Parissa Quick and Easy Wax Strips Face - Bikini

4.1

27 reviews

81% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 2/10/2011 3:37:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I purchased these wax strips a few months ago, and this was my first time trying a product from the Parissa brand. I bought this set because I thought it might be a good choice for removing some of the little hairs on my upper lip. The first time that i used a strip, I think I rushed into the process because I was so curious about trying it out for the first time. I cut one of the strips in half and used it that way. The wax removed a fair amount of hair, but I was left with a lot of residue that didn't start to go away until a few days later. I had applied the azulene oil as well as olive oil, but nothing seemed to help. My skin was noticeably flaky / dry for a few days on that area. I was a bit discouraged after that first experience, but I decided to try the strips again after some time had passed. The next time, I made sure to cut the strips into very small pieces, and this made them a lot easier to use and control. I didn't experience the same problems that i had the first time that I tried. I've been using them this way for a few months so far, and I like them quite a bit. I'm still not very experienced with waxing, but I give this product a good rating. I would like to try out some of the other Parissa products as well.



on 9/21/2010 4:01:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

These are HG for me. I take a sharpie and looking in the mirror trace my eyebrow over the strip and let the ink dry, then use scissors to cut the strips into the right shapes for my arch. It almost completely eliminates the need for tweezing and as long as you use the azulene afterwards, which comes in the box, it leaves very little redness. I also use this on my upper lip peach fuzz and so far haven't had bad reactions like with other waxes. I've used these on the bikini line but honestly, for that much trouble and that many strips I'd rather just go to a professional or shave.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Perfect for brow touch-ups. I'll definitely repurchase. Easy to use, painless, great for in-between waxes.


on 2/26/2010 2:24:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I love this product.. but not for my face. It works wonderfully on the bikini line, probably because the hairs are a lot thicker, longer, and coarser than on the face.. much more to grab onto. I found that this very rarely worked on my face, and even on a "good day" it took off just over half the hair. I only have peach fuzz, really, so it makes sense; though in a salon/spa, they're able to remove all the hair, so clearly not salon quality.

However, it works fabulously on the bikini line, pretty easy to use although you definitely do need to practice a bit. I'm still having a bit of trouble getting all the hair, but it does work for the most part. The only con is that I've been noticing some pimples and ingrowns which I think has been caused by this product. I've been told that waxing in general, especially when done incorrectly, can cause ingrowns quite easily so I'm sure that it is my technique. Either way, it is a good product that is pretty cheap, and worth checking out. For a wax that is cheap, easy to use, and doesn't require heating/any other apparatus, it is a good quality product. I may one day invest in a whole set of professional wax, the heater thing, etc. but for now, this $8 box does the trick. Certainly beats paying $45+ for a professional Brazilian, especially since I can get two Brazilians and an upper lip wax out of one box (admittedly, the upper lip waxing doesn't work too well).. though I'm sure that a pro could do a better job than I do.

-------------

EDIT: I just tried Nair Soft Touch wax strips.. mostly because I realized it was MUCH cheaper than the Parissa (the Nair was on sale so it ended up being the same price as the Parissa, usually it is about $3 more but you get twice the product).

I was really dubious because I've just always heard bad things about Nair. Oh man.. the Nair ROCKS. So much better than Parissa.. I probably won't ever go back to the Parissa.

In short: the best Brazilian I've ever given myself. Much cleaner, faster, and easier to use. I'm a convert!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 1/6/2010 4:25:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

I am always trying new at home waxing stuff for my upper lip and chin. I've always been disappointed by cold wax strips before - the Sally Hansen ones barely worked and left a lot of wax on my skin. I picked up these at Ulta with very low expectations (although I had tried other Parissa wax products and been pretty impressed). I tried them on my upper lip and chin and LOVED them! They really got almost every hair - even shorter and coarser hairs. It left very little wax residue (which came up easily when the azulene oil is used on it - included in the kit) and was very quick and easy. I will definitely be buying these again for use on my face.


on 10/12/2009 9:03:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I but the Sensitive formula wax strips and am IN LOVE with this product. I have trouble finding it except for at Whole Foods but it is so painless on my face and bikini line.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I'm so impressed with these strips! I never thought I'd be the type to wax my own bikini line, but here I am! I tried a few of the Sally Hansen waxing kits a few years ago and had little luck, and decided waxing wasn't for me. Then I read in a magazine about how great these strips are, and thought, okay, I'll try it. Glad I did! They are VERY easy to use, not messy at all. I heat the strips between my hands for a minute, and it works fine. Yes, it does hurt, but it is very effective. I have no hairs left behind when I do it properly (keeping the skin taught, pulling hard enough). Not too much sticky residue left behind either, nothing that can't come off with a touch of the oil included in the package. As far as irritation goes...I put lotion on directly after and the next day, and that seems to be working fine.

I stocked up on these recently, because I never want to go back to shaving.


on 4/15/2009 11:15:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Quick and easy.

I love how un-messy it is :)

Heat it between your hand enough or else it won't pull them off properly.

(or use a hairdrier if you're lazy like me lolz)


on 4/13/2009 12:09:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Quick and easy? HA! painful and ineffective? you bet. Used this on my upper lip and took like maybe 4 hairs out and left a mess of wax on my lip. Gross.


on 11/18/2007 8:03:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Cool

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Violet

this review is for the leg & body strips, not the face & bikini. i absolutely LOVE this product, it is probably my highest HG body product ever. i wax my bikini line at home, and this is the quickest, easiest way i have found. the results are consistent. i have tried gigi stripless bikini wax and HATED it. these are so simple to use. you just rub between your hands to warm them, separate, then apply and pull them off. they work on even the coarsest of hair. the azulene oil is wonderful. i apply a liberal amount to both palms and then massage the waxed area. all of the wax residue comes off this way and it soothes your skin. LOVE THESE!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Popular Body Skincare Products


All Products
All Products
724 Reviews
Healing Cream
Healing Cream
321 Reviews
Back to Top