Alima • Balancing Primer Powder • Primer/ Corrector

rated 4.3(32 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 ellyyang on 12/7/2008 2:49:00 PM more reviews by ellyyang

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love this primer (well, the first one and the only one I've ever used). I've repurchased it for three times and I believe I will buy more. After cleansing and moisturizing my skin, I squeeze some sunblock on my palm and then pour some Alima primer to the sunblock (not tinted) and mix them. Usually the sunblock makes me shiny after a couple of hours. But with this primer, my skin remains matte for a little longer. And since I don't have much to conceal on my skin, this mixture already provides enough coverage (very sheer) for my skin. After this, I just buff the finishing powder all over my face to set everything. My skin feels so good and I don't need to use any foundation. On lippie off because I have to mix two colors to fit my skin tone. Not enough color choice.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* snake_hips on 8/7/2008 9:24:00 PM more reviews by snake_hips

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I'm so bummed out, since I'm combo and get oily in the summer, but this stuff made me ITCH like crazy. :( So sad!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ashariel on 6/1/2008 3:54:00 PM more reviews by ashariel

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I can't say that I hate this product, but it isn't my HG by any stretch. My nose and brow were still shinier than I'd expect while using a primer, but the finish is nice on the skin. Perhaps I'm expecting too much from a powder primer. I ended up going back to a silicone-based primer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LittleGnome on 4/25/2008 9:38:00 AM more reviews by LittleGnome

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Edited 7/08: While this is a very good mineral makeup primer, and it adds a layer of coverage to your mineral makeup routine, I think it has a little less oil-control than both EM Tinted Silk Dust and MAD Minerals' Translucent Veil. I also have Fryrinnae's rice powder primer, which works very well in controlling oil, but I don't like the whitish cast it gives sometimes gives my skin or the slightly gritty texture. I thought the Fyrinnae was going to be HG status, and while it and this product are good, they are not the best I have. The Fyrinnae controls oil better than this, but is grittier and doesn't add any coverage. This does a decent job of controlling oil and adds a layer of coverage, but for very hot, oily or humid days, I need more help. I put the products on in the following order: moisturizer on clean skin, let settle; then concealer, primer, then foundation.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* babydials on 2/19/2008 12:12:00 PM more reviews by babydials

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

My nose was shiney by mid-day, and this was in the winter. I love their foundation and blush, but I will pass on this. Aromaleigh and Meow Cosmetics both have better primer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 saynotococo on 1/27/2008 3:24:00 PM more reviews by saynotococo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I LOVEEEE this product. I have super oily skin and I was surprised when I first tried this that I don't need to blot for like 5 hrs (and that's pretty damn good imho). It still gives me oil, but more like glowy kinda thing, instead of yucky oily. I have this in medium and it's a bit too light for me. I'm ordering deep but it hasn't come yet. Can't wait for it to come. This product is a must everytime I use my MMU.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 eoneil22 on 1/6/2008 10:05:00 AM more reviews by eoneil22

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I am new to using primers but I have used many already. Since I use MMU I don't like to use a liquid primer because the powder foundation never seems to come out right. I have tried the Fyrinnae Rice Primer and I was not too impressed. Plus I think it was breaking me out. So on to Alima Balancing Primer Powder. I really like it. I bought it in Medium because the swatch on the site looks really light. It is really light in person too, so I was glad I didn't go with the light color. For reference I am an NC20/NC25. I use the primer under a combination of Beige 3, Neutral 2, and Neutral 3 Alima foundations that I got as samples. I gave it five lippies even though I still get oily because I figure nothing is going to get rid of oil all day. But this is a great product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CaliBello on 11/29/2007 5:30:00 PM more reviews by CaliBello

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Tan   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I am pretty happy with OC Eight as my primer but I still need more oil control!

I got this in Deep which is way too light for me- I need to pile on some extra foundation to get my color back so that's not good.

Underneath my Alima foundation it was just OK but I found patting it on to set my makeup and then buffing away the excess works really well. I also re-pat and re-buff during lunch to keep me matte for a few more hours.

UPDATE: The color doesn't work and I'm just not using any Alima products anymore so I won't re-purchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* silkyskin on 11/12/2007 8:37:00 AM more reviews by silkyskin

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I had VERY high hopes for this. After reviewing the comments below, I thought this would be my HG, keeping my oily t-zone in check and my makeup flawless from application to removal. It does not. It does keep it less oily than if I didn't use it, but I still get breakthrough shine in a few hours. It is very sheer and is easy to apply, doesn't seem chalky to me, but I had hoped for more. I have it in the Light color (I'm MAC NC15-20) and it's a great match. I wish that the jar was a bit bigger. Having a bigger cap to work with would make it easier. I'll continue to use it because it is the only powder I've found that 1) actually works to some degree, and 2) is free from pore-clogging or acne producing ingredients like rice powder or corn starch. If I were able to find something that wasn't mail order that worked even slightly better, though, I'd switch.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ruqayya33 on 9/21/2007 12:47:00 AM more reviews by ruqayya33

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I've tried this product in MEDIUM and DEEP.


Both are nice, although the DEEP seemed to be a little less obvious on my MMM/CCC complexion. (FYI: I'm currently using Alima's W5, but may switch to a mix of W5 with a little W4 in the winter.)


Medium gave me a very slight chalky look. It's probably due to the fact that these products are supposed to be for all complexion ranges and therefore have a neutral undertone. The DEEP just complimented my warm/peachy undertones better and didn't lighten the foundation. A little goes a long way! I apply a light layer with a BE Handy Buki.


It held my oil slick at bay for most of the days, I wore it. On days that I skipped using it (and before I bought my first sample jars,) I had to blot and re-powder 2-3 times a day. With the primer beneath my foundation, I may have to blot only once, toward the end of the day.)


I'll definitely repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Alima products

More Primer/ Corrector products