Neutrogena • Fresh Foaming Cleanser • Cleansers

rated 3.8(765 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 supapo on 4/25/2014 11:05:00 PM more reviews by supapo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I have been using this for a few years. My dermatologist recommended it for my acne. It really does remove most of my makeup, except for my foundation; need 2 washes. I have not been able to find any other products to replce it as of yet. So far, i will recommend it for anyone with sensitive skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jess2133 on 4/25/2014 10:32:00 PM more reviews by jess2133

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I've tried this cleanser twice and both times it dried my skin out. It foams up great and does a really good job of getting rid of foundation (revlon colourstay), but after half an hour my skin felt dry and course. I haven't had a problem with other foaming cleansers I've tried, but this one just seems too harsh for my skin. I now use this to clean my smaller brushes, which works pretty well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 DanicaMarie on 4/25/2014 11:23:00 AM more reviews by DanicaMarie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I've only used this twice, so normally i wouldn't review a product yet, but i'm just not impressed with this product already. Generally if i'm buying something that says "foaming" i'm buying it because i want a foaming product. Not the case with this at all, so i'm already annoyed. It literally doesn't even foam a little. It lathers and is more of a cream like consistency. It works with my Olay Pro-X Brush fine, but still not what i was expecting. My second complaint is the smell. I don't think I've ever been bothered by a skincare product smell before, generally i find something fresh about it and don't really think about it again but the smell of this is just gross to me. It has a "New Car" smell in my opinion, which normally sounds great...If i had a new car. I don't really feel like putting that smell on my face however. This could be the best cleanser ever but i'm just already thoroughly disappointed with it so i don't know if i'll even continue use. Thankfully its pretty cheap. Probably the only Pro in my opinion.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HollyWould123 on 4/17/2014 11:58:00 PM more reviews by HollyWould123

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I was very pleasantly surprised by this product. I would alternate between using it alone or with my Clairsonic Mia. It worked great both ways. It doesn't foam up right away or much at all; more like develops into a nice lather. It's not actually soap, so the packaging says you can rub it over your eyes to skip makeup remover. I could never get into the habit of rubbing a cleaner on my eyes and would use wipes on my eyes before using the cleanser. It removed the rest of my makeup well too. My face felt fresh and clean after use. Definitely will repurchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 avastefani on 3/28/2014 12:29:00 PM more reviews by avastefani

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm going to be honest and say that I hate some of neutragena cleansers because it tends to break me out, but not in this case at all. I love how this cleanser doesn't break me out or cause irritation which is awesome.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 mkeddie on 3/26/2014 10:59:00 PM more reviews by mkeddie

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

It didn't foam up at all for me. I felt like I had to use a lot to get my face clean.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Spfeif82 on 3/20/2014 9:38:00 PM more reviews by Spfeif82

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great cleanser. It actually removes my eye makeup. Admittedly, I do not wear waterproof eyeliner or mascara, but my eye makeup also usually isn't smudging by the end of the day, so I assume that it has pretty good staying power and with a few quick massages over my eyes it all washes away.

I do probably spend a little extra time massaging the cleanser around my face, but for how clean my face feels, (and how non-drying this face wash is also) I don't mind. I always though Neutrogena products were very overrated, and I bought this out of desperation while it was on sale at the grocery store. I was shocked to find that it works as well as it does.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Maple26 on 3/8/2014 9:22:00 AM more reviews by Maple26

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Great stuff. Takes off the make-up like it says, it's a gel formula and you gotta wet it with water, foam it up in your hands and then apply it to your face. It does make my skin feel really dry afterwards but I can't complain as long as it does the job. Reliable.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 helloxkittty on 3/1/2014 10:40:00 PM more reviews by helloxkittty

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I use Revlon Colorstay foundation daily and need a good makeup remover so I decided to try this. It gets off face makeup really well but is a little harsh for my sensitive eyes. It is also somewhat drying for me so I don't use it as a regular cleanser. I just use it occasionally because I prefer the Neutrogena makeup removing wipes but I would repurchase to have it around. Packaging is nice, price is decent (about $5.99?). Would recommend if you are looking for a cheap, simple makeup remover and you don't have dry or sensitive skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ajj0061 on 3/1/2014 10:00:00 PM more reviews by ajj0061

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this cleanser originally because I wanted a cleanser that would remove my makeup. I just happened to see that it said it would remove makeup on the bottle and took a chance. That was about 9 years ago!

If I'm wearing eye makeup, I use the Neutrogena eye makeup remover with a cotton pad, and then I follow up with this cleanser. If I'm wearing super heavy makeup, I wash twice, just in case! All makeup is removed and my skin is happy :)

It is so important to remove makeup every single night and this definitely does the job. Having makeup on the skin over night may cause more acne or lead to clogged pores and wrinkles! YIKES!

This cleanser may be too drying to those with dry skin, but I have oily skin so this has not been an issue for me. I just thought I would warn you.

Overall, it's a great cleanser, and it's super convenient to find at any grocery store. I would highly recommend this, esp to those who wear daily makeup and have oily skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Cleansers products