Neutrogena Oil-Free Acne Stress Control 3-in-1 Hydrating Acne Treatment

3.9

509 reviews

76% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

PH: 3.4 Active Ingredients: Salicylic Acid (2%) (Acne Treatment) Inactive Ingredients: Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, PEG 8, Dimethicone, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Sodium Polyacrylate, Vinyl Dimethicone/Methicone Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, Cocamidopropyl PG Dimonium Chloride Phosphate, Cucumber Fruit Extract (Cucumis Sativus), Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Glycerin, Panthenol, Butylene Glycol, C12 15 Alkyl Lactate, Cetyl Alcohol, Glyceryl Stearate, Cetyl Lactate, PEG 75 Stearate, Ceteth 20, Steareth 20, Trideceth 6, PEG/PPG 18/18 Dimethicone, Sclerotium Gum, Laureth 23, Laureth 4, Disodium EDTA, Benzalkonium Chloride, Potassium Hydroxide, Green 5, Yellow 5, Blue 1, Fragrance


on 5/22/2014 6:33:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

i've been buying this for years and love the gentle BHA formula and mild unoffensive scent.

this product seems to disappear from shelves and the neutrogena site, then reappear over the years. it seems to have been discontinued yet again (?), which is a shame and kind of strange, given how highly rated it is. thier newer/alternative products are too heavy and too strongly scented for me. too bad.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Very happy with the product. It really helps to keep the skin free of spots. I also find it quite gentle of the skin. I didn't experience any tightness or dryness when using it. It does moisturize the skin as it is claiming.
The product has a greenish color. The texture is gel-like which makes it easily glide on the skin. No oiliness observed.


on 2/6/2014 2:49:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I gave it a 4 cause even though it caused me redness and irritation, I used to love this stuff due to the fact that it was one of the few effective and alcohol free drugstore BHAs. However this is just an FYI in case, like me, you can't seem to find it ANYWHERE: this product has been discontinued in the US! Apparently, it's still being sold in Canada though, so you can probably still get it online...though really, maybe you could just get PCs brand for the same price when you factor in shipping; I dunno...

Another FYI, in case anyone's wondering the only other effective/alcohol-free drugstore BHAs being sold right now in the US (according to Paula b's reviews) are Clean &Clear's Advantage Oil Absorbing Treatment and Clearasil's "Ultra Rapid Action Treatment Lotion." They are both 2% salicylic acid lotions rather than a gel, but I'd say go with the Clearasil one if you have dry sensitive skin (i do and I love it!) or if you have oily skin you might like C&C's version better (apparently it has a powdery finish), though it comes in a 1.5 oz bottle rather than a 4oz bottle like clearasils.... Anyways, unlike neutrogena's 3 in 1 treatment, neither of these have green tea but oddly, my skin is less red and irritated with the Clearasil lotion than it ever was with the Neutrogena gel (though I think the gel worked faster).

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.


on 1/30/2014 4:36:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have been using this product on and off for a couple of years. I do not think it keeps my skin clear on its own. However, it works great in combination with benzoyl peroxide (I use persa-gel 10) or moisturizer. This lotion does not strip my skin of moisture, but it does not moisturize either. If my skin is dry, I need to still use a different moisturizer to help that. However, I find that my skin is better when I use this product a couple nights a week than if I do not.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This was my very first acne treatment. I heard that Neutrogena was a good brand and desperate I was, I purchased this while the Neutrogena products were on sale at my local drugstore; I paid about $10. It's a gel-like substance and it smells fresh. I first cleansed my face, then put this on my problem areas, following my Clean & Clear Dual Action Moisturizer. After a week, my skin was so much clearer! People stopped looking at my forehead acne when speaking to me, and this controlled my oiliness too! After about two months, this treatment stopped working. I would get patches of pustules and it would take the longest time to get rid of them. In response to the situation, I obviously used more of this. It didn't work. When I used up the tube, I was super worried about awful acne flaring up. Contrary to my prediction, I'm faring well. After purchasing Clean and Clear's persa-gel 5 to go with my night routine, my skin has never looked so clear! :) I'm planning to purchase the Clean & Clear Oil Absorbing Treatment because I've heard good things about it.


on 1/9/2014 12:22:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I buy this over and over again. It's lightweight, doesn't dry out skin or smell awful (though I wish they would take out the fragrance altogether!). It feels like a gel/liquid-y type moisturiser and sinks in quickly. When I used to get breakouts I would put this on and it would reduce redness and the pimples overnight and they would be gone within a few days. It's not sticky and I so apply make-up over top with no issues (although depending on the foundation, especially if it's creamy or oil-based, it can cause this silicone-based Acne treatment to pill). I have no problems with irritation from this, and it works great to keep pores unclogged and reducing swelling, redness and bumpy skin texture.

Although my HG BHA (salicylic acid) continues to be PC'S Clear Extra Strength 2% BHA - because it's liquid, easy to swipe on and go plus it cleared up my skin finally, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this, and use it still when I travel and don't want to take the PC's liquid with me.


on 12/6/2013 2:03:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

EDIT 12/19/13: So I have been using this for the past couple weeks in combination with the scrub, toner, and night pads from the stress control line and my skin has never looked better! I have tried proactiv, clean and clear, murad, and nothing has worked without causing other problems. I finally can go without wearing makeup and being self conscious about what my skin looks like! Even my husband has told me my skin looks better.. According to beautypedia this product is discontinued, but I have a feeling if enough people complain Neutrogena may bring it back. Who knows... for now I have stocked up through ebay. Not sure what I'll do when I do run out...

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/20/2013 1:41:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

I first discovered this product through a makeup artist on Youtube, and the MUA reviews confirmed the recommendation, so I decided to take a break from my Differin gel and give this a try.

I have normal/combo skin with 1-2 breakouts a month, but scars heal very slowly on my skin (months up to a year!). I also have very deep and stubborn blackheads on my nose and upper cheeks that are nearly impossible to remove (and I've tried for many years). Initially, I heard that the Neutrogena treatment is good for treating blackheads because it has the correct pH level, but I found that it's also great for healing my acne scars.

I apply this product once or twice daily to the affected areas after cleansing and moisturizing my face. Within 1 week, I've noticed that the blackheads have reduced, and the redness from the scarring have gone down noticeably as well. However, the Differin gel is better for healing scars. This product doesn't dry out my skin (unlike Differin) or make it oily and acne-prone. Highly recommend!

For those who are looking for stores in Canada that still carry this product, Target is an option ($9 CAD/59mL). Some Shoppers carry it as well. I bought 2 packs just in case Neutrogena discontinues it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/3/2013 11:23:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Just a heads up for all you ladies, they are still selling this on Neutrogena's website, I've just received my order in the mail :)

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 11/1/2013 11:30:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Is this product discontinued? I can't find it anywhere! I've been using this product and my skin has been really clear and acne-free. I just ran out and I'm getting pimples again! Can't live without it! Help!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Treatments (Face)


Sudocrem
Sudocrem
142 Reviews
Lemon Juice
Lemon Juice
398 Reviews
Back to Top