Parissa • Quick and Easy Wax Strips Face - Bikini • Skincare - Body

rated 4.1(26 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rastaxcore on 9/21/2010 4:01:00 PM more reviews by rastaxcore

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

These are HG for me. I take a sharpie and looking in the mirror trace my eyebrow over the strip and let the ink dry, then use scissors to cut the strips into the right shapes for my arch. It almost completely eliminates the need for tweezing and as long as you use the azulene afterwards, which comes in the box, it leaves very little redness. I also use this on my upper lip peach fuzz and so far haven't had bad reactions like with other waxes. I've used these on the bikini line but honestly, for that much trouble and that many strips I'd rather just go to a professional or shave.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 myfakeyelashes on 2/27/2010 10:49:00 PM more reviews by myfakeyelashes

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Perfect for brow touch-ups. I'll definitely repurchase. Easy to use, painless, great for in-between waxes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 fdfasfd on 2/26/2010 2:24:00 AM more reviews by fdfasfd

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I love this product.. but not for my face. It works wonderfully on the bikini line, probably because the hairs are a lot thicker, longer, and coarser than on the face.. much more to grab onto. I found that this very rarely worked on my face, and even on a "good day" it took off just over half the hair. I only have peach fuzz, really, so it makes sense; though in a salon/spa, they're able to remove all the hair, so clearly not salon quality.

However, it works fabulously on the bikini line, pretty easy to use although you definitely do need to practice a bit. I'm still having a bit of trouble getting all the hair, but it does work for the most part. The only con is that I've been noticing some pimples and ingrowns which I think has been caused by this product. I've been told that waxing in general, especially when done incorrectly, can cause ingrowns quite easily so I'm sure that it is my technique. Either way, it is a good product that is pretty cheap, and worth checking out. For a wax that is cheap, easy to use, and doesn't require heating/any other apparatus, it is a good quality product. I may one day invest in a whole set of professional wax, the heater thing, etc. but for now, this $8 box does the trick. Certainly beats paying $45+ for a professional Brazilian, especially since I can get two Brazilians and an upper lip wax out of one box (admittedly, the upper lip waxing doesn't work too well).. though I'm sure that a pro could do a better job than I do.

-------------

EDIT: I just tried Nair Soft Touch wax strips.. mostly because I realized it was MUCH cheaper than the Parissa (the Nair was on sale so it ended up being the same price as the Parissa, usually it is about $3 more but you get twice the product).

I was really dubious because I've just always heard bad things about Nair. Oh man.. the Nair ROCKS. So much better than Parissa.. I probably won't ever go back to the Parissa.

In short: the best Brazilian I've ever given myself. Much cleaner, faster, and easier to use. I'm a convert!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tinnula on 1/6/2010 4:25:00 PM more reviews by tinnula

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I am always trying new at home waxing stuff for my upper lip and chin. I've always been disappointed by cold wax strips before - the Sally Hansen ones barely worked and left a lot of wax on my skin. I picked up these at Ulta with very low expectations (although I had tried other Parissa wax products and been pretty impressed). I tried them on my upper lip and chin and LOVED them! They really got almost every hair - even shorter and coarser hairs. It left very little wax residue (which came up easily when the azulene oil is used on it - included in the kit) and was very quick and easy. I will definitely be buying these again for use on my face.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Virgodolce on 10/12/2009 9:03:00 AM more reviews by Virgodolce

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I but the Sensitive formula wax strips and am IN LOVE with this product. I have trouble finding it except for at Whole Foods but it is so painless on my face and bikini line.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 razorbladeshoes on 6/17/2009 3:21:00 PM more reviews by razorbladeshoes

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm so impressed with these strips! I never thought I'd be the type to wax my own bikini line, but here I am! I tried a few of the Sally Hansen waxing kits a few years ago and had little luck, and decided waxing wasn't for me. Then I read in a magazine about how great these strips are, and thought, okay, I'll try it. Glad I did! They are VERY easy to use, not messy at all. I heat the strips between my hands for a minute, and it works fine. Yes, it does hurt, but it is very effective. I have no hairs left behind when I do it properly (keeping the skin taught, pulling hard enough). Not too much sticky residue left behind either, nothing that can't come off with a touch of the oil included in the package. As far as irritation goes...I put lotion on directly after and the next day, and that seems to be working fine.

I stocked up on these recently, because I never want to go back to shaving.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Yushimi on 4/15/2009 11:15:00 PM more reviews by Yushimi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Quick and easy.

I love how un-messy it is :)

Heat it between your hand enough or else it won't pull them off properly.

(or use a hairdrier if you're lazy like me lolz)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* UrbanHibiscus on 4/13/2009 12:09:00 PM more reviews by UrbanHibiscus

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Quick and easy? HA! painful and ineffective? you bet. Used this on my upper lip and took like maybe 4 hairs out and left a mess of wax on my lip. Gross.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 luv2luvu on 11/18/2007 8:03:00 PM more reviews by luv2luvu

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Cool   Hair: Other   Eyes: Violet    

this review is for the leg & body strips, not the face & bikini. i absolutely LOVE this product, it is probably my highest HG body product ever. i wax my bikini line at home, and this is the quickest, easiest way i have found. the results are consistent. i have tried gigi stripless bikini wax and HATED it. these are so simple to use. you just rub between your hands to warm them, separate, then apply and pull them off. they work on even the coarsest of hair. the azulene oil is wonderful. i apply a liberal amount to both palms and then massage the waxed area. all of the wax residue comes off this way and it soothes your skin. LOVE THESE!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* luminous on 10/21/2007 5:05:00 AM more reviews by luminous

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

UPDATE: i developed an adverse reaction on my upper lip after writing this review. the reaction consisted of several (17 - i counted!) pimples, as well as major redness & irritation. i'm still not sure if it was the strip itself that caused these problems, or 1 or more of the products i applied following the wax (for example, one girl on the boards suggested that an acne-prone person should not use azulene oil! or perhaps i'm sensitive to BHA?). regardless, i definitely think i applied too much stuff to the area, and that probably contributed to the problem.

anyway, i got brave enough recently to try again, and i went out and bought a different type of hair remover -- "Moom" (www.moom.com). it's organic, and supposed to be "better for the skin" (it's sugar-based instead of wax-based). this time i used only witch hazel on the area (applied w/a cotton pad about twice per day for the first 2-3 days, and toward the end, applied over top of jojoba oil)... and after a few days, jojoba oil *only.* this time i was very dry, but only experienced minimal irritation. and only got maybe 3 small whiteheads!

next time i think i'll use jojoba oil *only*, since the witch hazel dried me out so much. (tho i would caution anyone who's never used jojoba oil before: it *can* cause several days of purging even for people who don't wax. so i'd be hesitant to apply it after waxing as your first time trying it!) i was surprised Moom was so effective at the hair removal; i wasnt expecting much from a sugar product. but if you're planning to try this one, my advice is to read all directions *thoroughly* for maximum effectiveness. and especially: use only a paper-thin layer.
i also love that Moom rinses easily with water, so nothing special is needed to remove residue. next i'm going to try this on my underarms! :D

ORIGINAL REVIEW:
I’ve been bleaching my upper lip for years, and have been sick of it for a long time. Before tonight, I had already been through two unsuccessful waxing attempts. The first was a Sally Hansen kit that pulled off not only most (not all) of the hair, but a bit of skin, too. Now on Hypersensitive Me, that was a total disaster. I was pretty un-versed in skincare at the time, and had a reaction that lasted a week or two: immediately angry red skin, developing into a bumpy rash, which morphed into an upper lip peppered with whiteheads and pimples. Yes, I’ve always been acne-prone, but that was ridiculous. And the skin in between the zits was raw, red, and painful/burning.
My second attempt was a couple months ago, with Parissa roll-on wax. I still didn’t know what I was doing wax-wise; no skin came off that time, but very little hair was removed. I got a couple of pimples.
I was beginning to think waxing would never be for me, and I’d be doomed to using bleaching chemicals every week on my poor skin for the rest of my life.
This time I bought the Parissa Face and Bikini strips. (Before buying and using, I researched reviews on this here, on Amazon, and on Drugstore.com.) I have always followed directions to a Tee, but this time I searched and searched for any possible tip in the instructions I might be missing. Anything. And I think I got it right. Here’s exactly what I did:
1. As per the instructions, I began the whole thing *without* washing my face first (in the past, I have always washed / exfoliated beforehand.)
2. I rubbed a double-strip between my warm palms for a few seconds, then slowly and gently separated them.
3. Tightening my upper lip against my teeth, I placed a strip very carefully over one side of my upper lip, pressing firmly and starting from the center outward (pressing the wax only against areas to be treated).
4. Great tip from a review I read – I took an ice cube and rubbed it gently along the wax strip, to cool down the wax, so it would harden a bit and grip the hairs better.
5. I held one hand on the outer side of my lip, and with 1 swift motion, “zipped” (which is a kinder way of saying “ripped,” lol) the strip from the outer side toward the center, holding as close/parallel to my skin as possible
6. As the instructions recommend, I immediately pressed against the skin with my finger, just introducing pressure. And then put the ice cube to the skin, to reduce inflammation/swelling.
7. I repeated the whole thing for the other side.
8. I used the ice cube again over the entire upper lip.
9. I quickly wiped the ice cube moisture away and applied a bit of the azuline oil (comes with the kit) to remove the minor residual stickiness from the wax.
10. After the oil, I patted on some cotton-pad-soaked Paula’s Choice “Skin Relief Treatment” (which is basically salicylic acid in a gentle formula), to prevent/reduce the chance of ingrown hairs and pimples.
And voila – hair is gone! Girls, I cannot *tell* you how pleasantly surprising this was -- I finally think waxing has worked for me! :D My upper lip is super-red right now, but I’m used to that, with my sensitive skin (this happens after epilating my legs, too). I did this at night on purpose, and I’m guessing it’ll be much better in the morning. I’m also numb in that area, but again, that happened after my other waxing attempts too.

Anyway. I know that list seemed kind of long and involved in text, but truly, it was the most hassle-free and effective waxing I’ve ever done. I still can't believe it worked. And so fast! I’m pretty sure I got at least 95% of the hair… will update later. Can’t believe it… but I'm actually recommending these wax strips! I'm so glad I didn't give up. Heh... 3rd time's a charm. :)

Ooh, I just took another look at the strips and I think next time I use them (before peeling apart) I'll cut a double strip diagonally. That way, each un-peeled double strip would go toward 2 waxing sessions, instead of 1. (The directions say strips can be re-used, but that seems messy to me.)

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Parissa products

More Skincare - Body products