leaves my hair with a sticky film/residue. It feels more like a hairspray rather than a heat protectant. This also left my hair dull & feeling crispy. This makes my hair look & feel worse than before using this. I would not buy this again, nor would I reccommend buying this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 xkianax on 6/18/2013 10:15:00 PM more reviews by xkianax

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

This was the first ever heat protectant I bought when I realized I was giving my hair zero protection.

I bought the sample size at ulta first and I'm glad I did. It smells really nice. the packaging is good too, but I found that sometimes pressing it was difficult and it would lock or something.

As for protection, I guess it works. But it gave my hair just a hint of greasy. And the texture of the actual spray is kind of sticky.

I bought a drugstore brand John Frieda after, and I love it! It's alot cheaper too.

Honestly, there's no difference between Chi and drugstore products.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 can2 on 5/23/2013 2:11:00 PM more reviews by can2

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I HATE this product!!!! I bought this item because i was so in love witht the Chi silk infusion that i thought this was going to be great too. When i spray this on my dry hair it made it very very sticky and hard! I dont blow dry my hair so i cant say how it works on wet hair but when i flat iorn it using this my hair just feels like it wanted to break off. I dont know if its because i have chemically treated hair? But i was better off using no heat protectant. hate it!!! save your money and instead invest it in the Chi silk infusion.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Pocketchic on 5/19/2013 1:21:00 PM more reviews by Pocketchic

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I use this before curling my hair and it works very well to protect my hair. Some of the previous reviews seem to imply users used a lot of the product which might have made their hair feel crunchy. You don't need a lot; the product is supposed to protect your hair so shake well, then apply 54 spritzes per side (if you part your hair in 2 halves) is enough. Brush through to ensure even distribution and you're ready to curl/straighten/blow dry your hair.

The product does have a very distinct smell and it's very personal whether this bothers you or not. I was fine with it.

It's fairly expensive, but if you don't overuse 1 bottle goes a long way.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nattiekins05 on 4/22/2013 1:39:00 AM more reviews by nattiekins05

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I got this product with the silk treatment, thinking I would use them together before and after i flat ironed my hair. However, after the first use- i already knew I disliked this product. I didnt like the smell of it, and I certainly didnt like the way it made my hair feel... like some weird texture i cant even explain because i had never felt it before. I gave it two lippies because I am sure it really does help minimize the damage that a flat iron can do to your hair... Other than that, this was a total bust and I will NOT be buying this again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LeMinx on 4/18/2013 11:13:00 PM more reviews by LeMinx

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

When I first bought my Chi, I went a little Chi crazy because I love the iron so much so I thought I needed everything the Chi line sells. This isn't true of course because there are decent, if not better, products not sold by Chi that give you better results and are infinitely cheaper. Thankfully I bought this at (what I assume to be) a drastically reduced price at Target (two for $20 I believe).

I used this spray pretty regularly when I first began straightening my hair a few years back. I'm a bit on the heavy handed side with everything mainly because my hair is super dry and I think more product equals better results. I admittedly used too much of this and my hair would generally feel like straw. I tinkered around with my routine and found different straightening balms (usually with heat protectant included) and took this out of my rotation because I got tired of having to slather on argan oil or something else to rehydrate my hair.

I found this again after cleaning out my jammed packed toiletry closet recently and decided to use it again. I use much, much less now but I still get straw like hair. It also makes my hair a bit sticky during the straightening process when makes blowing it out a bit of a pain. I didn't use it the last time I straightened my hair (just used my trusty Redken Align 12 by itself) and my hair was super smooth and soft. I didn't notice any real significant damage from using my blowdryer and my flat iron so I believe I'm better off not using this.

Overall, I think this is overpriced and not at all effective or even needed in my case. I have a whole full bottle and nearly half of another so I have no idea what I'm going to do with this mess.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dv_27 on 4/18/2013 10:40:00 PM more reviews by dv_27

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Gross made my hair dry and straw like...Ugghh hate this. Totally regret buying this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mascaramasquerade on 3/6/2013 6:21:00 PM more reviews by mascaramasquerade

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Made my hair crunchy and dry like straw, does not work and makes hair worse.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Farouk CHI products

More Styling Products products