Banana Boat • Summer Color Sunless Lotion Deep Dark • Self Tanners

rated 4.1(106 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* troo12 on 6/6/2014 1:10:00 AM more reviews by troo12

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I've only ever used Jergens but needed something quick to tan for the following day. This is amazing!!! I am fair skinned and was worried about the "deep dark" part but it worked out great!!! I only had one streak on my stomach but I blame me because it was my first time. It is also quick to dye so careful about your hands. I like that you can see where you are applying it :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* youwillneverfindme on 6/5/2014 6:36:00 PM more reviews by youwillneverfindme

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Another product I love for my nw20 self and a summer staple. I probably go through a few bottles of this a year. Score is dropped due to large amount of parabens (which you may or may not be concerned about) and the fact that the tan doesn't last long (a few days, if I'm lucky).

I'm not a sunless tanning expert. I stumbled upon this product almost ten years ago and was happy with it since day one, so other than St. Tropez tanning mousse (which I wan't all that happy with, and that price tag!!), Banana Boat is the only one I can remember using. Reasonable color per application, and it is, of course, buildable. At times, it can go on slightly orange, but if you have even the smallest sun tan (I turn peach, I never really get a nice tan in the sun), then the Banana Boat Deep Dark Lotion will just top it off making it look a little deeper.

I don't use this to get "tan", though. I use it for a little bit of color, to help even out my skin on my face (yes, that's right, I use it on my face mainly) and to help blend in my rosacea redness--this may sound strange, but the color of this helps "yellow" my skin, so the rosacea ends up just looking like a pretty, natural flush instead of a big red blotch. One of the nice things about this lotion is that I find it hard to make mistakes with, unless you glob it on between toes or around knees or elbows. There is enough color pay-off in one application, but I usually like my color built up to 2 or 3 applications.

The scent is tolerable enough, although, I find if I don't rinse enough off before I start another application, it tends to smell like a marinade. Price is great at around $6-8 here in NYC for 6 fl oz. I will undoubtedly, keep repurchasing again and again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ustia on 5/6/2014 5:21:00 PM more reviews by ustia

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

They reformulated this product and the ingredient (dihydroxyaceton) that gives skin color is at the very end of ingredients list, it used to be the second one. So I had to return it back to store.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 beachsexybronze on 3/14/2014 12:58:00 PM more reviews by beachsexybronze

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Aww yes....as too many self tanners these days don't give enough DHA in their products (making you literally have to use too much product to see good results), this one still delivers (even tho-believe it or not-this is still not as good as the old school Banana Boat sunless in DEEP dark).

Let me say that I have been using sunless tanner since 1995-FAITHFULLY...Infact I have never went one week without using it since! I have tried over 30 brands and different kinds, like "buildable", "overnight", gels, lotions, sprays, you name it- etc.

I will say first that usually ANY self tanner that has a "color guard" is not my fav pick. Why? Because usually the color guard interferes with the actual color to show UP. Yes they are great for "seeing where the lotion goes", but I have found that the ones WITH color guards actually make it more blotchy or uneven!

See, when it comes to self tanner, you really DONT want too many other "moisterizers" to be mixed with the product (ONLY unless you are putting it over your feet,elbows, and knees beforehand), because moisterizers + self tanner= diluted results and a lighter tan or no tan at all (being that the color guard just rinses away)- (Trust me on this!).

The old school "Nuetragena sunless lotion in "DEEP" that was WHITE lotion with NO color guard actually made me DARK in just ONE application (the yellow bottle). Same thing for the old school NO-AD sunless tanning GEL (that was completely clear of color)-got me so darn DARK overnight -it was a rediculous but happy result!! And same thing for the original Coppertone tanning lotion (the one from the late 90's) that also made you dark with one application and had ZERO color guard! Same thing for the "endless summer" Coppertone dual lotion, and same for the OLD school "Bain De Soleil" sunless tanner that was not a "outside tanner lotion with a "tiny" bit of self tanner in it"-they used to have one that was just a self tanner and you didn't need to tan outside to see results...(sigh)...

But over the years I have found that many people seem to be annoyed by the "smell" of the sunless tanners..(the DHA ingrediant that actually makes you turn color). Now, being that is understandable, I am saddened by this because #1. NO "fake tan" is going to NOT have a smell (unless once again they are DILUTED with fragrances, color guards, moisterizers, etc). Yes of course "no one" WANTS to be "orange", but in order to get a really nice dark color, any "fake" tan will always (always, always) have a TINT to some kind of "orange" color-unless you are naturally very dark or yellow in skin color.

So now because the industry has catered to more of the "smell/odor" customer complaints for the last two decades, sadly the only sunless tanners that produce REAL dark tan colors costs a fortune-AND in VERY small quantities I will add or do not work the right way like they used to (like those like me who want a DARK color OVERNIGHT)- Not to mention, that there are too many "graduale" tanners and not enough "DEEP DARK" tanners without the guard mixed in-due to the fact that too many companies dont use enough of the DHA ingrediant inside like they should for REAL results.

The ONLY other sunless tanners with "color guards" that I have found to REALLY work is Sunlabs, Savage Bronze -(discontinued and me and LOTS of others are VERY angry about our beloved Savage Bronze self tanner mouse), and this one.


Anyhow, this one is nice, except that the fading isn't the best and it does not last too long.

But pretty good overall. Sorry for my rant above, but being an avid sunless tanner user that has always depended on using ONE application for deep dark results, sadly there just isnt enough of those products these days anymore. I could deal with the smell during the first app. Just wish some of the original products were not changed so the ones who don't mind could still use them.

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ac06493 on 3/12/2014 10:27:00 AM more reviews by ac06493

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

This is definitely one of the best self tanners for the price!
If you're new to self tanners this is a great one to start with. Smells fine, applies easily, lasts a decent amount of time, and gives a nice color.
It's not going to give you tons of color but for the price it is an awesome buy and I would recommend this to anyone new to self tanning though I would recommend purchasing a mitt to apply for an easier, more even application.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kfulghum on 3/11/2014 3:21:00 PM more reviews by kfulghum

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is a great self- tanner. It has a pleasant smell that goes away by the morning (I only apply this at night). I am pretty pale and I bought the deep dark color which gave me a very nice glow after only one application. It is easy to apply and has streak protection. It does transfer a tiny bit in the shower but I didn't notice it anywhere else. I will keep using and probably buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 WinterisComing9 on 2/18/2014 7:51:00 AM more reviews by WinterisComing9

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I am quite partial to a Brazilian model glow and do everything to achieve that look. Being already on the darker side I am always afraid I will waste money and be frustrated however I was not with this product. The color showed up immdiately and after letting the product sit on my skin for an hour (I was stark nude in my bathroom watching YT videos) there is no color transfer. No color transfer is important to me bc I have very prettty white dresses to wear for the summer.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ashhhh3 on 2/18/2014 5:43:00 AM more reviews by ashhhh3

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

So, I'm very pale. I do tan with the sun pretty easily, but I don't like being exposed to it too much to just get a tad bit of color.
I looked Into this self tanner because of the great reviews, and the amazingly low price!
I loooooove this self tanner. I swear by, and fully trust this tanner to get a perfect color every time!
I applied two layers on a Monday night, and woke up with a very noticeably dark color. If I could recommend one thing, and this does for all self tanners, is moisturize before applying this and really let it soak in!
It didn't make my elbows or knees dark, and the lasting power is unreal.
The first time around, when It was at it's darkest, I hadn't used gloves, and even when I scrubbed (and fairly hard) it faded just a little (but my orange hands when away btw) I love the natural color it gives, and how I could compare this easily to a high end one, and this one takes the cake!
I also applied this around my hands, and it also looked great. I still recommend moisturizing your knuckles and folds!
CON: the smell is kind of funky, but I'm not one to judge smells so I'm not effected by it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 christinaccar on 10/15/2013 5:15:00 PM more reviews by christinaccar

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have tried SO MANY self tanners and this one wins every time. I choose it even over Fake Bake. Multiple times I have tried different ones and I always go back to this one. The color is so nice and natural. Not orange. It lasts about 2-3 days on my face and about 5-7 days on my body. Its thick consistency makes it very easy to apply.

After a few blotchy orange hand experiences, I have learned that it's best to wash hands and then take a tissue and put some of the lotion on that and rub it really good into the tops of your hands and the bottom of your wrists. Also do the same with your feet.

Or you could use the Banana Boat self tanner spray for your hands and feet as well. I do that sometimes.

Another thing I love about this product is it doesn't make my knees and elbows dark and dirty looking. Which is a very important quality!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 coconuty on 10/11/2013 8:08:00 AM more reviews by coconuty

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

definitely HG. best sunless tanner for me, just bought 6 of it. if you put an average amount (2 tbs per leg, 1 tbs for one arm, 1 tbs for back, 1 tbs for stomach etc) you'll have great results!
it lasts for about 7-10 days if not more. comes off with no patches, like a real tan. never breaks me out on my BODY, but it's NOT for your face!! it gave me nasty pimples on my chin and cheeks, do not try it on your face. for my face i use dennis gross glow pad (anti aging), or xen-tan deep bronze luxe (it's a big tube for your body, i only put it on my face cause it's expensive). the colour of banana boat turns out beautiful and looks real. even if you put too much- it might feel a tiny bit sticky but it NEVER comes out streaky. be sure to sleep with it or stay with it for 8 hours then rinse it off only with warm/cold water. after 16 hours you can shower as usual, i use a creamy body wash with oil (dove brand).

cons: sometimes it turns out too yellowish. saw gossmakeupartist on youtube a few weeks ago- giving an idea to add 6 drops of red food dye, to make sunless tanners look more "real".

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Banana Boat products

More Self Tanners products