Sally Hansen • Hard as Nails • Polishes

rated 3.9(86 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 AlisonAshleigh on 8/31/2010 1:53:00 AM more reviews by AlisonAshleigh

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I love this and use it as a base and top coat. It dries quickly and I think it really does strengthen my nails. They recently changed the packaging- the cap use to close awkwardly and sometimes the polish would leak, but the new cap seems to work really well. I usually get the clear but it comes in a few tinted varieties I've used before too. A must for any at home manicure!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 salleypark on 6/17/2010 11:09:00 AM more reviews by salleypark

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

I absolutely adore this nail polish. This being my first review, bear with me if it isn't perfect. I decided to buy this on a whim while on a target run, and they were only three bucks a pop so I decided to buy one, Blue It. I remember it was in a different packaging than it is now, with a white cap and different lettering. I think Blue It is now discontinued, but it was a lovely metallic blue color that wasn't sheer by any means.
I usually don't put a top coat or base coat on because I find it takes too much time, so I just put the nail polish on my nails after I evened them out and buffed them. The brush for this polish is pretty big, so it takes much less time to put on and it provides a more even coverage. Not only did it apply fantastically, it lasted for quite a while too. They didn't chip until maybe eight to ten days later! (Better than any of my more expensive brands of nail polish) The color didn't even fade away! While some people may complain that the polish is too thick, I think that's what gives it's lasting power.
So, being the hoard that I am, I ran to the nearest Target and I got many more colors. They include Flirt!, Fuschia Power, Black Out, Purple Pizzazz, and Blue Me Away! I absolutely adore Fuschia Power, Black Out, and Blue Me Away. The only reason I don't like Flirt and Purple Pizzazz is because of the experiences I've dealt with those. With the Flirt!, I got an older version (the kind with a white lid) and it was pretty bad. The first time I applied it, the texture was great. It lasted for over a week. However, when I tried to paint my nails again maybe three weeks later, the polish was extremely goopy and it would not go on my nails. So I trashed it :/ In addition, I think only the creme colors in this collection work well. I tried Purple Pizzazz and it was extremely sheer. I had to paint about five coats just to show some color and even that chipped after three days.
However, these minor incidents have not stopped me from supporting this excellent product! I'm currently wearing Blue Me Away right now and it has lasted me well over 12 days! Don't be scared of what others people say and try it out! It has worked well for me :) (and after all it is only around 3 dollars)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 asianvolleyballer on 5/13/2010 5:39:00 PM more reviews by asianvolleyballer

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i like this nail polish alot, there are a variety of colors and the colors are smooth and great, it really is hard and doesnt chip much. the only thing is that after a length of time, the nail polish gets really thick and impossible to use so it has to be trashed...so use your nail polish fasttt but its great

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* xBl0cPartyx on 5/11/2010 10:16:00 PM more reviews by xBl0cPartyx

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I think this actually works!

I'm usually a sceptic when I see all these claims about things repairing your nails and whatnot but this seemed to make a difference. My nails tend to peel (I'm anemic) and this was great over them! They grew to a nice length without splitting!

I bought this in "Shimmering Lilac" and I love the colour. It's actually something that works in a pretty colour whereas a lot of these nail repair things are sold clear. I found that it lasted ages and took forever to chip!

I really liked this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Heechul on 1/8/2010 8:51:00 PM more reviews by Heechul

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I'm not sure what's up with my nails, but they've been getting super brittle lately. It's only been after I started to use this brand's line of hard as nail polishes often.

I get the extremely chunky glittery kind.
They work really well, for the few shades I got, but my friend wasn't so lucky. Her colors needed tons of layering, but mine were fab. I love the shades for the price you get.

But I just need to check out what's causing my nails brittle-ness. Because I never have problems with them breaking off or chipping as much as now..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 REE43 on 1/3/2010 9:34:00 AM more reviews by REE43

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I was having terrible trouble with splitting nails, due to cold weather I am sure. I was using cuticle cream , lotion, nothing helped. I tried the tinted Hard as Nails and it is wonderful. I dont like nails polished so it gives a nice natural tint and they look great, no peeling. They are very strong now. I used this back in the day and so glad its still out there. DIrt cheap also like 3.00 .

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 icecreamtruckk on 12/20/2009 6:05:00 PM more reviews by icecreamtruckk

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE this product. I always wear it and apply 2 coats. Whenever I put it on, it makes my nails super hard. My nails chip really easily when it's bare. Before I got into nails, I used to always cut them so that there's no white parts, but now that I'm trying to grow my nails out I haven't realized how long it takes & how hard it is. Even though I have this polish on, my nails still KIND OF chip. I have a problem with peeling nail polish off when I get bored and my nails chip easily whenever I peel it off so it's not the polish's fault.

EDIT: I take that back. It easily peels off, and goes on too thick most of the time even if I try putting on thin layers. It chips easily, and when it chips off my nails chip almost directly after that. I'd only use this for top coats when I don't want to waste my nail magic. :/

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sharon517 on 10/27/2009 7:55:00 AM more reviews by sharon517

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I usually only wear clear nail polish on my hands, and this is the one i go to. I have the one with the hint of pink color, with a nice natural shine. Works great as a top coat for my toenails too, which i do use colored nail polish on. I would have gave it 4 lippies, but it does sometimes chip easily if you only wear one coat.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DianAdams on 10/24/2009 7:16:00 PM more reviews by DianAdams

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

i have really noticed my nails becoming harder and less bendy and breaking a lot less too. i would buy this all the time!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lygophilia on 9/5/2009 1:03:00 PM more reviews by lygophilia

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I own and enjoy many different shades of Sally Hansen Hard as Nails nail polish. One of my faves is #54 Heather Silk. It is a cool shade of medium pink that looks fantastic for daily wear to work that is neither to obvious or obnoxious. Plus it looks great on my cool pale skin tone.
Personally I find Sally Hansen nail polish overall to have easy application, tolerable drying wait times between coats, incredible shine, and decent durability. I'm hard on my hands on a daily basis, therefore I'm use to chips emerging within a few days.
I do like the colour selection, the 'nylon' added to the polish which I believe helps my brittle nails, and price of this product, therefore will continue to purchase this line.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Sally Hansen products

More Polishes products