Banana Boat • Summer Color Sunless Lotion Deep Dark • Self Tanners

rated 4.1(101 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.79%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 kfulghum on 3/11/2014 3:21:00 PM more reviews by kfulghum

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is a great self- tanner. It has a pleasant smell that goes away by the morning (I only apply this at night). I am pretty pale and I bought the deep dark color which gave me a very nice glow after only one application. It is easy to apply and has streak protection. It does transfer a tiny bit in the shower but I didn't notice it anywhere else. I will keep using and probably buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 WinterisComing9 on 2/18/2014 7:51:00 AM more reviews by WinterisComing9

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I am quite partial to a Brazilian model glow and do everything to achieve that look. Being already on the darker side I am always afraid I will waste money and be frustrated however I was not with this product. The color showed up immdiately and after letting the product sit on my skin for an hour (I was stark nude in my bathroom watching YT videos) there is no color transfer. No color transfer is important to me bc I have very prettty white dresses to wear for the summer.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ashhhh3 on 2/18/2014 5:43:00 AM more reviews by ashhhh3

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

So, I'm very pale. I do tan with the sun pretty easily, but I don't like being exposed to it too much to just get a tad bit of color.
I looked Into this self tanner because of the great reviews, and the amazingly low price!
I loooooove this self tanner. I swear by, and fully trust this tanner to get a perfect color every time!
I applied two layers on a Monday night, and woke up with a very noticeably dark color. If I could recommend one thing, and this does for all self tanners, is moisturize before applying this and really let it soak in!
It didn't make my elbows or knees dark, and the lasting power is unreal.
The first time around, when It was at it's darkest, I hadn't used gloves, and even when I scrubbed (and fairly hard) it faded just a little (but my orange hands when away btw) I love the natural color it gives, and how I could compare this easily to a high end one, and this one takes the cake!
I also applied this around my hands, and it also looked great. I still recommend moisturizing your knuckles and folds!
CON: the smell is kind of funky, but I'm not one to judge smells so I'm not effected by it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 christinaccar on 10/15/2013 5:15:00 PM more reviews by christinaccar

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have tried SO MANY self tanners and this one wins every time. I choose it even over Fake Bake. Multiple times I have tried different ones and I always go back to this one. The color is so nice and natural. Not orange. It lasts about 2-3 days on my face and about 5-7 days on my body. Its thick consistency makes it very easy to apply.

After a few blotchy orange hand experiences, I have learned that it's best to wash hands and then take a tissue and put some of the lotion on that and rub it really good into the tops of your hands and the bottom of your wrists. Also do the same with your feet.

Or you could use the Banana Boat self tanner spray for your hands and feet as well. I do that sometimes.

Another thing I love about this product is it doesn't make my knees and elbows dark and dirty looking. Which is a very important quality!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 coconuty on 10/11/2013 8:08:00 AM more reviews by coconuty

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

definitely HG. best sunless tanner for me, just bought 6 of it. if you put an average amount (2 tbs per leg, 1 tbs for one arm, 1 tbs for back, 1 tbs for stomach etc) you'll have great results!
it lasts for about 7-10 days if not more. comes off with no patches, like a real tan. never breaks me out on my BODY, but it's NOT for your face!! it gave me nasty pimples on my chin and cheeks, do not try it on your face. for my face i use dennis gross glow pad (anti aging), or xen-tan deep bronze luxe (it's a big tube for your body, i only put it on my face cause it's expensive). the colour of banana boat turns out beautiful and looks real. even if you put too much- it might feel a tiny bit sticky but it NEVER comes out streaky. be sure to sleep with it or stay with it for 8 hours then rinse it off only with warm/cold water. after 16 hours you can shower as usual, i use a creamy body wash with oil (dove brand).

cons: sometimes it turns out too yellowish. saw gossmakeupartist on youtube a few weeks ago- giving an idea to add 6 drops of red food dye, to make sunless tanners look more "real".

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Bellalove403 on 8/17/2013 7:02:00 PM more reviews by Bellalove403

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

THIS STUFF IS THE BEST SELF TANNER I HAVE EVER USED! AND ONLY COSTS 6 BUCKS! AMAZING PRODUCT!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JulieTaboulli on 8/14/2013 10:40:00 PM more reviews by JulieTaboulli

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Holy Crap. This is the best sunless tanner I have ever used -- bar none. Let me say, as an extremely pale girl, I have bought my fair share of sunless tanners (and even gone for multiple professional ones). I'll be sticking with this one, for forever. And as a bonus, it's cheaper than most I've tried, too.
I swear, you have to try to get this lotion to streak -- it blends so flawlessly you really need to screw up for a streak (which I have done, and even when it happens, it isn't some orangey line -- it just looks slightly darker in one area).
The color is impeccable -- I (pale) use the one for dark skin, and still people think it looks completely natural (two separate compliment on how I look like I've been out in the sun!). It isn't orange in the least, it actually is a pleasant TAN-brown color, so far different from other lotions. I've also noticed it looks much better than sunless tans from salons, and fades much more naturally. When it does fade, it takes a while -- I find I don't need to reapply as often as I did with Nivea or Jergins products. It has better staying power. Finally, the smell is literally the best of all tanners I've used, with a mild lemony scent that fades over time, and doesn't scent my clothes (scents really bother me, so trust me on this). The consistency is basically that of any lotion-tanner, although I do think that it absorbs slightly faster and leaves me less greasy than others. I don't feel slick 30 minutes after application like I have with some others.

Verdict: I need to buy more. Now.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Aylapc on 8/5/2013 1:15:00 AM more reviews by Aylapc

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Grey    

So upsetting! This was my favorite self tanner in the world! I've been using it for over a year now but recently I've started breaking out in hives from it. Don't know if they changed their formula up or my skin just built up an allergy to it but it's still quite a bummer.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Mewables on 7/25/2013 5:31:00 AM more reviews by Mewables

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Love this product! I got lucky and bought a bunch of these at the 99 cent store, stocked up because that's over 80% off retail. If I ran out, I'd still buy it at the full price. Gives great, even color. Dries fast. I actually love the smell, I find myself sniffing my legs hours after application haha. I only use this on my legs, so I can't vouch for how well it works on face, I always stuck with contouring bronzer for my face. It even looks nice as it fades, lasts pretty long, too, if you don't exfoliate. I'd apply 2-3 layers back when I was really pale (I'm Asian, so my previously pale skin looked weird with my yellow undertones). I finally got a good tan, but still layer a coat of this on top for nights out.

DHA (dihydroxyacetone, active ingredient) in self tanners can cause dry skin, I get a bit ashy around my ankles and knees if I apply more than one layer. Nothing a dab of body butter doesn't fix.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 saraminebowen on 7/10/2013 1:58:00 PM more reviews by saraminebowen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This self tanner clogged my pores and is really streaky if you're not over-meticulous when applying. The only reason I gave it a 3 overall is because it truly does not have the nasty self tanner smell after it's been on you for an hour, and it does give a nice color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Banana Boat products

More Self Tanners products