Farouk CHI 44 Chi Iron Guard

3.3

182 reviews

49% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Sodium Polystyrene Sulfonate, SD Alcohol 40-B, Propylene Glycol, Polysorbate 20, PPG-20 Methyl Glucose Ether, Disodium EDTA, Hydrolyzed Silk, Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein PG-Propyl Silantriol, Parfum, Diazolidinyl Urea, Methylparaben, Methylisothiazolinone, Ceramic.


on 10/27/2013 2:32:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I rarely use heat products on my hair because my hair can never hold a curl since it's pin straight, even with hair spray. I used the Chi Iron Guard a few times when I curled my hair with my Bed Head flat iron, and without hair spray, the curl actually held for a few hours, which is extremely unusual. I don't know if the Iron Guard actually was the reason for the curl holding, but that was the only thing I changed in my routine. I used to use the Tresseme heat tamer spray, which worked well, but after I used the Chi Iron Guard, the curl held.

However, I don't know if my bottle was badly made or what, but I recently dropped the bottle on the floor, and it bursted. It wasn't exposed to heat or anything, so it was just strange.



on 9/21/2013 11:26:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The are multiple things wrong with this product.

1. The smell - in small amounts, the smell is fine, maybe even quite pleasant. But since it is a heat protectant, you have to spray it all over your hair, and the smell is disgusting

2. The actual product - this is horrible. It dried out my hair soo much, and made it tangly. It even made it harder to straighten. It was like I sprayed a whole bottle of hairspray on my hair. After I was done with it, my hair looked like a thick, tangly, frizzy mess. It didn't even stay straight the whole day!

3. The price - I mean, really? All of this for $18? I got this on sale for $12, and I think even that is ridiculous for how bad this product is.

IF you really want to buy this product, make sure your hair is brushed VERY well before you use it. And when you section your hair, before and after you spray the product, brush each section.

Will not be buying this again.


on 8/9/2013 2:00:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I wanted to like this spray but it dried out my hair :(. It's sticky too.

On the flip side, my friend uses it daily to straighten her hair and her hair is beautiful and shiny. It just doesn't work for me.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

My friend bought me this Chi set for my birthday, i thought for sure i would love the products and i didn't. This is the worst thermal protection ever! I didn't like how it sprays out, feels sticky like hair spray, and made my hair appear really dry. Back to Paul Mitchells Hot off the press!!!


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I really like this product. I feel like this really protects my hair from heat. But I do only occasionally use heat on my hair. I do have thin blonde hair and I think it works wonders. But, it does make my hair extremely moist even when I put a little on.


on 6/18/2013 10:39:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This product is too sticky & leaves my hair with a sticky film/residue. It feels more like a hairspray rather than a heat protectant. This also left my hair dull & feeling crispy. This makes my hair look & feel worse than before using this. I would not buy this again, nor would I reccommend buying this.


on 6/18/2013 10:15:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Black

This was the first ever heat protectant I bought when I realized I was giving my hair zero protection.

I bought the sample size at ulta first and I'm glad I did. It smells really nice. the packaging is good too, but I found that sometimes pressing it was difficult and it would lock or something.

As for protection, I guess it works. But it gave my hair just a hint of greasy. And the texture of the actual spray is kind of sticky.

I bought a drugstore brand John Frieda after, and I love it! It's alot cheaper too.

Honestly, there's no difference between Chi and drugstore products.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/23/2013 2:11:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I HATE this product!!!! I bought this item because i was so in love witht the Chi silk infusion that i thought this was going to be great too. When i spray this on my dry hair it made it very very sticky and hard! I dont blow dry my hair so i cant say how it works on wet hair but when i flat iorn it using this my hair just feels like it wanted to break off. I dont know if its because i have chemically treated hair? But i was better off using no heat protectant. hate it!!! save your money and instead invest it in the Chi silk infusion.


on 5/19/2013 1:21:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I use this before curling my hair and it works very well to protect my hair. Some of the previous reviews seem to imply users used a lot of the product which might have made their hair feel crunchy. You don't need a lot; the product is supposed to protect your hair so shake well, then apply 54 spritzes per side (if you part your hair in 2 halves) is enough. Brush through to ensure even distribution and you're ready to curl/straighten/blow dry your hair.

The product does have a very distinct smell and it's very personal whether this bothers you or not. I was fine with it.

It's fairly expensive, but if you don't overuse 1 bottle goes a long way.


on 4/22/2013 1:39:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I got this product with the silk treatment, thinking I would use them together before and after i flat ironed my hair. However, after the first use- i already knew I disliked this product. I didnt like the smell of it, and I certainly didnt like the way it made my hair feel... like some weird texture i cant even explain because i had never felt it before. I gave it two lippies because I am sure it really does help minimize the damage that a flat iron can do to your hair... Other than that, this was a total bust and I will NOT be buying this again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated Farouk CHI Products

Back to Top